DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of previously presented prior art Gross and Gelland is improper because Gelland teaches a clear and transparent contact lens which covers the eyeball which allegedly renders the eyelid speculum taught by Gross as inoperable by covering the central ring comprising an opening taught by Gross. Examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that the combination of Gross and Gelland is proper because they both teach an eyeball cover which features at least one eyelid protection part and an eyeball cover. The eyeball cover of Gelland is the contact lens portion of the corneal cap and the eyeball cover of Gross is the surgical lens 318 which may be placed in the center of the speculum to cover the eye during a procedure. Therefore, the combination of Gross and Gelland (or vice versa) does not hinder the operation of either device.
New grounds of rejection are detailed below in light of the amended claim limitations.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 03/28/2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gelland (US 20130324810 A1) in view of Gross et al (US 20200305858 A1) and Gelles et al (US 20230181370 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gelland teaches an eyeball and eyelid protector (1) comprising:
an eyeball cover (2) configured to fully cover an eyeball (see Gelland Fig. 6, [0070]; corneal cap 1 having eyelid retractor portions 3 and contact lens portion 2 integrated or combined such that the eyelid retractor and contact lens portions are not readily distinguishable elements, [0043]; the contact lens portion is a thin, transparent plastic lens placed directly onto the surface of the cornea of a patient’s eye, covering more than the patient’s cornea, up to and including most if not substantially all of the sclera visible to an observed of the patient’s opened eye);
wherein the eyeball cover has a dome-shape when viewed in a vertical cross-sectional shape (see Gelland Fig. 6);
an eyelid protection part (3) formed on an outer surface of the dome-shaped eyeball cover (see Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap),
wherein the eyelid protection part (3) is bent and extends from one side of the eyeball cover to protect any one of an upper eyelid and a lower eyelid (see Gelland Fig. 6, [0046-0047]; eyelid retractors protrude from the cup’s outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure, the retractor portion may be outwardly tapered),
an auxiliary eyelid protection part (3) formed on the outer surface of the dome-shaped eyeball cover (see Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap),
wherein auxiliary eyelid protection part is bent and extending from the other side of the eyeball cover while having an interval from the eyelid protection part to protect the other one of the upper eyelid or the lower eyelid (see Gelland Fig. 6, [0046-0047]; eyelid retractors protrude from the cup’s outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure, the retractor portion may be outwardly tapered; wherein the two eyelid protection parts 3 are extending from opposite sides of the eyeball cover),
an eyelid insertion portion formed on the outer surface of the dome- shaped eyeball cover (see annotated Gelland Fig. 6 below, Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap, [0043]; a corneal cap comprising a contact lens portion placed directly onto the surface of the cornea of the patient's eye, and may cover more than the patient's cornea, up to and including most if not substantially all of the sclera visible to an observer of the patient's opened eye),
an eyelid accommodation portion bent and extending from the eyelid insertion portion to an outside of the eyeball cover to accommodate any one of the upper eyelid or the lower eyelid (see annotated Gelland Fig. 6 below, Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap); and
an eyelash cover portion extending from the eyelid accommodation portion to the outside of the eyeball cover to cover any one of an eyelash of the upper eyelid or an eyelash of the lower eyelid (see annotated Gelland Fig. 6 below, Gelland [0046]; the retractor portion can be inwardly or outwardly tapered),
wherein a total height of the eyelid protection part, including the eyelid insertion portion, the eyelid accommodation portion, and the eyelash cover portion is in a range of 4 mm to 8 mm (see Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap, suitable distances include from 0.1 mm to about 12 mm, preferably about 0.5 mm to about 5 mm),
wherein the auxiliary eyelid protection part includes:
an auxiliary eyelid insertion portion formed on the outer surface of the dome-shaped eyeball cover (see annotated Gelland Fig. 6 below, Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap, [0043]; a corneal cap comprising a contact lens portion placed directly onto the surface of the cornea of the patient's eye, and may cover more than the patient's cornea, up to and including most if not substantially all of the sclera visible to an observer of the patient's opened eye),
an auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion bent and extending from the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion to the outside of the eyeball cover to accommodate any one of the upper eyelid or the lower eyelid (see annotated Gelland Fig. 6 below, Gelland [0046]; the eyelid retractor portion of the corneal cap protrudes from the cap's outer surface a distance sufficient to prevent eyelid closure over a corneal cap,; and
an auxiliary eyelash cover portion extending from the auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion to the outside of the eyeball cover to cover any one of the eyelash of the upper eyelid or the eyelash of the lower eyelid (see annotated Gelland Fig. 6 below, Gelland [0046]; the retractor portion can be inwardly or outwardly tapered),
wherein an eyeball insertion portion is formed along an entire circumference of the eyeball cover (see Gelland Fig. 5, Gelland [0043]; a corneal cap comprising a contact lens portion placed directly onto the surface of the cornea of the patient's eye, and may cover more than the patient's cornea, up to and including most if not substantially all of the sclera visible to an observer of the patient's opened eye), the eyeball insertion portion and the eyeball cover together form the dome-shape (Gelland Fig. 6).
Gelland is silent regarding wherein the eyelid protection part has a thickness of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm; and
wherein the auxiliary eyelid protection part has a thickness of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm,
wherein the eyelid insertion portion extends from the one side of the eyeball cover to an inside of the eyeball cover and configured to be inserted into any one of a gap between the upper eyelid and the eyeball or a gap between the lower eyelid and the eyeball; wherein an inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion, an inner surface of the eyelid accommodation portion, and an inner surface of the eyelash cover portion are continuously connected and form one arc-shaped inner surface, and
the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion, the inner surface of the eyelid accommodation portion, and the inner surface of the eyelash cover portion have different curvature radii each other, and,
forms continuous curves with the different curvature radii,
wherein the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the eyelash cover portion, and
the inner surface of the eyelid accommodation portion has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion, and
wherein the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion extends from the other side of the eyeball cover to the inside of the eyeball cover and configured to be inserted into the other one of the gap between the upper eyelid and the eyeball or the gap between the lower eyelid and the eyeball;
wherein an inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion, an inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion, and an inner surface of the auxiliary eyelash cover portion are continuously connected and form another arc-shaped inner surface,
wherein the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelash cover portion, and
the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion, and
wherein the eyeball insertion portion has a thickness that is gradually reduced as it goes in a radial direction of the eyeball cover, and a distal end of the eyeball insertion portion has a rounded shape.
Gross teaches an eyeball and eyelid protector (100) comprising:
an eyeball cover (ring 102 or alternatively surgical lens 318) configured to cover an eyeball (see Gross Figs. 11-12, [0057]; eyelid speculum can be used for placement of surgical lens 318 wherein the surgical lens 318 can be placed within the opening 104);
an eyelid protection part (106) that is bent and extends from one side of the eyeball cover to protect any one of an upper eyelid and a lower eyelid (see Gross Fig. 1, [0049]; first eyelid margin holder 106 extends from a first side of central ring 102),
an auxiliary eyelid protection part (108) bent and extending from the other side of the eyeball cover (see Gross Fig. 1; second eyelid margin holder 108 extending from an opposite side of ring 102 as first eyelid margin holder 106) while having an interval from the eyelid protection part (106) to protect the other one of the upper eyelid or the lower eyelid (see Gross Fig. 1, [0049]; first and second eyelid margin holders 106 and 108 are spaced apart from each other by an angle theta),
wherein the eyelid protection part (106) includes:
an eyelid insertion portion (118) extending from the one side of the eyeball cover to an inside of the eyeball cover (Fig. 2) and configured to be inserted into any one of a gap between the upper eyelid and the eyeball or a gap between the lower eyelid and the eyeball (see Gross [0049]; lower portions 118 of the lid margin holders 106 and 108 can be curved to form a scoop-like shape to easily hold a patient's eyelids and eyelashes when the eyelid speculum 100 is inserted into an eye of a patient);
an eyelid accommodation portion (160) bent and extending from the eyelid insertion portion to an outside of the eyeball cover to accommodate any one of the upper eyelid or the lower eyelid (see Gross [0049]; the central portion 160 separates the lower eyeball insertion portion 118 and the upper eyelash cover portion 116, so it can be appreciated that the central portion 160 is in contact with an eyelid when places in the eye as seen in Figs. 8b-c); and
an eyelash cover portion (116) extending from the eyelid accommodation portion to the outside of the eyeball cover to cover any one of an eyelash of the upper eyelid or an eyelash of the lower eyelid (see Gross Figs. 8b-c where portions 116 cover a portion of an eyelash of the upper or lower eyelid, [0059]; at least a portion of the patient’s eyelashes 144 extending from the upper eyelid 140 are positioned between the upper portion 116 and the lower portion 118 of the first eyelid margin holder 106),
wherein a total height of the eyelid protection part (106), including the eyelid insertion portion (118), the eyelid accommodation portion (160), and the eyelash cover portion (116) is in a range of 4 mm to 8 mm (see Gross Fig. 2, [0053]; H2 can have a height ranging from 3.8mm to 11.4mm),
wherein an inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion (118), an inner surface of the eyelid accommodation portion (160), and an inner surface of the eyelash cover portion (116) are continuously connected and form one arc-shaped inner surface (see Gross Fig. 2 where insertion portion 118, eyelid accommodation portion 160, and eyelash cover portion 116 of eyelid protection part 106 form one continuous arc), and
the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion (118), the inner surface of the eyelid accommodation portion (160), and the inner surface of the eyelash cover portion (116) have different curvature radii each other, and forms continuous curves with the different curvature radii (see Gross Fig. 2 where portions 118, 160, and 116 form a continuous curve with each portion having a slightly varied curvature),
wherein the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion (118) has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the eyelash cover portion (116, see annotated Fig. 2 below), and
the inner surface of the eyelid accommodation portion (160) has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion (118, see annotated Fig. 2 below),
wherein the auxiliary eyelid protection part (108) includes:
an auxiliary eyelid insertion portion (118) extending from the other side of the eyeball cover (see Gross Fig. 2; where eyelid margin holder 108 extends from the opposite side of central ring 102 as eyelid margin holder 106) to the inside of the eyeball cover and configured to be inserted into the other one of the gap between the upper eyelid and the eyeball or the gap between the lower eyelid and the eyeball (see Gross [0049]; lower portions 118 of the lid margin holders 106 and 108 can be curved to form a scoop-like shape to easily hold a patient's eyelids and eyelashes when the eyelid speculum 100 is inserted into an eye of a patient);
an auxiliary eyelid accommodation (160) portion bent and extending from the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion (118) to the outside of the eyeball cover to accommodate any one of the upper eyelid or the lower eyelid (see Gross [0049]; the central portion 160 separates the lower eyeball insertion portion 118 and the upper eyelash cover portion 116, so it can be appreciated that the central portion 160 is in contact with an eyelid when places in the eye as seen in Figs. 8b-c); and
an auxiliary eyelash cover portion (116) extending from the auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion (160) to the outside of the eyeball cover (102) to cover any one of the eyelash of the upper eyelid or the eyelash of the lower eyelid (see Gross Figs. 8b-c, [0059]; at least a portion of the patient’s eyelashes 144 extending from the upper eyelid 140 are positioned between the upper portion 116 and the lower portion 118 of the first eyelid margin holder 106),
wherein an inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion (118), an inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion (160), and an inner surface of the auxiliary eyelash cover portion (116) are continuously connected and form another arc-shaped inner surface (see Gross Fig. 2 where insertion portion 118, eyelid accommodation portion 160, and eyelash cover portion 116 of auxiliary eyelid protection part 108 form one continuous arc),
wherein the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion (118) has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelash cover portion (116, see annotated Fig. 2 below), and
the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid accommodation portion (160) has a smaller radius of curvature than that of the inner surface of the auxiliary eyelid insertion portion (118, see annotated Fig. 2 below), and
wherein an eyeball insertion portion (118) having a smaller thickness than those of the other portions (see Gross Fig. 2; insertion portion 118 has a smaller thickness as compared to the rest of eyelid protection part 106/108) and a distal end of the eyeball insertion portion has a rounded shape (see Gross Fig. 2; eyeball insertion portion 118 having a rounded edge).
Gross is silent regarding wherein the eyelid protection part has a thickness of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm; and wherein the auxiliary eyelid protection part has a thickness of 0.4 mm to 0.8 mm. It can be appreciated that Gross does teach a variation in size of the eyelid and eyeball protector and its parts, including eyelid protection parts, based on the particular patient or procedure, ranging from newborns, toddlers, young adults, adults, or even large animals (Gross [0051]). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a thickness of 0.4mm to 0.8mm for the eyelid protection part and auxiliary eyelid protection part, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, for which Gross discloses a motivation based on the particulars of the usage of the device. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gelland’s corneal cap comprising a contact lens and eyelid retractors with the eyelid speculum taught by Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve upon the existing eyelid speculum to increase patient comfort and ease of insertion by the physicial (Gross [0004]). Additionally, Examiner notes that the prior art of Gelland and Gross are analogous because they not only teach a method for retracting one or more of the patient’s eyelids during an ocular procedure, but also teach a transparent lens which may be placed over the eye when the eyelids are retracted.
Gelles teaches an ophthalmic shield (113) configured to fully cover an eyeball (Gelles Fig. 1B), wherein the eyeball cover has a dome-shape when viewed in a vertical cross-sectional shape (Gelles Fig. 1A), wherein an eyeball insertion portion is formed along an entire circumference of the eyeball cover (Gelles Fig. 1B), the eyeball insertion portion and the eyeball cover together form a dome-shape (Gelles Fig. 1A), the eyeball insertion portion has a thickness that is gradually reduced as it goes in a radial direction of the eyeball cover (Gelles Fig. 1A), and a distal end of the eyeball insertion portion has a rounded shape (Gelles Fig. 1A, 4A).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the eyeball insertion portion taught by Gelland with the extended, tapered eyeball insertion portion taught by Gelles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure a secure fit in the eye, providing ocular coverage even when the eye is in different positions of gaze (Gelles [0156]). Examiner notes that the structure of the eyeball insertion portion of Gelles is very similar to that of Gelland and points to Figs. 4A-4C wherein the eye shield 400 comprises an eyeball insertion portion formed along an entire circumference of the eyeball cover, and supporting an upper and lower eyelid protection portion, 401 and 402.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Gelland in view of Gross and Gelles teach the eyeball and eyelid protector of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein a ratio of the radius of curvature of the inner surface of the eyelid insertion portion/auxiliary eyelid insertion portion to the radius of curvature of the inner surface of the eyelash cover portion/auxiliary eyelash cover portion is in a range of 1:0.4 to 1:0.6.
It can be appreciated as illustrated in the annotated figures as referenced in claim 1, that Gross does teach a difference in the radius of curvature of the eyelid insertion portion and the eyelash cover portion. Gross also discloses a motivation for adjusting the shape and size of the eyeball and eyelid protector based on the particular patient and procedure (Gross [0051]), so it can be appreciated that there is a basis for the change in relative structure, and therefore ratio of in the radius of curvature, of the eyelid insertion portion and the eyelash cover portion.
In this instance, a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device disclosed by Gelland in view of Gross and Gelles at least because both devices cover the eye and provide protection to at least a portion of one or more of the eyelids/eyelashes. Therefore, the claimed invention is obvious over and not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), which states: In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Charles (US 20240215814 A1) which teaches a viewing contact lens with integrated speculums.
Shugarman (US 20170042529 A1) which teaches an eyelid speculum device.
Rill (US 20170340201 A1) which teaches a device and method for fixing a relative geometric position of an eye.
Wong Jr. et al (US 20070282405 A1) which teaches a medial device and method for temperature control and treatment of the eye and surrounding tissue.
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792