DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the Japanese parent Application No. JP2022-053825 (filed on 03/29/2022), was received with the present application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (represented by Figures 1-8, and encompassing claims 1-3 & 7-9) in the reply filed on 12/01/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II-V (represented by corresponding figures 9-22), and there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/01/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign that are mentioned in the description: 100C (in paragraphs 0116-0117, 0118, and 0127). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities that requires appropriate corrections:
In claim 1, line 13, the limitation “corrects distance detection deviation” should read -- corrects a distance detection deviation --.
In claim 1, line 15, the limitation “the detection object” should read -- the predetermined detection object --.
In claim 3, line 2, the limitation “the detection object” should read -- the predetermined detection object --.
In claim 3, line 4, the limitation “the opening or the closing of the cover” should read -- the open state or the close state of the cover --.
In claim 8, line 9, the limitation “the TOF sensor and” should read -- the TOF sensor, and --.
In claim 9, line 4, the limitation “that corrects distance detection deviation” should read -- that corrects a distance detection deviation --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Llosa et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0156390 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Llosa”).
In regards to claim 1, Llosa teach (Figures 3-6) a printing apparatus (print apparatus 300 with the media handling systems 400) comprising: a paper support (web media holder 302) configurated to support (via the core hub 330) a sheet body (web media roll 306 with the core 332) in which a sheet medium (web media 318) is wound into a roll (web media roll 306); a TOF sensor (sensor 304) configured to detect a distance (distance measurements 303, which is acquired by the sensor engine 412 and transmitted to the length engine 416) to the sheet body (web media roll circumferential surface of the web media roll 306); a conveyor (media handling components/rollers 334) configured to convey the sheet medium (web media 318) from the sheet body (web media roll 306) that is accommodated in the paper support (web media holder 302); a printing device (printhead device 336) configured to print on the sheet medium (web media 318) that is conveyed by the conveyor (media handling components/rollers 334); and a controller (controller/media handling systems 310/400) configured to execute remaining amount detection processing (510/616, which is performed by the length engine 416) that detects a remaining amount of the sheet medium (remaining length of the web media 310) from the sheet body (web media roll 306) stored in the paper support (web media holder 302), based on a detection result of a distance (first/second distance measurements 303 to the web media roll circumferential surface of the web media roll 306, which is acquired during the processing steps 502/506/604/608 by the sensor engine 412) to the sheet body (web media roll 306) that is acquired by the TOF sensor (sensor 304); wherein the controller (controller/media handling systems 310/400) is configured to execute and calibration processing (processing steps 504/606 and 508/610, which is correspondingly performed by the holder engine 414 and the length engine 416) that corrects a distance detection deviation (difference between the first distance measurement 303 when the web media roll 306/core hub 330 is oriented in the first rotational state, and the second distance measurement 303 when the web media roll 306/core hub 330 is oriented in the second rotational state) of the TOF sensor (second 304), based on a detection result of a distance (reference distance measurement 301, which is acquired by the sensor engine 412 and transmitted to the length engine 416) to a predetermined detection object (fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330 or the representative core 332, as described in paragraphs 0031 and 0046) that is acquired by the TOF sensor (sensor 304) at a predetermined state (when the sensor 304 identifying or capture the reference distance measurement 301) in which the distance from the TOF sensor (sensor 304) to the predetermined detection object (fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330 or the representative/reference core 332) is a predetermined value (as described in paragraph 0046, the reference distance measurement 301 to the fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330/representative core 332 is identified or captured prior to locating the web media roll 306) (paragraphs 0039-0051 disclose, the remaining length of the web media 310 being determined during the processing steps 510/616 in the following manner: (1) Identifying/capturing the reference distance measurement 301 from the sensor 304 to the fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330/representative core 332; (2) Acquiring the first sensor data representing the first distance measurement 303 from the sensor 304 to the circumferential surface of the web media roll 306, when the web media roll 306/core hub 330 is oriented in the first rotational state; (3) Calibrating the orientation of the web media roll 306 by rotating the core hub 330 in the first direction, such that said web media roll 306 is moved from the first rotational state to the second rotational state; (4) Acquiring the second sensor data representing the second distance measurement 303 from the sensor 304 to the circumferential surface of the web media roll 306, when the web media roll 306/core hub 330 is oriented in the second rotational state; (5) Recalibrating the orientation of the web media roll 306 by rotating the core hub 330 in the second direction, such that said web media roll 306 is moved from the second rotational state to the first rotational state; (6) Computing and storing the data structure representing the attribute data/profile of the web media roll 306, i.e. the thickness of the web media roll 306, using the acquired first sensor data/first distance measurement, the second sensor data/second distance measurement, and the number of rotations that were need to orient said web media roll 306 from the first rotational state to the second rotational state; (7) Computing the remaining length of the web media 310 on the web media roll 306 using the Archimedean spiral length formula described within paragraphs 0010-0020 and using the computed/storing the data structure pertaining to the attribute data/profile of the web media roll 306. Therefore, it is evident that the remaining length of the web media 310 is determined at least partially based on the distance detection deviation between the first and second distance measurements 303 from the sensor 304, based on the rotational orientation calibration of the web media roll 306, and based the reference distance measurement 301 from the sensor 304 to the fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330/representative core 332) (see also paragraphs 0009-0051).
In regards to claim 7, Llosa teach all intervening claim limitations as showed above. Llosa further teach (Figures 3-6), the controller (controller/media handling systems 310/400) being configured to execute distance comparison processing (processing steps 508/610, which is performed by the length engine 416) that compares a first distance (first distance measurement 303 when the web media roll 306/core hub 330 is oriented in the first rotational state) to the sheet body (web media roll 306) detected by the TOF sensor (sensor 304) before executing the calibration processing (processing steps 504/606, which is performed by the holder engine 414) with a second distance (second distance measurement 303 when the web media roll 306/core hub 330 is oriented in the second rotational state) to the sheet body detected (web media roll 306) by the TOF sensor (sensor 304) after executing the calibration processing (processing steps 504/606, which is performed by the holder engine 414), and reflection determination processing (processing step 612, which stores the calculated attribute data/profile for the web media roll 306 that is then used during the processing steps 510/616 to determine the remaining length of the web media 318) that determines whether to reflect the correction on the calibration processing (processing steps 508/610) in the subsequent remaining amount detection processing (processing steps 510/616, which is performed by the length engine 416) according to a comparison result in the distance comparison processing (processing steps 508/610).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llosa in view of Ooi et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0242687 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Ooi”).
In regarding to claim 2, Llosa teach all intervening claim limitations a shown above. Llosa further teach (Figures 3-6), the printing apparatus (print apparatus 300) additionally comprising a housing (outer body/casing of the print apparatus 300 illustrated in figure 3) configured to enclose the paper support (web media holder 302 with the core hub 330), the conveyor (media handling components/rollers 334), and the printing device (printhead device 336); wherein the sensor (sensor 304) is configured to detect the distance (reference distance measurement 301) to the predetermined detection object (fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330 or the representative core 332) in the predetermined state (when the sensor 304 identify or capture the reference distance measurement 301) that occurs prior to loading of the sheet body (web media roll 306) onto the paper support (web media holder 302 with the core hub 330) of the printing apparatus (print apparatus 300) (see also paragraphs 0031 and 0046). Yet, Llosa does not explicitly reveal, the printing apparatus (print apparatus 300) including a cover configured to open and close an opening in the housing (outer body/casing of the print apparatus 300 illustrated in figure 3), or the predetermined state (when the sensor 304 identifying or capture the reference distance measurement 301) of the TOF sensor (sensor 304) being a close state or an open state of such a cover.
However, Ooi teach (Figures 1-4) a printing apparatus (printer 1) comprising: a paper support (storage unit 21, which includes the wall portions 25 and 26) configurated to support a sheet body (roll paper sheet ‘P’) in which a sheet medium (thermal paper sheet from the roll paper sheet ‘P’) is wound into a roll; a TOF sensor (near end detection unit 24) configured to determine a remaining amount of the sheet medium from the sheet body (thermal paper sheet from the roll paper sheet ‘P’) stored in the paper support (storage unit 21) by detecting a distance to the sheet body (roll paper sheet ‘P); a conveyor (platen 31) configured to convey the sheet medium from the sheet body (thermal paper sheet from the roll paper sheet ‘P’) stored in the paper support (storage unit 21); a printing device (print head 23) configured to print on the sheet medium (thermal paper sheet from the roll paper sheet ‘P’) that is conveyed by the conveyor (platen 31); a housing (housing 2) having an opening (opening portion 22) and being configured to enclose the paper support (storage unit 21), the conveyor (platen 31), and the printing device (print head 23); and a cover (lid 3) configured to open and close the opening (opening portion 22) of the housing (housing 2) (see also paragraphs 0015-0039).
Accordingly, using the suggestions of Ooi, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the housing of Llosa’s printing apparatus with an opening for loading/unloading the sheet body into/from the paper support and a cover for opening and closing the opening in the housing, and to configure the predetermined state of the TOF sensor (i.e. when the TOF sensor functions to acquire a distance to a predetermined detection object) to be the opened state or closed state of the cover. Arranging an opening on the housing would allow a user to access the paper support, so that a sheet body can easily be loaded onto or unloaded from the printing apparatus; while providing a cover on the housing would enable a user to selectively open or close the opening in the housing, so that the sheet body can be securely retained with the printing apparatus during a printing operation, and also to prevent the dust/debris from entering the printing apparatus via the opening in the housing. Furthermore, it would be advantageous to operatively configure the TOF sensor to detect, measure, and store the distance to the predetermined detection object when the cover is in both the closed state and the opened state (as long as the distance to the predetermined detection is acquired/measured prior to loading of a new sheet body), such that the controller of the printing apparatus can expeditiously and efficiently execute a subsequent remaining amount detection processing and a subsequent printing operation, without the user having to interact with the cover in any way (in other words, the TOF sensor is able to determine the distance to the predetermined detection object, which is required for computing the sheet body attributes/profile and the remaining amount of the sheet medium, despite the orientation of the cover and/or without having to wait for a user to physically place the cover in either the clos or open position); thereby improving the overall operative functionality, productivity, and/or the performance of said printing apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form (including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims) and if rewritten to overcome the above the noted claim objections:
In regarding to claim 3, Llosa in view of Ooi teach all intervening claim limitations a shown above. Yet, Llosa fails to reach, the detection object (fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330/representative core 332) being a relative displacement member that is interlock with the opening/closing of a cover, or the position of said detection object (fixture reference point at an edge of the core hub 330/representative core 332) configured to be changed relative to the TOF sensor (sensor 304) during the opening/closing of a cover. Conversely, the detection object in Llosa’s printing apparatus is a statutory object that does not displace relative the TOF sensor and that is not coupled to a cover in any way. Ooi also fails to cure these deficiencies in Llosa. Furthermore, Yamada (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0287431 A1) also propose (Figures 1-8), a printing apparatus (10) comprising a paper support (22) for supporting a sheet body (R with RC) in which a sheet medium (LS) is wound, a TOF sensor (26) for detecting a distance (Lx, Led, and Lc) to the sheet body (R), a conveyor (24 and 32) for conveying the sheet medium (LS) from the sheet body (R), a printing device (36) for printing on the sheet medium (LS) that is conveyed by the conveyor (24 and 32), a housing (outer body of 20 and 30) for enclosing the paper support (22), the conveyor (24 and 32), and the printing device (36), and a controller (40 and 50) that is configured to execute a remaining amount detection processing which detects a remaining amount of the sheet medium (LS) from the sheet body (R) based on a detection result of a distance (Lx) to the sheet body (R) that is acquired by the TOF sensor (26) and that is configured to execute a calibration processing which corrects a distance detection deviation of the TOF sensor (26) based on a detection result of a distance (Lc/Led) to a predetermined detection object (22/RC) which is acquired by the TOF sensor (26) during a predetermined state (Pr) (see also paragraphs 0016-0069). Nevertheless, Yamada does not suggest, the detection object (22/RC) being a relative displacement member that is coupled to a cover, such that said the detection object/relative displacement member can be moved relative to the TOF sensor (26) by opening or closing said cover. Additionally, all other prior art of record, neither disclose nor render obvious (i.e. individually and in combination), a printing apparatus having the specific structural arrangement and the precise operative functionality, that are recited cooperatively within claims 1-3. Thus, claim 3 limitations appear to contain allowable subject matter over the cited prior art references; specially when said limitations are viewed in light of applicant’s specification, and when they are considered together with the superseding limitations in parent claims 10-2.
Claims 8-9 looks to be allowable over the prior art of record, if they are rewritten to overcome the above the noted claim objections:
The prior art of record, either individually or in combination, fail to teach or render obvious, a printing apparatus having the specific structural arrangement recited by independent claim 8. In particular, a printing apparatus comprising: a paper support configured to support a sheet body that is formed of a wound sheet medium or a plurality stacked sheet media, a housing configured to enclose the paper support, a cover configured to open and close, a TOF sensor configured to detect a distance, and a shutter configured to relatively cover the TOF sensor when it is in a first position and uncover the TOF sensor when it is in a second position; wherein the shutter is interlock to the opening or the closing of the cover.
As set forth above, Llosa and Yamada look to be the closet related prior art to applicant’s claimed invention. However, as further explained above, Llosa, Yamada, and all other prior art of record, neither explicitly disclose nor suggest, a shutter of a printing apparatus being coupled/linked to a cover of said printing apparatus in an operatively interlocking manner, such that the opening and closing of the cover caused the shutter to correspondingly cover or uncover a TOF sensor that is configured to measure a distance to a sheet body disposed within said printing apparatus. On the contrary, the TOF sensors in prior art printing apparatuses seems to remain uncovered, and they are not connected to or linked to the operation of the covers in said printing apparatuses. Consequently, claim 8 limitations appear to include allowable subject matter over the cited prior art references; specially when said limitations are viewed in light of applicant’s specification.
Claim 9 depends from claim 8. Subsequently, claim 9 include the above noted allowable subject matter in parent claim 8. Nevertheless, claim 9 is objected for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the attached PTO-892 for complete list of pertinent prior art references made of record by the examiner.
/R.J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654