DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on March 30, 2026. Claims 1 are currently amended. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 21 and 22 are newly added. Claims 1, 3-16, 21 and 22 are pending review in this action. The previous objection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s corresponding amendment.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on January 15, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0263204, hereinafter Yoo ‘204.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo‘204 teaches a battery cell (100). The battery cell (100) includes an electrode assembly (110) and a pouch case (130) accommodating the electrode assembly (110) (paragraph [0045] and figures 3, 4 and 9).
The battery cell (100) includes a cell body including an accommodation space (S) accommodating the electrode assembly (110) (paragraph [0049] and figures 3, 4 and 9).
The accommodation space (S) is part of the pouch case (130) (paragraph [0049] and figures 3, 4 and 9).
A cell edge forms a perimeter of the battery cell (100). A sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) is formed between the cell edge and the cell body (paragraph [0056], figures 3, 4 and 9).
The pouch case (130) is made of a pouch sheet (paragraph [0049]).
The sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) includes a first pouch edge portion and a second pouch edge portion facing each other. The first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion extend from accommodation space (S) (figures 3, 4 and 9).
The battery cell (100) further comprises a protrusion (P1 or P2, “convex part”) in the thickness direction of the sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) (paragraphs [0053 and 0065] and figures 4 and 9).
The protrusion (P1 or P2, “convex part”) is formed on each of the first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion (figures 4 and 9).
An electrode lead (120, “tab”) extends from the electrode assembly (110) to an outside of the accommodation space (S) and is disposed between the first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion (paragraph [0048] and figures 3, 4 and 9).
The electrode lead (120, “tab”) is in contact with the protrusion (P1 or P2, “convex part”) formed on each of the first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion (figures 4 and 9).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo‘204 teaches that the protrusion (P1 or P2, “convex part”) is formed on each of the first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion (figures 4 and 9).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo‘204 teaches that the sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) includes a flat portion having a thickness less than a thickness of the protrusion (P1 or P2, “convex part”) (figures 4 and 9).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo‘204 teaches that the protrusion (P1 or P2, “convex part”) is positioned between the flat portion and the cell edge (figures 4 and 9).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo‘204 teaches that the pouch sheet includes a first pouch face contacting the electrode assembly (110) and a second pouch face forming an outer surface of the battery cell (110) (Figure 1 below).
The accommodation space (S) is concave on the first pouch face (Figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo‘204 teaches that the accommodation space (S) includes a first receiving part and a second receiving part that are concave on the first pouch face and are spaced apart from each on the pouch sheet (Figure 1 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Yoo'204's assembly.)]
Regarding claim 11, Yoo‘204 teaches a first accommodation portion located below the electrode assembly (110) and a second accommodation portion located above the electrode assembly (110) (Figure 1 above).
The sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) extends along the perimeter of the electrode assembly (110) and connects the first accommodation portion and the second accommodation portion. The sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) is located between the first accommodation portion and the second accommodation portion along the pouch sheet. Therefore, any side of the sealing portion (M, “cell edge portion”) is a “connection portion”.
Regarding claim 12, Yoo’204 teaches that the first edge portion extends from the first accommodation portion and the second edge portion extends from the second accommodation portion (Figure 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Yoo’204 teaches that the pouch sheet includes an inner sealant layer (“first layer”) forming a first pouch face contacting the electrode assembly (110). The pouch sheet further includes an outer insulation layer (“third layer”) that is an outer surface of the battery cell (100). A barrier layer (“second layer”) is positioned between the inner sealant layer (“first layer”) and the outer insulation layer (“third layer”). The barrier layer (“second layer”) is formed of metal (paragraph [0049]).
The inner sealant layer (“first layer”), the barrier layer (“second layer”) and the outer insulation layer (“third layer”) are sequentially stacked (paragraph [0049]).
Claims 6-8, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2017/0012252, hereinafter Yoo.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo teaches a battery cell (200). The battery cell (200) includes an electrode assembly and a battery case (“pouch unit”) accommodating the electrode assembly (paragraph [0057] and figure 3).
The battery cell (200) includes a cell body including a receiving part (201, “accommodation portion”) accommodating the electrode assembly (paragraph [0057] and figure 3).
The receiving part (201, “accommodation portion”) is part of the battery case (“pouch unit”) (paragraph [0019] and figure 3).
A cell edge forms a perimeter of the battery cell (200). A sealed part (202-205, “cell edge portion”) is formed between the cell edge and the cell body (paragraph [0058], figure 3).
The battery case (“pouch unit”) is made of a pouch sheet (paragraph [0019]).
The sealed part (202-205, “cell edge portion”) includes a first pouch edge portion and a second pouch edge portion facing each other. The first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion extend from the receiving part (201, “accommodation portion”) (paragraph [0019] and figure 3).
A convex part (231) is formed in the thickness direction of the sealed part (202-205, “cell edge portion”) (paragraph [0064] and figures 4-5).
The pouch sheet includes a sealant layer (623, “first layer”) forming a surface contacting the electrode assembly. The pouch sheet further includes a resin layer (621, “third layer”) that is an outer surface of the battery cell (200). A metal layer (622, “second layer”) is positioned between the sealant layer (623, “first layer”) and the resin layer (621, “third layer”) (paragraphs [0019, 0071] and figure 9).
Yoo teaches that the sealed part (202-205, “cell edge portion”) includes a folding portion in which the cell edge is folded toward the receiving part (201, “accommodation portion”) (paragraphs [0058, 0063]).
Yoo teaches that there are multiple alternating convex parts (231) and flat portions (232) (paragraphs [0060, 0070] and figures 3-5). Thus, there is a convex portion (231) between the receiving part (201, “accommodation portion”) and the folding portion.
The flat portions (231) are produced by applying heat and pressure, which results in the melting of the sealant layer (623, “first layer”) in the regions that become the flat portions (231) (paragraph [0071] and figure 9). As such, the variation in thickness in the sealed part (202-205, “cell edge portion”), which gives rise to the convex parts (231) is understood to be the result of varying of the thickness in the sealant layer (623, “first layer”) between the flat portions (231) and the convex parts (231).
Regarding claim 7, Yoo teaches that there are multiple alternating convex parts (231) and flat portions (232) (paragraphs [0060, 0070] and figures 3-5).
There is a convex portion (231) adjacent to the folding portion.
Regarding claim 8, Yoo teaches that there are multiple alternating convex parts (231) and flat portions (232) (paragraphs [0060, 0070] and figures 3-5).
The flat portions (232) have a thickness that is less than a thickness of the convex parts (231) (paragraphs [0064, 0070] and figure 5). There is a convex part (231) between a flat portion (232) and the folding portion.
Regarding claim 21, Yoo teaches that the convex parts (231) are formed by applying a pressing force to the cell edge portion (202-205). The same process forms the folding portion, which is subsequently folded (paragraph [0071] and figure 9).
Regarding claim 22, Yoo teaches that the folding portion includes the sealant layer (623, “first layer”), the metal layer (622, “second layer”) and the resin layer (621, “third layer”).
The metal layer (622, “second layer”) and the resin layer (621, “third layer”) form a barrier to the sealant layer (623, “first layer”) in the folding portion and thus are capable of limiting movement of the sealant layer (623, “first layer”) upon melting.
Claims 6-8, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0189570, hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches a battery cell (100a). The battery cell (100a) includes an electrode assembly (10) and a battery case (40a, “pouch unit”) accommodating the electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0062] and figures 6 and 7).
The battery cell (100a) includes a cell body including a receiving part (90, “accommodation portion”) accommodating the electrode assembly (10) (paragraph [0063] and figures 6 and 7).
The receiving part (90, “accommodation portion”) is part of the battery case (40a, “pouch unit”) (paragraph [0066] and figures 6 and 7).
A cell edge forms a perimeter of the battery cell (100a). A sealed part (60a, “cell edge portion”) is formed between the cell edge and the cell body (paragraph [0063], figure 7)
The battery case (40a, “pouch unit”) is made of a pouch sheet (paragraphs [0038, 0072]).
The sealed part (60a, “cell edge portion”) includes a first pouch edge portion and a second pouch edge portion facing each other. The first pouch edge portion and the second pouch edge portion extend from the receiving part (90, “accommodation portion”) (figure 7).
A protuberance (92, “convex part”) is formed in the thickness direction of the sealed part (90a, “cell edge portion”) (paragraph [0063] and figure 7).
The pouch sheet includes an inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) forming a surface contacting the electrode assembly (10). The pouch sheet further includes an outer coating layer (62, “third layer”) that is an outer surface of the battery cell (100a). A barrier layer (64, “second layer”) is positioned between the inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) and the outer coating layer (62, “third layer”).
The cell edge portion includes a folding portion in which the cell edge is folded towards the receiving part (90, “accommodation portion”) (Figure 2 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Park's assembly)]
The protuberance (92, “convex part”) is formed between the receiving part (90, “accommodation portion”) and the folding portion by varying a thickness distribution of the inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) (figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches that the protuberance (92, “convex part”) is adjacent to the folding portion (figure 7).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches that the sealed part (60a, “cell edge portion”) includes a flat portion having a thickness less than a thickness of the protuberance (92, “convex part”) (paragraph [0074], figure 7).
The protuberance (92, “convex part”) is positioned between the flat portion and the folding portion (Figure 2 above).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches that the protuberance (92, “convex part”) is formed by applying a pressing force to the cell edge portion in a state in which the folding portion is formed (paragraph [0069] and figure 7).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a folding portion (Figure 2 above). The folding portion limits movement of the inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) after melting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0263204, hereinafter Yoo’204 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2013/0189570, hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 14, Yoo’204 teaches an inner sealant layer (“first layer”) and an outer insulation layer (“third layer”) (paragraph [0049]). Yoo ‘204 teaches that the inner sealant layer (“first layer”) is melted to seal the pouch case (paragraphs [0049, 0056]).
Yoo’204 does not specify the melting points of the inner sealant layer (“first layer”) and the outer insulation layer (“third layer”).
Park teaches an analogous pouch case including an inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) and an outer coating layer (62, “third layer”) (paragraph [0039]). The inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) is melted to seal the pouch battery case. Park further teaches that the melting point of the outer coating layer (62, “third layer”) is higher than the melting point of the inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) (paragraphs [0039, 0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist to select the materials for the outer insulation layer (“third layer”) and the inner sealant layer (“first layer”), such that the material of the outer insulation sheet (“third layer”) has a higher melting point for the purpose of being able to effectively seal the pouch case.
Regarding claim 15, Yoo’204 teaches an inner sealant layer (“first layer”) (paragraph [0049]). The inner sealant layer (“first layer”) is melted to seal the pouch battery case.
Yoo’204 fails to teach the material of the inner sealant layer (“first layer”).
Park teaches an analogous pouch case including an inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) formed of polypropylene (paragraph [0039]). The inner sealant layer (66, “first layer”) is melted to seal the pouch battery case. Park teaches that polypropylene is a suitable material because it cannot be damaged by the electrolyte, can block moisture and can be thermally welded at the conditions required to seal the pouch battery case (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select polypropylene as the material of the inner sealant layer (“first layer”) because it has the properties required of the inner sealant layer of a pouch battery case.
Regarding claim 16, Yoo’204 teaches an outer insulation layer (“third layer”) (paragraph [0049]). The outer insulation layer (“third layer”) forms the outer surface of the pouch battery case
Yoo’204 fails to teach the material of the outer insulation layer (“third layer”).
Park teaches an analogous pouch case including an outer coating layer (62, “third layer”) formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (paragraph [0039]). The outer coating layer (62, “third layer”) forms the outer surface of the pouch battery case and Park teaches that PET is a suitable material because it has the requisite tensile strength and capacity for environmental resistance (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select PET as the material of the outer insulation layer (“third layer”) because it has the tensile strength and capacity for environmental resistance required for the outer layer of a pouch battery case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the Yoo’204 reference has been provided, as recited above, to address amended claims 1, 3-5 and 9-16. Further, the previously presented Yoo and Park references were found to address newly amended claim 6-8 and newly added claims 21 and 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724