DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner notes the following amendments made to the claims:
Claims 1-2, 5-10, and 17-20 amended
New claims 21-22 added
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 9 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-16, and 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that the teachings of Kozinsky do not include a specific negative electrode active material layer in between the current collector and the coating layer. Examiner acknowledges that this layer is not explicitly shown in the figure, but believes that the teachings in the specification of Kozinsky imply that there is a layer of lithium metal formed between the current collector and the coating layer, and thus the amended claim limitations would still be met. Specifically, Kozinsky states (“The coating 116, however, encourages the growth of a smooth layer of lithium on the collector 114 regardless of surface imperfections in the substrate material. In one embodiment, this is accomplished by providing a coating 116 that exhibits a smoother surface for lithium adherence as compared to the substrate material. Accordingly, the lithium coats more uniformly onto the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0021]). Kozinsky clearly teaches that the presence of the coating causes there to be a smooth layer of lithium on the surface of the current collector, thus implying that this layer is both separate from the current collector and the coating layer, and comprises lithium metal. Thus, this layer would meet the limitations of a “negative electrode active material layer,” and all limitations of claim 1 would still be met by Kozinsky combined with Woo. The same reasoning applies to claim 20, as the same amendment and arguments are presented there as well.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2, 4, 6, and 17-19 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant does not provide any arguments regarding these claims other than their dependency on claim 1. Thus, since the rejection of claim 1 is maintained, the rejection of the dependent claims is also maintained and unchanged other than to account for the amendments of claim 1.
Regarding the new claims 21-22, a new rejection is made in view of Zhang (WO2018171245 A1), which teaches the use of AgF in a protective layer for lithium metal in a negative electrode. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the coating layer of Kozinsky to include AgF, as taught by Zhang, in order to reduce the generation of lithium dendrites and therefore improve the coulombic efficiency of the battery. Additionally, this would only be the simple substitution of one coating layer for a lithium metal anode for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Given that the rejection for all previously presented claims is maintained, and new claims 21-22 are rejected, there is currently not considered to be any allowable subject matter present in the claims.
If applicant does not find the current rejection persuasive, examiner would like to state that an argument could be made that claim 1 can also be rejected with Zhang as the primary reference in view of Woo. Specifically, Zhang teaches a negative electrode material comprising lithium metal (“The prepared lithium metal sheet is used as a negative electrode and a lithium iron phosphate positive electrode for matching the whole battery.” Zhang [20]), a coating layer on the surface of the lithium metal, (“The electrolyte solution is reacted with the lithium metal sheet to form a protective layer on the surface of the lithium sheet,” Zhang [10]), the coating layer comprising the claimed compound (“The invention provides a method for treating a surface of a metal lithium negative electrode of a lithium metal battery, wherein the surface of the metal lithium negative electrode forms a solid electrolyte protective layer in situ, and the solid electrolyte protective layer is prepared by a chemical reaction method … The salt additives … silver fluoride, copper fluoride, sodium fluoride, and fluoroethylene carbonate.” Zhang [17]. AgF would meet all of the requirements for the compound required in the coating layer, specifically Ag being present, F being present, and the x/y would be 1.), and having the claimed thickness (“The thickness of the solid electrolyte protective film on the surface of the lithium sheet obtained by dropping the electrolyte solution of the present invention is preferably from 2 nm to 200 μm.” Zhang [13]). Zhang fails to teach this with explicitly a non-aqueous electrolyte in between the coating layer and the rest of the battery, but this would be obvious to include based on numerous teachings in the art, including Woo. Zhang also fails to teach a current collector for the negative electrode, but this would also be an obvious modification based on existing art in the field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozinsky (US 20100285360 A1) in view of Woo (US 20190386315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kozinsky teaches the following elements:
A negative electrode material, that is used for a negative electrode of a lithium secondary battery, comprising: (“FIG. 1 depicts a lithium-ion cell 100, which includes a negative electrode 102, a positive electrode 104, and a separator region 106 between the negative electrode 102 and the positive electrode 104. The negative electrode 102 includes electrolyte 112 and a current collector 114. A coating 116 is provided on the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0013])
a negative electrode active material first layer that comprises lithium metal(“The coating 116, however, encourages the growth of a smooth layer of lithium on the collector 114 regardless of surface imperfections in the substrate material. In one embodiment, this is accomplished by providing a coating 116 that exhibits a smoother surface for lithium adherence as compared to the substrate material. Accordingly, the lithium coats more uniformly onto the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0021]. In this case, as described above, the smooth layer of lithium formed on the collector 114 functions as the negative electrode active layer).
a coating negative electrode active materialthat coats the at least one surface of the negative electrode active material layer, (“The coating 116, however, encourages the growth of a smooth layer of lithium on the collector 114 regardless of surface imperfections in the substrate material. In one embodiment, this is accomplished by providing a coating 116 that exhibits a smoother surface for lithium adherence as compared to the substrate material. Accordingly, the lithium coats more uniformly onto the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0021]. In this case, the coating layer 116 which helps to form the smooth lithium layer on the collector functions as the coating layer
wherein the coating (“The coating 116 may be provided in the form of pure metals and alloys, conducting oxides such as indium oxide or zinc oxide, or sulfides, etc.” Kozinsky [0022]. In this case, the use of indium oxide would meet all of the limitations regarding the compound in the second layer.)
and wherein the coating second layer has a thickness of 100 nm or less. (“Preferably, the coating 116 is very thin to reduce cost and effects on electronic conductivity. The coating 116 need only be sufficiently thick to provide a very smooth surface on which Li metal can be electrochemically deposited with minimal initial development of roughness.” Kozinsky [0023]. While Kozinsky doesn’t teach an explicit range, it does teach that it is within the scope of routine experimentation to optimize the thickness, and that the thinner it can be while still performing its purpose the better.)
Kozinsky is silent on the following elements of claim 1. Specifically, Kozinsky teaches the presence of an electrolyte but does not specify whether it is aqueous or non-aqueous. The electrolyte of Kozinsky is separated from the negative active material layer by the coating layer, the only modification needed is to specify that it is a non-aqueous electrolyte.:
wherein the lithium secondary battery contains a non-aqueous electrolyte solution that is separated from the negative electrode active material layer by the coating layer, (“The separator region 106 includes an electrolyte with a lithium cation and serves as a physical and electrical barrier between the negative electrode 102 and the positive electrode 104 so that the electrodes are not electronically connected within the cell 100 while allowing transfer of lithium ions between the negative electrode 102 and the positive electrode 104.” Kozinsky [0015])
However, it is well known within the art of lithium batteries to use a non-aqueous electrolyte. For example, Woo teaches all of the elements of claim 1 except for the use of indium in its oxide layer, and additionally teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte:
wherein the lithium secondary battery contains a non-aqueous electrolyte solution, (“A lithium secondary battery according to another aspect of the present invention includes an electrode assembly including the above-explained lithium electrode as an anode, a cathode, and a separator interposed between the anode and cathode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte for impregnating the electrode assembly.” Woo [0015])
Woo and Kozinsky are considered to be analogous because they are both within the same field of lithium secondary batteries including a lithium metal layer and coating layer in their negative electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unspecified electrolyte of Kozinsky to specifically be a non-aqueous electrolyte, as taught by Woo, as this would only require the simple substitution of one electrolyte with another. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
No further modification or motivation would be needed to meet the limitations of claim 3, 5, 7-8, 10-16.
Regarding claim 3, Kozinsky teaches all of the additional limitations:
The negative electrode material according to claim 1, wherein A is an element selected from a group consisting of O and N. (“The coating 116 may be provided in the form of pure metals and alloys, conducting oxides such as indium oxide or zinc oxide, or sulfides, etc.” Kozinsky [0022]. In this case, the use of indium oxide would meet all of the limitations regarding the compound in the second layer.)
Regarding claim 5, Kozinsky teaches all of the additional limitations:
A negative electrode comprising: the negative electrode material according to claim 1; and a negative electrode current collector that is contiguous with a surface of the negative electrode active material layer (“The negative electrode 102 includes electrolyte 112 and a current collector 114. A coating 116 is provided on the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0013] and “The coating 116, however, encourages the growth of a smooth layer of lithium on the collector 114 regardless of surface imperfections in the substrate material. In this case, the current collector is contiguous with a surface of the negative electrode active material layer, i.e. the layer of smooth lithium formed on the surface of the collector as a result of the coating.)
Regarding claim 7, Kozinsky teaches all of the additional limitations:
A negative electrode comprising: the negative electrode material according to claim 3; and a negative electrode current collector that is contiguous with a surface of the negative electrode active material layer (“The negative electrode 102 includes electrolyte 112 and a current collector 114. A coating 116 is provided on the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0013] and “The coating 116, however, encourages the growth of a smooth layer of lithium on the collector 114 regardless of surface imperfections in the substrate material. In this case, the current collector is contiguous with a surface of the negative electrode active material layer, i.e. the layer of smooth lithium formed on the surface of the collector as a result of the coating.)
Regarding claim 8, Kozinsky teaches all of the additional limitations:
The negative electrode according to claim 5 wherein the coating surfaces of the negative electrode active material that are not contiguous with the negative electrode current collector. (By forming the smooth lithium layer on the surface of the current collector, as described above, this limitation would be met by the teachings of Kozinsky. Specifically, the coating layer would entirely cover the surface of the negative electrode active layer that is formed in between the coating later and the current collector.)
Regarding claim 10, Kozinsky teaches all of the additional limitations:
The negative electrode according to claim 7, wherein the coating covers surfaces of the negative electrode active material layer that are not contiguous with the negative electrode current collector. (By forming the smooth lithium layer on the surface of the current collector, as described above, this limitation would be met by the teachings of Kozinsky. Specifically, the coating layer would entirely cover the surface of the negative electrode active layer that is formed in between the coating later and the current collector.)
Regarding claim 11, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 5, as shown above. Kozinsky teaches the following elements of claim 11:
The lithium secondary battery comprising: the negative electrode according to claim 5; a positive electrode; and the non-aqueous electrolyte solution. (“ FIG. 1 depicts a lithium-ion cell 100, which includes a negative electrode 102, a positive electrode 104, and a separator region 106 between the negative electrode 102 and the positive electrode 104. The negative electrode 102 includes electrolyte 112” Kozinsky [0013]. By modifying Kozinsky to include the non-aqueous electrolyte of Woo, as described in claim 1, this limitation would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.)
Regarding claim 12, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 8, as shown above. Kozinsky teaches the following elements of claim 12:
The lithium secondary battery comprising: the negative electrode according to claim 8; a positive electrode; and the non-aqueous electrolyte solution. (“ FIG. 1 depicts a lithium-ion cell 100, which includes a negative electrode 102, a positive electrode 104, and a separator region 106 between the negative electrode 102 and the positive electrode 104. The negative electrode 102 includes electrolyte 112” Kozinsky [0013]. By modifying Kozinsky to include the non-aqueous electrolyte of Woo, as described in claim 1, this limitation would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.)
Regarding claim 13, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 11, as shown above. Kozinsky is silent on the following elements of claim 13:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 11, wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte solution comprises a cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom.
However, Woo teaches all of the elements of claim 13 not found in Kozinsky:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 11, wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte solution comprises a cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom. (“As the organic solvent included in the non-aqueous electrolyte, those commonly used in an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery can be used without limitations, and for example, ether, ester, amide, linear carbonate, cyclic carbonate, etc.” Woo [0042] and “ Specifically examples of the cyclic carbonates may include ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), 1,2-butylene carbonate, 2,3-butylene carbonate, 1,2-pentylene carbonate, 2,3-pentylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, halogenated products thereof, and a mixture thereof. The halogenated products thereof may include, for example, fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC),” Woo [0044]. In this case, if FEC were used, as is taught in Woo [0058], then the above limitation is anticipated. By modifying Kozinsky to include the non-aqueous electrolyte of Woo, as described in claim 1, this limitation would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.)
Regarding claim 14, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 13, as shown above. Kozinsky is silent on the following elements of claim 14:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein a ratio of the cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom to a whole of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution is at least 20 mol % or more and less than 80 mol %.
However, Woo teaches all of the elements of claim 14 not found in Kozinsky:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein a ratio of the cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom to a whole of the non-aqueous electrolyte solution is at least 20 mol % or more and less than 80 mol %. (on both sides of a polyethylene porous polymer substrate, a porous coating layer formed of a mixture of alumina and a PVDF binder was formed) between the above prepared cathode and anode was inserted into a pouch-type battery case, and then a non-aqueous electrolyte (1 M LiPF.sub.6, VC 1 wt %, FEC:EMC=3:7 (volume ratio)) was injected into the battery case, which was then completely sealed to prepare a lithium secondary battery.” Woo [0058]. In this case, the ratio of fluorinated cyclic carbonate (FEC) is 30% of the whole non-aqueous electrolyte solution, which anticipates the claimed range. By modifying Kozinsky to include the non-aqueous electrolyte of Woo, as described in claim 1, this limitation would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.)
Regarding claim 15, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 13, as shown above. Kozinsky is silent on the following elements of claim 15:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein the cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom comprises at least one of fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) and/or difluoroethylene carbonate (DFEC).
However, Woo teaches all of the elements of claim 15 not found in Kozinsky:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein the cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom comprises at least one of fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) and/or difluoroethylene carbonate (DFEC). (“As the organic solvent included in the non-aqueous electrolyte, those commonly used in an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery can be used without limitations, and for example, ether, ester, amide, linear carbonate, cyclic carbonate, etc.” Woo [0042] and “ Specifically examples of the cyclic carbonates may include ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), 1,2-butylene carbonate, 2,3-butylene carbonate, 1,2-pentylene carbonate, 2,3-pentylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, halogenated products thereof, and a mixture thereof. The halogenated products thereof may include, for example, fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC),” Woo [0044]. In this case, if FEC were used, as is taught in Woo [0058], then the above limitation is anticipated. By modifying Kozinsky to include the non-aqueous electrolyte of Woo, as described in claim 1, this limitation would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.)
Regarding claim 16, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 14, as shown above. Kozinsky is silent on the following elements of claim 16:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 14, wherein the cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom comprises at least one of fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) and/or difluoroethylene carbonate (DFEC).
However, Woo teaches all of the elements of claim 16 not found in Kozinsky:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 14, wherein the cyclic carbonate having a fluorine atom comprises at least one of fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) and/or difluoroethylene carbonate (DFEC). (“As the organic solvent included in the non-aqueous electrolyte, those commonly used in an electrolyte for a lithium secondary battery can be used without limitations, and for example, ether, ester, amide, linear carbonate, cyclic carbonate, etc.” Woo [0042] and “ Specifically examples of the cyclic carbonates may include ethylene carbonate (EC), propylene carbonate (PC), 1,2-butylene carbonate, 2,3-butylene carbonate, 1,2-pentylene carbonate, 2,3-pentylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, halogenated products thereof, and a mixture thereof. The halogenated products thereof may include, for example, fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC),” Woo [0044]. In this case, if FEC were used, as is taught in Woo [0058], then the above limitation is anticipated. By modifying Kozinsky to include the non-aqueous electrolyte of Woo, as described in claim 1, this limitation would be met without requiring any further modification or motivation.)
Claim(s) 2, 4, 6, 9 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozinsky (US 20100285360 A1) in view of Woo (US 20190386315 A1) and further in view of Kim (US 20190198865 A1) .
Regarding claim 2, Woo and Kozinsky are silent on the following elements. More specifically, Woo teaches that the coating layer can be anywhere between 10-100nm, which overlaps the claimed range and could make for a prima facie case of obviousness. However, Kim teaches an inorganic coating layer that overlaps even more so:
The negative electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the coating
Kim teaches the following elements of claim 2 that are not found in Woo or Kozinsky
The negative electrode material according to claim 1, wherein the coating (“The inorganic protection layer 12 may include a compound of a metal oxide, a metal nitride, a metal nitrate, a metal carbide, a lithiated compound thereof, or a combination thereof or a ceramic electrolyte. The inorganic protection layer 12 may include a metal oxide of alumina (Al2O3),” Kim [0066] and “For example, the thickness of the inorganic protection layer 12 may be in a range of about 1 nm to about 100 nm, about 1 nm to about 60 nm, about 5 nm to about 50 nm, about 5 nm to about 40 nm, about 5 nm to about 30 nm, about 5 nm to about 20 nm, or about 5 nm to about 10 nm.” Kim [0069])
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 1-100nm for the thickness of the inorganic layer for an anode overlaps the claimed range of less than 10nm for the same parameter. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Kim is considered to be analogous to Kozinsky because they are both related to anodes for lithium batteries containing an inorganic coating layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indium oxide layer of Kozinsky to have the thickness of Kim in order to suppress the detachment of the inorganic layer to the first layer (“When the inorganic protection layer 12 has a thickness of about 100 nm or less, detachment between the inorganic protection layer 12 and the second anode layer 11b may be suppressed even after a long period of a charge/discharge process, and lifespan characteristics of a lithium battery including the anode 20 including the inorganic protection layer 12 may improve.” Kim [0069])
No further modification or motivation would be required to meet the limitations of claims 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 2, as shown above. Kozinsky teaches the additional elements of claim 4:
The negative electrode material according to claim 2, wherein A is an element selected from a group consisting of O and N. (“The coating 116 may be provided in the form of pure metals and alloys, conducting oxides such as indium oxide or zinc oxide, or sulfides, etc.” Kozinsky [0022]. In this case, the use of indium oxide would meet all of the limitations regarding the compound in the second layer.)
Regarding claim 6, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 2, as shown above. Kozinsky teaches the additional elements of claim 6:
A negative electrode comprising: the negative electrode material according to claim 2; and a negative electrode current collector is contiguous with a surface of the negative electrode active material layer. (“The negative electrode 102 includes electrolyte 112 and a current collector 114. A coating 116 is provided on the current collector 114.” Kozinsky [0013] and “The coating 116, however, encourages the growth of a smooth layer of lithium on the collector 114 regardless of surface imperfections in the substrate material. In this case, the current collector is contiguous with a surface of the negative electrode active material layer, i.e. the layer of smooth lithium formed on the surface of the collector as a result of the coating.)
Regarding claim 9, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 5, as shown above. Kozinsky teaches the additional elements of claim 9:
The negative electrode according to claim 6, wherein the coating surfaces of the negative electrode active material layer that are not contiguous with the negative electrode collector. (By forming the smooth lithium layer on the surface of the current collector, as described above, this limitation would be met by the teachings of Kozinsky. Specifically, the coating layer would entirely cover the surface of the negative electrode active layer that is formed in between the coating later and the current collector.)
Regarding claim 17, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 11, as shown above. Kozinsky and Woo are silent on the following elements of claim 17:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 11, wherein the negative electrode comprises an alloy of lithium, and an element represented by M contained in the coating
However, Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 17 that are not found in Kozinsky or Woo:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 11, wherein the negative electrode comprises an alloy of lithium, and an element represented by M contained in the coating(“The other anode active material further included in the anode including lithium metal may be, for example, a metal alloyable with lithium.” Kim [0106] There is no evidence supporting that the lithium alloy would no longer be present after charging and discharging the secondary battery.)
Kim and Kozinsky are considered to be analogous for the reasons provided above, regarding claim 2. It would additionally have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo to include a lithium alloy in the anode active material layer as this is a known material in the art, and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case, the addition of a lithium alloy with the taught density of Kim to the anode material can increase the lifespan characteristics of the battery (“When the lithium metal or the lithium alloy in the second anode layer 11b has a density within these ranges, lifespan characteristics of a lithium battery including the anode 20 including the second anode layer 11b may improve.” Kim [0061].)
No further modification or motivation would be needed to meet the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 18, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 13, as shown above. Kozinsky and Woo are silent on the following elements of claim 18:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein the negative electrode comprises an alloy of lithium, and an element represented by M contained in the coating
However, Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 18 that are not found in Kozinsky or Woo:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 13, wherein the negative electrode comprises an alloy of lithium, and an element represented by M contained in the coating (“The other anode active material further included in the anode including lithium metal may be, for example, a metal alloyable with lithium.” Kim [0106] There is no evidence supporting that the lithium alloy would no longer be present after charging and discharging the secondary battery.)
Regarding claim 19, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 17, as shown above. Kozinsky and Woo are silent on the following elements of claim 19:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 17, wherein the coating
However, Kim teaches all of the elements of claim 19 that are not found in Kozinsky or Woo:
The lithium secondary battery according to claim 17, wherein the coating (“The inorganic protection layer 12 may include a compound of a metal oxide, a metal nitride, a metal nitrate, a metal carbide, a lithiated compound thereof, or a combination thereof” Kim [0066], “The inorganic protection layer 12 may include… a metal nitride of … AIN,” Kim [0066] and “The inorganic protection layer 12 may include… a lithium nitride” Kim [0066]. In this case, a combination of AlN and lithium nitride could be used together in the second layer, therefore meeting all of the limitations of claim 19. There is no evidence to suggest that the aluminum nitride of lithium nitride would no longer be present after charging and discharging of the battery.)
Kim and Kozinsky are considered to be analogous for the reasons provided above, regarding claim 2. It would additionally have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woo to include the aluminum nitride and lithium nitride of Kim in place of the aluminum oxide of Woo. This would be a simple substitution of one inorganic coating material for another known in the art, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20190386315 A1) in view of Kozinsky (US 20100285360 A1)
Regarding claim 20, Woo teaches the following elements:
A method for manufacturing a negative electrode that is used for a lithium secondary battery, the method comprising: preparing a negative electrode active material (“On a lithium metal layer with a thickness of 40 μm, an aluminum oxide layer and a carbon layer were sequentially deposited by sputtering deposition to prepare an anode.” Woo [0055]. In this case, the lithium metal layer functions as the negative electrode active material layer
and forming a coating negative electrode active material that coats the at least one surface of the negative electrode active material layer, (“On a lithium metal layer with a thickness of 40 μm, an aluminum oxide layer and a carbon layer were sequentially deposited by sputtering deposition to prepare an anode.” Woo [0055]. In this case, the aluminum oxide layer functions as the coating layer on the negative electrode active material layer, which is the lithium metal layer.)
wherein the lithium secondary battery contains a non-aqueous electrolyte solution that is separated from the negative electrode active material layer by the coating layer, (“A lithium secondary battery according to another aspect of the present invention includes an electrode assembly including the above-explained lithium electrode as an anode, a cathode, and a separator interposed between the anode and cathode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte for impregnating the electrode assembly.” Woo [0015])
and wherein the coating (“The sputtering conditions are as shown in Table 1, and deposition was repeated twice, the deposition of the aluminum oxide layer was conducted for a total of 20 minutes, and the deposition of the carbon layer was conducted for a total of 40 minutes. The total thickness of the prepared aluminum oxide layer and carbon layer was measured to be 34.0 nm,” Woo [0056]. The thickness of the aluminum oxide layer of Woo is less than 100nm, and therefore anticipates the range of claim 20.)
Woo is silent on the following elements of claim 20:
wherein the coating
However, Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 20 that are not found in Woo. Specifically, Kozinsky teaches the usage of an indium oxide coating layer formed on a surface of a lithium metal layer:
wherein the coating (“The coating 116 may be provided in the form of pure metals and alloys, conducting oxides such as indium oxide or zinc oxide, or sulfides, etc.” Kozinsky [0022]. In this case, the use of indium oxide would meet all of the limitations regarding the compound in the second layer.)
Kozinsky and Woo are considered to be analogous for the reasons provided above, regarding claim 1. It would additionally have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the secondary battery of Woo, formed via a method meeting the limitations of claim 20, to substitute the aluminum oxide coating layer with the indium oxide layer taught by Kozinsky, in order to improve anode morphology (“Thus, by making the surface of the coating 116 very smooth, the anode morphology is improved thereby extending the cycle life and safety of the cell. The coating 116 may be provided in the form of pure metals and alloys,” [0022]). Essentially, the only modification needed would be to either substitute the aluminum oxide layer of Woo with the indium oxide layer of Kozinsky, or to modify the method of Kozinsky to deposit the indium oxide layer onto the lithium metal, rather than directly onto the current collector. Both modifications would be within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozinsky (US 20100285360 A1) in view of Woo (US 20190386315 A1) and further in view of Zhang (WO2018171245 A1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Kozinsky teaches all of the elements of claim 1, as shown above. Kozinsky and Woo are silent on the following elements of claim 21:
The negative electrode material according to claim 1, wherein M is Ag.
However, Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 21 that are not found in Kozinsky. Specifically, Zhang teaches a protective coating layer for a lithium metal negative electrode active layer which comprises AgF:
The negative electrode material according to claim 1, wherein M is Ag. (“The invention provides a method for treating a surface of a metal lithium negative electrode of a lithium metal battery, wherein the surface of the metal lithium negative electrode forms a solid electrolyte protective layer in situ, and the solid electrolyte protective layer is prepared by a chemical reaction method … The salt additives … silver fluoride, copper fluoride, sodium fluoride, and fluoroethylene carbonate.” Zhang [17]. By using AgF in the formation of a protective coating for lithium metal, all of the limitations of claim 21 would be met.)
Zhang is considered to be analogous to Kozinsky because they are both within the same field of negative electrodes containing a lithium metal layer with an inorganic protective coating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating layer of Kozinsky to substitute it with the coating layer of Kozinsky in order to reduce the formation of lithium dendrites and improve the efficiency of the battery (“The object of the present invention is to provide a lithium negative electrode surface treatment method for a lithium metal battery, which can effectively inhibit the generation of lithium dendrites and reduce the lithium source by forming a stable solid electrolyte protective layer in situ on the surface of the metal lithium negative electrode. The loss, in turn, increases the life of the lithium negative electrode of the lithium metal battery during long battery life.” Zhang [7]). Additionally, this would only require the simple substitution of one coating layer for a lithium metal negative electrode active material for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (US 20190386315 A1) in view of Kozinsky (US 20100285360 A1) and further in view of Zhang (WO2018171245 A1),
Regarding claim 22, modified Woo teaches all of the elements of claim 20, as shown above. Woo and Kozinsky are silent on the following elements of claim 22:
The method according to claim 20, wherein M is Ag.
However, Zhang teaches all of the elements of claim 22 that are not found in Kozinsky or Woo. Specifically, Zhang teaches a protective coating layer for a lithium metal negative electrode active layer which comprises AgF:
The method according to claim 20, wherein M is Ag. (“The invention provides a method for treating a surface of a metal lithium negative electrode of a lithium metal battery, wherein the surface of the metal lithium negative electrode forms a solid electrolyte protective layer in situ, and the solid electrolyte protective layer is prepared by a chemical reaction method … The salt additives … silver fluoride, copper fluoride, sodium fluoride, and fluoroethylene carbonate.” Zhang [17]. By using AgF in the formation of a protective coating for lithium metal, all of the limitations of claim 21 would be met.)
Zhang is considered to be analogous to Kozinsky because they are both within the same field of negative electrodes containing a lithium metal layer with an inorganic protective coating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating layer of Kozinsky to substitute it with the coating layer of Kozinsky in order to reduce the formation of lithium dendrites and improve the efficiency of the battery (“The object of the present invention is to provide a lithium negative electrode surface treatment method for a lithium metal battery, which can effectively inhibit the generation of lithium dendrites and reduce the lithium source by forming a stable solid electrolyte protective layer in situ on the surface of the metal lithium negative electrode. The loss, in turn, increases the life of the lithium negative electrode of the lithium metal battery during long battery life.” Zhang [7]). Additionally, this would only require the simple substitution of one coating layer for a lithium metal negative electrode active material for another, and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
The following references were considered to be relevant in an updated search, but were not used in the above rejection:
Yamakaji (US 20120001120 A1)—teaches the formation of a silver oxide coating layer on a negative electrode active layer (“After the heat treatment, there are cases in which the catalyst element is segregated at the outermost surface of the crystalline silicon layer (the negative electrode active material layer 417). In this case, in the crystalline silicon layer, the concentration of the catalyst element 415 is higher in a region closer to the surface in a depth direction (film thickness direction). Further, the catalyst element 415 is oxidized by the heat treatment, and becomes a conductive oxide. For example, in the case of using nickel, copper, indium, tin, silver, or the like as the catalyst element 415, nickel oxide, copper oxide, indium oxide, tin oxide, silver oxide, or the like becomes segregated at the outermost surface of the crystalline silicon layer.” Yamakaji [0085])
Kim (US 20190348668 A1)—teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising a current collector, a lithium metal negative electrode active layer, and a coating layer formed on the lithium metal layer (“Referring to FIG. 2, the lithium metal anode 10 according to the present embodiment includes a current collector 11, a lithium metal thin film layer 12 disposed on one surface of the current collector 11, and a coating layer 13 positioned on the lithium metal thin film layer 12.” Kim [0129]) which comprises a metal oxide and/or fluoride (“On the other hand, the coating layer 13 may further include LiF in addition to a Li—N—C—H—O based ionic compound” Kim [0121]), which would be obvious to combine with the teachings of Kozinsky and/or Zhang, which teach the desired coating compounds in the coating layer.
/BENJAMIN ELI KASS-MULLET/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752