Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on November 28, 2025 has been entered. Claims 2 and 6 have been canceled in the present application. Claim 15 is new in the present application. Claims 1, 5, 9, and 12-13 have been amended in the present application. Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-15 are pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0304162).
Regarding claim 1, Yamasaki teaches a projection system (Figure 1) comprising: a first lens group having refractive power (Figure 1 first lens group is comprised of lenses G11-G52), a second lens group having refractive power (Figure 1 second lens group is comprised of lenses G53-G61) sequentially arranged from an enlargement side toward a reduction side (Figure 1 G11-G52 and G53-G61 are arranged sequentially), and an aperture stop (Figure 1 stop ST, [0094]),
wherein the first lens group (Figure 1 G11-G52) includes a first lens (G11) disposed at a position closest to the enlargement side (G11 is closest to enlargement side, [0087]), a second lens (G12, [0087]) disposed at the reduction side of the first lens (Figure 1 G12 is on reduction side of G11), and a plurality of cemented doublets (Figure 1 G31-G32, G42-G43, and G51-G52 are cemented doublets, [0092]-[0093] and [0095]) including a plurality of positive lenses ([0092]-[0093] G31 and G42 are positive lenses included in the cemented doublets) disposed at the reduction side of the second lens (Figure 1 G31 and G42 are on reduction side of G12) and each having positive power ([0092]-[0093] G31 and G42 are positive lenses),
a portion at the reduction side of a reduction-side lens (Figure 1 lens G61) that forms the second lens group Figure 1 second lens group is comprised of lenses G53-G61) and is located at a position closest to the reduction side (Figure 1 lens G61 is closest to reduction side) is a telecentric portion ([0007] lens is telecentric on the reduction side), and the projection system satisfies Conditional Expressions (1) and (2) below,
LnθgF > 0.6 (1) (Based on refractive index and Abbe number the material of G12 is consistent with S-TIH53 and LnθgF = 0.6205, OHARA catalog)
ω> 40° (2) (Figure 2a ω = 55°)
where LnθgF represents a partial dispersion ratio of one of the first and second lenses, and o represents a maximum half angle of view of the overall projection system, wherein the projection system satisfies Conditional Expression (3) below,
1.0 <Fp1/F<6.0 (3) (Table 1 focal length of G31 FP1 calculated to be 41.2 mm, F= 8.2 mm, Fp1/F = 5.02)
where F represents a focal length of the overall projection system, and Fp1 represents a focal length of a first positive lens disposed at a position closest to the enlargement side out of the plurality of positive lenses,
wherein the first lens group includes a first cemented doublet (G42-G43 is a first cemented doublet), of the plurality of cemented doublets, into which a third lens (G42) and a fourth lens (G43) are bonded to each other, the projection system satisfies all Conditional Expressions (8), (9), and (10) below,
0.5 < |Δνd| < 30.0 (8) (Table 1 |Δνd| = 9.4)
|Δnd| < 0.35 (9) (Table 1 |Δnd| = 0.093)
4.0 < |Fc / F| < 55.0 (10) (Table 1 Fc calculated to be -117.51, F= 8.2 mm, |Fc / F| =14.33)
where F represents the focal length of the overall projection system, Δνd represents a difference in an Abbe number at a d line between the third lens and the fourth lens, Δnd represents a difference in a refractive index at the d line between the third lens and the fourth lens, and Fc represents a focal length of the first cemented doublet.
Yamasaki fails to teach the aperture stop is disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group. However, Yamasaki also teaches that the aperture stop can be moved independently of the lens groups ([0094]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the aperture stop taught by Yamasaki to between the first and second lens groups since the aperture can be moved independently of the lens groups ([0094]) and doing so would not affect the optical properties of the system.
Regarding claim 3, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Yamasaki further teaches the first lens (Figure 1 lens G11) has negative power ([0088] G11 is negative), and the reduction-side lens (lens G61) has positive power ([0096] G61 is positive).
Regarding claim 4, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Yamasaki further teaches the first lens group includes a plurality of negative lenses ([0088] and [0093] lenses G13, G14, G15, and G41 are negative lenses) arranged in succession from a position closest to the enlargement side toward the reduction side (Figure 1 G13, G14, G15, and G41 are arranged from enlargement to reduction side), and one of the plurality of the negative lenses is an aspherical lens made of plastic ([0047] plastic molded aspheric lens, Table 1 G15 is aspheric).
Regarding claim 5, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Yamasaki further teaches the projection system satisfies all Conditional Expressions (4), (5), (6), and (7) below,
5.0 < L/F < 30.0 (4) (Table 1 L calculated to be 203.77, F = 8.2 mm, L/F = 24.85)
BF/F>2.0 (5) (Table 1 BF calculated to be 37.82 mm, F = 8.2 mm, BF/F = 4.61)
-20.0 < F1s /F< -2.5 (6) (Table 1 focal length of G11 F1s calculated to be -141.64 mm, F = 8.2 mm, F1s/F = -17.27)
2.5 < F1f /F< 10.0 (7) (Table 1 focal length of reduction-side lens L61 F1f calculated to be 65.52 mm, F = 8.2 mm, F1f/F = 7.99)
where L represents a distance from an enlargement-side lens surface of the first lens to a reduction-side lens surface of the reduction-side lens, F represents the focal length of the overall projection system, BF represents a back focal length in air, F1s represents a focal length of the first lens, and F1f represents a focal length of the reduction-side lens.
Regarding claim 7, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Yamasaki further teaches the projection system satisfies Conditional Expressions (11) and (12) below,
vdp2 <40 (11) (Table 1 G42 is second positive lens closest to reduction side of lenses G31 and G42, vdp2 = 27.8)
1.5 < Fp2 /F< 15.0 (12) (Table 1 focal length of G42 Fp2 calculated to be 16.5 mm, F = 8.2 mm, Fp2/F = 2.01)
where F represents a focal length of the overall lens system, Fp2 represents a focal length of a second positive lens disposed at a position closest to the reduction side out of the plurality of positive lenses, and vdp2 represents an Abbe number of the second positive lens at a d line.
Regarding claim 8, Yamasaki teaches a projector (Figure 9) comprising: the projection system according to claim 1 (Figure 9 zoom lens 103, [0124], see claim 1 above); and an image formation device that forms a projection image in a reduction-side conjugate plane of the projection system (Figure 1 LCD, [0078]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamasaki teaches a projection system (Figure 1) comprising: a first lens group having refractive power (Figure 1 first lens group is comprised of lenses G11-G52), a second lens group having refractive power (Figure 1 second lens group is comprised of lenses G53-G61) sequentially arranged from an enlargement side toward a reduction side (Figure 1 G11-G52 and G53-G61 are arranged sequentially), and an aperture stop (Figure 1 stop ST, [0094]),
wherein the first lens group (Figure 1 G11-G52) includes a first lens (G11) disposed at a position closest to the enlargement side (G11 is closest to enlargement side, [0087]), a second lens (G12, [0087]) disposed at the reduction side of the first lens (Figure 1 G12 is on reduction side of G11), and a plurality of cemented doublets (Figure 1 G31-G32, G42-G43, and G51-G52 are cemented doublets, [0092]-[0093] and [0095]) including a plurality of positive lenses ([0092]-[0093] G31 and G42 are positive lenses included in the cemented doublets) disposed at the reduction side of the second lens (Figure 1 G31 and G42 are on reduction side of G12) and each having positive power ([0092]-[0093] G31 and G42 are positive lenses),
a portion at the reduction side of a reduction-side lens (Figure 1 lens G61) that forms the second lens group Figure 1 second lens group is comprised of lenses G53-G61) and is located at a position closest to the reduction side (Figure 1 lens G61 is closest to reduction side) is a telecentric portion ([0007] lens is telecentric on the reduction side), and the projection system satisfies Conditional Expressions (1) and (2) below,
LnθgF > 0.6 (1) (Based on refractive index and Abbe number the material of G12 is consistent with S-TIH53 and LnθgF = 0.6205, OHARA catalog)
ω> 40° (2) (Figure 2a ω = 55°)
where LnθgF represents a partial dispersion ratio of one of the first and second lenses, and o represents a maximum half angle of view of the overall projection system, wherein the projection system satisfies Conditional Expression (3) below,
1.0 <Fp1/F<6.0 (3) (Table 1 focal length of G31 FP1 calculated to be 41.2 mm, F= 8.2 mm, Fp1/F = 5.02)
where F represents a focal length of the overall projection system, and Fp1 represents a focal length of a first positive lens disposed at a position closest to the enlargement side out of the plurality of positive lenses, wherein the projection system satisfies Conditional Expressions (11) and (12) below,
vdp2 <40 (11) (Table 1 G42 is second positive lens closest to reduction side of lenses G31 and G42, vdp2 = 27.8)
1.5 < Fp2 /F< 15.0 (12) (Table 1 focal length of G42 Fp2 calculated to be 16.5 mm, F = 8.2 mm, Fp2/F = 2.01) where F represents the focal length of the overall lens system, Fp2 represents a focal length of a second positive lens disposed at a position closest to the reduction side out of the plurality of positive lenses, and vdp2 represents an Abbe number of the second positive lens at a d line.
Yamasaki fails to teach the aperture stop is disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group. However, Yamasaki also teaches that the aperture stop can be moved independently of the lens groups ([0094]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the aperture stop taught by Yamasaki to between the first and second lens groups since the aperture can be moved independently of the lens groups ([0094]) and doing so would not affect the optical properties of the system.
Regarding claim 10, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Yamasaki further teaches the first lens (Figure 1 lens G11) has negative power ([0088] G11 is negative), and the reduction-side lens (lens G61) has positive power ([0096] G61 is positive).
Regarding claim 11, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Yamasaki further teaches the first lens group includes a plurality of negative lenses ([0088] and [0093] lenses G13, G14, G15, and G41 are negative lenses) arranged in succession from a position closest to the enlargement side toward the reduction side (Figure 1 G13, G14, G15, and G41 are arranged from enlargement to reduction side), and one of the plurality of the negative lenses is an aspherical lens made of plastic ([0047] plastic molded aspheric lens, Table 1 G15 is aspheric).
Regarding claim 12, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Yamasaki further teaches the projection system satisfies all Conditional Expressions (4), (5), (6), and (7) below,
5.0 < L/F < 30.0 (4) (Table 1 L calculated to be 203.77, F = 8.2 mm, L/F = 24.85)
BF/F>2.0 (5) (Table 1 BF calculated to be 37.82 mm, F = 8.2 mm, BF/F = 4.61)
-20.0 < F1s /F< -2.5 (6) (Table 1 focal length of G11 F1s calculated to be -141.64 mm, F = 8.2 mm, F1s/F = -17.27)
2.5 < F1f /F< 10.0 (7) (Table 1 focal length of reduction-side lens L61 F1f calculated to be 65.52 mm, F = 8.2 mm, F1f/F = 7.99)
where L represents a distance from an enlargement-side lens surface of the first lens to a reduction-side lens surface of the reduction-side lens, F represents the focal length of the overall projection system, BF represents a back focal length in air, F1s represents a focal length of the first lens, and F1f represents a focal length of the reduction-side lens.
Regarding claim 13, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 9. Yamasaki further teaches the first lens group includes a first cemented doublet (Figure 1 G42-G43 is a first cemented doublet), of the plurality of cemented doublets, into which a third lens and a fourth lens are bonded to each other, and the projection system satisfies all Conditional Expressions (8), (9), and (10) below,
0.5 < |Δνd| < 30.0 (8) (Table 1 |Δνd| = 9.4)
|Δnd| < 0.35 (9) (Table 1 |Δnd| = 0.093)
4.0 < |Fc / F| < 55.0 (10) (Table 1 Fc calculated to be -117.51, F= 8.2 mm, |Fc / F| =14.33)
where F represents the focal length of the overall projection system, Δνd represents a difference in an Abbe number at a d line between the third lens and the fourth lens, Δnd represents a difference in a refractive index at the d line between the third lens and the fourth lens, and Fc represents a focal length of the first cemented doublet.
Regarding claim 14, Yamasaki teaches a projector (Figure 9) comprising: the projection system according to claim 9 (Figure 9 zoom lens 103, [0124], see claim 9 above); and an image formation device that forms a projection image in a reduction-side conjugate plane of the projection system (Figure 1 LCD, [0078]).
Regarding claim 15, Yamasaki teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Yamasaki further teaches the plurality of cemented doublets includes the first cemented doublet (Figure 1 cemented doublet comprising G42-G43) having a negative power (Table 1 focal length of G42-G43 calculated to be -117.51 mm) and a second cemented doublet (Figure 1 cemented doublet comprising G51-52) having a positive power (Table 1 focal length of G51-G52 calculated to be 98.67 mm).
Conclusion
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872