DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Per the Applicant’s response dated June 10, 2026, Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, are amended. In the Remarks dated May 19, 2026, the Applicant recites that claims 10-15 are canceled; however, the claims amendments do not recite any canceled claims. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn. Claims 21-25 are added. Claims 1-14 and 21-25 are examined.
Status of Application
The rejections provided in the Office Action dated February 19, 2026 are modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Applicant’s amendment to claim 3 is sufficient to overcome the previous claim objection of claim 3. Therefore, the objection is withdrawn. Applicant drawings are sufficient to overcome the previous objections over Fig. 6A. Thus, the objection is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites “structured to active and/or deactive based on”. The claim should be amended to “structured to activate and/or deactivate based on”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatari et al. [JP2014112464 (A), machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereinafter Nowatari, in view of Nicotera et al. [US20080206615A1], hereinafter Nicotera.
Regarding claim 1, Nowatari discloses an electrochemical cell comprising [Nowatari 0001 and throughout, fuel cell discussed throughout]:
a plurality of components including a membrane electrode assembly [Nowatari 0008, 0016, 0049-0051, and throughout, Fig. 8, MEA 20] including gas diffusion layers [Nowatari 0019-0020 and throughout, Fig. 8, gas-liquid separating means 28, 124, 38 reads on the claimed gas diffusion layers], catalyst layers [Nowatari 0017-0022, 0049-0051, and throughout, Fig. 8 , catalyst layers 24, 26], an exchange membrane [Nowatari 0017-0020, 0049-0051, and throughout, Fig. 8, electrolyte membrane 22],
the cell having a target operational relative humidity (RH) [Nowatari 0005, 0009, 0028 0049-0051, and throughout, appropriate humidity range during shutdown and operation reads on target operational relative humidity and the operational humidity requirements of the fuel cell are further discussed throughout]; and
a humidity stabilization system located adjacent a cathode gas diffusion layer[Nowatari 0020, 0049-0051, and throughout, Fig. 8, humidity adjusting section 120 discussed throughout is shown adjacent to cathode GDL 28, 124 on the cathode chamber 26],
the system including a hygroscopic material forming a humidity stabilization layer and having a critical relative humidity (CRH) value equal to or greater than the target operational RH of the cell [Nowatari 0020-0025, Nowatari humidity adjusting system includes a water-absorbing inorganic salt [0006, 0020-0025, Fig. 2] used in a humidity-conditioning aqueous solution 36, 96, 98, 122 [0023, 0050, 0053]. Nowatari does not explicitly teach a hygroscopic material; however, Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines hygroscopic as readily taking up and retaining moisture. Thus, Nowatari’s water-absorbing inorganic salts for a humidity-conditioning system read on the claimed hygroscopic material. Nowatari teaches the humidity control solution 122 controls the humidity of the cathode catalyst layer 26 in operation or not in operation [Nowatari 0050], which reads on a humidity stabilization layer. The humidity inside Nowatari’s device is maintained at a humidity specific to the inorganic salt: cesium fluoride, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, potassium acetate, magnesium chloride, potassium carbonate, sodium bromide, potassium iodide, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and potassium sulfate [Nowatari 0023], where the CRHs of each are provided in Fig. 2. The salt is selected based on the humidity requirements as discussed throughout.].
Nowatari does not teach bipolar plates. Nicotera teaches a fuel cell with bipolar plates [Nicotera 0028-0031, Fig. 4, bipolar plates 30]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to apply Nicotera’s bipolar plates to Nowatari’s fuel cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nicotera’s bipolar plates with Nowatari’s fuel cell for the predictable result of a fuel cell with bipolar plates to create channels for the flow of reactants and products [Nicotera 0028-0031].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material is a compound having an ionic bond [Nowatari 0023, Nowatari discloses cesium fluoride, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, potassium acetate, magnesium chloride, potassium carbonate, sodium bromide, potassium iodide, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, potassium sulfate, all of which have ionic bonding. For example, potassium donates an electron to each sulfate ion, forming an ionic bond. Likewise, sodium donates an ion to the chloride ion, forming an ionic bond.]
Regarding claim 5, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material includes one or more of sulfates, phosphates, nitrates, chlorides, or a combination thereof [Nowatari 0023, 0043-0044, Nowatari discloses cesium fluoride, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, potassium acetate, magnesium chloride, potassium carbonate, sodium bromide, potassium iodide, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and potassium sulfate where the CRHs of each are provided in Fig. 2, which reads on sulfates and chlorides. Further, Nowatari discloses an embodiment for the humidification system that can have two different types of inorganic salts depending on the humidity requirements [0043-0044], which reads on a combination thereof. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date to select from either a single salt embodiment or two or more salt embodiment for the predictable result of a fuel cell with a humidification system to prevent flooding or drying out of the cathode catalyst layer [Nowatari 0022, 0047]. See MPEP 2143E.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material comprises potassium sulfate [Nowatari 0023, 0025, 0044, Fig. 2].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1 and teaches and embodiment where the humidity stabilization system further comprises one or more switches structured to activate and or deactivate based on the RH value of the cell [Nowatari 0043-0049, Fig. 7]. In the embodiment, shield means 84, linear elastic member 112, extension member 110, roller 86 are configured to move to cover/uncover the compartments with the humidity-conditioning aqueous solution 36, 96, 98, 122 to adjust the humidity relative to the optimum humidity. Nowatari’s device including shield means 84, linear elastic member 112, extension member 110, and roller 86 performs the function of a switch that activates or deactivates Nowatari’s humidity stabilization system. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Nowatari’s embodiment of Fig. 7 with the embodiment of Fig. 8 by providing the shield means 84, linear elastic member 112, extension member 110, and roller 86 between cathode humidity control device 120 and cathode GDL 28/124. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nowatari’s embodiments as described for the predictable result of an additional device for controlling the humidity in the cathode, particularly if the hygroscopic salts are saturated [Nowatari 0010].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the humidity stabilization system includes a plurality of hygroscopic materials having different CRHs [Nowatari 0023, 0043-0044, Nowatari discloses cesium fluoride, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, potassium acetate, magnesium chloride, potassium carbonate, sodium bromide, potassium iodide, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and potassium sulfate where the variety of CRHs of each are provided in Fig. 2. Further, Nowatari discloses an embodiment for the humidification system that can have two different types of inorganic salts depending on the humidity requirements [0043-0044], which reads on a combination thereof. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date to select from either a single salt embodiment or two or more salt embodiment for the predictable result of a fuel cell with a humidification system to prevent both flooding or drying out of the cathode catalyst layer through the selection of the salts [Nowatari 0022, 0047]. See MPEP 2143E.
Regarding Claim 23, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material comprises a hydrophilic material [Nowatari 0023, Nowatari teaches inorganic salts that can be used in an aqueous solution, which inherently requires the material to be hydrophilic. This is evidenced by the definition of hydrophilic as provided by Dictionarly.com online dictionary, which defines hydrophilic (adj) as tending to dissolve in, mix with, or be wetted by water.]. See MPEP 2112, inherency.
Regarding Claim 25, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material forms a continuous layer [Nowatari 0006, 0020-0025, 0050, 0053 and throughout, Fig. 2, Nowatari’s inorganic salts used in a humidity-conditioning aqueous solution 36, 96, 98, 122 [0023, 0050, 0053] read on a continuous layer since the hygroscopic solution is continuous.].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatari in view of Nicotera, as provided for claim 1 above, as evidenced by Miki et al. [US20110008216A1], hereinafter Miki.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material reacts exothermically with water [Nowatari 0023, Nowatari discloses a number of hygroscopic materials as described in claim 1, such as magnesium chloride. MgCl2 is known to react exothermically with water, as evidenced by Miki [Miki 0061].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowatari in view of Nicotera, as provided for claim 1 above, as evidenced by V. Bianco et al. [Phase diagram of the NaCl–water system from computer simulations. J. Chem. Phys. 14 February 2022; 156 (6): 064505], hereinafter Bianco.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Nowatari discloses the cell of claim 1, wherein the hygroscopic material undergoes a phase change upon contact with water [Nowatari 0023, Nowatari discloses a number of hygroscopic materials as described in claim 1, such as sodium chloride. NaCl is known to react to undergo a phase change with water from solid crystals to brine solution, as evidenced by Bianco Fig. 1 and throughout.].
Claim(s) 9-14, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang US20050053821A1 and in further view of Nowatari et al. [JP2014112464 (A), machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereinafter Nowatari .
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses an electrochemical cell comprising [Jang abstract and throughout, fuel cell discussed throughout]:
a membrane electrode assembly [Jang 0007, 0045, and throughout, Fig. 1, MEA 30 is 16/28/26] including gas diffusion layers [Jang 0006, 0015, 0015 and throughout, Fig. 1gas diffusion backings 14 and 24], anode and cathode catalyst layers [Jang 0045 and throughout, Fig. 1, 16 and 26], and an exchange membrane [Jang 0045, Fig. 1, membrane 28],
the cell having a target operational relative humidity (RH) [Jang 0034, 0043-0045, Jang teaches fuel cells with high ambient humidity and low ambient humidity. Jang further teaches maintaining the dynamic equilibrium of moisture of the fuel cell and the effect of humidity on the fuel cell current and conductivity, which reads on the claimed operational relative humidity.]; and
a humidity stabilization system located in the cathode catalyst layer [Jang 0029-0032, 0034, 0045 and throughout, Jang teaches a hygroscopic/deliquescent material can be provided with an effect of maintaining moisture in the membrane [0034], which reads on a humidity stabilization system. Jang teaches the hygroscopic/deliquescent material can be provided in any of the following layers [0045]: anode catalyst 16, cathode catalyst 26, GDL 14 or 24, collector plates 10/20, PEM 28. ],
the system including a hygroscopic material [Jang 0034, Jang teaches the level of moisture in the fuel cell varies depending on the amount and type of hygroscopic material as well as the relative humidity of the environment. Jang teaches the following materials: zinc chloride, calcium chloride, magnesium chloride, lithium chloride, calcium bromide, potassium biphosphate, potassium acetate, phosphorous oxide, ammonium acetate, sodium acetate, sodium silicate, potassium silicate, magnesium sulfate, aluminum oxide, calcium oxide, silicon oxide, zeolite, barium oxide, cobalt chloride, bentonite, montmorillonite clay, silica gel, molecular sieve, monohydric compounds, polyhydric compounds, metal nitrate salt, sodium ethyl sulfate organic salt, polyethylene glycol, and combinations thereof. ];
and a physical barrier retaining the hygroscopic material within the cell [Jang 0045 and throughout, Fig. 1. Jang teaches mixing the hygroscopic material within the cathode catalyst layer 16. As shown in Fig. 1, the catalyst layer is surrounded by a PEM 28, a backing layer 24, and plate 20, which would inherently provide a physical barrier as described. Further, Jang does not teach movement of the hygroscopic material outside of the cell. Per MPEP 2112, here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.].
Jang does not explicitly teach the critical relative humidity value of the materials is equal to or greater than the target operational relative humidity. Nowatari teaches an electrochemical cell [Nowatari throughout], the cell having a target operational relative humidity (RH) [Nowatari 0005, 0009, 0028 0049-0051, and throughout, appropriate humidity range during shutdown and operation reads on target operational relative humidity and the operational humidity requirements of the fuel cell are further discussed throughout] with a humidity stabilization system including salts for controlling the humidity in a fuel cell and the salts have a critical relative humidity (CRH) value equal to or greater than the target operational RH of the cell [Nowatari 0021-0023]. Specifically, the humidity inside Nowatari’s device is maintained at a humidity specific to the inorganic salt: cesium fluoride, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, potassium acetate, magnesium chloride, potassium carbonate, sodium bromide, potassium iodide, sodium chloride, potassium chloride, and potassium sulfate [Nowatari 0023], where the CRHs of each are provided in Fig. 2. The salt is selected based on the humidity requirements as discussed throughout. Nowatari’s teaching overlaps with Jang on the following salts as hygroscopic materials: magnesium chloride, lithium chloride, and potassium acetate. Thus, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Nowatari’s teaching that the selective use of hygroscopic materials based on their critical relative humidity relative to the operational humidity of the device relative to the operational humidity of the device for controlling the humidity of the cell with Jang’s fuel cell using hygroscopic materials for controlling the humidity of the cell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date as described above for the predictable success of an electrochemical cell using hygroscopic materials to maintain the humidity within the cell [Jang 0034 and throughout; Nowatari 0021-0023 and throughout].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Jang discloses the cell of claim 9, wherein the physical barrier is water vapor permeable and liquid water impermeable [Jang 0003-0007, 0045 and throughout, As described in claim 9 above, the barrier is provided by the Jang’s PEM 28, GDL 24, a plate 20. The PEM is selectively permeable [Jang 0003-0007]. Gas diffusion electrodes or backing layers 14, 24 are porous allowing gas to diffuse through the cell. Further, the two field flow plates 10/20 are impermeable to liquid water and thus water and other reaction products flow through channels 22 for removing water. Further, Nowatari teaches the gas separation means (GDL) allows water vapor to pass through but does not allow liquid water to pass through [Nowatari 0020, 0032-0035, and throughout]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that Jang’s physical barrier as described meets the limitation as evidenced by Nowatari’s teachings as described.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Jang discloses the cell of claim 9, wherein the physical barrier forms a chamber [Jang 0003-0007, 0045 and throughout, Fig. 1, As described in claim 9 above, the barrier is provided by the Jang’s PEM 28, GDL 24, a plate 20. Per Merriam-Webster online dictionary, a chamber is a small space inside something. Plate 20 includes channels 22, which read on the claimed chamber. Thus, Jang meet the limitation.]
Regarding Claim 12, modified Jang discloses the cell of claim 9, where the physical barrier is a porous membrane between a gas diffusion layer and the hygroscopic material [Jang Fig. 1, As described in claim 9, PEM 28 serves the function of a physical barrier. PEM 28 is between GDL 14 and the hygroscopic material which can be included in the cathode layer 26.] Thus, Jang meets the limitation.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Jang disclose the cell of claim 9, wherein the hygroscopic material includes one or more of sulfates [Jang 0032, 0034], phosphates [Jang 0016], nitrates [Jun 0031, 0034], chlorides [Jang 0016, 0031, 0034], or a combination thereof [Jang 0016, 0031-0034].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Jang disclose the cell of claim 9, wherein the hygroscopic material includes potassium sulfate [Nowatari 0023, 0025, 0044, Fig. 2, Nowatari’s teaching of potassium sulfate as a water absorbing material for use in ]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nowatari’s teaching of potassium sulfate as inorganic salt used for controlling humidity in a fuel cell makes it art recognized as suitable for such use. See MPEP 2144.07. Further, Nowatari and Jang both teach magnesium chloride, lithium chloride, and potassium acetate [Nowatari 0023; Jang 0034]. Thus, Nowatari’s teachings of potassium sulfate is an art recognized equivalent for those hygroscopic materials per MPEP 2144.06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute potassium sulfate as the hygroscopic material in Jang’s cell for the reasons provided above.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Jang discloses the cell of claim 9, wherein the hygroscopic material comprises a hydrophilic material [Nowatari and Jang both teach magnesium chloride, lithium chloride, and potassium acetate [Nowatari 0023; Jang 0034] as hygroscopic materials. Nowatari further teaches these inorganic salts form an aqueous solution, which inherently requires the material to be hydrophilic. This is evidenced by the definition of hydrophilic as provided by Dictionarly.com online dictionary, which defines hydrophilic (adj) as tending to dissolve in, mix with, or be wetted by water.]. See MPEP 2112, inherency. Thus, Jang as evidenced by Nowatari meets the limitation.].
Regarding Claim 24, modified Jang discloses the cell of claim 9, wherein the hygroscopic material forms a continuous layer [Jun Fig. 1, Jang as provided in claim 9 above teaches the hygroscopic material in the cathode catalyst layer. As provided in Fig. 1, the cathode catalyst layer is a continuous layer as there is no evidence it is not continuous. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Jang is that the cathode catalyst layer 26 is a hygroscopic, continuous layer, meeting the limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 21, the closest prior art is Jang in view of Nowatari as provided above. In Jang, the hygroscopic material is in the form of inorganic salts in the cathode catalyst layer as required by claim 9. Jang does not teach switches structured to prevent outflow of the hygroscopic material from the cell. Further, it would not be obvious to modify Jang in this ways as there would be no known reason to do so nor would the method of doing so be obvious. Nowatari, as provided above, was considered for this limitation. Nowatari teaches an embodiment [Nowatari 0043-0049, Fig. 7] with a switch (shield means 84, linear elastic member 112, extension member 110, roller 86) configured to move to cover/uncover the compartments with the humidity-conditioning aqueous solution 36, 96, 98, 122 to adjust the humidity relative to the optimum humidity. Nowatari’s device including shield means 84, linear elastic member 112, extension member 110, and roller 86 performs the function of a switch that activates or deactivates Nowatari’s humidity stabilization system. As described above, Nowatari’s humidity stabilization system uses hygroscopic inorganic salts in an aqueous solution. Thus, it would not be obvious to combine Nowatari’s switch (shield means 84, linear elastic member 112, extension member 110, roller 86) as taught in Jang’s fully solid cell as there would be no known reason to do so. Further, it is unclear how to provide such modification.
After an additional search, Zhao CN110061265A [machine translation provided] was considered for the limitation of claim 21. Zhao teaches a switch for use with a humidity stabilization system for a fuel cell 2 or 12 [Zhao gas path switching device 1 or 7 as discussed throughout, Figs. 1-3] for humidity control in and out of fuel cell 2 or 12 [Zhao discussed throughout]. Zhao’s humidity stabilization is not in the cathode catalyst layer, and it would not be obvious to modify Zhao such that the device would be within a cathode catalyst layer. Thus, it would not be obvious to combine Zhao’s teachings with modified Jang’s cell.
For the reasons provided above, Claim 21 is considered to recite allowable subject matter. The Examiner consulted with Brian Ohara on the allowable subject matter of claim 21.
Response to Arguments
As provided above, Applicant’s amended drawings and amendment to claim 3 overcome the Objections provided in the Office Action dated February 19, 2026. Regarding Applicant arguments on pgs. 7-9 regarding the rejection in the recited Office Action over Nowatari, the Examiner respectfully agrees that Applicant’s amendments to claim 9 overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections over Nowatari; thus, the anticipation rejections are withdrawn. However, Jang in view of Nowatari obviates claims 9-14, 22, and 24. Further, see allowable subject matter of dependent claim 21 as indicated above.
Regarding Applicant's arguments on pgs. 9-11 regarding amended claim 1, the Applicant’s arguments of distinction over Nowatari have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the Examiner agrees that the previous rejection relied upon Nowatari’s embodiment directed to anode-side humidity control, Nowatari also provides an embodiment directed to humidity control on the cathode side as described above, which obviates amended claim 1 in view of Nicotera (relied upon for bipolar plates). Thus, the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection for claim 1 is modified for Nowatari’s embodiment obviating the amendment to claim 1.
As described above, the Remarks on pg. 7 indicate that claims 15-20 were canceled; however, the record shows Claims 15-20 are withdrawn. The Examiner recommends the Applicant considers cancelling claims 15-20, drawn to a nonelected invention as provided in Restriction Requirement dated 11/13/2025, Applicant’s response dated 1/7/2026, and Office Action dated 2/19/2026, for purposes of compact prosecution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhao CN110061265A [machine translation provided].
Zhao is cited for teaching a switch for use with a humidity stabilization system for a fuel cell as taught throughout, which is considered relevant to claim 7.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1724