DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 4, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4, 6, 10, 13-17, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
More specifically, Applicant argues that “Bienas does not disclose whether it uses the initial random access configuration to perform an original random access procedure or a new random access procedure” (see pages 21-22). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]). These parameters are used to perform random access (para. [0054]-[0060]). That is, when a UE moves within the SFN, the first RACH process is continuously performed as SFN specific cells use the same RACH parameter (see para. [0075]-[0081]). There is no need to perform a new random access procedure as all SFN specific cell within SFN uses the same RACH parameters, and that initial random access configuration remains valid when UE moves with SFN (para. [0030]). Additionally, based on the above, it would be obvious that when the UE moves from one SFN to another SFN, the initial RACH process is no longer valid as the RACH parameters change. Therefore, such a move requires ending of the first RACH and starting of a new RACH process.
Based on the above reasoning, Bienas teaches “the first operation comprises any one of following: continuing performing the first RACH process; ending the first RACH process and starting to perform a second RACH process; or ending a RACH process”
However, to move the case forward, Schmidt et al. is used to teach other alternative limitation that was added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 12, 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bienas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0260503), and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0221363).
Regarding Claim 1, Bienas et al. teaches A random access method (Bienas et al. teaches a mechanism for performing random access to a single frequency network, SFN (para. [0001])), performed by a terminal (UE device (para. [0028]; FIG. 3)) and comprising: performing a first operation in a case of moving in at least one single frequency network (SFN) during execution of a first random access channel (RACH) process performed by the terminal (Bienas et al. teaches that UE has to read the random access portion of the system information very rarely, as the initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); the small cells SC_n to SC_n+2 will start to broadcast the random access parameters synchronously as part of a system information broadcast (para. [0063]); SC_n and SC_n+1 transmit the contention resolution message synchronously, and after successful reception by UE1 the random access procedure is complete (para. [0081])), wherein the first operation comprises any one of the following: continuing performing the first RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, but stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); SFN cluster management unit is enabled to configure random access relevant parameters commonly for all small cells within a single frequency network (para. [0032]); the base stations implementing the SFN random access procedure do not have the freedom to select the parameters on their own, and that all base station of an SFN uses the same random access configuration (para. [0043]), indicating that UE will continue performing the first RACH process as UE moves); ending the first RACH process and starting to perform a second RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]), indicating a necessity of ending an initial RACH and starting a new RACH as the RACH parameters are no longer valid); or ending a RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]), indicating a necessity of ending an initial RACH as the RACH parameters are no longer valid), wherein moving in the at least one SFN comprises any one of the following: moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN (Bienas et al. teaches that initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, but stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); SFN cluster comprises of multiple cells (FIG. 1)), wherein each object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or transmission reception point (TRP) specific cell, or a TRP (Bienas et al. teaches that three small cells SC_n to SC_n+2 are configured as SFN cluster N and two small cells SC_m and SC_m+1 are configured to form the second cluster SFN cluster M (para. [0040]l FIG. 1)).
Although disclosing that base stations in different SFN have different RACH parameters and that UE moves out of the SFN cluster (para. [0032]; FIG. 1)), Bienas et al. does not explicitly teach wherein moving in the at least one SFN comprises any one of the following: moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN; moving from a second SFN to a third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, an SFN layer; or moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN. However, Lee et al. teaches such limitation more explicitly.
Lee et al. is directed to mobility procedures with hierarchical mobility. More specifically, Lee et al. teaches wherein moving in the at least one SFN comprises any one of the following: moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN; moving from a second SFN to a third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, an SFN layer; or moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN (Lee et al. teaches that the SFN is associated with a SFN area, which corresponds to one or more of a cell, an RAN notification area (RNA), a RAN-AC, a TA (para. [0108]); UE moves from first RNA 415a to a second RNA 415b (para. [0133]; FIG. 4); RNA is used as the SFN area (para. [0134]); the first single -frequency network includes a first group of cells (para. [0197]; FIG. 4)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that performing the moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to maintain connectivity when the UE moves between SFN areas (see Lee et al. (para. [0059])).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, and further, the references teach performing the first operation comprises: performing the first operation in a case that a reference signal (RS) received by the terminal comprises an SFN specific RS (Lee et al. teaches that UE performs the RACH procedure based on receiving paging signals (para. [0118]); SFN is associated with one or more SFN SSs or with one or more SFN paging signals (para. [0108]); UE measures a signal strength of the one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with the serving SFN area and measure a signal strength associated with one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with a neighboring SFN area (para. [0159]); the measured signal characteristics is a reference signal receive power (para. [0159]); when the signal strength or other signal characteristics of the serving SFN area drop below a first threshold and the signal strength of neighboring SFN area exceeds a second threshold, UE determines that the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0159]); UE selects the second SFN area based on determining whether the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0160])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that performing the first operation comprises performing the first operation in a case that a reference signal received by the terminal comprises an SFN specific RS, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to maintain connectivity when the UE moves between SFN areas (see Lee et al. (para. [0059])).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, and further, the references teach wherein the continuing performing the first RACH process comprises: continuing performing the first RACH process according to a first RACH resource (Bienas et al. teaches the base stations implementing the SFN random access procedure do not have the freedom to select the parameters on their own, and that all base station of an SFN uses the same random access configuration (para. [0043]), indicating that UE will continue performing the first RACH process using a first RACH resource).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, and further, the references teach wherein in a case that a first condition is met, the first operation comprises: ending the RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]), indicating a necessity of ending an initial RACH as the RACH parameters are no longer valid)); or in a case that a second condition is met, the first operation comprises: ending the first RACH process and starting to perform the second RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]), indicating a necessity of ending an initial RACH and starting a new RACH as the RACH parameters are no longer valid); or in a case that a third condition is met, the first operation comprises: continuing performing the first RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that UE has to read the random access portion of the system information very rarely, as the initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]), wherein the third condition is that UE stays in the respective SFN cluster).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 7, and further, the references teach wherein that the first condition is met comprises at least one of the following: that a RACH resource associated with a second RS is used in the first RACH process; or that RACH resources configured by using second SI corresponding to different objects are different or independent, wherein the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; each object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the second SI is cell or TRP specific SI; or that the second condition is met comprises at least one of the following: that a RACH resource associated with a second RS is used in the first RACH process; or that RACH resources configured by using second SI corresponding to different objects are different or independent, wherein the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; each object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the second SI is cell or TRP specific SI; or that the third condition is met comprises at least one of the following: that a RACH resource associated with a first RS is used in the first RACH process; or that a RACH resource used in the first RACH process is coordinated and determined by the at least one SFN or an object in an SFN range (Bienas et al. teaches that initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, but stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); SFN cluster management unit is enabled to configure random access relevant parameters commonly for all small cells within a single frequency network (para. [0032]); the base stations implementing the SFN random access procedure do not have the freedom to select the parameters on their own, and that all base station of an SFN uses the same random access configuration (para. [0043]), indicating that UE will continue performing the first RACH process), wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS (Lee et al. teaches that UE performs the RACH procedure based on receiving paging signals (para. [0118]); SFN is associated with one or more SFN SSs or with one or more SFN paging signals (para. [0108]); UE measures a signal strength of the one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with the serving SFN area and measure a signal strength associated with one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with a neighboring SFN area (para. [0159]); the measured signal characteristics is a reference signal receive power (para. [0159]); when the signal strength or other signal characteristics of the serving SFN area drop below a first threshold and the signal strength of neighboring SFN area exceeds a second threshold, UE determines that the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0159]); UE selects the second SFN area based on determining whether the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0160])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that the first RS is an SFN specific RS, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to maintain connectivity when the UE moves between SFN areas (see Lee et al. (para. [0059])).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, and further, the references teach wherein before performing the first operation, the method further comprises: obtaining a candidate RACH resource according to first information (Bienas et al. teaches that the small cells SC_n to SC_n+2 broadcast the random access parameters synchronously as a part of a system information broadcast (para. [0063]); UE selects a random access preamble and a time slot from the configured set and transmits the preamble with the configured power (para. [0075])); and performing the first RACH process according to the candidate RACH resource (Bienas et al. teaches that UE selects a random access preamble and a time slot from the configured set and transmits the preamble with the configured power (para. [0075]); the initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030])), wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following: cell or TRP specific SI; SFN specific SI; a radio resource control (RRC) message; or a paging message (Bienas et al. teaches that UE has to read the system information very rarely, as the initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); UE1 received the UE relevant parameters required for the random access from any (or multiple base station in the SFN cluster (para. [0074])).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, and further, the references teach further comprising: performing a second operation in a case of moving in the at least one single frequency network (SFN) during execution of the first random access channel (RACH) process performed by the terminal (Bienas et al. teaches that the small cells SC_n to SC_n+2 broadcast the random access parameters synchronously as a part of a system information broadcast (para. [0063])), wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following: receiving cell or TRP specific SI (Bienas et al. discloses that the small cells SC_n to SC_n+2 broadcast the random access parameters synchronously as a part of a system information broadcast (para. [0063])); receiving SFN specific SI; receiving a cell or TRP specific RS; or receiving an SFN specific RS (Lee et al. teaches that UE performs the RACH procedure based on receiving paging signals (para. [0118]); SFN is associated with one or more SFN SSs or with one or more SFN paging signals (para. [0108]); UE measures a signal strength of the one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with the serving SFN area and measure a signal strength associated with one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with a neighboring SFN area (para. [0159]); the measured signal characteristics is a reference signal receive power (para. [0159]); when the signal strength or other signal characteristics of the serving SFN area drop below a first threshold and the signal strength of neighboring SFN area exceeds a second threshold, UE determines that the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0159]); UE selects the second SFN area based on determining whether the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0160])); or further comprising: receiving a cell or TRP specific RS according to third information, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: a paging message, SI corresponding to a cell or a TRP, or SI corresponding to an SFN.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that performing the first operation comprises performing the first operation in a case that a reference signal received by the terminal comprises an SFN specific RS, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to maintain connectivity when the UE moves between SFN areas (see Lee et al. (para. [0059])).
Regarding Claim 14, Bienas et al. teaches A random access method (Bienas et al. teaches a mechanism for performing random access to a single frequency network, SFN (para. [0001])), performed by a network side device (Sc_n+1 (FIG. 3)) and comprising: performing a first operation in a case of moving in at least one single frequency network (SFN) during execution of a first random access channel (RACH) process performed by a terminal (Bienas et al. teaches that UE has to read the random access portion of the system information very rarely, as the initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030])), wherein the first operation comprises any one of the following: continuing performing the first RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that initial random access configuration remains value even when the UE moves, but stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); SFN cluster management unit is enabled to configure random access relevant parameters commonly for all small cells within a single frequency network (para. [0032]); the base stations implementing the SFN random access procedure do not have the freedom to select the parameters on their own, and that all base station of an SFN uses the same random access configuration (para. [0043]), indicating that UE will continue performing the first RACH process); ending the first RACH process and starting to perform a second RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]), indicating a necessity of ending an initial RACH and starting a new RACH as the RACH parameters are no longer valid); or ending a RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that base stations from another SFN (SFN cluster) obtain parameters that are identical or different from the parameters of other SFNs (or SFN clusters)(para. [0061]), indicating a necessity of ending an initial RACH as the RACH parameters are no longer valid), wherein moving in the at least one SFN comprises any one of the following: moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN (Bienas et al. teaches that initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, but stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); SFN cluster comprises of multiple cells (FIG. 1)), wherein each object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or transmission reception point (TRP) specific cell, or a TRP (Bienas et al. teaches that three small cells SC_n to SC_n+2 are configured as SFN cluster N and two small cells SC_m and SC_m+1 are configured to form the second cluster SFN cluster M (para. [0040]l FIG. 1)).
Although disclosing that base stations in different SFN have different RACH parameters and that UE moves out of the SFN cluster (para. [0032]; FIG. 1)), Bienas et al. does not explicitly teach wherein moving in the at least one SFN comprises any one of the following: moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN; moving from a second SFN to a third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, an SFN layer; or moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN. However, Lee et al. teaches such limitation more explicitly.
Lee et al. is directed to mobility procedures with hierarchical mobility. More specifically, Lee et al. teaches wherein moving in the at least one SFN comprises any one of the following: moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN; moving from a second SFN to a third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, an SFN layer; or moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN (Lee et al. teaches that the SFN is associated with a SFN area, which corresponds to one or more of a cell, an RAN notification area (RNA), a RAN-AC, a TA (para. [0108]); UE moves from first RNA 415a to a second RNA 415b (para. [0133]; FIG. 4); RNA is used as the SFN area (para. [0134]); the first single -frequency network includes a first group of cells (para. [0197]; FIG. 4)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that performing the moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to maintain connectivity when the UE moves between SFN areas (see Lee et al. (para. [0059])).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 14, and further, the references teach wherein performing the first operation comprises: performing the first operation in a case that a reference signal (RS) sent by the network side device comprises an SFN specific RS (Lee et al. teaches that UE performs the RACH procedure based on receiving paging signals (para. [0118]); SFN is associated with one or more SFN SSs or with one or more SFN paging signals (para. [0108]); that UE measures a signal strength of the one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with the serving SFN area and measure a signal strength associated with one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with a neighboring SFN area (para. [0159]); the measured signal characteristics is a reference signal receive power (para. [0159]); when the signal strength or other signal characteristics of the serving SFN area drop below a first threshold and the signal strength of neighboring SFN area exceeds a second threshold, UE determines that the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0159]); UE selects the second SFN area based on determining whether the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0160])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that performing the first operation in a case that a reference signal sent by the network side device comprises an SFN specific RS, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to another SFN area with better signal strength or characteristics (see Lee et al. (para. [0159])).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 14, and further, the references teach wherein in a case that a first condition is met, the first operation comprises: ending the RACH process; wherein that the first condition is met comprises at least one of the following: that a RACH resource associated with a second RS is used in the first RACH process; or that RACH resources configured by using second SI corresponding to different objects are different or independent, wherein the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; each object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the second SI is cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that a second condition is met, the first operation comprises: ending the first RACH process and starting to perform the second RACH process; wherein that the second condition is met comprises at least one of the following: that a RACH resource associated with a second RS is used in the first RACH process; or that RACH resources configured by using second SI corresponding to different objects are different or independent, wherein the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; each object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the second SI is cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that a third condition is met, the first operation comprises: continuing performing the first RACH process (Bienas et al. teaches that UE has to read the random access portion of the system information very rarely, as the initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves, as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]), wherein the third condition is that UE stays in the respective SFN cluster); wherein that the third condition is met comprises at least one of the following: that a RACH resource associated with a first RS is used in the first RACH process; or that a RACH resource used in the first RACH process is coordinated and determined by the at least one SFN or an object in an SFN range (Bienas et al. teaches that initial random access configuration remains value even when the UE moves, but stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); SFN cluster management unit is enabled to configure random access relevant parameters commonly for all small cells within a single frequency network (para. [0032]); the base stations implementing the SFN random access procedure do not have the freedom to select the parameters on their own, and that all base station of an SFN uses the same random access configuration (para. [0043]), indicating that UE will continue performing the first RACH process), wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS (Lee et al. teaches that UE performs the RACH procedure based on receiving paging signals (para. [0118]); SFN is associated with one or more SFN SSs or with one or more SFN paging signals (para. [0108]); UE measures a signal strength of the one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with the serving SFN area and measure a signal strength associated with one or more SFN synchronization signals associated with a neighboring SFN area (para. [0159]); the measured signal characteristics is a reference signal receive power (para. [0159]); when the signal strength or other signal characteristics of the serving SFN area drop below a first threshold and the signal strength of neighboring SFN area exceeds a second threshold, UE determines that the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0159]); UE selects the second SFN area based on determining whether the reselection condition is satisfied (para. [0160])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. so that the first RS is an SFN specific RS, as taught by Lee et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable UE to maintain connectivity when the UE moves between SFN areas (see Lee et al. (para. [0059])).
Regarding Claim 19, Claim 19 is directed to an apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20, A communication device (base station (para. [0042]; FIG. 3)), the communication device being a network side device (base station (para. [0042]; FIG. 3)), the network side device comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, the program or instructions, when executed by the processor (base station includes a processor and memory), causing the network side device to perform steps of the random access method according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14).
Claims 4-6, 11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bienas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0260503), Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0221363), and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0306865).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 3, and further, the references teach wherein in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the first object to the second object in the first SFN (Bienas et al. teaches that an initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); all base stations within an SFN cluster are enabled to simultaneously receive a random access preamble (para. [0032]); Schmidt et al. teaches that during the journey of the train from the left to right, the small cells in front of the train are added to the SNF or activated (para. [0069]; FIGS. 1, 9))).
However, the references do not explicitly teach the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the second object or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object; in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the second object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, the first RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, wherein the first object or the second object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the second SFN to the third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, the SFN layer, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource configured by using target system information (SI) in the second SFN or a RACH resource configured by using target SI in the third SFN; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the second SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the third SFN, wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; and the target SI is SFN specific SI or cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a third object in the fourth SFN to the fourth object in the fifth SFN, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the third object or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN, a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the third object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, wherein the third object or the fourth object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS. Zhang et al. teaches such limitations.
Zhang et al. is directed to beam sweep based random access Msg3 and Msg 4. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS (Zhang et al. teaches that the first TRP transmits first CSI-RS using a first CSI-RS resource from a first beam of the first TRP, a second CSI-RS using a second CSI-RS resource from a second beam of the first TRP (para. [0083]; FIG. 8)), and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource (Zhang et al. teaches that CSI-RS are transmitted using a CSI-RS resources (para. [0083]), different from a RACH resource)), that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the second object or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object (Zhang et al. teaches that the UE transmits a first Msg 1 to the first TRP (para. [0084]; FIG. 8), indicating that the RACH resource corresponds to the first object); in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the second object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, the first RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, wherein the first object or the second object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the second SFN to the third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, the SFN layer, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource configured by using target system information (SI) in the second SFN or a RACH resource configured by using target SI in the third SFN; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the second SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the third SFN, wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; and the target SI is SFN specific SI or cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a third object in the fourth SFN to the fourth object in the fifth SFN, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the third object or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN, a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the third object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, wherein the third object or the fourth object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that in case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to improve reliability and robustness of the random access communication (see Zhang et al. (para. [0088])).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein starting to perform the second RACH process comprises: starting to perform the second RACH process according to a second RACH resource. Zhang et al. teaches such a limitation.
Zhang et al. is directed to beam sweep based random access Msg3 and Msg 4. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches that UE uses beam n for transmitting a Msg 1 (e.g., 711) at a first time period and use beam m for transmitting another Msg 1 (e.g., 713) at a second time period (para. [0079]; FIG. 7A)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that the second RACH process is started to be performed according to a second RACH resource, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to improve reliability and robustness of the random access communication (see Zhang et al. (para. [0088])).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Bienas et al., Lee et al., and Zhang et al. teach The method according to claim 5, and further, the references teach wherein in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the first object to the second object in the first SFN (Bienas et al. teaches that an initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); all base stations within an SFN cluster are enabled to simultaneously receive a random access preamble (para. [0032]); SFN cluster is comprises of small cells (FIG. 1)), the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS (Zhang et al. teaches that the second TRP transmits a first CSI-RS using a first CSI-RS resource and a second CSI-RS using a second CSI-RS (para. [0083]; FIG. 8)), and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource (Zhang et al. teaches that CSI-RS are transmitted using a CSI-RS resources (para. [0083]), different from a RACH resource)), that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource corresponding to the second object (Zhang et al. teaches that the UE transmits second Msg 1 (e.g., a first random access message) to the second TRP (para. [0084]; FIG. 8), indicating that the RACH resource corresponds to the second object); in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN or a RACH resource corresponding to the second object; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, wherein the first object or the second object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the second SFN to the third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, the SFN layer, the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource configured by using target SI in the third SFN; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the third SFN, wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; and the target SI is SFN specific SI or cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the third object in the fourth SFN to the fourth object in the fifth SFN, the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; or in a case that an RS received by the terminal comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, wherein the third object or the fourth object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that in case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to improve reliability and robustness of the random access communication (see Zhang et al. (para. [0088])).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 10, and further, the references teach wherein the candidate RACH resource comprises at least one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a cell or TRP specific RS, or a RACH resource associated with an SFN specific RS (Bienas et al. teaches UE1 received the UE relevant parameters required for the random access from any (or multiple base station in the SFN cluster (para. [0074])); or performing the first RACH process according to the candidate RACH resource comprises: selecting a third RACH resource from the candidate RACH resource according to second information; and performing the first RACH process according to the third RACH resource, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following: a preset rule, a measurement result of a cell or TRP specific RS, or a measurement result of an SFN specific RS.
However, the references do not explicitly teach wherein the candidate RACH resource comprises at least one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a cell or TRP specific RS, or a RACH resource associated with an SFN specific RS. Zhang et al. teaches such a limitation.
Zhang et al. is directed to beam sweep based random access Msg3 and Msg 4. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches a RACH resource associated with TRP specific RS (FIG. 8).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that the candidate RACH resource comprises a RACH resource associated with a cell or TRP specific RS, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to improve reliability and robustness of the random access communication (see Zhang et al. (para. [0088])).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 14, and further, the references teach wherein the continuing performing the first RACH process comprises: continuing performing the first RACH process according to a first RACH resource (Bienas et al. teaches the base stations implementing the SFN random access procedure do not have the freedom to select the parameters on their own, and that all base station of an SFN uses the same random access configuration (para. [0043]), indicating that UE will continue performing the first RACH process using a first RACH resource); wherein in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the first object to the second object in the first SFN (Bienas et al. teaches that an initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); all base stations within an SFN cluster are enabled to simultaneously receive a random access preamble (para. [0032]); SFN cluster is comprised of small cells (FIG. 1)).
However, the references do not explicitly teach the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the second object or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object; in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the second object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, wherein the first object or the second object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the second SFN to the third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, the SFN layer, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource configured by using target system information (SI) in the second SFN or a RACH resource configured by using target SI in the third SFN; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the second SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the third SFN, wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; and the target SI is SFN specific SI or cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the third object in the fourth SFN to the fourth object in the fifth SFN, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the third object or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN, a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the third object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, wherein the third object or the fourth object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS. Zhang et al. teaches such limitations.
Zhang et al. is directed to beam sweep based random access Msg3 and Msg 4. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS (Zhang et al. teaches that the first TRP transmits first CSI-RS using a first CSI-RS resource from a first beam of the first TRP, a second CSI-RS using a second CSI-RS resource from a second beam of the first TRP (para. [0083]; FIG. 8)), and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource (Zhang et al. teaches that CSI-RS are transmitted using a CSI-RS resources (para. [0083]), different from a RACH resource)), that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the second object or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object (Zhang et al. teaches that the UE transmits a first Msg 1 to the first TRP (para. [0084]; FIG. 8), indicating that the RACH resource corresponds to the first object); in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the second object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the first object; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, wherein the first object or the second object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a second SFN to a third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, an SFN layer, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource configured by using target system information (SI) in the second SFN or a RACH resource configured by using target SI in the third SFN; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the second SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the third SFN, wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; and the target SI is SFN specific SI or cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a third object in a fourth SFN to a fourth object in a fifth SFN, the first RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource corresponding to the third object or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN, a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, a RACH resource corresponding to the third object, or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the first RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fourth SFN or a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, wherein the third object or the fourth object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that in case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to improve reliability and robustness of the random access communication (see Zhang et al. (para. [0088])).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 14, and further, the references teach wherein in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the first object to the second object in the first SFN (Bienas et al. teaches that an initial random access configuration remains valid even when the UE moves as long as it stays in the respective SFN cluster (para. [0030]); all base stations within an SFN cluster are enabled to simultaneously receive a random access preamble (para. [0032]); SFN cluster is comprised of small cells (FIG. 1)).
However, the references do not explicitly teach wherein starting to perform the second RACH process comprises: starting to perform the second RACH process according to a second RACH resource; the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource corresponding to the second object; in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN or a RACH resource corresponding to the second object; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the first SFN, wherein the first object or the second object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the second SFN to the third SFN, and accessing, by the terminal, the SFN layer, the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource configured by using target SI in the third SFN; in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the third SFN, wherein the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS; and the target SI is SFN specific SI or cell or TRP specific SI; or in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from the third object in the fourth SFN to the fourth object in the fifth SFN, the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, that the second RACH resource is any one of the following: a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN or a RACH resource corresponding to the fourth object; or in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises only a first RS, and the first RS is associated with a RACH resource, the second RACH resource is a RACH resource associated with a specific RS of the fifth SFN, wherein the third object or the fourth object comprises any one of the following: an SFN specific cell, a cell or TRP specific cell, or a TRP; and the first RS is an SFN specific RS, or the second RS is a cell or TRP specific RS. Zhang et al. teaches such limitations.
Zhang et al. is directed to beam sweep based random access Msg3 and Msg 4. More specifically, Zhang et al. teaches wherein starting to perform the second RACH process comprises: starting to perform the second RACH process according to a second RACH resource (Zhang et al. teaches that UE uses beam n for transmitting a Msg 1 (e.g., 711) at a first time period and use beam m for transmitting another Msg 1 (e.g., 713) at a second time period (para. [0079]; FIG. 7A)); wherein in a case that moving in the at least one SFN comprises moving from a first object to a second object in a first SFN, the second RACH resource meets any one of the following: in a case that an RS sent by the network side device comprises a first RS and a second RS (Zhang et al. teaches that the second TRP transmits a first CSI-RS using a first CSI-RS resource and a second CSI-RS using a second CSI-RS (para. [0083]; FIG. 8)), and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource (Zhang et al. teaches that CSI-RS are transmitted using a CSI-RS resources (para. [0083]), different from a RACH resource)), that the second RACH resource is a RACH resource corresponding to the second object (Zhang et al. teaches that the UE transmits second Msg 1 (e.g., a first random access message) to the second TRP (para. [0084]; FIG. 8), indicating that the RACH resource corresponds to the second object).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that in case that an RS received by the terminal comprises a first RS and a second RS, and the first RS is not associated with a RACH resource, as taught by Zhang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to improve reliability and robustness of the random access communication (see Zhang et al. (para. [0088])).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bienas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0260503), Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0221363), and further in view of Ohta et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0342920).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein ending the RACH process comprises at least one of the following: stopping sending an uplink message in the RACH process; stopping receiving a downlink message in the RACH process; releasing a resource associated with the RACH process; or stopping or resetting a timer and a counter associated with the RACH process. Ohta et al. teaches such a limitation.
Ohta et al. is directed to terminal device, base station device, wireless communication system, and scheduling request method. More specifically, Ohta et al. teaches that after the random access procedure is cancelled, transmission and reception of messages of the random access procedure performed by the UL transmission control unit are stopped in the terminal device (para. [0088]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that the ending the RACH process comprises stopping sending an uplink message in the RACH process, as taught by Ohta et al. The modification would have allowed the system to prevent unnecessary continuation of the random access procedure (see Ohta et al., para. [0088]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bienas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0260503), Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0221363), and further in view of Cai (WO 2020/013176, machine translation attached is used for the mapping).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. teach The method according to claim 1, however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein in a case that a high frequency range and a low frequency range are deployed for a network, the SFN specific cell comprises a cell in the low frequency range, and the cell or TRP specific cell comprises a cell in the high frequency range; or in a case that the network comprises a satellite communication network, the SFN specific cell comprises a high altitude platform station (HAPS) cell or a high-earth orbit satellite cell, and the cell or TRP specific cell comprises a low-earth orbit satellite cell or a ground base station-covered cell. Cai teaches such limitations.
Cai teaches single frequency network cell configuration using HAPS. More specifically, Cai teaches in a case that the network comprises a satellite communication network (Cai teaches a satellite communication network (FIG. 9)), the SFN specific cell comprises a high altitude platform station (HAPS) cell or a high-earth orbit satellite cell (Cai teaches a service link wide area cell 100A including a plurality of sector cells 401 to 407 formed by the HAPS 10 (page 11 of the translation, 2nd paragraph)), and the cell or TRP specific cell comprises a low-earth orbit satellite cell or a ground base station-covered cell (Cai teaches TRP specific cell comprises a ground base station-covered cell (FIGs. 1, 5)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bienas et al. and Lee et al. so that the SFN specific cell comprises a high altitude platform station cell and the cell or TRP specific cell comprises a ground base station-covered cell, as taught by Cai. The modification would have allowed the system to eliminate interference in the cell boundary (see Cai, page 11 of the translation, last paragraph).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417