DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant application with Application Number 18/192,010 filed on 03/29/2023 is presented for examination. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statment
The Information Disclosure Statements dated 03/29/2023 and 05/13/2024 are acknowledged and the cited references have been considered in this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
DOUBLE PATENTING
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to:
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,424,922 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a power supply apparatus, comprising: a rectifier circuit configured to rectify an input alternating current (AC) voltage; a first-stage conversion circuit configured to convert a rectified direct current (DC) voltage to obtain a first DC voltage. The patented application anticipates the instant application claimed.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim 1 of instant application: 18/192,010
Claim 1 of paten’d application US 12,424,922
A power supply apparatus, comprising: a rectifier circuit configured to rectify an input alternating current (AC) voltage;
a first-stage conversion circuit configured to convert a rectified direct current (DC) voltage to obtain a first DC voltage;
a second-stage conversion circuit connected to an output end of the power supply apparatus, the second-stage conversion circuit being configured to convert the first DC voltage to output a second DC voltage, wherein a voltage value of the second DC voltage is lower than a voltage value of the first DC voltage; and
a valley-fill circuit connected to the output end of the power supply apparatus, the valley-fill circuit being configured to supply power to the output end of the power supply apparatus when the second DC voltage is lower than a set value, so that an output voltage of the power supply apparatus is a constant DC voltage.
Claim 2. … wherein the first-stage conversion circuit comprises a transformer having a primary winding and an induced winding, the primary winding being configured to input the rectified DC voltage; wherein the valley-fill circuit is connected with the induced winding to obtain electric energy through the induced winding.
Claim 3…. wherein the valley-fill circuit further comprises a voltage conversion unit, and the output end of the voltage conversion unit is the output end of the valley-fill circuit; wherein the voltage conversion unit is electrically connected to the induced winding to convert a voltage obtained from the induced winding.
A power supply device, comprising: an input rectifier circuit configured to convert a received alternating-current (AC) power … direct-current voltage;
a first-stage conversion circuit connected with the input rectifier circuit, wherein the first-stage conversion circuit is configured to convert the first pulsating direct-current voltage into a second pulsating direct-current voltage;
a valley-fill circuit connected with the first-stage conversion circuit, wherein the valley-fill circuit is configured to supply, in response to a voltage value of the second pulsating direct-current voltage being lower than a voltage threshold, electrical power to thereby enable the voltage value of the second pulsating direct-current voltage to be greater than or equal to the voltage threshold; and
a second-stage conversion circuit connected with the first-stage conversion circuit, wherein the second-stage conversion circuit is configured to convert the second … wherein the first-stage conversion circuit comprises a switch circuit and a voltage transformation circuit, and the voltage transformation circuit is configured to convert the first pulsating direct-current voltage that has been performed with chopper processing by the switch circuit of the first-stage conversion circuit …
wherein the valley-fill circuit comprises an energy storage circuit and a switch circuit; the energy storage circuit is connected with two terminals of a secondary winding of the voltage transformation circuit and configured to obtain electrical power suppLined by the voltage transformation circuit … further comprises at least one filter capacitor, the at least one filter capacitor … and wherein the valley-fill circuit further comprises a first diode, a second diode and an inductor…
Claims 2-3 are also rejected based on the ground of non-statutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,424,922 as described in the above claims’ comparison table. Claims 4-14,20 are dependents on rejected claim 1 above. Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting over claim 7 of Patent No. US 12,424,922 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a charging method, comprising: rectifying an input alternating current (AC) voltage through a rectifier circuit; controlling a first-stage conversion circuit to convert a rectified direct current (DC) voltage to obtain a first DC voltage. The patented application anticipates the instant application claimed.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim 15 of instant application: 18/192,010
Claim 7 of paten’d application US 12,424,922
A charging method, the method comprising: an input alternating current (AC) voltage through a rectifier circuit; controlling a first-stage conversion circuit to convert a rectified direct current (DC) voltage to obtain a first DC voltage; controlling,
a second-stage conversion circuit to be connected to an output end of a power supply apparatus, and the second-stage conversion circuit is configured to convert the first DC voltage and output a second DC voltage, wherein a voltage value of the second DC voltage is lower than a voltage value of the first DC voltage; and controlling
a valley-fill circuit to supply power to the output end of the power supply apparatus when the second DC voltage is lower than a set value, so that an output voltage of the power supply apparatus is a constant DC voltage.
A circuit control metho, comprising: converting, by an input rectifier circuit, a received alternating-current (AC) power into a first pulsating direct-current voltage (DC); converting, by a first-stage conversion circuit…
a second… direct-current voltage; controlling, in response to a valley voltage value of the second pulsating direct-current voltage output by the first-stage conversion circuit being less than a voltage threshold,
a valley-fill circuit to supply the electrical power to thereby enable the valley voltage value of the second pulsating direct-current voltage output by the first-stage conversion circuit to be greater than or equal to the voltage threshold; and converting, by a second-stage conversion circuit…
and the switch circuit of the valley-fill circuit is connected with the energy storage circuit and configured to perform chopper processing on a voltage output by the energy storage circuit; wherein the power supply device further comprises at least one filter capacitor…
Claims 16-20 are dependents on rejected claim 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenguier (US 2019/0103815) in view of Lin et al. (US 2014/0112029).
With respect to claims 1 and 15, Brenguier discloses a power supply apparatus/a charging method (See Reproduced Fig. 2 below, 10), comprising: a rectifier circuit configured to rectify an input alternating current (AC) voltage (Fig. 2, rectifier 22 and input AC 12); a first-stage conversion circuit configured to convert a rectified direct current (DC) voltage to obtain a first DC voltage (Fig. 2, 24; Para. # 0101)
valley-fill circuit connected to the output end of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 2, 50; Para. # 0102: supplying at the output a voltage which compensates for the voltage drops appearing at the output of the first converter: valley-fill circuit is a typo of passive power-correction circuit that improves power factor utilizing capacitors to store energy and discharge it during low voltage time), the valley-fill circuit being configured to supply power to the output end of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 2, 60-output and load 14) when the second DC voltage is lower than a set value, so that an output voltage of the power supply apparatus is a constant DC voltage (Fig. 3,output 70 is constant) .
Brenguier, however, does not expressly disclose a second-stage conversion circuit connected to an output end of the power supply apparatus, the second-stage conversion circuit being configured to convert the first DC voltage to output a second DC voltage,
Linn discloses, on the other hand, a power converter (Figs. 3 and 6;Para. # 0030: a synchronous-rectified buck converter, and includes switches (Q.1 an Q2sub.1), a second switch (Q.sub.2), an inductor (L S.), and a capacitor (Cs)) second-stage conversion circuit connected (Fig. 3, 30) to an output end of the power supply apparatus (Fig. 3, output side V-out), the second-stage conversion circuit being configured to convert the first DC voltage to output a second DC voltage (Para. # 0022,
BRENGUIER and Linn are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor namely Power supply device and power converting device.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the circuit having two stages conversion to the power supply device of BRENGUIER in view of the teachings of Linn to provide a stable output voltage to the load.
With respect to claim 2, the combined references of Brenguier and Lin disclose the power supply apparatus/the charging method as described above, wherein Brenguier further discloses, wherein the first-stage conversion circuit comprises a transformer having a primary winding and an induced winding, the primary winding being configured to input the rectified DC voltage; wherein the valley-fill circuit is connected with the induced winding to obtain electric energy through the induced winding (Para. # 0070, 0079-0080: a primary winding 40, a first secondary winding 42 and a second secondary winding 44 a primary winding 40, a first secondary winding 42 and a second secondary winding 44).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, the combined references of Brenguier and Lin disclose the power supply apparatus/the charging method as described above, wherein Brenguier further discloses, wherein the valley-fill circuit further comprises a voltage conversion unit, and the output end of the voltage conversion unit is the output end of the valley-fill circuit; wherein the voltage conversion unit is electrically connected to the induced winding to convert a voltage obtained from the induced winding (Par. # 0080: this converter 50 comprises controllable power switches 52 and 54 associated with an inductor 56).
With respect to claims 5 and 13-14, the combined references of Brenguier and Lin disclose the power supply apparatus/the charging method as described above, wherein Brenguier further discloses, wherein the energy storage capacitor includes one or more of. a chip capacitor, a film capacitor, a ceramic capacitor, a multi-layer ceramic capacitor (MLCC) capacitor, and an electrolytic capacitor with a capacity less than a first preset threshold (Para. # 0025-0031: The capacitors are capacitors using ceramic technology or tantalum technology or polymer technology; the first capacitor has a capacitance).
With respect to claims 6, 16-17 and 20, the combined references of Brenguier and Lin disclose the power supply apparatus/the charging method as described above, wherein Brenguier further discloses, wherein the valley-fill circuit further comprises an input-side rectifier circuit, the input end of the input-side rectifier circuit being connected to the output end of the induced winding, and the output end of the input-side rectifier circuit being connected to one end of the energy storage capacitor (see reproduced Fig. 2, rectifier 22 induced winding 58 and output 14).
With respect to claim 9, the combined references of Brenguier and Lin disclose the power supply apparatus/the charging method as described above, wherein Lin further discloses, wherein the second-stage conversion circuit comprises one or more cascades of a buck circuit, a boost circuit, a buck-boost circuit, and a charge pump circuit (Para. # 0031: such as a boost converter and a buck-boost converter), or a voltage regulator, etc.).
With respect to claims 10, 11 and 18-19, the combined references of Brenguier and Lin disclose the power supply apparatus/the charging method as described above, wherein Linn further discloses, wherein the power supply apparatus comprises a control circuit; wherein the control circuit is configured to control the valley-fill circuit and the second-stage conversion circuit to jointly supply power to the output end of the power supply apparatus when a difference between the set value and the second DC voltage is greater than a first difference and less than a second difference (Para. # 0033-0034: the AC signal, and is for outputting a regulated DC signal. The non-isolated voltage regulator 30 is for reducing the voltage ripple of the regulated DC signal received from the flyback voltage converter 20 so as to output an output voltage to the load).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, including overcoming the objection or/and NDP-rejection sated above. Claim 8 depends on the above objected claim 7.
Contact Information
/YALKEW FANTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859