DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibbard (US 20220088410 A1) in view of Giantsoudi ("A gEUD-based inverse planning technique for HDR prostate brachytherapy: Feasibility study", 01 April 2013 (2013-04-01)) and Zhang (WO 2012024448 A2).
With regards to claims 1, 4-6, 10, and 13-15, Hibbard discloses a method and apparatus for radiotherapy optimization comprising:
a memory having stored therein information for a given patient and characterizing parameters for a given radiation treatment platform [0044];
by a control circuit 112;
accessing information for a given patient comprising, at least in part, image information corresponding to at least both of a target volume and an organ at risk [0042-0046];
accessing the memory for characterizing parameters for a given radiation treatment platform [0042-0050];
optimizing a radiation treatment plan for the given patient using the given radiation treatment platform as a function, at least in part, of the information for the given patient, the characterizing parameters for the given radiation treatment platform, and a generalized metric type comprising generalized Equivalent Uniform Dose (gEUD) an optimized radiation treatment plan [0112-0118];
by a radiation treatment platform:
administering therapeutic radiation 1960 to the given patient using the given radiation treatment platform as a function of the optimized radiation treatment plan (Fig. 19).
Hibbard does not specifically teach wherein the gEUD comprises a gEUD-of-extreme for both the target volume and the organ at risk.
However, Giantsoudi teaches a method for a gEUD-based inverse planning framework in which the optimization objective is define as an aggregate function incorporating both target and organ at risk terms, wherein the gEUD is calculated for both target volumes and organs at risk (sections II.C. – IID.3.). Furthermore, Zhang teaches a radiation therapy treatment planning method and system wherein an EUD based objective function is used in treatment planning, and further teaches wherein the maximum dose and minimum dose objective essentially corresponds to the EUD objective with parameter a approaches to positive and negative infinity [0187] involving a target volume and organ at risk [0187-0189]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Hibbard with the claimed configuration as taught by Giantsoudi and Zhang in order to more precisely control minimum dose to the target and maximum dose to organs at risk.
With regards to claims 3 and 12, Hibbard discloses wherein the characterizing parameters include a plurality of gantry angles [0069].
With regards to claims 7 and 16, Hibbard discloses presenting a display of at least one dose volume histogram that corresponds to the optimized radiation treatment plan [0069].
With regards to claims 8 and 17, Hibbard discloses the claimed equation [0114].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884