DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for App. 18/192,137 on February 25, 2206. Claims 1, 3-10, 12-14 and 16-23 are pending.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 10, 12-14, 16-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiGiovanni et al. ( US 20150295382 A1 ) in view of Mattsson et al. ( US 2011/0228382 A1 ).
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 1:
An optical amplification apparatus ( [0003] discloses optical fiber amplifiers ), comprising:
a plurality of input ends configured to receive a plurality of first optical signals with different wavelengths ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses input 390 with a signal that propagates onward. For purposes of interpretation, the input to 390 and/or optical isolator 335 are interpreted as first optical signals) );
a plurality of output ends configured to output a plurality of second optical signals obtained by amplifying the plurality of first optical signals ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose outputs 395 which output the amplified/modified input signals. For purposes of interpretation, the output at 395 is interpreted as second optical signals );
a first pump source configured to provide a first pump light for amplifying the plurality of first optical signals ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose a laser diode 345 which acts as a pump source for signal-pump combiner 340 );
a first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler comprising a plurality of first connection ports connected to the plurality of input ends, wherein the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler is configured to couple the plurality of first optical signals and the first pump light ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses details on the signal-pump combiner 340 which has a plurality of ports to couple the inputs from 390 and the laser diodes 345 );
[Please see below for aspects of the fused-tapered region]
a first optical fiber connection cable connecting the first pump source with the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler, wherein the first optical fiber connection cable is configured to transmit the first pump light, [wherein the first optical fiber connection cable is coupled to the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables in the fused-tapered region] ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses a connection line between laser diodes 345 and combiner 340, pumping the light (read this connection line as a first optical fiber connection cable). As for fused-tapered region, please note the combination below ); and
an active optical fiber connection cable comprising an active doped fiber for transmitting and amplifying a plurality of third optical signals obtained by coupling the plurality of first optical signals to the first pump light, wherein the active optical fiber connection cable is connected to the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler, and the active optical fiber connection cable is connected to the plurality of output ends ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses a ribbon EDF 300, i.e. Erbium doped fibers, an active doped type for transmitting by initially obtaining the output of 340 (read as third optical signals). Furthermore, the ribbon is connected to the outputs 395 as well ); but
DiGiovanni does not explicitly teach “wherein the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler comprises a fused-tapered region, the fused-tapered region comprises a plurality of second optical fiber connection cables connected to the plurality of first connection ports to facilitate transmitting the plurality of first optical signals through the second optical fiber connection cables, and the fused-tapered region is configured to simultaneously couple the plurality of first optical signals with different wavelengths and the first pump light.” and “wherein the first optical fiber connection cable is coupled to the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables in the fused-tapered region”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical cables, Mattsson teaches of an akin optical amplifier with input and outputs, ( Mattson, Figure 1, [0152] ). Notably, Figure 1 shows a fused and tapered fibre bundle 3 (read as akin to DiGiovanni’s combiner 340) in which a signal 1 is coupled with diode bar arrays 2 (read as akin to DiGiovanni’s input signal and pump source). Similar to DiGiovanni, there are two connection aspects and the interpreted second optical fiber connection cable is for the signal 1 (note how the interpreted first optical fiber connection cable in DiGiovanni is for the pump source). Furthermore, these aspects couple within the fused tapered region of the bundle 3. As for the simultaneous coupling, the coupling is detailed in [0152] and the two different optical aspects combine to be come an output signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the fused tapered region, as taught by Mattsson, with the motivation that this can effectively fuse and fit in a numerical aperture of the inner cladding, allow for proper attachment, connection, etc, ( Mattsson, [0104] ).
DiGiovanni and Mattsson teach in Claim 3:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the fused-tapered region further comprises a plurality of third optical fiber connection cables between the first optical fiber connection cable and the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables, the first optical fiber connection cable is coupled to the third optical fiber connection cables, and the third optical fiber connection cables are coupled to the second optical fiber connection cables. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches of cables from each of the signal inputs and the pump source, as well as the coupling. Within the fused tapered region are coupling teachings for Mattsson and respectfully, the coupling would also involve additional cables as part of this process )
DiGiovanni and Mattsson teach in Claim 4:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first optical fiber connection cable is separately bound with the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables. ( The combination teaches to use the interpreted first optical fiber connection cable of DiGiovanni coming from the laser diode and the interpreted second optical fiber connection of Mattsson coming from one of the signal inputs, i.e. separately bound )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 5:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a gain flattening filter on the active optical fiber connection cable, wherein the gain flattening filter is configured to perform gain flattening on fourth optical signals obtained by transmitting and amplifying the third optical signals by the active doped fiber. ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses a gain-flattening filter (GFF) 375 at the signal output 395 )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 9:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of output ends are configured to receive a plurality of first target optical signals with different wavelengths, the plurality of input ends are configured to output a plurality of second target optical signals obtained by amplifying the first target optical signals ( Figure 3, [0021], [0026] disclose the inputs 390 and outputs 395 and please note the reasoning in Claim 1 for aspects of the 1x8 wavelength layout ),
the optical amplification apparatus further comprises:
a second pump source configured to provide a second pump light, wherein the second pump light is configured to amplify the plurality of first target optical signals ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose a plurality of laser diodes 345, including a second such diode ); and
a second multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler comprising a plurality of second connection ports connected to the plurality of output ends, wherein the second multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler is connected to the second pump source, the second multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler is connected to the active optical fiber connection cable, the second multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler is configured to couple the plurality of first target optical signals and the second pump light ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose a plurality of combiners 340, including a second such combiner. Each of the combiners 340 are coupled to its own laser diode and receives an input ), and
the active doped fiber is configured to transmit and amplify a plurality of third target optical signals obtained by coupling the plurality of first target optical signals to the second pump light. ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose the EDF Ribbon 300 is used for each of the outputs of 340 to amplify the signals )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 10:
A multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses details on a signal-pump combiner 340 which has a plurality of ports to couple the inputs from inputs 390 and the laser diodes 345 ), comprising:
a plurality of first connection ports configured to: receive a plurality of first optical signals with different wavelengths ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses input 390 with a signal that propagates onward. For purposes of interpretation, the input to 390 and/or optical isolator 335 are interpreted as first optical signals) ); and
receive a first pump light for amplifying the plurality of first optical signals ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose a laser diode 345 which acts as a pump source for signal-pump combiner 340 ); but
DiGiovanni does not explicitly teach of “a fused-tapered region configured to couple the plurality of first optical signals and the first pump light, wherein the fused-tapered region comprises: a first optical fiber connection cable configured to transmit the first pump light; and a plurality of second optical fiber connection cables coupled to the first optical fiber connection cable in the fused-tapered region, wherein the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables are configured to transmit the first optical signals, and the fused-tapered region is configured to simultaneously couple the plurality of the first optical signals with different wavelengths and the first pump light”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical cables, Mattsson teaches of an akin optical amplifier with input and outputs, ( Mattson, Figure 1, [0152] ). Notably, Figure 1 shows a fused and tapered fibre bundle 3 (read as akin to DiGiovanni’s combiner 340) in which a signal 1 is coupled with diode bar arrays 2 (read as akin to DiGiovanni’s input signal and pump source). Similar to DiGiovanni, there are two connection aspects and the interpreted second optical fiber connection cable is for the signal 1 (note how the interpreted first optical fiber connection cable in DiGiovanni is for the pump source). Furthermore, these aspects couple within the fused tapered region of the bundle 3. As for the simultaneous coupling, the coupling is detailed in [0152] and the two different optical aspects combine to be come an output signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the fused tapered region, as taught by Mattsson, with the motivation that this can effectively fuse and fit in a numerical aperture of the inner cladding, allow for proper attachment, connection, etc, ( Mattsson, [0104] ).
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 12:
The multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler according to claim 10, wherein
the fused-tapered region further comprises a plurality of third optical fiber connection cables arranged between the first optical fiber connection cable and the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables, the first optical fiber connection cable is coupled to the third optical fiber connection cables, and the third optical fiber connection cables are coupled to the second optical fiber connection cables. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches of cables from each of the signal inputs and the pump source, as well as the coupling. Within the fused tapered region are coupling teachings for Mattsson and respectfully, the coupling would also involve additional cables as part of this process )
DiGiovanni and Mattsson teach in Claim 13:
The multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler according to claim 10, wherein the first optical fiber connection cable is separately bound with the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables. ( The combination teaches to use the interpreted first optical fiber connection cable of DiGiovanni coming from the laser diode and the interpreted second optical fiber connection of Mattsson coming from one of the signal inputs, i.e. separately bound )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 14:
An optical amplifier board ( [0003] discloses optical fiber amplifiers. Please see Figure 3 ), comprising:
a first pump source configured to provide first pump light ( Figure 3, [0026] disclose a laser diode 345 which acts as a pump source for signal-pump combiner 340 ); and
a first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler connected to the first pump source ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses details on the signal-pump combiner 340 which has a plurality of ports to couple the inputs from 390 and the laser diodes 345 ), the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler being configured to:
receive a plurality of first optical signals with different wavelengths ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses input 390 with a signal that propagates onward. For purposes of interpretation, the input to 390 and/or optical isolator 335 are interpreted as first optical signals) ); and
couple the plurality of first optical signals with the first pump light ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses a connection line between laser diodes 345 and combiner 340, pumping the light (read this connection line as a first optical fiber connection cable) ); but
DiGiovanni does not explicitly teach wherein “the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler comprises a fused-tapered region, and the fused-tapered region comprises a first optical fiber connection cable for transmitting the first pump light and a plurality of second optical fiber connection cables coupled to the first optical fiber connection cable in the fused-tapered region, the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables are configured to transmit the first optical signals, and the fused-tapered region is configured to simultaneously couple the plurality of first optical signals with different wavelengths and the first pump light”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical cables, Mattsson teaches of an akin optical amplifier with input and outputs, ( Mattson, Figure 1, [0152] ). Notably, Figure 1 shows a fused and tapered fibre bundle 3 (read as akin to DiGiovanni’s combiner 340) in which a signal 1 is coupled with diode bar arrays 2 (read as akin to DiGiovanni’s input signal and pump source). Similar to DiGiovanni, there are two connection aspects and the interpreted second optical fiber connection cable is for the signal 1 (note how the interpreted first optical fiber connection cable in DiGiovanni is for the pump source). Furthermore, these aspects couple within the fused tapered region of the bundle 3. As for the simultaneous coupling, the coupling is detailed in [0152] and the two different optical aspects combine to be come an output signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the fused tapered region, as taught by Mattsson, with the motivation that this can effectively fuse and fit in a numerical aperture of the inner cladding, allow for proper attachment, connection, etc, ( Mattsson, [0104] ).
DiGiovanni and Mattsson teach in Claim 16:
The optical amplifier board according to claim 14, wherein
the fused-tapered region further comprises a plurality of third optical fiber connection cables arranged between the first optical fiber connection cable and the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables, the first optical fiber connection cable is coupled to the third optical fiber connection cables, and the third optical fiber connection cables are coupled to the second optical fiber connection cables. ( Respectfully, the combination teaches of cables from each of the signal inputs and the pump source, as well as the coupling. Within the fused tapered region are coupling teachings for Mattsson and respectfully, the coupling would also involve additional cables as part of this process )
DiGiovanni and Mattsson teach in Claim 17:
The optical amplifier board according to claim 14, wherein the first optical fiber connection cable is separately bound with the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables. ( The combination teaches to use the interpreted first optical fiber connection cable of DiGiovanni coming from the laser diode and the interpreted second optical fiber connection of Mattsson coming from one of the signal inputs, i.e. separately bound )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 18:
The optical amplifier board according to claim 14, further comprising:
an active optical fiber connection cable comprising an active doped fiber for transmitting and amplifying a plurality of third optical signals obtained by coupling the plurality of first optical signals to the first pump light, wherein the plurality of first optical signals are received by the first multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler, and wavelengths of the plurality of first optical signals are different. ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses a ribbon EDF 300, i.e. Erbium doped fibers, an active doped type for transmitting by initially obtaining the output of 340 (read as third optical signals). Furthermore, the ribbon is connected to the outputs 395 as well. As for the different wavelengths: Figure 3, [0021], [0026] disclose the inputs 390 and outputs 395 and please note the reasoning in Claim 1 for aspects of the 1x8 wavelength layout )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 19:
The optical amplifier board according to any one of claim 18, further comprising:
a gain flattening filter on the active optical fiber connection cable, wherein the gain flattening filter is configured to perform gain flattening on fourth optical signals obtained by transmitting and amplifying the third optical signals by the active doped fiber. ( Figure 3, [0026] discloses a gain-flattening filter (GFF) 375 at the signal output 395 )
DiGiovanni and Mattson teach in Claim 21:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
an optical isolator arranged at the plurality of input ends or the plurality of output ends,
wherein the optical isolator is configured to isolate reflected light of the plurality of first optical
signals or reflected light of the plurality of second optical signals. ( Figure 1, [0026] discloses an input isolator 335 and an output optical isolator 370 )
DiGiovanni and Mattson teach in Claim 22:
The multi-port wavelength division multiplexing coupler according to claim 10,
wherein the first optical fiber connection cable and the plurality of second optical fiber connection cables are bound and wound in the fused-tapered region. ( Respectfully, fused tapered regions, as Mattson teaches, are well known in the art and the point is to combine the two inputs in the region, i.e. fused. Bound/wound are popular ways of achieving this (Mattsson teaches of bundling aspects as well, [0104]) and Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
DiGiovanni and Mattson teach in Claim 23:
The optical amplifier board according to claim 14, wherein the first multi-port
wavelength division multiplexing coupler is configured to sequentially distribute, based on a split ratio, the first pump light to a plurality of second optical fiber connection cables configured to transmit the plurality of first optical signals. ( DiGiovanni teaches in [0028] of splitting the input signals into each individual EDFA in the arrayed amplifier (read as a split ratio). [0094] details absorption rates can be advantageously defined and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize an optimal distribution )
6. Claims 6-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiGiovanni et al. ( US 20150295382 A1 ) in view of Mattsson et al. ( US 2011/0228382 A1 ), as applied to Claim 5, further in view of Wang et al. ( US 2015/0180196 A1 ).
As per Claim 6:
DiGiovanni does not explicitly teach “wherein the gain flattening filter is a grating.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical fiber amplifiers, Wang teaches also teaches of a gain flattening filter, ( Wang, [0018] ). Notably, Wang teaches the filter can use fiber Bragg gratings. Furthermore, Mattsson also teaches of Bragg grating formations, [0083], etc. Respectfully, this is a well known type of filter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the Bragg gratings, as taught by Wang, with the motivation that such types of filters are well known and can be use to provide gain equalization between signal wavelengths, ( Wang, [0018] ).
Wang teaches in Claim 7:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a wavelength of the grating is set to a wavelength section of the fourth optical signals so that the grating performs a function of gain flattening filtering on the fourth optical signals. ( Wang, [0018] discloses the use of the Bragg gratings to provide gain equalization between/for signal wavelengths, i.e. setting a wavelength section )
DiGiovanni teaches in Claim 8:
The optical amplification apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a wavelength of the grating is set to a wavelength section of the first pump light, so that the grating performs power distribution regulation on the first pump light. ( Wang, [0018] discloses the use of the Bragg gratings to provide gain equalization between/for signal wavelengths, i.e. setting a wavelength section. The combination teaches to use the gain flattening filters for wavelength aspects )
As per Claim 20:
DiGiovanni does not explicitly teach “wherein the gain flattening filter is a grating, and
a wavelength of the grating is set to a wavelength section of the fourth optical signals so that the grating performs a function of gain flattening filtering on the fourth optical signals.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical fiber amplifiers, Wang teaches also teaches of a gain flattening filter, ( Wang, [0018] ). Notably, Wang teaches the filter can use fiber Bragg gratings. Furthermore, Mattsson also teaches of Bragg grating formations, [0083], etc. Respectfully, this is a well known type of filter. Furthermore, Wang, [0018] discloses the use of the Bragg gratings to provide gain equalization between/for signal wavelengths, i.e. setting a wavelength section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the Bragg gratings, as taught by Wang, with the motivation that such types of filters are well known and can be use to provide gain equalization between signal wavelengths, ( Wang, [0018] ).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Applicant argues DiGiovanni does not disclose the fused-tapered region and subsequent details related to the fused-tapered region. However, Mattsson is cited for the fused-tapered region and the limitations/reasoning applied to Claim 1 have been incorporated into Claim 1. It is not valid to attack references individually when they used in combination.
Applicant argues Mattsson does not teach of the fused-tapered region and associated limitations. However, Mattsson teaches a fused fibre bundle tapered region which combines signals from two differences sources, namely 1 and 2, as shown in Figure 1. This leads to the output shown in 7 and into 4. Given the fused-tapered region, it is clear 1 and 2 are combined simultaneously at this singular point/aspect.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621