DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 09/08/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-5 and 11-13 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 6-9 and 14-16 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasma et al. (Pub. No. US 20190341587 A1) in view of Tsutsumi et al. (Pub. No. US 20170214030 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pasma teaches a battery unit (100, Fig. 1, see [0032]), comprising: a housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032]), an electrode assembly (810, Fig. 8, see [0046]), a conductive plate (820A, Fig. 8, see [0046]) electrically connected to the electrode assembly (810, Fig. 8, see [0046] where the tab is extended from the cathode of the electrode assembly), and a feedthrough assembly (120, Fig. 1, see [0032]); wherein the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032]) accommodates the electrode assembly (810, Fig. 8, see [0046] where 810 is inside 110) and the conductive plate (820A, Fig. 8, see [0046] see Fig. 8 where 820A is inside 110), and the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032]) is provided with an opening (112, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) for mounting the feedthrough assembly (120, Fig. 1, see [0032], see [0034] and Fig. 2A where 120 is mounted through 112); the feedthrough assembly (120, Fig. 1, see [0032]) comprises a first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), a second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), a conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), a rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) and an insulation sleeve (430, Fig. 4B, see [0036] where 222 including the 430 portion is formed of an insulating material); the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is disposed on an outer surface (surface of 110 where 222 is disposed on, see Fig. 2A) of the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032]); the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is disposed on an inner surface (surface of 110 where 224 is disposed on, see Fig. 2B) of the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032]) and is disposed opposite to the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see Fig. 2A/2B where 222 and 224 are disposed on opposite sides of 110); the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is accommodated in the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see Fig. 2B where 226 is inside of 110, also seen in Fig. 8) and disposed on a side (side of 224 with 226, Fig. 2A) of the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) facing away from the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see 226 on side of 224 away from 222); the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) comprising a shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below), an end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]), and a limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly); wherein the shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below) sequentially passes through the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), the opening (112, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), and the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see Fig. 2A shows a line drawn through 222, 112, 224, and 226 in that order, see Fig. 9D below assembled view); the end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]) is disposed at an end of the shaft portion (shank, see [0035] where the shank extends from 310, labelled in Fig. 9D below where 310 is on the end of the shank) extending out of the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see Fig. 9D below where 310 is outside of 110), the limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly) is accommodated in the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see Fig. 9D below where 320 is inside 110) and is electrically connected to the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0041] where the electrical energy conducts from the cathode electrodes to 226 then to 221), and the end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]) and the limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly) abut against the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) and the second washer (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) so as to seal the opening (112, Fig. 2A, see [0034] where the components create a seal, see Fig. 9D below where 310 and 320 abut against 222 and 224); and the insulation sleeve (430, Fig. 4B, see [0036] where 222 including the 430 portion is formed of an insulating material) fits around an outer wall of the shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below, see Fig. 9D where 430 fits around the outer wall of the shank), so as to prevent contact between the shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below) and the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see Fig. 9D below where 410 prevents direct contact between 110 and the shank); and the conductive plate (820A, Fig. 8, see [0046]) is electrically connected to the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0046] where 820A is welded to 226, see [0041] where the tab connects electrically through 226), wherein the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) comprises a washer body (washer body, see Fig. 4B below) and the washer body (washer body, see Fig. 4B below) is provided with a through hole (420, Fig. 4A, see [0036]) for the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) to pass through (see [0036] where the shank of 221 passes through 420); and the battery unit (100, Fig. 1, see [0032]) further comprises an insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034]) disposed axially between the limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly) and the electrode assembly (810, Fig. 8, see [0046], see Fig. 9A above where 228 is between 320 after assembly and 810), the insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034]) having a through groove (610A, Fig. 6, see [0044]) configured as an internal channel (see Fig. 6, 610a is set inside of 228, therefore it is an internal channel) spaced apart from a peripheral edge (peripheral edge, see Fig. 6 below where 610a is spaced apart from the peripheral edge) of the insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034]), wherein the conductive plate (820A, Fig. 8, see [0046]) passes through the through groove (610A, Fig. 6, see [0044], see Fig. 9c where 820A passes through 610A) and is laterally surrounded by the insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034], see [0044] where 820A passes through the 610A, and as seen in Fig. 6 610A has a c-shape, therefore it is the examiner’s position the shape of 610A constitutes the insultation partition laterally surrounding 820A as the sides of 820A are surrounded by 228) to electrically connect to the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0041] where tabs including 820A conduct electricity from battery cells to 226 to 221), wherein the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is provided with an accommodation groove (730, Fig. 7A, see [0037]) for accommodating at least a part of the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0037] where 226 is seated in 730); and a side wall (First side wall 1 and First side wall 2, Fig. 5 below) of the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) and a groove wall (groove wall 1 and 2, Fig. 7A below) of the accommodation groove (730, Fig. 7A, see [0037]) are at least partially attached to each other (see [0037] where 226 is seated in 730, see [0034] where the rivet compresses 222, 224, and 226 into 110, therefore all the components are compressed together and therefore fastened together, so as to prevent the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) from rotating relative to the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0037] where 226 seated in 224 prevents rotation of 226 relative to 224), wherein the side wall (First side wall 1 and First side wall 2, Fig. 5 below) of the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) comprises two first side wall units (First side wall 1/First side wall 2, Fig. 5 below) disposed opposite to each other (see First side wall 1 and 2 opposite each other in Fig. 5 below), the groove wall (groove wall 1 and 2, Fig. 7A below) of the accommodation groove (730, Fig. 7A, see [0037]) comprises two second side wall units (groove wall 1 and 2, Fig. 7A below) disposed opposite to each other (see groove wall 1 and 2 opposite each other in Fig. 7A below), and one of the first side wall units (First side wall 1 is in contact with Groove wall 2 as seen in Fig. 2B where 226 fits into 224) is correspondingly attached to one of the second side wall units (groove wall 2, Fig. 7A below), but fails to teach an annular protrusion, and the annular protrusion is disposed on an end surface of the washer body and surrounds an end portion of the through hole.
However, Tsutsumi teaches an annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145]) and the annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145]) is disposed on an end surface (9210, Fig. 6, see [0145]) of the washer body (body of 92 which includes surface 9120 and 9125, see Fig. 6) and surrounds an end portion of the through hole (926, Fig. 6, see [0109] where 415 passes through 926, see [0126] where 925 surrounds 415 and as seen by position of cross section of Fig. 6 surrounds end portion of 926), and wherein two end surfaces (9120 and 9125, Fig. 6, see [0126]) of the washer body (body of 92 which includes surface 9120 and 9125, see Fig. 6) are each provided with the annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145], see [0126] where 925 is provided on both 9120 and 9125).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pasma to add a projecting portion on two end surfaces of the washer body as taught by Tsutsumi to ensure sufficient sealability (see [0145] of Tsutsumi). Further Pasma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0062] of Pasma).
Regarding claim 2, Pasma in view of Tsutsumi teaches wherein two end surfaces (end surface 1 and 2, Fig. 4B above) of the washer body (washer body, Fig. 4B above) are each provided with the annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145] of Tsutsumi, see modification above).
Regarding claim 3, Pasma in view of Tsutsumi teaches wherein the limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly) is formed through compression and deformation of the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) during riveting (see [0035] where 320 is configured to expand in diameter, causing compression stress, therefore through compression).
Regarding claim 4, Pasma in view of Tsutsumi teaches wherein a side wall (wall of 224 in contact with 110, see [0040]) of the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is at least partially attached to the inner surface (see inside surface of 110 in direct contact with 224, Fig. 9D above) of the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see [0034] where the rivet compresses 222, 224, and 226 into 110, therefore all the components are compressed together and therefore attached), so as to prevent the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) from rotating around the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) relative to the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see [0040] where the configuration of 224 in contact with 110 prevents rotation of 224 with respect to 110).
Regarding claim 5, Pasma in view of Tsutsumi teaches wherein the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is fastened to the housing assembly (110, Fig. 1, see [0032], see [0034] where the rivet compresses 222, 224, and 226 into 110, therefore all the components are compressed together and therefore fastened together).
Regarding claim 11, Pasma teaches a feedthrough assembly (120, Fig. 1, see [0032]) comprises a first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), a second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), a conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), a rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) and an insulation sleeve (430, Fig. 4B, see [0036] where 222 including the 430 portion is formed of an insulating material); the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is disposed opposite to the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see Fig. 2A/2B where 222 and 224 are disposed on opposite sides of 110); the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is disposed on a side (side of 224 with 226, Fig. 2A) of the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) facing away from the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see 226 on side of 224 away from 222); the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is comprising a shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below) and an end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]), wherein the shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below) sequentially passes through the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]), and the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see Fig. 2A shows a line drawn through 222, 112, 224, and 226 in that order, see Fig. 9D below assembled view), the end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]) is disposed at a first end of the shaft portion (shank, see [0035] where the shank extends from 310, labelled in Fig. 9D below where 310 is on the end of the shank), a second end of the shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below, opposite end of 310 is second end) is compressed during riveting to form a limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly, see [0035] where the tail 320 expands in diameter after the rivet is installed as shown in Fig. 9D below), so that one of the end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]) and the limiting portion (320 after assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly, see [0035] where the tail 320 expands in diameter after the rivet is installed as shown in Fig. 9D below) is connected to the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0041] where the electrical energy conducts from the cathode electrodes to 226 then to 221), (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]) and the limiting portion (320 after assembly, Fig. 3, see [0035] the tail is undeployed in Fig. 3 or shown prior to assembly, and Fig. 9D below shows 320 after assembly) abut against the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) and the second washer (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]); and the insulation sleeve (430, Fig. 4B, see [0036] where 222 including the 430 portion is formed of an insulating material) fits around the shaft portion (shank, see [0035], labelled in Fig. 9A below, see Fig. 9D where 430 fits around the outer wall of the shank); wherein the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) comprises a washer body (washer body, see Fig. 4B below) and the washer body (washer body, see Fig. 4B below) is provided with a through hole (420, Fig. 4A, see [0036]) for the rivet (221, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) to pass through (see [0036] where the shank of 221 passes through 420); and the feedthrough assembly (120, Fig. 1, see [0032]) further comprises an insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034]), wherein the insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034]) is provided with a through groove (610A, Fig. 6, see [0044]) configured as an internal channel (see Fig. 6, 610a is set inside of 228, therefore it is an internal channel) spaced apart from a peripheral edge (peripheral edge, see Fig. 6 below where 610a is spaced apart from the peripheral edge) of the insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034]), the through groove (610A, Fig. 6, see [0044], see Fig. 9c where 820A passes through 610A) being configured for a conductive plate (820A, Fig. 8, see [0046], see [0044]) to pass through and be laterally surrounded by the insulation partition (228, Fig. 2A, [0034], see [0044] where 820A passes through the 610A, and as seen in Fig. 6 610A has a c-shape, therefore it is the examiner’s position the shape of 610A constitutes the insultation partition laterally surrounding 820A as the sides of 820A are surrounded by 228), wherein the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) is provided with an accommodation groove (730, Fig. 7A, see [0037]) for accommodating at least a part of the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0037] where 226 is seated in 730); and a side wall (First side wall 1 and First side wall 2, Fig. 5 below) of the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) and a groove wall (groove wall 1 and 2, Fig. 7A below) of the accommodation groove (730, Fig. 7A, see [0037]) are at least partially attached to each other (see [0037] where 226 is seated in 730, see [0034] where the rivet compresses 222, 224, and 226 into 110, therefore all the components are compressed together and therefore fastened together, so as to prevent the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) from rotating relative to the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see [0037] where 226 seated in 224 prevents rotation of 226 relative to 224), wherein the side wall (First side wall 1 and First side wall 2, Fig. 5 below) of the conductive terminal (226, Fig. 2A, see [0034]) comprises two first side wall units (First side wall 1/First side wall 2, Fig. 5 below) disposed opposite to each other (see First side wall 1 and 2 opposite each other in Fig. 5 below), the groove wall (groove wall 1 and 2, Fig. 7A below) of the accommodation groove (730, Fig. 7A, see [0037]) comprises two second side wall units (groove wall 1 and 2, Fig. 7A below) disposed opposite to each other (see groove wall 1 and 2 opposite each other in Fig. 7A below), and one of the first side wall units (First side wall 1 is in contact with Groove wall 2 as seen in Fig. 2B where 226 fits into 224) is correspondingly attached to one of the second side wall units (groove wall 2, Fig. 7A below), but fails to teach an annular protrusion, and the annular protrusion is disposed on an end surface of the washer body and surrounds an end portion of the through hole.
However, Tsutsumi teaches an annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145]) and the annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145]) is disposed on an end surface (9210, Fig. 6, see [0145]) of the washer body (body of 92 which includes surface 9120 and 9125, see Fig. 6) and surrounds an end portion of the through hole (926, Fig. 6, see [0109] where 415 passes through 926, see [0126] where 925 surrounds 415 and as seen by position of cross section of Fig. 6 surrounds end portion of 926), and wherein two end surfaces (9120 and 9125, Fig. 6, see [0126]) of the washer body (body of 92 which includes surface 9120 and 9125, see Fig. 6) are each provided with the annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145], see [0126] where 925 is provided on both 9120 and 9125).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Pasma to add a projecting portion on two end surfaces of the washer body as taught by Tsutsumi to ensure sufficient sealability (see [0145] of Tsutsumi). Further Pasma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0062] of Pasma).
Regarding claim 12, Pasma in view of Tsutsumi teaches wherein two end surfaces (end surface 1 and 2, Fig. 4B above) of the washer body (washer body, Fig. 4B above) are each provided with the annular protrusion (925, Fig. 6, see [0145] of Tsutsumi, see modification above).
Regarding claim 13, Pasma in view of Tsutsumi teaches wherein the end portion (310, Fig. 3, see [0035]) is disposed on a side of the first washer (222, Fig. 2A, see [0034], see Fig. 2A where 310 is disposed on side of 221 away from 224) away from the second washer (224, Fig. 2A, see [0034]).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument that the Examiner's characterization misconstrues the express language of the claims and proper application of BRI because the Examiner is not giving proper patentable weight to the term "configured as an internal channel spaced apart from the peripheral edge". The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the interpretation of claim limitations are given their ordinary and customary meaning of the terms consistent with the use of the claim term in the specification and drawings. As the terms laterally, surround, internal, channel, spaced, apart, and peripheral are not mentioned in the instant specification, the Examiner looked to the drawings to determine consistent use of the claim terms. Fig. 1 points to 501 as the through groove which is illustrated as a C-shape cutout at the lower side of 500. Further in Fig. 2 by the position of the conductive plate 300, the through groove is further illustrated as a c-shape cutout at the edge of the insulation partition. Therefore the Examiner interpreted the claim terminology under BRI as common and ordinary use of the terms consistent with the drawings.
Regarding applicants argument that the spaced apart requirement is not met because the open-ended edge feature breaches the outer edge, the distance between interior perimeter of the notch and the peripheral edge of the partition at the point of entry is zero, and the claim limitation mathematically requires a continuous, non-zero boundary, therefore the Examiner's characterization of Pasma's feature is geometrically impossible from meeting the limitation. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the claim limitation requires the through groove to be spaced apart from a peripheral edge of the insulation partition. The insulation partition has multiple peripheral edges, including the top edge, each side edge, and the bottom edge. Therefore, since the groove in Pasma is physically distant from the top wall it is spaced apart from that peripheral edge. Further, the Applicant is arguing features and interpretations of the claim language which are not supported in the specification or drawings.
Regarding the applicants argument that the requirement for a channel to be spaced apart from a peripheral edge necessitates that the channel be isolated from the boundary of the partition in its entirety, and the open ended notch requires the breaches the peripheral edge. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the claim did not require the internal channel be completely isolated from the entire outer boundary of the insulation partition or even spaced apart from the entire peripheral edge of the insulation partition, it required the channel to be spaced apart from a peripheral edge. Further, the Applicant is arguing features and interpretations of the claim language which are not supported in the specification or drawings.
Regarding applicant's argument that because the claim required the internal channel to be spaced apart from the peripheral edge, the material boundary defining the channel must remain continuous. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the claim did not require the entirety of the interior portion of the internal channel be spaced apart from the entire outer periphery of the insulation partition, it instead required a channel spaced apart from a peripheral edge in which it is spaced apart from multiple peripheral edges of the insulation partition in Pasma. Further, the Applicant is arguing features and interpretations of the claim language which are not supported in the specification or drawings.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Pasma fails to teach or suggest the feedthrough sequence of there the conductive plate passes through the through groove to be electrically connected to the rivet because Pasma uses an indirect electrical path to the rivet. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the claim required that the conductive plate electrically connects to the rivet and the claim does not require the conductive plate is in direct contact with the rivet. Therefore, electrically connecting through 226 is an electrical connection between 820A and 221.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the internal channel spaced apart from the peripheral edge requires the opening to be spaced apart from the peripheral edge and not open to an external boundary, and this limitation is supported by the applicant’s specification in Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0053]. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the as the claim did not require the internal channel be completely isolated from the entire outer boundary of the insulation partition or even spaced apart from the entire peripheral edge of the insulation partition, it required the channel to be spaced apart from a peripheral edge. Further the applicant is arguing features and interpretations of the claim language which are not supported by the specification. Paragraph [0053] simply describes a through groove passing through the insulation partition and Figs. 1 and 2 illustrate a C-shaped cutout for the through groove 501, therefore they do not support an internal channel which does not breach the peripheral edge.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the internal channel spaced apart from the peripheral edge provides the technical advantage of the insulation partition maintains complete boundary containment and preserves the structural continuity of the outer boundary and prevents edge failure and tearing vulnerabilities inherent to open-notch configurations. This argument is moot as the internal channel spaced apart from the peripheral edge as claimed does not require complete enclosure around the entire boundary of the opening, nor is such an interpretation supported by the applicants specification. Further the applicant has provided no proof or support for this supposed technical advantage.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723