DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action.
Claims [1-33] are currently pending and have been examined based on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception that is an abstract idea without a practical application or significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-31 recite a method (i.e. a process such as an act or series of steps), claim 32 recite a system, and claim 33 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage media and therefore each claim falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
The representative claims 1 and 32-33 recite: A method, comprising: (a) receiving or obtaining power or energy data associated with a generation, a transmission, a distribution, or a consumption of power or energy; (b) modeling the generation, sale, purchase, transmission, distribution, receipt, consumption, or utilization of the power or energy, based at least in part on:(1) the power or energy data, and (2) a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy; and (c) computing or deriving greenhouse gas (GHG) intensity or emission values for (i) one or more sources that generate the power or energy, (ii) one or more entities that consume or utilize the power or energy, (iii) a market or exchange for the power or energy, or (iv) an electrically-defined area or region, based on the modeling in (b).
The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity as the disclosure recites commercial or legal interaction. The claims simply recite a series of steps to determine the greenhouse gas intensity or emission values for an entity based on receiving energy data and modeling the energy data. The claims merely recite receiving and analyzing input data such as energy data and generating output data such as an emission value to help provide insights on the entity’s impact on greenhouse emissions.
Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process. The claims merely recite the process of receiving and analyzing greenhouse gas emission information for an entity. The claims are found to recite a series of steps that can be performed in the human mind or with the use of a simple tool such as pen and paper. The claimed invention of receiving energy data, modeling the utilization of energy based on the energy data, and computing greenhouse ga intensity or emission values for an entity are found to be similar to concepts the courts have defined as a mental process including observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. As a person such would be capable of mentally receiving and analyzing energy data associated with the generation, transmission, distribution, or consumption of power to generate an emission value for an entity.
Therefore, the claims are found to recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Is the exception integrated into a practical application?): The claims additionally recite additional elements, including;
Claim 32: A system, comprising at least one processor, an operating system configured to perform executable instructions, a memory, and instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to perform operations.
Claim 33: A non-transitory computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions executable by one or more processors to create an application comprising: (a) a software module
The additional elements of a system and a non-transitory computer readable storage media are directed to merely “apply it” or reciting instructions to apply a generic computer and technology to execute the method in the recited claim limitations.
The claim limitations recite mere instructions to implement the abstract idea of receiving and analyzing energy data related to an entity to output an emission value.
Therefore, the limitations merely amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) to the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, a method for transmitting, receiving, and processing information does not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c), or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As the additional elements are not significant improvements to the functionality of a generic computer and are directed to merely “apply it” or applying the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?):
As discussed above, the additional imitations amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements of generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea are not directed to an improvement in a technology or technical field. Therefore, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-31 further narrow the abstract idea of receiving energy data associated with an entity and modeling the energy to compute a greenhouse gas intensity or emission value for an entity.
The dependent claims do not recite any further additional elements beyond those in the above discussion.
Therefore, claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridge (US 2020/0273047) in view of Sandor (US 2010/0250311).
Claims 1, 32, and 33: Bridge discloses (Claim 1) A method, comprising: (Claim 32) A system, comprising at least one processor, an operating system configured to perform executable instructions, a memory, and instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (Claim 33) A non-transitory computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions executable by one or more processors to create an application comprising: (a) receiving or obtaining power or energy data associated with a generation, a transmission, a distribution, or a consumption of power or energy (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system);
(b) modeling the generation, sale, purchase, transmission, distribution, receipt, consumption, or utilization of the power or energy, based at least in part on: (1) the power or energy data (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, the system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system);
and (c) computing or deriving greenhouse gas (GHG) intensity or emission values for (i) one or more sources that generate the power or energy, (ii) one or more entities that consume or utilize the power or energy, (iii) a market or exchange for the power or energy, or (iv) an electrically-defined area or region, based on the modeling in (b) (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0161]; [0164-0165]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. The emission output generation module interacts with the databases to process the emission data to determine an emission output value. The report generation module interacts with the database to generate one or more reports based on the emission output values generated by the module and emission offset measurements generated by the module. The audit module audits the various emission sources. The audit module also audits the emission data and calculated or estimated emission output values and offset measurement values).
Bridge discloses a system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity such as emissions from direct internal activities or from external factors such as the purchasing of power. However, Bridge does not specifically disclose the following claim limitations: and (2) a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches and (2) a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 2: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. Bridge further discloses wherein (b) further comprises modeling a transmission, a flux, or a flow path of one or more greenhouse gases (GHGs) based on the power or energy data (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0131]; [0161]; [0164-0165]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. The emission output generation module interacts with the databases to process the emission data to determine an emission output value. The report generation module interacts with the database to generate one or more reports based on the emission output values generated by the module and emission offset measurements generated by the module. The audit module audits the various emission sources. The audit module also audits the emission data and calculated or estimated emission output values and offset measurement values. The emission tracking device is also configured to audit the monitoring system, including sensors, emission monitoring devices, and internal secondary sources. An advantage of auditing the monitoring system is to ensure accurate and consistent monitoring and measurement of greenhouse gas emission generated, directly or indirectly, by the entity).
Claim 3: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 2. Bridge further discloses wherein the transmission, flux, or flow path of the GHGs represents or corresponds to an amount of GHG emissions attributable to the one or more entities consuming or utilizing the power or energy (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 4: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 2. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the flow of GHGs represents or corresponds to an amount of GHG emissions attributable to the one or more entities based on a financial obligation or responsibility of the one or more entities for the power or energy.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the flow of GHGs represents or corresponds to an amount of GHG emissions attributable to the one or more entities based on a financial obligation or responsibility of the one or more entities for the power or energy (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 5: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 3. Bridge further discloses wherein the amount of GHG emissions attributable to the one or more entities consuming or utilizing the power or energy corresponds to an amount of GHG emissions generated to produce the power or energy consumed or utilized by the one or more entities (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 6: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 3. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the amount of GHG emissions attributable to the one or more entities corresponds to an amount of GHG emissions generated to produce power or energy for which the one or more entities have a financial obligation or responsibility.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the amount of GHG emissions attributable to the one or more entities corresponds to an amount of GHG emissions generated to produce power or energy for which the one or more entities have a financial obligation or responsibility (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 7: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not discloses wherein in (b), the generation, sale, transmission, or receipt of the power or energy is modeled based at least in part on a physical transmission of power or energy between the one or more sources and the one or more entities.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein in (b), the generation, sale, transmission, or receipt of the power or energy is modeled based at least in part on a physical transmission of power or energy between the one or more sources and the one or more entities (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 8: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein in (b), the generation, sale, transmission or receipt of the power or energy is determined based at least in part on the financial ownership of the power or energy or an obligation for the power or energy.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein in (b), the generation, sale, transmission or receipt of the power or energy is determined based at least in part on the financial ownership of the power or energy or an obligation for the power or energy (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 9: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein in (b), the financial responsibility is determined based at least in part on the transmission or distribution of the power or energy.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein in (b), the financial responsibility is determined based at least in part on the transmission or distribution of the power or energy (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 10: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. Bridge further discloses wherein the GHG intensity or emission values comprise a localized or individualized GHG intensity or emission value corresponding to an amount of GHGs emitted per unit of electrical energy generated (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generates by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 11: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. Bridge further discloses wherein the GHG intensity or emission values are computed based on power or energy data from a plurality of sources comprising the one or more sources (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 12: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 11. Bridge further discloses wherein the GHG intensity or emission values are computed based on a weighted averaging, transformation, or integration of at least a subset of the power or energy data for the plurality of sources (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 13: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 2. Bridge further discloses wherein the GHG intensity or emission values are computed based at least in part on the transmission, flux, or flow path of the one or more greenhouse gases (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0131]; [0161]; [0164-0165]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. The emission output generation module interacts with the databases to process the emission data to determine an emission output value. The report generation module interacts with the database to generate one or more reports based on the emission output values generated by the module and emission offset measurements generated by the module. The audit module audits the various emission sources. The audit module also audits the emission data and calculated or estimated emission output values and offset measurement values. The emission tracking device is also configured to audit the monitoring system, including sensors, emission monitoring devices, and internal secondary sources. An advantage of auditing the monitoring system is to ensure accurate and consistent monitoring and measurement of greenhouse gas emission generated, directly or indirectly, by the entity).
Claim 14: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the GHG intensity or emission values are computed based on at least one local grid factor.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the GHG intensity or emission values are computed based on at least one local grid factor (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 15: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 14. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the at least one local grid factor comprises a type of electricity generated, transmitted, distributed, or consumed.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the at least one local grid factor comprises a type of electricity generated, transmitted, distributed, or consumed (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 16: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose further comprising computing power or energy consumption for (i) the one or more sources, (ii) the one or more entities, (iii) the market or exchange for the power or energy, or (iv) the electrically-defined area or region, based on at least one local grid factor.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches further comprising computing power or energy consumption for (i) the one or more sources, (ii) the one or more entities, (iii) the market or exchange for the power or energy, or (iv) the electrically-defined area or region, based on at least one local grid factor (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 17: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 16. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the at least one local grid factor comprises a type of electricity generated, transmitted, distributed, or consumed.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the at least one local grid factor comprises a type of electricity generated, transmitted, distributed, or consumed (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 18: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 16. Bridge further discloses wherein the GHG intensity or emission values are computed based at least in part on the power or energy consumption (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0131]; [0161]; [0164-0165]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. The emission output generation module interacts with the databases to process the emission data to determine an emission output value. The report generation module interacts with the database to generate one or more reports based on the emission output values generated by the module and emission offset measurements generated by the module. The audit module audits the various emission sources. The audit module also audits the emission data and calculated or estimated emission output values and offset measurement values. The emission tracking device is also configured to audit the monitoring system, including sensors, emission monitoring devices, and internal secondary sources. An advantage of auditing the monitoring system is to ensure accurate and consistent monitoring and measurement of greenhouse gas emission generated, directly or indirectly, by the entity).
Claim 19: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the power or energy data is associated with one or more financial instruments.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the power or energy data is associated with one or more financial instruments (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 20: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 19. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the one or more financial instruments comprise a power purchase agreement (PPA), a virtual PPA, a market purchase agreement, a guarantee of origin, a renewable energy credit, or a utility tariff.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the one or more financial instruments comprise a power purchase agreement (PPA), a virtual PPA, a market purchase agreement, a guarantee of origin, a renewable energy credit, or a utility tariff (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 21: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the power or energy data comprises ownership information for the one or more sources.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the power or energy data comprises ownership information for the one or more sources (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0036]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting. The method allows for proper allocation of ownership of emissions).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 22: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. Bridge further discloses wherein the power or energy data comprises operational data for the one or more sources, wherein the operational data comprises power or energy generation rates, a type of fuel or source material processed to generate the power or energy, a total amount of electricity generated per unit time, and/or heat rates for the one or more sources (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0131]; [0161]; [0164-0165]; [0175]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. The emission output generation module interacts with the databases to process the emission data to determine an emission output value. The report generation module interacts with the database to generate one or more reports based on the emission output values generated by the module and emission offset measurements generated by the module. The audit module audits the various emission sources. The audit module also audits the emission data and calculated or estimated emission output values and offset measurement values. The emission tracking device is also configured to audit the monitoring system, including sensors, emission monitoring devices, and internal secondary sources. An advantage of auditing the monitoring system is to ensure accurate and consistent monitoring and measurement of greenhouse gas emission generated, directly or indirectly, by the entity. In one example, the profile record of a famer in an emission tracking unit includes entities such as one or more farms, livestock, one or more vehicles, and one or more buildings. In such cases, there may be many sources of greenhouse gas emission. Such as burning of carbon-based fuels. In such cases the total greenhouse gas emissions associated with the profile record is determined based on the emissions results from each of these entities).
Claim 23: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. Bridge further discloses wherein the power or energy data comprises data on electricity transmission or distribution (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 24: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. Bridge further discloses wherein the one or more sources comprise a plant or a facility for generating the power or energy (Paragraph [0004]; [0071-0073]; [0118]; [0177]; Fig. 4, a system for tracking at least one emission type generate by an entity. The system comprises at least one emission tracking device coupled to the entity, the at least one tracking device being configured to receive emission data associated with the at least one emission type and an external processor configured to analyze the first emission data received to determine a first emission output value. In various embodiments greenhouse gas emissions are considered to be generated or associated with an entity if the operation of the entity results in direct or indirect generation of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, for an entity such as an industrial facility the greenhouse gas emission associated with the entity will include any greenhouse gas related by the entity itself during its operation as well as any greenhouse gas released by any other facility such as a power generation facility, due to the power consumption by the entity. In some cases the external system may include one or more servers that receive and store emission related data from one or more primary sources and internal secondary sources of the entity. For example, an entity such as a household dwelling the devices or systems configured to measure electrical consumption at the dwelling may be configured to transmit the electrical consumption data to a cloud server. The emission tracking system receives a first emission data. The first emission data corresponds to one or more different types of greenhouse gas emissions generated directly or indirectly by an entity. The first emission data may be received from a monitoring system).
Claim 25: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the power or energy is transmitted or distributed over a network, a grid, a macrogrid, or a microgrid.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the power or energy is transmitted or distributed over a network, a grid, a macrogrid, or a microgrid (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 26: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 25. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the network or grid comprises an electrical grid.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the network or grid comprises an electrical grid (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 27: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 10. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the localized GHG intensity or emission values are computed periodically at a time interval ranging from 1 second to 1 year.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the localized GHG intensity or emission values are computed periodically at a time interval ranging from 1 second to 1 year (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 28: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 27. Bridge further discloses wherein the localized GHG intensity or emission values are computed hourly (Paragraph [0073] the emission tracking system includes a first device configured to monitor and/or measure greenhouse gas emissions from an entity, log, and compile gathered data to generate real time emission measurements).
Claim 29: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 10. Bridge further discloses wherein the localized GHG intensity or emission values are computed in real time (Paragraph [0073] the emission tracking system includes a first device configured to monitor and/or measure greenhouse gas emissions from an entity, log, and compile gathered data to generate real time emission measurements).
Claim 30: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the electrically-defined area or region comprises a balancing area or a subdivision or a subsection thereof.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the electrically-defined area or region comprises a balancing area or a subdivision or a subsection thereof (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Claim 31: Modified Bridge discloses the method as per claim 1. However, Bridge does not disclose wherein the electrically-defined area or region comprises a portion or a section of a grid system or a grid network for receiving, transmitting, and/or distributing the power or energy.
In the same field of endeavor of determining the emissions of an entity Sandor teaches wherein the electrically-defined area or region comprises a portion or a section of a grid system or a grid network for receiving, transmitting, and/or distributing the power or energy (Paragraph [0009-0011]; [0038-0040]; [0042-0044]; Fig. 1, the invention relates to a method for determining an accurate amount of total emissions for an internal entity within a regulated jurisdiction for a specified time period. The method comprises calculating a first amount of emissions or attributes for which the internal entity is directly responsible for the specified time period; calculating a second amount of emissions or attributes for the internal entity based on emissions or other activities associated with consumption or purchase of activities, services, or products from other entities for the specified time period; and combining the first and second amounts of emission to yield a total amount of emissions for the specified time period within the regulated jurisdiction. The method can be applied to calculate emissions comprising greenhouse gas emissions, or to calculate attributes wherein the attributes comprise taxes, or contents of purchased activities, products, goods, or services. In these methods, the purchases often comprise one or more purchases of activities, products, or services that result in release of emissions. In the present method, entities that purchase electric power from external entities must include in their total emission inventory emission associated with externally produced electric power. In the context of a regional wholesale electric power grid that covers both internal and external entities, proper ownership of emissions footprints, contracting to reduce emission liabilities, and proper pricing of electric power cannot succeed unless all entities involved in purchase and sale of power are able to accurately determine the carbon emissions embedded in purchased power. The presently described methods provide a means of clearly assigning and tracking carbon emissions embedded in purchased power in a setting).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of tracking greenhouse gas emissions associated with an entity based on various internal and external factors as disclosed by Bridge (Bridge [0004]) with the system of and a financial ownership of the power or energy, a financial obligation or responsibility associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy, or financial data associated with the generation, sale, transmission, distribution, receipt, or consumption of the power or energy as taught by Sandor (Sandor [0009]). With the motivation of helping to track and reduce greenhouse gas emissions from an entity (Sandor [0003]).
Therefore, claim 1-33 are rejected under U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Snook (US 2020/0374605) Systems and methods for identifying greenhouse gas emission reductions and carbon emission reduction credits.
Umay (US 2022/0268749) Tracking and auditing of GHG emissions.
Russo (US 2023/0103187) System and method for greenhouse gas tracking.
Scaramellino (US 2010/0042453) Methods and apparatus for greenhouse gas footprint monitoring.
Nguyen (US 2024/0127264) System, methods, and devices for automated emissions data collection and analysis.
/COREY RUSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3629