DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are pending. Claim 9 is canceled. Claims 1, 4-7, 11, and 18-20 are amended. Claims 2-3, 8, 10, and 12-17 are original. Claim 21 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 of the remarks, filed 4/21/2026, with respect to the recitation “the first characteristic is a charge capacity of the first battery pack” as recited in canceled claim 9 and incorporated in independent claims 1 and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found reference FRIDMAN (US 2002/0075003). This rejection is made non-final in order to present the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments on page 7 of the remarks that primary reference KAWAMURA does not disclose modular charger blocks have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response, the independent claims do not recite or require a separable, interchangeable, plug-in configuration for the charger blocks as argued by Applicant. The term “modular” is interpreted broadly as, e.g., describing separate and independent components, and based on this interpretation, it is maintained that KAWAMURA discloses modular charging blocks or modular chargers as recited in independent claims 1, 11, and 17. It is noted that new claim 21 recites the features argued by Applicant, and newly found reference KUTKUT (US 2004/0189251) is relied upon to teach self-contained, interchangeable charger blocks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (US 2016/0099581; cited in previous office action) in view of MANOR (US 2011/0148344; cited in previous office action) and FRIDMAN (US 2002/0075003).
Regarding claim 1, KAWAMURA discloses a portable power supply (400, Figs. 24-27; ¶ 0091: the first battery charger 100 may be implemented with a plug 126 for operably connecting the first battery charger 100 to an external power supply. In the embodiment shown, the plug 126 may comprise a standard A/C plug for insertion into a wall outlet; power supply 400 is implied as being portable for placement near a wall outlet; ¶ 0163: third battery charger 400 may be a multiple battery charger comprising a component configuration including at least two component groups for generating one or more configurable charge currents. Each component group may be operable to generate one or more configurable charge currents and may be implemented with one or more components for electrically coupling to a rechargeable battery. In an embodiment, each component group may be independently operable to charge one or more batteries. Additionally, or alternatively, two or more component groups may be operated in concert to charge one or more batteries; ¶ 0166: third battery charger 400 may be implemented with one or more features, and/or components allowing operation of the third battery charger 400 to perform one or more functions beyond those of the first battery charger 100. In an embodiment, the third battery charger 400 may be provided with one or more switches, indicators, and/or internal components in addition to, and different from, those of the first battery charger 100) comprising:
a first modular charger block (comprising at least 306, Fig. 27) received in a first charging slot (a “first charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the first modular charger block, which comprises at least element 306 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a first charging port (414A, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0167: the low power section may comprise a first switch 402A, a second switch 404A, a third switch 408A, a fourth switch 412A, a charge output port 414A, a balance port 416A, an indicator 418A, and a plurality of indicators 420A-D. As shown in FIG. 27, the low power section 304 may additionally comprise an RFID 308A, a sensor 309A, an interface I/O 310A, a LiPo balancing circuit 312A, a charging circuit 306);
a second modular charger block (comprising at least 307, Fig. 27) received in a second charging slot (a “second charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the second modular charger block, which comprises at least element 307 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a second charging port (414B, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0168: high power section may include a first switch 402B, a second switch 404B, a third switch 408B, a fourth switch 412B, a charger output port 414B, a balance port 416B, an indicator 418B, and a plurality of indicators 420E-H. As shown in FIG. 27, the high power section 305 may additionally comprise an RFID 308B, a sensor 309B, an interface I/O 310B, a LiPo balancing circuit 312B, a charging circuit 307); and
a controller including an electronic processor (the controller comprises processors 318A and 318B, Fig. 27; ¶ 0208), the controller configured to:
determine that a first battery pack (¶ 0220: first battery) is received by the first charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determine that a device (¶ 0220: second battery) is received by the second charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries; ¶ 0226: the sensor 309B may sense the RFID tag of the coupled battery),
determine a first characteristic of the first battery pack (¶ 0175: Information contained on the RFID tag 2206 may comprise a manufacturer assigned identifier number, or code, unique to the specific battery model, or unique to the battery, itself. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, further information such as chemistry type, cell count, recommended charge rates, number of charges on the battery, among other information, may be contained on the RFID tag 2206 and read by the respective RFID reader 308A, B and/or sensing device 309A, B. The third battery charger 400 may use the information received to configure the charge current and charge operation of the battery charger 400), and
provide a first current to the first battery pack based on the first characteristic and a second current to the device based on the device being received by the second charging port (¶ 0202: While configured for “Dual Output Mode,” the third battery charger 400 may be operable to charge a battery using either of the low power or high power sections. In an embodiment, operation of the high power section of third battery charger 400 at a Charge Rate corresponding to High Power operation may be prevented. In such an embodiment, the high power section of third battery charger 400 may be operable at lower Charge Rates, such as the Charge Rates comprising the first set, described above. Further, while configured for “Dual Output Mode” operation, the third battery charger 400 may be operable to generate charging currents for simultaneous charging more than one battery. According to the embodiment shown, for example, the low power section and the high power section of the third battery charger 400 may separately and simultaneously operated, with the low power section generating a first charge current for charging a first battery and the high power section generating a second charge current for charging a second battery).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose a battery core including a plurality of battery cells.
MANOR discloses a battery core including a plurality of battery cells (16, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0029: wall charger 10 differs, however, from a conventional wall charger in that it also contains a battery cavity 15, inside of which can be installed one or more cells or batteries 16, which are preferably secondary. Alternatively and preferably, primary cells or batteries may be used, this being understood to include a fuel cell also. The wall charger can be used in the conventional manner, whereby the cable 13 is plugged into the charging socket 17 of the phone 14, and the phone operated or the internal battery of the phone charged from the fixed power supply. At the same time that the wall charger is operating the phone or charging the phone's internal battery, it can also charge the wall charger internal battery 16, if it is a secondary battery, so as to maintain it in a state of full charge. If it is desired to operate the phone or charge the phone battery in a situation where no fixed power source is available into which to plug the wall charger, then the wall charger is connected to the phone by means of its cable 13, or by means of mounting into the charging cradle, and the phone is supplied with current from the wall charger's internal battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery core in order to provide charging power in the absence of a fixed power source (MANOR, ¶ 0029).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose the first characteristic is a charge capacity of the first battery pack.
FRIDMAN discloses the first characteristic is a charge capacity of the first battery pack (¶ 0036: battery charger comprises a charging circuit 10, a control circuit 11, and a current sensor 15. The control circuit 11 applies a test pulse to the battery, measures the battery voltage during the test pulse, determines the state of deterioration of the battery based upon these measured voltages, determines the charge capacity of the battery, determines the appropriate charging current for the battery, and then causes the charging circuit to provide that appropriate charging current to the battery; ¶ 0072: to minimize high current polarization effects, the charging current I for the battery should be based upon the charge capacity C of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first characteristic is a charge capacity in order to prolong the useful life of the battery by decreasing the charging current provided to the battery commensurate with the condition, or state of deterioration, of the battery (FRIDMAN, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 2, KAWAMURA discloses the controller is further configured to: enable a fan (314, Fig. 27) configured to cool the first charging port, wherein the fan is integrated into the first modular charger block (¶ 0213).
Regarding claim 3, KAWAMURA discloses the controller is further configured to: determine that a second device is received by a third charging port (416B, Figs. 24 & 26); and provide, in response to determining that the second device is received by the third charging port, a third current to the second device (¶ 0060-0063, 0177).
Regarding claim 10, KAWAMURA discloses the device is one of a mobile phone, a tablet, a power tool, a battery pack, and a battery pack charger (¶ 0217-0224).
Regarding claim 11, KAWAMURA discloses a method for providing power from a portable power supply (400, Figs. 24-27; ¶ 0091: the first battery charger 100 may be implemented with a plug 126 for operably connecting the first battery charger 100 to an external power supply. In the embodiment shown, the plug 126 may comprise a standard A/C plug for insertion into a wall outlet; power supply 400 is implied as being portable for placement near a wall outlet; ¶ 0163: third battery charger 400 may be a multiple battery charger comprising a component configuration including at least two component groups for generating one or more configurable charge currents. Each component group may be operable to generate one or more configurable charge currents and may be implemented with one or more components for electrically coupling to a rechargeable battery. In an embodiment, each component group may be independently operable to charge one or more batteries. Additionally, or alternatively, two or more component groups may be operated in concert to charge one or more batteries; ¶ 0166: third battery charger 400 may be implemented with one or more features, and/or components allowing operation of the third battery charger 400 to perform one or more functions beyond those of the first battery charger 100. In an embodiment, the third battery charger 400 may be provided with one or more switches, indicators, and/or internal components in addition to, and different from, those of the first battery charger 100), the method comprising:
determining, with an electronic processor of the portable power supply (the electronic processor comprises processors 318A and 318B, Fig. 27; ¶ 0208), that a first battery pack (¶ 0220: first battery) is received by a first charging port (414A, Figs. 24 & 26) of a first modular charger included in the portable power supply (comprising at least 306, Fig. 27; ¶ 0167: the low power section may comprise a first switch 402A, a second switch 404A, a third switch 408A, a fourth switch 412A, a charge output port 414A, a balance port 416A, an indicator 418A, and a plurality of indicators 420A-D. As shown in FIG. 27, the low power section 304 may additionally comprise an RFID 308A, a sensor 309A, an interface I/O 310A, a LiPo balancing circuit 312A, a charging circuit 306; ¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that a first device (¶ 0220: second battery) is received by a second charging port (414B, Figs. 24 & 26) of a second modular charger included in the portable power supply (comprising at least 307, Fig. 27; ¶ 0168: high power section may include a first switch 402B, a second switch 404B, a third switch 408B, a fourth switch 412B, a charger output port 414B, a balance port 416B, an indicator 418B, and a plurality of indicators 420E-H. As shown in FIG. 27, the high power section 305 may additionally comprise an RFID 308B, a sensor 309B, an interface I/O 310B, a LiPo balancing circuit 312B, a charging circuit 307; ¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, a first characteristic of the first battery pack (¶ 0175: Information contained on the RFID tag 2206 may comprise a manufacturer assigned identifier number, or code, unique to the specific battery model, or unique to the battery, itself. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, further information such as chemistry type, cell count, recommended charge rates, number of charges on the battery, among other information, may be contained on the RFID tag 2206 and read by the respective RFID reader 308A, B and/or sensing device 309A, B. The third battery charger 400 may use the information received to configure the charge current and charge operation of the battery charger 400), and
providing, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, a first current to the first battery pack based on the first characteristic and a second current to the first device based on the first device being received by the second charging port (¶ 0202: While configured for “Dual Output Mode,” the third battery charger 400 may be operable to charge a battery using either of the low power or high power sections. In an embodiment, operation of the high power section of third battery charger 400 at a Charge Rate corresponding to High Power operation may be prevented. In such an embodiment, the high power section of third battery charger 400 may be operable at lower Charge Rates, such as the Charge Rates comprising the first set, described above. Further, while configured for “Dual Output Mode” operation, the third battery charger 400 may be operable to generate charging currents for simultaneous charging more than one battery. According to the embodiment shown, for example, the low power section and the high power section of the third battery charger 400 may separately and simultaneously operated, with the low power section generating a first charge current for charging a first battery and the high power section generating a second charge current for charging a second battery).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose providing power from a battery core.
MANOR discloses providing power from a battery core (16, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0029: wall charger 10 differs, however, from a conventional wall charger in that it also contains a battery cavity 15, inside of which can be installed one or more cells or batteries 16, which are preferably secondary. Alternatively and preferably, primary cells or batteries may be used, this being understood to include a fuel cell also. The wall charger can be used in the conventional manner, whereby the cable 13 is plugged into the charging socket 17 of the phone 14, and the phone operated or the internal battery of the phone charged from the fixed power supply. At the same time that the wall charger is operating the phone or charging the phone's internal battery, it can also charge the wall charger internal battery 16, if it is a secondary battery, so as to maintain it in a state of full charge. If it is desired to operate the phone or charge the phone battery in a situation where no fixed power source is available into which to plug the wall charger, then the wall charger is connected to the phone by means of its cable 13, or by means of mounting into the charging cradle, and the phone is supplied with current from the wall charger's internal battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery core in order to provide charging power in the absence of a fixed power source (MANOR, ¶ 0029).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose the first characteristic is a charge capacity of the first battery pack.
FRIDMAN discloses the first characteristic is a charge capacity of the first battery pack (¶ 0036: battery charger comprises a charging circuit 10, a control circuit 11, and a current sensor 15. The control circuit 11 applies a test pulse to the battery, measures the battery voltage during the test pulse, determines the state of deterioration of the battery based upon these measured voltages, determines the charge capacity of the battery, determines the appropriate charging current for the battery, and then causes the charging circuit to provide that appropriate charging current to the battery; ¶ 0072: to minimize high current polarization effects, the charging current I for the battery should be based upon the charge capacity C of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first characteristic is a charge capacity in order to prolong the useful life of the battery by decreasing the charging current provided to the battery commensurate with the condition, or state of deterioration, of the battery (FRIDMAN, ¶ 0017).
Regarding claim 12, KAWAMURA discloses determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that a second device is received by a third charging port of the second modular charger included in the portable power supply (416B, Figs. 24 & 26), and providing, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, a third current to the second device (¶ 0063, 0177).
Regarding claim 13, KAWAMURA discloses the second device is a second battery pack (¶ 0217-0224).
Regarding claim 14, KAWAMURA discloses the third current is less than the first current (¶ 0063, 0123, 0185).
Regarding claim 15, KAWAMURA discloses determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that a second device is received by a third charging port of the second modular charger included in the portable power supply (416A, Figs. 24 & 26), determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that the first device is fully charged (¶ 0088, 0142, 0145, 0221-0222), and providing, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, the second current to the second device (¶ 0063, 0177).
Regarding claim 16, KAWAMURA discloses the first device and the second device are battery packs (¶ 0217-0224).
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA in view of MANOR and FRIDMAN as applied to claims 1-3 and 10-16 above, and further in view of PEARCE (US 2006/0119992; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 4, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and FRIDMAN teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, but KAWAMURA fails to disclose the first modular charger block includes a first power buck converter and a second power buck converter.
PEARCE discloses a modular charger block includes a first power buck converter and a second power buck converter (¶ 0017, 0024-0025). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second power buck converters of PEARCE for the first modular charger block of KAWAMURA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the modular charger block includes a first power buck converter and a second power buck converter in order to provide a programmable or user-configurable power supply (PEARCE, ¶ 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 5, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR, FRIDMAN, and PEARCE teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 4, but fails to disclose the first power buck converter is capable of providing 18 amps of current to the first charging port.
However, PEARCE discloses the first power buck converter output current as a result effective variable (see ¶ 0024-0025), and it would be obvious to provide a power buck converter capable of providing 18 amps of current, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first power buck converter is capable of providing 18 amps of current in order to provide a desired power supply output based on application and as matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 6, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and FRIDMAN teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the second modular charger block includes a first power buck converter and a second power buck converter.
PEARCE discloses a modular charger block includes a first power buck converter and a second power buck converter (¶ 0017, 0024-0025). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second power buck converters of PEARCE for the second modular charger block of KAWAMURA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the modular charger block includes a first power buck converter and a second power buck converter in order to provide a programmable or user-configurable power supply (PEARCE, ¶ 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 7, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR, FRIDMAN, and PEARCE teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 6, and PEARCE further discloses the first power buck converter provides [an first output voltage] to the second charging port and the second power buck converter provides [a second output voltage] to a third charging port (¶ 0017, 0020).
KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR, FRIDMAN, and PEARCE fails to teach the first power buck converter provides between 3.3 volts (V) and 21 V to the second charging port and the second power buck converter provides 5 V to the third charging port.
However, PEARCE discloses the first and second power buck converter output voltages as result effective variables (see ¶ 0024), and it would be obvious to provide the power buck converter output voltages as recited, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first power buck converter provides between 3.3 volts (V) and 21 V and the second power buck converter provides 5 V in order to provide a desired power supply output based on application and as matter of obvious engineering choice.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and FRIDMAN as applied to claims 1-3 and 10-16 above, and further in view of BHASIN (US 2021/0013725; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 8, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and FRIDMAN teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, and KAWAMURA further discloses a third charging port (416A, Fig. 26; ¶ 0063, 0177).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose the second charging port is USB-C charging port and the third charging port is a USB-A charging port.
BHASIN discloses a USB-C charging port and a USB-A charging port (133, 134, Figs. 1 & 12; ¶ 0048-0049). It would be obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to provide the second charging port as a USB-C charging port and the third charging port as a USB-A charging port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the USB-C and USB-A charging ports in order to provide a desired device compatibility.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (US 2016/0099581; cited in previous office action) in view of MANOR (US 2011/0148344; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 17, KAWAMURA discloses a system comprising:
a first device (¶ 0220: first battery);
a second device (¶ 0220: second battery); and
a portable power supply (400, Figs. 24-27; ¶ 0091: the first battery charger 100 may be implemented with a plug 126 for operably connecting the first battery charger 100 to an external power supply. In the embodiment shown, the plug 126 may comprise a standard A/C plug for insertion into a wall outlet; power supply 400 is implied as being portable for placement near a wall outlet; ¶ 0163: third battery charger 400 may be a multiple battery charger comprising a component configuration including at least two component groups for generating one or more configurable charge currents. Each component group may be operable to generate one or more configurable charge currents and may be implemented with one or more components for electrically coupling to a rechargeable battery. In an embodiment, each component group may be independently operable to charge one or more batteries. Additionally, or alternatively, two or more component groups may be operated in concert to charge one or more batteries; ¶ 0166: third battery charger 400 may be implemented with one or more features, and/or components allowing operation of the third battery charger 400 to perform one or more functions beyond those of the first battery charger 100. In an embodiment, the third battery charger 400 may be provided with one or more switches, indicators, and/or internal components in addition to, and different from, those of the first battery charger 100) including:
a user interface (the “user interface” comprises various elements including indicators 406, 410, 418, and 420, and switches 412, 408, 402, 404, and 428 as shown in Figs. 24 & 25 and described in ¶ 0167-0168, 0180, 0190, 0193, 0198);
a first modular charger block (comprising at least 306, Fig. 27) received in a first charging slot (a “first charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the first modular charger block, which comprises at least element 306 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a first charging port (414A, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0167: the low power section may comprise a first switch 402A, a second switch 404A, a third switch 408A, a fourth switch 412A, a charge output port 414A, a balance port 416A, an indicator 418A, and a plurality of indicators 420A-D. As shown in FIG. 27, the low power section 304 may additionally comprise an RFID 308A, a sensor 309A, an interface I/O 310A, a LiPo balancing circuit 312A, a charging circuit 306);
a second modular charger block (comprising at least 307, Fig. 27) received in a second charging slot (a “second charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the second modular charger block, which comprises at least element 307 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a second charging port (414B, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0168: high power section may include a first switch 402B, a second switch 404B, a third switch 408B, a fourth switch 412B, a charger output port 414B, a balance port 416B, an indicator 418B, and a plurality of indicators 420E-H. As shown in FIG. 27, the high power section 305 may additionally comprise an RFID 308B, a sensor 309B, an interface I/O 310B, a LiPo balancing circuit 312B, a charging circuit 307); and
a controller including an electronic processor (the controller comprises processors 318A and 318B, Fig. 27; ¶ 0208) configured to:
determine that the first device is received by the first charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determine that the second device is received by the second charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries; ¶ 0226: the sensor 309B may sense the RFID tag of the coupled battery),
receive an input from the user interface (¶ 0219: user may reposition the fifth switch 428 to configure the third battery charger 400 for Dual Output operation), and
provide a first current to the first device and a second current to the second device based on the input (¶ 0202: While configured for “Dual Output Mode,” the third battery charger 400 may be operable to charge a battery using either of the low power or high power sections. In an embodiment, operation of the high power section of third battery charger 400 at a Charge Rate corresponding to High Power operation may be prevented. In such an embodiment, the high power section of third battery charger 400 may be operable at lower Charge Rates, such as the Charge Rates comprising the first set, described above. Further, while configured for “Dual Output Mode” operation, the third battery charger 400 may be operable to generate charging currents for simultaneous charging more than one battery. According to the embodiment shown, for example, the low power section and the high power section of the third battery charger 400 may separately and simultaneously operated, with the low power section generating a first charge current for charging a first battery and the high power section generating a second charge current for charging a second battery).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose the portable power supply includes a battery core including a plurality of battery cells.
MANOR discloses the portable power supply includes a battery core including a plurality of battery cells (16, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0029: wall charger 10 differs, however, from a conventional wall charger in that it also contains a battery cavity 15, inside of which can be installed one or more cells or batteries 16, which are preferably secondary. Alternatively and preferably, primary cells or batteries may be used, this being understood to include a fuel cell also. The wall charger can be used in the conventional manner, whereby the cable 13 is plugged into the charging socket 17 of the phone 14, and the phone operated or the internal battery of the phone charged from the fixed power supply. At the same time that the wall charger is operating the phone or charging the phone's internal battery, it can also charge the wall charger internal battery 16, if it is a secondary battery, so as to maintain it in a state of full charge. If it is desired to operate the phone or charge the phone battery in a situation where no fixed power source is available into which to plug the wall charger, then the wall charger is connected to the phone by means of its cable 13, or by means of mounting into the charging cradle, and the phone is supplied with current from the wall charger's internal battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery core in order to provide charging power in the absence of a fixed power source (MANOR, ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 18, KAWAMURA discloses the input is one of a low-power input configuration and a high-power input configuration (¶ 0204, 0219, 0226).
Regarding claim 19, KAWAMURA discloses when the input is the low-power input configuration, the first current is provided from the first modular charger block and the second current is provided from the second modular charger block (¶ 0202).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA in view of MANOR as applied to claims 17-19 above, and further in view of QUEK (US 2021/0083500; cited on IDS with date 8/28/2025; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 20, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR teaches the system as applied to claim 18, but KAWAMURA fails to disclose when the input is the high-power input configuration, the first current is a sum of currents provided from the first modular charger block and the second modular charger block.
QUEK discloses the first current is a sum of currents provided from the first modular charger block and the second modular charger block (¶ 0006, 0022, 0044). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the first current as the sum of currents of the charger blocks as disclosed in QUEK when the input is the high-power input configuration as disclosed in KAWAMURA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first current as the sum of currents of the charger blocks in order to decrease the size and cost of the portable power supply (QUEK, ¶ 0022) and/or to provide increased power to a single device (QUEK, ¶ 0006).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA in view of MANOR and FRIDMAN as applied to claims 1-3 and 10-16 above, and further in view of KUTKUT (US 2004/0189251).
Regarding claim 21, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and FRIDMAN teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, but KAWAMURA fails to disclose the first modular charger block and the second modular charger block are each a self-contained, individual charger block configured to be interchangeably used in place of one another.
KUTKUT discloses the first modular charger block and the second modular charger block are each a self-contained, individual charger block configured to be interchangeably used in place of one another (¶ 0013-0014, 0037, 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interchangeable, self-contained, individual charger blocks as recited in order to allow additional power modules to be added to the system to expand the power capacity of the system rather than requiring the installation of an entire new system (KUTKUT, ¶ 0013).
Conclusion
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 6/29/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859