DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-7, 15, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 4-7, perhaps the claims should recite --first power buck converter-- and --second power buck converter-- (see paragraph 0083 of the specification as originally filed).
Regarding claim 15, it is not clear how the “second current” is provided to the “second device”, since independent claim 11 recites the “second current” is provided to the “first device”.
Regarding claim 18, perhaps the claim should recite --low-power input configuration-- and --high-power input configuration-- (see paragraphs 0091-0096 & 0109 of the specification as originally filed).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (US 2016/0099581) in view of MANOR (US 2011/0148344).
Regarding claim 1, KAWAMURA discloses a portable power supply (400, Figs. 24-27; ¶ 0091: the first battery charger 100 may be implemented with a plug 126 for operably connecting the first battery charger 100 to an external power supply. In the embodiment shown, the plug 126 may comprise a standard A/C plug for insertion into a wall outlet; power supply 400 is implied as being portable for placement near a wall outlet; ¶ 0163: third battery charger 400 may be a multiple battery charger comprising a component configuration including at least two component groups for generating one or more configurable charge currents. Each component group may be operable to generate one or more configurable charge currents and may be implemented with one or more components for electrically coupling to a rechargeable battery. In an embodiment, each component group may be independently operable to charge one or more batteries. Additionally, or alternatively, two or more component groups may be operated in concert to charge one or more batteries; ¶ 0166: third battery charger 400 may be implemented with one or more features, and/or components allowing operation of the third battery charger 400 to perform one or more functions beyond those of the first battery charger 100. In an embodiment, the third battery charger 400 may be provided with one or more switches, indicators, and/or internal components in addition to, and different from, those of the first battery charger 100) comprising:
a first modular charger block (comprising at least 306, Fig. 27) received in a first charging slot (a “first charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the first modular charger block, which comprises at least element 306 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a first charging port (414A, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0167: the low power section may comprise a first switch 402A, a second switch 404A, a third switch 408A, a fourth switch 412A, a charge output port 414A, a balance port 416A, an indicator 418A, and a plurality of indicators 420A-D. As shown in FIG. 27, the low power section 304 may additionally comprise an RFID 308A, a sensor 309A, an interface I/O 310A, a LiPo balancing circuit 312A, a charging circuit 306);
a second modular charger block (comprising at least 307, Fig. 27) received in a second charging slot (a “second charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the second modular charger block, which comprises at least element 307 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a second charging port (414B, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0168: high power section may include a first switch 402B, a second switch 404B, a third switch 408B, a fourth switch 412B, a charger output port 414B, a balance port 416B, an indicator 418B, and a plurality of indicators 420E-H. As shown in FIG. 27, the high power section 305 may additionally comprise an RFID 308B, a sensor 309B, an interface I/O 310B, a LiPo balancing circuit 312B, a charging circuit 307); and
a controller including an electronic processor (the controller comprises processors 318A and 318B, Fig. 27; ¶ 0208), the controller configured to:
determine that a first battery pack (¶ 0220: first battery) is received by the first charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determine that a device (¶ 0220: second battery) is received by the second charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries; ¶ 0226: the sensor 309B may sense the RFID tag of the coupled battery),
determine a first characteristic of the first battery pack (¶ 0175: Information contained on the RFID tag 2206 may comprise a manufacturer assigned identifier number, or code, unique to the specific battery model, or unique to the battery, itself. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, further information such as chemistry type, cell count, recommended charge rates, number of charges on the battery, among other information, may be contained on the RFID tag 2206 and read by the respective RFID reader 308A, B and/or sensing device 309A, B. The third battery charger 400 may use the information received to configure the charge current and charge operation of the battery charger 400), and
provide a first current to the first battery pack based on the first characteristic and a second current to the device based on the device being received by the second charging port (¶ 0202: While configured for “Dual Output Mode,” the third battery charger 400 may be operable to charge a battery using either of the low power or high power sections. In an embodiment, operation of the high power section of third battery charger 400 at a Charge Rate corresponding to High Power operation may be prevented. In such an embodiment, the high power section of third battery charger 400 may be operable at lower Charge Rates, such as the Charge Rates comprising the first set, described above. Further, while configured for “Dual Output Mode” operation, the third battery charger 400 may be operable to generate charging currents for simultaneous charging more than one battery. According to the embodiment shown, for example, the low power section and the high power section of the third battery charger 400 may separately and simultaneously operated, with the low power section generating a first charge current for charging a first battery and the high power section generating a second charge current for charging a second battery).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose a battery core including a plurality of battery cells.
MANOR discloses a battery core including a plurality of battery cells (16, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0029: wall charger 10 differs, however, from a conventional wall charger in that it also contains a battery cavity 15, inside of which can be installed one or more cells or batteries 16, which are preferably secondary. Alternatively and preferably, primary cells or batteries may be used, this being understood to include a fuel cell also. The wall charger can be used in the conventional manner, whereby the cable 13 is plugged into the charging socket 17 of the phone 14, and the phone operated or the internal battery of the phone charged from the fixed power supply. At the same time that the wall charger is operating the phone or charging the phone's internal battery, it can also charge the wall charger internal battery 16, if it is a secondary battery, so as to maintain it in a state of full charge. If it is desired to operate the phone or charge the phone battery in a situation where no fixed power source is available into which to plug the wall charger, then the wall charger is connected to the phone by means of its cable 13, or by means of mounting into the charging cradle, and the phone is supplied with current from the wall charger's internal battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the battery core of MANOR into the portable power supply of KAWAMURA to produce an expected result of a portable power supply including a battery core. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide charging power in the absence of a fixed power source (MANOR, ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 2, KAWAMURA discloses the controller is further configured to: enable a fan (314, Fig. 27) configured to cool the first charging port, wherein the fan is integrated into the first modular charger block (¶ 0213).
Regarding claim 3, KAWAMURA discloses the controller is further configured to: determine that a second device is received by a third charging port (416B, Figs. 24 & 26); and provide, in response to determining that the second device is received by the third charging port, a third current to the second device (¶ 0060-0063, 0177).
Regarding claim 9, KAWAMURA discloses the first characteristic is a charge capacity of the first battery pack (¶ 0175, 0217, 0221, 0224).
Regarding claim 10, KAWAMURA discloses the device is one of a mobile phone, a tablet, a power tool, a battery pack, and a battery pack charger (¶ 0217-0224).
Regarding claim 11, KAWAMURA discloses a method for providing power from a portable power supply (400, Figs. 24-27; ¶ 0091: the first battery charger 100 may be implemented with a plug 126 for operably connecting the first battery charger 100 to an external power supply. In the embodiment shown, the plug 126 may comprise a standard A/C plug for insertion into a wall outlet; power supply 400 is implied as being portable for placement near a wall outlet; ¶ 0163: third battery charger 400 may be a multiple battery charger comprising a component configuration including at least two component groups for generating one or more configurable charge currents. Each component group may be operable to generate one or more configurable charge currents and may be implemented with one or more components for electrically coupling to a rechargeable battery. In an embodiment, each component group may be independently operable to charge one or more batteries. Additionally, or alternatively, two or more component groups may be operated in concert to charge one or more batteries; ¶ 0166: third battery charger 400 may be implemented with one or more features, and/or components allowing operation of the third battery charger 400 to perform one or more functions beyond those of the first battery charger 100. In an embodiment, the third battery charger 400 may be provided with one or more switches, indicators, and/or internal components in addition to, and different from, those of the first battery charger 100), the method comprising:
determining, with an electronic processor of the portable power supply (the electronic processor comprises processors 318A and 318B, Fig. 27; ¶ 0208), that a first battery pack (¶ 0220: first battery) is received by a first charging port (414A, Figs. 24 & 26) of a first modular charger included in the portable power supply (comprising at least 306, Fig. 27; ¶ 0167: the low power section may comprise a first switch 402A, a second switch 404A, a third switch 408A, a fourth switch 412A, a charge output port 414A, a balance port 416A, an indicator 418A, and a plurality of indicators 420A-D. As shown in FIG. 27, the low power section 304 may additionally comprise an RFID 308A, a sensor 309A, an interface I/O 310A, a LiPo balancing circuit 312A, a charging circuit 306; ¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that a first device (¶ 0220: second battery) is received by a second charging port (414B, Figs. 24 & 26) of a second modular charger included in the portable power supply (comprising at least 307, Fig. 27; ¶ 0168: high power section may include a first switch 402B, a second switch 404B, a third switch 408B, a fourth switch 412B, a charger output port 414B, a balance port 416B, an indicator 418B, and a plurality of indicators 420E-H. As shown in FIG. 27, the high power section 305 may additionally comprise an RFID 308B, a sensor 309B, an interface I/O 310B, a LiPo balancing circuit 312B, a charging circuit 307; ¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, a first characteristic of the first battery pack (¶ 0175: Information contained on the RFID tag 2206 may comprise a manufacturer assigned identifier number, or code, unique to the specific battery model, or unique to the battery, itself. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, further information such as chemistry type, cell count, recommended charge rates, number of charges on the battery, among other information, may be contained on the RFID tag 2206 and read by the respective RFID reader 308A, B and/or sensing device 309A, B. The third battery charger 400 may use the information received to configure the charge current and charge operation of the battery charger 400), and
providing, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, a first current to the first battery pack based on the first characteristic and a second current to the first device based on the first device being received by the second charging port (¶ 0202: While configured for “Dual Output Mode,” the third battery charger 400 may be operable to charge a battery using either of the low power or high power sections. In an embodiment, operation of the high power section of third battery charger 400 at a Charge Rate corresponding to High Power operation may be prevented. In such an embodiment, the high power section of third battery charger 400 may be operable at lower Charge Rates, such as the Charge Rates comprising the first set, described above. Further, while configured for “Dual Output Mode” operation, the third battery charger 400 may be operable to generate charging currents for simultaneous charging more than one battery. According to the embodiment shown, for example, the low power section and the high power section of the third battery charger 400 may separately and simultaneously operated, with the low power section generating a first charge current for charging a first battery and the high power section generating a second charge current for charging a second battery).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose providing power from a battery core.
MANOR discloses providing power from a battery core (16, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0029: wall charger 10 differs, however, from a conventional wall charger in that it also contains a battery cavity 15, inside of which can be installed one or more cells or batteries 16, which are preferably secondary. Alternatively and preferably, primary cells or batteries may be used, this being understood to include a fuel cell also. The wall charger can be used in the conventional manner, whereby the cable 13 is plugged into the charging socket 17 of the phone 14, and the phone operated or the internal battery of the phone charged from the fixed power supply. At the same time that the wall charger is operating the phone or charging the phone's internal battery, it can also charge the wall charger internal battery 16, if it is a secondary battery, so as to maintain it in a state of full charge. If it is desired to operate the phone or charge the phone battery in a situation where no fixed power source is available into which to plug the wall charger, then the wall charger is connected to the phone by means of its cable 13, or by means of mounting into the charging cradle, and the phone is supplied with current from the wall charger's internal battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the battery core of MANOR into the method for providing power from a portable power supply of KAWAMURA to produce an expected result of a method for providing power from battery core of a portable power supply. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide charging power in the absence of a fixed power source (MANOR, ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 12, KAWAMURA discloses determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that a second device is received by a third charging port of the second modular charger included in the portable power supply (416B, Figs. 24 & 26), and providing, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, a third current to the second device (¶ 0063, 0177).
Regarding claim 13, KAWAMURA discloses the second device is a second battery pack (¶ 0217-0224).
Regarding claim 14, KAWAMURA discloses the third current is less than the first current (¶ 0063, 0123, 0185).
Regarding claim 15, KAWAMURA discloses determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that a second device is received by a third charging port of the second modular charger included in the portable power supply (416A, Figs. 24 & 26), determining, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, that the first device is fully charged (¶ 0088, 0142, 0145, 0221-0222), and providing, with the electronic processor of the portable power supply, the second current to the second device (¶ 0063, 0177).
Regarding claim 16, KAWAMURA discloses the first device and the second device are battery packs (¶ 0217-0224).
Regarding claim 17, KAWAMURA discloses a system comprising:
a first device (¶ 0220: first battery);
a second device (¶ 0220: second battery); and
a portable power supply (400, Figs. 24-27; ¶ 0091: the first battery charger 100 may be implemented with a plug 126 for operably connecting the first battery charger 100 to an external power supply. In the embodiment shown, the plug 126 may comprise a standard A/C plug for insertion into a wall outlet; power supply 400 is implied as being portable for placement near a wall outlet; ¶ 0163: third battery charger 400 may be a multiple battery charger comprising a component configuration including at least two component groups for generating one or more configurable charge currents. Each component group may be operable to generate one or more configurable charge currents and may be implemented with one or more components for electrically coupling to a rechargeable battery. In an embodiment, each component group may be independently operable to charge one or more batteries. Additionally, or alternatively, two or more component groups may be operated in concert to charge one or more batteries; ¶ 0166: third battery charger 400 may be implemented with one or more features, and/or components allowing operation of the third battery charger 400 to perform one or more functions beyond those of the first battery charger 100. In an embodiment, the third battery charger 400 may be provided with one or more switches, indicators, and/or internal components in addition to, and different from, those of the first battery charger 100) including:
a user interface (the “user interface” comprises various elements including indicators 406, 410, 418, and 420, and switches 412, 408, 402, 404, and 428 as shown in Figs. 24 & 25 and described in ¶ 0167-0168, 0180, 0190, 0193, 0198);
a first modular charger block (comprising at least 306, Fig. 27) received in a first charging slot (a “first charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the first modular charger block, which comprises at least element 306 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a first charging port (414A, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0167: the low power section may comprise a first switch 402A, a second switch 404A, a third switch 408A, a fourth switch 412A, a charge output port 414A, a balance port 416A, an indicator 418A, and a plurality of indicators 420A-D. As shown in FIG. 27, the low power section 304 may additionally comprise an RFID 308A, a sensor 309A, an interface I/O 310A, a LiPo balancing circuit 312A, a charging circuit 306);
a second modular charger block (comprising at least 307, Fig. 27) received in a second charging slot (a “second charging slot” is required within the housing of portable power supply 400 depicted in Figures 24 & 26 in order to hold and/or place the elements of the second modular charger block, which comprises at least element 307 shown in Fig. 27) and connected to a second charging port (414B, Figs. 24 & 26; ¶ 0168: high power section may include a first switch 402B, a second switch 404B, a third switch 408B, a fourth switch 412B, a charger output port 414B, a balance port 416B, an indicator 418B, and a plurality of indicators 420E-H. As shown in FIG. 27, the high power section 305 may additionally comprise an RFID 308B, a sensor 309B, an interface I/O 310B, a LiPo balancing circuit 312B, a charging circuit 307); and
a controller including an electronic processor (the controller comprises processors 318A and 318B, Fig. 27; ¶ 0208) configured to:
determine that the first device is received by the first charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries),
determine that the second device is received by the second charging port (¶ 0173: charger output ports 414A, B may be implemented with the sensor devices 309A, B, respectively, for receiving and transmitting data to the one or more batteries coupled to the third battery charger 400; ¶ 0105: If the battery inserted is implemented with an RFID tag that is readable by the sensor device 309 of the first battery charger 100, the first battery charger 100 may indicate to the user that a “smart” battery has been detected; ¶ 0220: the respective sensors 309A, B may sense the RFID tag of the first and second batteries; ¶ 0226: the sensor 309B may sense the RFID tag of the coupled battery),
receive an input from the user interface (¶ 0219: user may reposition the fifth switch 428 to configure the third battery charger 400 for Dual Output operation), and
provide a first current to the first device and a second current to the second device based on the input (¶ 0202: While configured for “Dual Output Mode,” the third battery charger 400 may be operable to charge a battery using either of the low power or high power sections. In an embodiment, operation of the high power section of third battery charger 400 at a Charge Rate corresponding to High Power operation may be prevented. In such an embodiment, the high power section of third battery charger 400 may be operable at lower Charge Rates, such as the Charge Rates comprising the first set, described above. Further, while configured for “Dual Output Mode” operation, the third battery charger 400 may be operable to generate charging currents for simultaneous charging more than one battery. According to the embodiment shown, for example, the low power section and the high power section of the third battery charger 400 may separately and simultaneously operated, with the low power section generating a first charge current for charging a first battery and the high power section generating a second charge current for charging a second battery).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose the portable power supply includes a battery core including a plurality of battery cells.
MANOR discloses the portable power supply includes a battery core including a plurality of battery cells (16, Figs. 1 & 2; ¶ 0029: wall charger 10 differs, however, from a conventional wall charger in that it also contains a battery cavity 15, inside of which can be installed one or more cells or batteries 16, which are preferably secondary. Alternatively and preferably, primary cells or batteries may be used, this being understood to include a fuel cell also. The wall charger can be used in the conventional manner, whereby the cable 13 is plugged into the charging socket 17 of the phone 14, and the phone operated or the internal battery of the phone charged from the fixed power supply. At the same time that the wall charger is operating the phone or charging the phone's internal battery, it can also charge the wall charger internal battery 16, if it is a secondary battery, so as to maintain it in a state of full charge. If it is desired to operate the phone or charge the phone battery in a situation where no fixed power source is available into which to plug the wall charger, then the wall charger is connected to the phone by means of its cable 13, or by means of mounting into the charging cradle, and the phone is supplied with current from the wall charger's internal battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the battery core of MANOR into the system comprising a portable power supply of KAWAMURA to produce an expected result of a system comprising a portable power supply including a battery core. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide charging power in the absence of a fixed power source (MANOR, ¶ 0029).
Regarding claim 18, KAWAMURA discloses the input is one of a low-power input and a high-power input (¶ 0204, 0219, 0226).
Regarding claim 19, KAWAMURA discloses when the input is the low-power input, the first current is provided from the first modular charger block and the second current is provided from the second modular charger block (¶ 0202).
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA in view of MANOR as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-19 above, and further in view of PEARCE (US 2006/0119992).
Regarding claim 4, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, but KAWAMURA fails to disclose the first modular charger block includes a first power buck and a second power buck.
PEARCE discloses a modular charger block includes a first power buck and a second power buck (¶ 0017, 0024-0025). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second power buck of PEARCE for the first modular charger block of KAWAMURA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the modular charger block includes a first power buck and a second power buck as disclosed in PEARCE into the portable power supply of KAWAMURA to produce an expected result of a portable power supply including a first modular charger block including a first and a second power buck. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a programmable or user-configurable power supply (PEARCE, ¶ 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 5, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and PEARCE teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 4, but fails to disclose the first power buck is capable of providing 18 amps of current to the first charging port.
However, PEARCE discloses the first power buck output current as a result effective variable (see ¶ 0024-0025), and it would be obvious to provide a power buck capable of providing 18 amps of current, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first power buck is capable of providing 18 amps of current into the portable power supply of KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and PEARCE to produce an expected result of a portable power supply including a first modular charger block including a first power buck capable of providing 18 amps of current. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a desired power supply output based on application and as matter of obvious engineering choice.
Regarding claim 6, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the second modular charger block includes a first power buck and a second power buck.
PEARCE discloses a modular charger block includes a first power buck and a second power buck (¶ 0017, 0024-0025). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second power buck of PEARCE for the second modular charger block of KAWAMURA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the modular charger block includes a first power buck and a second power buck as disclosed in PEARCE into the portable power supply of KAWAMURA to produce an expected result of a portable power supply including a second modular charger block including a first and a second power buck. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a programmable or user-configurable power supply (PEARCE, ¶ 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 7, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and PEARCE teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 6, and PEARCE further discloses the first power buck provides [an first output voltage] to the second charging port and the second power buck provides [a second output voltage] to a third charging port (¶ 0017, 0020).
KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and PEARCE fails to teach the first power buck provides between 3.3 volts (V) and 21 V to the second charging port and the second power buck provides 5 V to the third charging port.
However, PEARCE discloses the first and second power buck output voltages as result effective variables (see ¶ 0024), and it would be obvious to provide the power buck output voltages as recited, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first power buck provides between 3.3 volts (V) and 21 V and the second power buck provides 5 V into the portable power supply of KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR and PEARCE to produce an expected result of a portable power supply including a second modular charger block including the first power buck providing between 3.3 volts (V) and 21 V and the second power buck providing 5 V. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a desired power supply output based on application and as matter of obvious engineering choice.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-19 above, and further in view of BHASIN (US 2021/0013725).
Regarding claim 8, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR teaches the portable power supply as applied to claim 1, and KAWAMURA further discloses a third charging port (416A, Fig. 26; ¶ 0063, 0177).
KAWAMURA fails to disclose the second charging port is USB-C charging port and the third charging port is a USB-A charging port.
BHASIN discloses a USB-C charging port and a USB-A charging port (133, 134, Figs. 1 & 12; ¶ 0048-0049). It would be obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art to provide the second charging port as a USB-C charging port and the third charging port as a USB-A charging port.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the USB-C and USB-A charging ports of BHASIN into the portable power supply of KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR to produce an expected result of a portable power supply including USB-C and USB-A charging ports. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a desired device compatibility.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA in view of MANOR as applied to claims 1-3 and 9-19 above, and further in view of QUEK (US 2021/0083500; cited on IDS with date 8/28/2025).
Regarding claim 20, KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR teaches the system as applied to claim 18, but KAWAMURA fails to disclose when the input is the high-power input, the first current is a sum of currents provided from the first modular charger block and the second modular charger block.
QUEK discloses the first current is a sum of currents provided from the first modular charger block and the second modular charger block (¶ 0006, 0022, 0044). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the first current as the sum of currents of the charger blocks as disclosed in QUEK when the input is the high-power input as disclosed in KAWAMURA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first current as the sum of currents of the charger blocks of QUEK into the system including the portable power supply of KAWAMURA as modified by MANOR to produce an expected result of a system including a portable power supply with the first current as the sum of currents of the charger blocks. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to decrease the size and cost of the portable power supply (QUEK, ¶ 0022) and/or to provide increased power to a single device (QUEK, ¶ 0006).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 1/19/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859