DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “N1 charging phases in sequence” , “N2 charging phases in sequence”, “wherein a charge current of an (i+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the i-th charging phase” and “wherein a charge current of a (j+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the j-th charging phase” of claims 7-10 and 17-20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XIE (CN111384757, hereinafter XIE).
Regarding claims 1 and 11 (claim 11 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), an electronic apparatus (See Fig.1 and Par.20, disclose an electronic device), comprising:
a battery (See Par.10, discloses the electronic device comprising a battery); and
a processor (See Par.15, discloses a processor and memory for executing charging instructions) configured to execute the steps of:
in an n-th charging process, charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner, wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0 (See Fig.3, Step#301 and Pars.51-52, disclose charging the battery when the battery ageing is less than a certain threshold, using a preset cut-off voltage in the constant current phase);
after the n-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing, and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti (See Pars.56 and 59, disclose comprsing the resting duration to a threshold to determine when the resting duration exceeds the threhsold);
in an m-th charging process, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner, wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n (See Pars.62 and 64-66, disclose charging the battery a second time and obtaining a second OCV);
after the m-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing, and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti (See Pars.56 and 64-66, disclose measuring the second OCV after the resting duration exceeds a threshold); and
under a condition of OCVn>OCVm, in an (m+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner (See Par.65, discloses using the difference between the first open circuit voltage and the second open circuit voltage to determine battery ageing and that the battery cut-off voltage is compensated when ageing exceeds a threshold) and then continuing to charge the first battery to a first voltage Um+1 in a second charging manner (See Par.68, discloses charging the battery in a second manner i.e. a second constant-current charging phase using the updated cut-off voltage), where Um+1=Un+k×OCVn-OCVm, and 0 < k ≤ 1 (See Par.69, discloses the adjusted cut-off voltage is obtained by adding battery ageing parameter [identified in Par.64 as the difference between OCV1 and OCV2] to the previous cut-off voltage, cut-off voltage 2= cut-off voltage 1 +(OCV2-OCV1)).
Regarding claims 2 and 12 (claim 12 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), TXIE discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage (See Par.84, discloses the updated ageing parameter replaces the old one stored locally in the electronic device), wherein the open-circuit voltage is an open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process, wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system (This is interpreted to mean that the stored value of the cut-off voltage is from testing a different battery than the battery in the electronic device. The examiner explains that this is inherent as the manufacturer develops a threshold value from testing the type of battery and not by testing every single battery that is shipped and finding its cut-off voltage threshold in order to reduce costs because otherwise every single battery has to be tested to establish the cut-off voltage, and every single processor will have to be programmed with that cut-off voltage. Instead, an average cut-off voltage is established based on the testing of the type of battery and programmed to the plurality of electronic devices).
Regarding claims 3 and 13 (claim 13 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), XIE discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the steps of:
under a condition of OCVn ≤ OCVm, in the (m+1)-th charging process and the subsequent charging processes, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner (See Fig.3, Item#301 and Par.51, discloses charging using the first cut-off voltage when the battery ageing is less than a threshold).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 14-15 (claim 14 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), XIE discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 11 as discussed above, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the steps of:
in an (m+b)-th charging process, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to the first voltage Um+1 in the second charging manner, where b is a positive integer greater than 1 (See Fig.3 and Pars.51 and 64-66, disclose charging the battery to a stored cut-off voltage when the ageing is less than a threshold and charging the battery to a new updated threshold [calculated as disclose din Par.69] when the ageing exceeds a threshold);
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing (See Par.59), and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti (See Pars.64-66, disclose obtaining a second OCV and calculating a difference between OCV2 and OCV1 to obtain the new ageing parameter to replace the original[previous] ageing parameter); and
under a condition of OCVn>OCVm+b, in an (m+b+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes, charging the first battery to the first voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to a second voltage Um+b+1 in the second charging manner, where Um+b+1=Um+1+k×OCVn-OCVm+b, and 0 < k ≤ (See Par.69, discloses the adjusted cut-off voltage is obtained by adding battery ageing parameter [identified in Par.64 as the difference between OCV1 and OCV2] to the previous cut-off voltage, cut-off voltage 2= cut-off voltage 1 + (OCV2-OCV1)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE.
Regarding claims 6 and 16 (claim 16 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), XIE discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 11 as discussed above, However, XIE does not explicitly disclose wherein Ucl≤Un≤Ucl+500 mV, wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
However, the examiner interprets the limitation to mean that voltage includes a tolerance value, the examiner explains that a cut-off voltage is normally established by testing a battery to determine the constant current cut-off voltage for the battery and that adding a tolerance value is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XIE by adding a tolerance value to the determined cut-off voltage (Par.66 disclose a stored ageing parameter) for the benefit of accounting for differences between the batteries (batteries have manufacturing differences which causes them to have different cut-off voltages).
Claim(s) 7-10 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE in view of CHEN (US 2022/0271353 A1, hereinafter CHEN).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 17-18 (Claim 17-18 are considered representative for limitation matching purposes), XIE discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 11 as discussed above wherein the device is charged in a constant-current/constant-voltage scheme wherein the battery is charged with a constant current until a preset cut-off voltage is reached, after which the battery is constantly charged at constant voltage using the cut-off voltage (See Par.66).
However, XIE does not disclose wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging phases in sequence, wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging phase, the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
CHEN discloses a battery charging system and method comprising a first charging manner, the first charging manner comprises N1 charging phases in sequence, wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging phase, the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un (See Fig.1 and Par.35, discloses a plurality of constant current charging phases [T1-Tn-1] followed by constant voltage phase Tn, the value charging duration is measured to determine when it is shorter than a threshold i.e. battery deterioration is present and adjusting the cut-off voltage when the duration is less than a threshold i.e. the battery is deteriorated/aged).
XIE and CHEN are analogous art since they both deal with battery charging that considers battery ageing conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XIE with the teachings of CHEN by adopting the multi stage constant-current charging scheme in the constant current/constant voltage scheme for the benefit of extending the charging time of a stage of the multi-stage constant-current charging for the benefit of reducing the overall the charging time by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (regarding claims 8 and 18, the examiner explains that the claim is interpreted to mean that charging is performed using a multi stage constant current as disclosed by CHEN at the updated cut-off voltage, XIE as modified by CHEN discloses updating the cut-off voltage and charging using a plurality of constant-current stages).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 19-20 (claim 19 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), XIE discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 11 as discussed above, However, XIE does not disclose wherein the first charging manner comprises M1 constant-current charging phases in sequence, wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1, after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging phases is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un, and the M1 constant-current charging phases are each defined as an i-th charging phase, with i = 1, 2, ..., M1, wherein a charge current of an (i+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the i-th charging phase.
CHEN discloses a battery charging system and method comprising a first charging manner, the first charging manner comprising M1 constant-current charging phases in sequence, wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1, after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging phases is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un, and the M1 constant-current charging phases are each defined as an i-th charging phase, with i = 1, 2, ..., M1, wherein a charge current of an (i+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the i-th charging phase (See Fig.1 and Par.35, discloses a plurality of constant current charging phases [T1-Tn-1] followed by constant voltage phase Tn, the value charging duration is measured to determine when it is shorter than a threshold i.e. battery deterioration is present and adjusting the cut-off voltage when the duration is less than a threshold i.e. the battery is deteriorated/aged. The value of the current in T2 is less than that in T1 and the current in Tn-1 is less than T2).
XIE and CHEN are analogous art since they both deal with battery charging that considers battery ageing conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XIE with the teachings of CHEN by adopting the multi stage constant-current charging scheme in the constant current/constant voltage scheme for the benefit of extending the charging time of a stage of the multi-stage constant-current charging for the benefit of reducing the overall the charging time by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (regarding claims 10 and 20, the examiner explains that the claim is interpreted to mean that charging is performed using a multi stage constant current as disclosed by CHEN at the updated cut-off voltage, XIE as modified by CHEN discloses updating the cut-off voltage and charging using a plurality of constant-current stages wherein the charging current in each stage is less than the constant current in the stage that precedes it).
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859