Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are currently pending;
Claim 13 is canceled;
Claims 1 and 19-20 are currently amended.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action of 11/03/2025
The 103 art rejections of claims 1-12 and 14-20 have been withdrawn and replaced with new art rejections in view of Applicant’s amendment and argument.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 1-12 and 14-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive with regards to the new amendment. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Izumitani in view of Zhang, Aamodt, and Guo.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regards to the traversal of incorporating Zhang with Izumitani. In response to applicant's argument that Zhang teaches a different goal than that of the instant application, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumitani et al. (JP 2008218202 A), hereinafter Izumitani, as cited in the IDS, in view of Zhang et al. (US-20210351392-A1), hereinafter Zhang, Aamodt et al. (US-20030194604-A1), hereinafter Aamodt, and Guo et al. (US-20190089005-A1), hereinafter Guo.
Regarding claim 1, Izumitani teaches an electrochemical device ([0001] battery), comprising an electrode assembly ([0001] electrode; [0011]), the electrode assembly being configured to be a wound structure (figs. 9-11 wound structure), and the electrode assembly includes a first bending section (figs. 9-11 bending section), a first section, a second bending section and a second section, and along the winding direction, the first bending section, the first section, the second bending section and the second section are connected in sequence (figs. 7-11, a structure including a first section, a first bending section, a second bending section, and a second section are inherent to a wound electrode assembly), wherein the electrode assembly comprises: a first electrode plate (figs. 9-11 negative electrode 22 [0058]) including a first current collector ([0058] negative electrode current collector 221) and a first active material layer arranged on the first current collector (negative electrode active material layer 222); wherein along a winding direction, the first current collector includes a first part (fig. 9 [0058] coated portion 221A) and a second part connected in sequence (fig. 9 [0058] uncoated portion 221B), both surfaces of the first part are arranged with the first active material layer ([0104] both sides are coated with active material), and the second part includes a bending part located at an outermost layer of the first bending section; and a conductive member ([0058]; figs. 9-11 conductor 27) connecting an outer surface of the second part and the first active material layer arranged on an outer surface of the first part (figs. 9-11), and/or being arranged on an outer surface of the bending part (figs. 9-11).
Izumitani fails to teach that an inner surface of the second part is provided with the first active material layer. However, coating one side of a current collector with active material is known in the art.
Zhang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrodes for winding batteries ([0004]). Zhang teaches that an inner surface of the second part is provided with the first active material layer (figs. 1-2 wherein the current collector has a first part coated on both sides with active material and a second part coated on just one side with active material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumitani such that an inner surface of the second part is provided with the first active material layer such as in Zhang. Doing so improves the problem of the lithium deposition of the single-sided coating area without reducing the battery energy density, increases the circulation lifetime of the battery, and improve the battery performance (Zhang [0005]).
Izumitani also fails to teach a third conductive member being arranged on an outer surface of the second bending section and connecting the outer surface of the second bending section and the second section.
Aamodt is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound batteries ([0028]). Aamodt teaches a third conductive member being arranged on an outer surface of the second bending section and connecting the outer surface of the second bending section and the second section ([0013]; [0025]; fig. 3; thin piece of alkali metal 15 forming the outermost winding of a wound electrode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Izumitani such that a third conductive member being arranged on an outer surface of the second bending section and connecting the outer surface of the second bending section and the second section. Doing so allows for increased charge capacity of the cell (Aamodt [0014]).
Izumitani does not explicitly teach that the conductive member is located in the first section. However, this location of the connecting part is common in the art. For example, Guo is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound electrodes. Guo shows that the connecting section where a first part coated with active material becomes a second part not coated with active material in fig. 3, as annotated below. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the connecting part of Izumitani could be located in a first section such as in Gao to obtain the predictable result of a wound electrode.
Regarding claim 2, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches the electrode assembly further comprises a first adhesive member, and the first adhesive member adheres the conductive member and the first electrode plate ([0034] an adhesive member is inserted between uncovered portion and the active material layer and conductor).
Regarding claim 2, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches the electrode assembly further comprises a first adhesive member, and the first adhesive member adheres the conductive member and the first electrode plate ([0034] an adhesive member is inserted between uncovered portion and the active material layer and conductor).
Regarding claim 3, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the conductive member comprises a metal sheet or a conductive tape ([0034] tape; alternatively, [0029] thin sheet).
Regarding claim 7, Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the second part comprises a connecting part connected with the first part, and the conductive member is connected with an outer surface of the connecting part (figs. 9-11 the split between first part 222/221A and second part 221/221B is interpreted as the connecting part, and the conductive member 27 spans an outer surface of that connecting part).
Regarding claim 8, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the outer surface of the second part exposes the first current collector (fig. 10 the outer surface of second part 221B is exposed without active material layer).
Regarding claim 9, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the first electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, and the outer surface of the bending part is provided with the first active material layer (figs. 9-11 electrode plate 22 is a negative electrode [0053] and is being wound, and therefore is bending, with the outer surface of 221A with the first active material layer bending).
Regarding claim 10, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the second part is a tail part of the electrode assembly along the winding direction (fig 10 the second part is shown as a tail part).
Regarding claim 11, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the conductive member comprises a first conductive member ([0058]; figs. 9-11 first conductive member 27) and a second conductive member (figs. 9-10; [0055]; negative electrode lead 26 made of nickel), the first conductive member connects the outer surface of the second part and the first active material layer arranged on the outer surface of the first part, and the second conductive member is arranged on the outer surface of the bending part (figs. 9-10 negative electrode lead 26; [0055])
Regarding claim 12, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Izumitani also teaches that the first conductive member is connected with the second conductive member ([0055]-[0058]; fig. 9; first conductive member 27 and second conductive member 26 are connected via the uncoated part 221B).
Regarding claim 14, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the electrode assembly further comprises a metal part ([0055] figs. 9-10 negative electrode lead 26 made of nickel), and along the winding direction, the second part further includes a tail part (figs. 9-10 the second part uncoated portion 221B has a tail part), and the metal part is connected with the tail part (metal part 26 is a negative electrode lead made of a material such as metal [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Izumitani also teaches that both surfaces of the tail part expose the first current collector (figs. 9-10 uncoated part 221B).
Regarding claim 16, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Izumitani also teaches that the electrode assembly further comprises a second electrode plate and a separator arranged between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; and the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate and the separator are laminated in sequence and wound (figs. 9-11; positive electrode 22, negative electrode 23, and separator 24 in between the two electrodes [0124]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Modified Izumitani also teaches that the first section and the second section are flat sections (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 20, Izumitani teaches an electronic device ([0002] batteries are used in electronic devices), comprising an electrochemical device ([0001] battery); wherein the electrochemical device comprises an electrode assembly ([0001] electrode; [0011]), the electrode assembly is configured to be a wound structure (figs. 9-11 wound structure), and the electrode assembly includes a first bending section (figs. 9-11 bending section), a first section, a second bending section and a second section, and along the winding direction, the first bending section, the first section, the second bending section and the second section are connected in sequence (figs. 7-11, a structure including a first section, a first bending section, a second bending section, and a second section are inherent to a wound electrode assembly); wherein the electrode assembly comprises: a first electrode plate (figs. 9-11 negative electrode 22 [0058]) including a first current collector ([0058] negative electrode current collector 221) and a first active material layer arranged on the first current collector (negative electrode active material layer 222); wherein along a winding direction, the first current collector includes a first part (figs. 9-11 [0058] coated portion 221A) and a second part connected in sequence (figs. 9-11 [0058] uncoated portion 221B), both surfaces of the first part are arranged with the first active material layer ([0104] both sides are coated with active material), and the second part includes a bending part located at an outermost layer of the first bending section (figs. 9-11); and a conductive member ([0058]; figs. 9-11 conductor 27) connecting an outer surface of the second part and the first active material layer arranged on an outer surface of the first part (figs. 9-11), and/or being arranged on an outer surface of the bending part (figs. 9-11).
Izumitani fails to teach that an inner surface of the second part is provided with the first active material layer. However, coating one side of a current collector with active material is known in the art.
Zhang is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrodes for winding batteries ([0004]). Zhang teaches that an inner surface of the second part is provided with the first active material layer (figs. 1-2 wherein the current collector has a first part coated on both sides with active material and a second part coated on just one side with active material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Izumitani such that an inner surface of the second part is provided with the first active material layer such as in Zhang. Doing so improves the problem of the lithium deposition of the single-sided coating area without reducing the battery energy density, increases the circulation lifetime of the battery, and improve the battery performance (Zhang [0005]).
Izumitani also fails to teach a third conductive member being arranged on an outer surface of the second bending section and connecting the outer surface of the second bending section and the second section.
Aamodt is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound batteries ([0028]). Aamodt teaches a third conductive member being arranged on an outer surface of the second bending section and connecting the outer surface of the second bending section and the second section ([0013]; [0025]; fig. 3; thin piece of alkali metal 15 forming the outermost winding of a wound electrode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Izumitani such that a third conductive member being arranged on an outer surface of the second bending section and connecting the outer surface of the second bending section and the second section. Doing so allows for increased charge capacity of the cell (Aamodt [0014]).
Izumitani does not explicitly teach that the connecting part is located in the first section. However, this location of the connecting part is common in the art. For example, Guo is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound electrodes. Guo shows that the connecting section where a first part coated with active material becomes a second part not coated with active material in fig. 3, as annotated below. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the connecting part of Izumitani could be located in a first section such as in Gao to obtain the predictable result of a wound electrode.
Claims 4-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumitani in view of Zhang, Aamodt, and Guo as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Song (WO-2009025518-A2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Izumitani does not explicitly teach that the conductive tape comprises a substrate layer and a conductive layer; the substrate layer and the conductive layer are laminated. However, this structure of a conductive tape is known in the art.
Song is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of conductive tapes (Abstract). Song teaches that the conductive tape comprises a substrate layer and a conductive layer; the substrate layer and the conductive layer are laminated (figs. 1 and 3 substrate layer 1 and conductive layer 3; pg. 4, paragraph starting with “FIG. 1…” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that the conductive tape of Izumitani could have the known art structure of a substrate layer and a conductive layer; the substrate layer and the conductive layer are laminated such as in Song while maintaining the same functionality.
Regarding claim 5, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Song also teaches that the conductive layer comprises conductive particles and an adhesive material (pg. 5, paragraph 7 beginning with “The conductive adhesive…” – pg. 6 paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Song also teaches that the conductive tape further comprises an adhesive layer, the adhesive layer is arranged between the substrate layer and the conductive layer; or the adhesive layer is arranged on a surface of the substrate layer, and the conductive layer is arranged on the surface of the substrate layer on a same side as the adhesive layer (the conductive adhesive functions as both an adhesive layer and a conductive layer and as such are located on the same side of the surface of the substrate layer 1; figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Song also teaches that the substrate layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of cellulose derivative, polyvinyl chloride, polyolefin, polystyrene, polyester, polyimide, polyamide, polycarbonate and polyphenylene sulfide (pg. 4 paragraph beginning with “The electrically conductive adhesive tape….includes a mesh type elastic support layer…” wherein the support layer, interpreted as the substrate, can include polyester).
Regarding claim 18, modified Izumitani teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Song also teaches that the adhesive material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of rubber resin, acrylic resin and silicone resin (pg. 5, paragraph 7 beginning with “The conductive adhesive…” -paragraph 8; adhesive polymer resin such as an acrylic resin);
the conductive particles comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of metal particles, conductive polymers and carbon materials (pg. 6, paragraph 1 conductive filler such as metal particles, conductive polymers like polyaniline, carbon materials like carbon black),
the conductive polymer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of polythiophene, polyaniline, polypyrrole and polyacetylene (pg. 6 paragraph 1 polyacetylene, polyaniline, polypyrrole, polythiophene),
the carbon material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon black, acetylene black, Ketjen black, graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes and carbon nanorods (pg. 6 paragraph 1 carbon black).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722 /NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722