DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In a requirement for restriction dated 05/15/2026, Applicant was required to choose from
Group I, claims 1-13 and 15-20, drawn to a compound of Formula I, classified in H10K 85/6572
Group II, claim 14, drawn to a compound of Formula VI, classified in C07F 7/0814.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
In a requirement for election of species dated 05/15/2026, Applicant was required to choose from
Species I: X1 and X2 are each a carbon atom,
Species II: at least one of X1 and X2 is a nitrogen atom
Wherein an additional election must be made between the following subspecies:
Subspecies a: RD and RE are each a carbocyclic ring
Subspecies b: At least one of RD and RE is a heterocyclic ring
Subspecies c: At least one of RD and RE is something other than a carbocyclic or heterocyclic ring.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I, and Subspecies a, in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are examined herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/29/2023, 03/29/2023, and 06/30/2023 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 03/29/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The bonds in the following chemical structure, as given in paragraph [0172] of the instant specification, are illegible due to poor resolution. Please correct these structures so all bonds are clearly visible. See the excerpt below which was taken from the PG Pub of the instant application.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are clear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing the size of the structure and/or font, or by making the bond lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation RD’ in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In continuing examination, this is being interpreted as referring to RD.
With respect to claim 15, the claim contains the limitation that the emissive layer further comprises a second host and/or the second host comprises a triazine or a boryl moiety. This limitation is unclear because it allows for a situation wherein the second host is not present, but a second host comprising a triazine or a boryl moiety is required. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
In continuing examination, the claim is being interpreted as requiring a second host material which comprises a triazine or a boryl moiety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Um et al. (US 2022/0112163 A1).
With respect to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10, Um discloses a compound of Formula I (paragraph 0007), such as compound 79 (page 23), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Formula I when moieties A and B are both a 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), X1 and X2 are both carbon atoms, RA and RB represent no substitution, RC represents monosubstitution of an aryl (phenyl) group, m is 1 and RD and RE are both aryl (phenyl) groups of which RD comprises a silyl (Si(Ph)3) group, RD and RE are fused to form a 9-carbazolyl moiety, n is 0 and RF is not present, and RX is an aryl (phenyl) group.
With respect to claim 3, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the structure of instant Formula II, for the reasons discussed above.
With respect to claim 7, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Um also discloses compound 56 (page 19), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements the instant claim and of parent Formula I when moieties A and B are both a 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), X1 and X2 are both carbon atoms, RA and RB represent no substitution, RC represents monosubstitution of an aryl (phenyl) group, m is 1 and RD and RE are both aryl (phenyl) groups, RD and RE are fused to form a 9-carbazolyl moiety, n is 0 and RF is not present, and RX is an arylene (phenylene) group which comprises a silyl (Si(Ph)3) group.
With respect to claim 11, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the structure of the first formula on the third row of page 129 of the instant claims.
With respect to claim 13, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound is identical to the second compound on the second row of page 155 of the instant claims.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, and Um also teaches an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode (ITO/Ag/ITO), a cathode (LiF/Al) and an organic layer between the anode and cathode including an emission layer wherein Compound 80, which is pictured below, is used as a host for a phosphorescent dopant (Ir(pmp)3) (paragraphs 0413 and 0410-0412, see also Example 7 in Table 2 on page 95).
Examiner notes that this compound meets the requirements of parent Formula I for the same reasons discussed above regarding compound 79.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Um et al. (US 2022/0112163 A1) as applied above.
With respect to claim 6, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound 79, pictured and discussed above, is derived from Um Formula I (paragraphs 0042 and 0102), when Ar3 is represented by Formula 3B-1 (paragraph 0049, see also Condition 4 in paragraph 0068).
In Formula 3B-1, Um also teaches that A1 is a carbazolyl group (paragraph 0084, lines 6-7, see also compounds 69-73 on page 22 to further obviousness support).
Um includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Um being a lack of the aforementioned carbazole substituent being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent the finite list of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound wherein the d-orbital and pi-conjugation system of the compound interact with each other to stabilize the energy level of the compound, preventing or reducing T1 quenching, resulting in a light emitting device with low driving voltage, excellent light efficient, and long lifespan (paragraph 0104), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 12, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Compound 79, pictured and discussed above, is derived from Um Formula I (paragraphs 0042 and 0102), when Ar3 is represented by Formula 3B-1 (paragraph 0049, see also Condition 4 in paragraph 0068).
Um also teaches that Ar3 may be represented by Formula 3A-1 (paragraph 0049), which is pictured below.
In this formula, CY1 is a C6 carbocyclic (benzene) group, which is substituted with -Si(Q51)(Q52)(Q53), wherein each Q is a C6 carbocyclic (phenyl) group (paragraph 0014).
Such a modification produces instant Compound 1-(R9)(R1)(R1)(R1).
Um includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Um being a lack of the aforementioned silicon atom being explicitly stated (see compound 60 on page 20). Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent the finite list of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a compound wherein the d-orbital and pi-conjugation system of the compound interact with each other to stabilize the energy level of the compound, preventing or reducing T1 quenching, resulting in a light emitting device with low driving voltage, excellent light efficient, and long lifespan (paragraph 0104), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 17, Um teaches the OLED of claim 15, as discussed above.
Um also teaches that the emission layer may further comprise a second host, which may be a thermally activated delayed fluorescent (TADF) compound (paragraph 0243), such as DF5 (PIC-TRZ) (page 71), which comprises a triazine moiety. Um teaches that including a TADF compound improves the efficiency of the light emitting device comprising the compound (paragraph 0244)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a TADF compound as a second host material in the emission layer in order to further improve the efficiency of the light emitting device comprising the compound, as taught by Um.
With respect to claim 19, Um teaches the OLED of claim 15, as discussed above.
Um also teaches compound 57 (page 20), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of parent Formula I when moieties A and B are both a 6-membered carbocyclic ring (benzene), X1 and X2 are both carbon atoms, RA and RB represent no substitution, RC represents monosubstitution of an aryl (d6-phenyl) group, m is 1 and RD and RE are both aryl (phenyl) groups, RD and RE are fused to form a 9-carbazolyl moiety, n is 0 and RF is not present, and RX is an arylene (phenylene) group which comprises a silyl (Si(Ph)3) group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a partially deuterated derivative compound, such as compound 57, as the host material of an OLED in order to obtain a light emitting device with low driving voltage, excellent light efficient, and long lifespan (paragraph 0104), as taught by Um.
With respect to claim 20, Um teaches the compound of claim 1, and Um also teaches that the compound may be applied to various electronic apparatuses including consumer products such as a personal computer (paragraph 0330, line 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in a consumer product such as a personal computer, as taught by Um.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Um et al. (US 2022/0112163 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0006676 A1).
With respect to claim 18, Um teaches the OLED of claim 15, as discussed above.
However, Um does not teach nor fairly suggest that the emitting layer further comprises a sensitizer.
With respect to the difference, Kwak discloses an organic light-emitting device comprising an emission layer which has a host, dopant, and sensitizer (abstract).
Kwak teaches that when a sensitizer is used in combination with a host and dopant, the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light-emitting device may be improved because it has excellent characteristics in terms of exciton transfer to the dopant (paragraph 0339).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the sensitizer of Kwak in the emission layer of Um in order to facilitate transfer of excitons to the dopant and obtain an organic light-emitting device with improved lifespan and efficiency, as taught by Kwak.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2020/0044168 A1) – teaches relevant silyl-substituted carbazole derivatives.
Jung et al. (US 2015/0171342 A1) – teaches relevant bicarbazole compounds.
Lv et al. (CN 108727424 A) – teaches relevant silyl-substituted indolocarbazoles.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786