DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control unit configured to control pressing in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. Claim 1 limitation “control unit configured to control pressing of the pressing member on the terminal” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In [0015], the specification discloses “[t]he control unit 4 is connected to the drive source 5 to control up-down movement of the punch 3. By equipping the control unit 4 with an Al function, the control unit 4 can automatically control the pressing of the punch 3 on the terminal 11 according to a measured amount of bending of the terminal 11.” The specification does not describe the algorithm by which the control unit 4 controls pressing of the pressing member. See MPEP 2181(II)(B). Moreover, in the specification the use of an “AI function” is mentioned, without elaborating on details of how such a function operates to control the pressing member. Claim 4 further adds “the control unit controls the pressing of the pressing member on the terminal according to a measured amount of warp.” As discussed above, the specification fails to disclose the algorithm performed by the control unit.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As discussed above, in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the application as originally filed fails to disclose the algorithm performed by the control unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonigal (US4638559A) in view of Wei (CN110676665A).
The claims are directed to an apparatus. Although the apparatus of McGonigal is not used for the same purpose as disclosed in the present application, the apparatus of McGonigal is capable of performing the claimed functions. The apparatus of McGonigal uses a punch 150 (Fig. 11) to press a terminal at a side thereof, to impart a plastic deformation which causes furcations of the terminal to be set in a particular position. See initially Fig. 3 and col. 4, lns. 33-55.
McGonigal discloses the claimed invention as follows (limitations not disclosed are crossed out, below):
Claim 1. A warp correction device (50, Fig. 7) that corrects warp of an elongated plate-shaped terminal in a width direction1, the warp correction device comprising:
a mounting table (all structure in Fig. 9A below 60) on which the terminal is mounted;
a pressing member (150, Figs. 10 and 11; see col. 7, ln. 40 to col. 8, ln. 68; see especially preferred embodiment discussed at col. 8, lns. 25-68) configured to press the terminal mounted on the mounting table; and
the pressing member includes a protrusion (see tip of 150, Fig. 11) that presses a portion of a surface of the terminal on a warping side of the terminal in the width direction.
Claim 2. The warp correction device according to claim 1, wherein the terminal is formed by punching a metal plate. This limitation does not further limit the structure of the apparatus.
Claim 3. The warp correction device according to claim 1, wherein the protrusion has a wedge shape (see lower end of punch 150 in Fig. 11).
Claim 4. The warp correction device according to claim 1,
McGonigal does not explicitly mention a controller. However, it is known in the art to provide a pressing apparatus with a controller for controlling position of pressing and adjusting pressure, to ensure product quality. See abstract.
In view of the teachings of Wei, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide the apparatus of McGonigal with a control system configured to control position and pressing of punch 150, in order to ensure the pressure applied by the punch 150 suitably deforms the workpiece.
Regarding claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to implement the control system such that the amount (i.e. measurement) of deviation desired for a particular terminal type is input to the apparatus, and the controller controls the pressing force to sufficiently deform the workpiece, with predictable results.
Conclusion
/LIVIUS R. CAZAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729
1 The language in italics is a functional limitation indicating the intended use of the apparatus. The apparatus of McGonigal is used to