DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to communications on 2025/12/19. Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 7, 9 – 11, and 14 – 15 are amended. Claims 8 and 16 have been cancelled. Claims 1 - 15 are pending and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s cancellation of claims 8 and 16 have obviated the 112a and 112b rejections in light of the 112f interpretation of the claims. Applicant has changed the scope of the claim language, however claims 1 and 9 remain anticipated by Yang (US 20180171960). The amendments are further addressed in the body of the Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 9 – 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Yang, Sung Ho, et. al. (US 20180171960 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
Regarding Claim 1:
A control system for a fuel cell electrified vehicle (FCEV), the control system comprising:
an electrified vehicle control unit (EVCU) configured to control a set of primary operations of the FCEV;
Yang discloses “An apparatus 100 for controlling vehicle start-up (hereinafter, referred to as ‘a startup control apparatus’) according to the present disclosure may be provided in a vehicle.” (Yang, [0028]).
a fuel cell propulsion system (FCPS) configured to control a set of secondary operations of the FCEV including communication with a battery pack control module (BPCM);
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may include a controller 110, an interface 120 (e.g., an input/output I/O interface), a vehicle communication module 130 (e.g., a communication interface), a storage 140 (e.g., a memory), and a processor 200 including a voltage state determination module 150, a driving time point determination module 160, a startup controller 170” (Yang, [0029]). The “start-up” controller is the FCPS and the “voltage state determination module” is the BPCM.
a controller area network (CAN) connecting the EVCU to the FCPS; and
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]) and “The vehicle communication module 130 may include a network interface, network transceiver, or other module that supports communications across a vehicle network such as controller area network (CAN) communication, local interconnect network (LIN) communication, flex-ray communication, and the like.” (Yang, [0036]).
a set of hardwire wakeup lines connecting the EVCU to each of the FCPS and the BPCM,
“the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]).
wherein the EVCU is further configured to (i) in response to a vehicle wakeup condition, send a primary wakeup signal, via the set of hardwire wakeup lines, to the FCPS and the BPCM and (ii) after sending the primary wakeup signal, selectively send a secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS via the CAN, and
Yang discloses “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS)” (Yang, [0046]), and “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]), and “Thus, the startup controller 170 controls startup in accordance with a predefined reference startup sequence.” (Yang, [0044]).
The “Key ON” signal would be the “primary wakeup signal”. See Figure 2.
wherein the FCPS is further configured to transition to an awake state only in response to receiving both the primary and secondary wakeup signals via a respective hardwire wakeup line and the CAN, respectively, to prevent a wakeup of the FCPS during a set of vehicle wakeup operations in which the FCPS is not required.
Yang discloses “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS)” (Yang, [0046]).
Regarding Claim 2:
The control system of claim 1, wherein the EVCU is configured to send the secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS via the CAN for vehicle fuel cell refueling events.
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]), and “Thus, the startup controller 170 controls startup in accordance with a predefined reference startup sequence.” (Yang, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 3:
The control system of claim 1, wherein the EVCU is configured to act as a primary controller and the FCPS is configured to act as a secondary controller for vehicle wakeup operations.
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may include a controller 110, an interface 120 (e.g., an input/output I/O interface), a vehicle communication module 130 (e.g., a communication interface), a storage 140 (e.g., a memory), and a processor 200 including a voltage state determination module 150, a driving time point determination module 160, a startup controller 170” (Yang, [0029]). The “controller” is the EVCU and the “startup controller” is the FCPS.
Regarding Claim 4:
The control system of claim 1, wherein the FCEV is configured to store hydrogen fuel that is converted to electrical power and stored in a battery system associated with the BPCM.
Yang discloses “the vehicle communication module 130 may receive operation information from a key unit, a hydrogen tank, an air cutoff valve (ACV), an electric pump, a hydrogen supply valve, a hydrogen purge valve, a hydrogen pressure control valve, and the like provided in a vehicle, and may receive voltage drop information as each driving unit is operated. In addition, the vehicle communication module 130 may receive power information from a low-voltage battery provided in a vehicle” (Yang, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 5:
The control system of claim 1, wherein the CAN further connects the EVCU to an integrated dual charging module (IDCM) and a motor control processor (MCP), and wherein the set of hardwire wakeup lines further connect and are further configured to send the primary wakeup signal from the EVCU to the each of the IDCM and the MCP.
Yang discloses “The vehicle communication module 130 provides a communication interface or communication port which supports communication with electric components and/or driving units provided in a vehicle. As an example, the vehicle communication module 130 may receive operation information from a key unit, a hydrogen tank, an air cutoff valve (ACV), an electric pump, a hydrogen supply valve, a hydrogen purge valve, a hydrogen pressure control valve, and the like provided in a vehicle, and may receive voltage drop information as each driving unit is operated. In addition, the vehicle communication module 130 may receive power information from a low-voltage battery provided in a vehicle.” (Yang, [0035]) and “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 6:
The control system of claim 5, wherein the EVCU sends the primary wakeup signal but not the secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS during a plurality of vehicle wakeup conditions including at least one of (1) ignition status, (2) door ajar, (3) remote start active, (4) hood ajar, (5) vehicle lock/unlock status, (6) fuel door wakeup request. (7) charge request(s), (8) diagnostic session, (9) schedule submission requests, and (10) IDCM wakeup.
Yang discloses “Thus, the startup controller 170 controls startup in accordance with a predefined reference startup sequence.” (Yang, [0044]). Yang additionally discloses “the reference startup sequence will be described with reference to the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 2.” (Yang, [0045]) and “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS) Pre-charge->5. By-Directional High Voltage DC-DC Converter (BHDC) Boost->6. BHDC RUN->7. EV Start Completion, Ready Light ON->8. Air Cutoff Valve (ACV) Open/Electric Pump Drive->9. Hydrogen Supply Valve ON->10. Hydrogen Purge Valve ON->11. Hydrogen Pressure Control Valve ON->12. Low-Voltage DC-DC Converter (LDC) Drive->13. Stack Relay ON->14. Hydrogen Recirculation Blower Drive->15. Air Blower Drive->16. Stack Voltage Rise->17. Fuel Cell Startup Completion].” (Yang, [0046] and Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 9:
A primary and secondary controller management method for a control system of a fuel cell electrified vehicle (FCEV), the method comprising:
providing an electrified vehicle control unit (EVCU) configured to control a set of primary operations of the FCEV;
Yang discloses “An apparatus 100 for controlling vehicle start-up (hereinafter, referred to as ‘a startup control apparatus’) according to the present disclosure may be provided in a vehicle.” (Yang, [0028]).
providing a fuel cell propulsion system (FCPS) configured to control a set of secondary operations of the FCEV including communication with a battery pack control module (BPCM);
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may include a controller 110, an interface 120 (e.g., an input/output I/O interface), a vehicle communication module 130 (e.g., a communication interface), a storage 140 (e.g., a memory), and a processor 200 including a voltage state determination module 150, a driving time point determination module 160, a startup controller 170” (Yang, [0029]). The “start-up” controller is the FCPS and the “voltage state determination module” is the BPCM.
providing a controller area network (CAN) connecting the EVCU to the FCPS;
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]) and “The vehicle communication module 130 may include a network interface, network transceiver, or other module that supports communications across a vehicle network such as controller area network (CAN) communication, local interconnect network (LIN) communication, flex-ray communication, and the like.” (Yang, [0036]).
providing a set of hardwire wakeup lines connecting the EVCU to each of the FCPS and the BPCM;
“the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]).
in response to detecting a vehicle wakeup condition, sending, by the EVCU and via the set of hardwire wakeup lines, a primary wakeup signal to the FCPS and the BPCM and (ii) after sending the primary wakeup signal, selectively sending, by the EVCU, a secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS via the CAN; and
Yang discloses “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS)” (Yang, [0046]), and “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]), and “Thus, the startup controller 170 controls startup in accordance with a predefined reference startup sequence.” (Yang, [0044]).
The “Key ON” signal would be the “primary wakeup signal”. See Figure 2.
only in response to receiving both the primary and secondary wakeup signals via a respective hardwire wakeup line and the CAN, respectively, transitioning, by the FCPS, to an awake state, to prevent wakeup of the FCPS during a set of vehicle wakeup operations in which the FCPS is not required.
Yang discloses “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS)” (Yang, [0046]).
Regarding Claim 10:
The method of claim 9, wherein the EVCU is configured to send the secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS via the CAN for vehicle fuel cell refueling events.
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]), and “Thus, the startup controller 170 controls startup in accordance with a predefined reference startup sequence.” (Yang, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 11:
The method of claim 9, wherein the EVCU is configured to act as a primary controller and the FCPS is configured to act as a secondary controller for vehicle wakeup operations.
Yang discloses “the startup control apparatus 100 may include a controller 110, an interface 120 (e.g., an input/output I/O interface), a vehicle communication module 130 (e.g., a communication interface), a storage 140 (e.g., a memory), and a processor 200 including a voltage state determination module 150, a driving time point determination module 160, a startup controller 170” (Yang, [0029]). The “controller” is the EVCU and the “startup controller” is the FCPS.
Regarding Claim 12:
The method of claim 9, wherein the FCEV is configured to store hydrogen fuel that is converted to electrical power and stored in a battery system associated with the BPCM.
Yang discloses “the vehicle communication module 130 may receive operation information from a key unit, a hydrogen tank, an air cutoff valve (ACV), an electric pump, a hydrogen supply valve, a hydrogen purge valve, a hydrogen pressure control valve, and the like provided in a vehicle, and may receive voltage drop information as each driving unit is operated. In addition, the vehicle communication module 130 may receive power information from a low-voltage battery provided in a vehicle” (Yang, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 13:
The method of claim 9, wherein the CAN further connects the EVCU to an integrated dual charging module (IDCM) and a motor control processor (MCP), and wherein the set of hardwire wakeup lines further connect and are further configured to send the primary wakeup signal from the EVCU to the each of the IDCM and the MCP.
Yang discloses “The vehicle communication module 130 provides a communication interface or communication port which supports communication with electric components and/or driving units provided in a vehicle. As an example, the vehicle communication module 130 may receive operation information from a key unit, a hydrogen tank, an air cutoff valve (ACV), an electric pump, a hydrogen supply valve, a hydrogen purge valve, a hydrogen pressure control valve, and the like provided in a vehicle, and may receive voltage drop information as each driving unit is operated. In addition, the vehicle communication module 130 may receive power information from a low-voltage battery provided in a vehicle.” (Yang, [0035]) and “the startup control apparatus 100 may be integrated within control units in the vehicle, or may be implemented as a separate apparatus and may be connected to control units of the vehicle through separate connecting wires, links, or other means.” (Yang, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 14:
The method of claim 13, wherein the EVCU sends the primary wakeup signal but not the secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS during a plurality of vehicle wakeup conditions including at least one of (1) ignition status, (2) door ajar, (3) remote start active, (4) hood ajar, (5) vehicle lock/unlock status, (6) fuel door wakeup request. (7) charge request(s), (8) diagnostic session, (9) schedule submission requests, and (10) IDCM wakeup.
Yang discloses “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS) Pre-charge->5. By-Directional High Voltage DC-DC Converter (BHDC) Boost->6. BHDC RUN->7. EV Start Completion, Ready Light ON->8. Air Cutoff Valve (ACV) Open/Electric Pump Drive->9. Hydrogen Supply Valve ON->10. Hydrogen Purge Valve ON->11. Hydrogen Pressure Control Valve ON->12. Low-Voltage DC-DC Converter (LDC) Drive->13. Stack Relay ON->14. Hydrogen Recirculation Blower Drive->15. Air Blower Drive->16. Stack Voltage Rise->17. Fuel Cell Startup Completion].” (Yang, [0046] and Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yang, Sung Ho, et. al. (US 20180171960 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yang, in view of Kim, Dong Ok, et. al. (US 20180279098 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding Claim 7:
The control system of claim 5, wherein the EVCU sends the primary wakeup signal but not the secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS during a plurality of vehicle wakeup conditions including (1) ignition status, (2) door ajar, (3) remote start active, (4) hood ajar, (5) vehicle lock/unlock status, (6) fuel door wakeup request. (7) charge request(s), (8) diagnostic session, (9) schedule submission requests, and (10) IDCM wakeup.
Yang discloses “Thus, the startup controller 170 controls startup in accordance with a predefined reference startup sequence.” (Yang, [0044]). Yang additionally discloses “the reference startup sequence will be described with reference to the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 2.” (Yang, [0045]) and “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS) Pre-charge->5. By-Directional High Voltage DC-DC Converter (BHDC) Boost->6. BHDC RUN->7. EV Start Completion, Ready Light ON->8. Air Cutoff Valve (ACV) Open/Electric Pump Drive->9. Hydrogen Supply Valve ON->10. Hydrogen Purge Valve ON->11. Hydrogen Pressure Control Valve ON->12. Low-Voltage DC-DC Converter (LDC) Drive->13. Stack Relay ON->14. Hydrogen Recirculation Blower Drive->15. Air Blower Drive->16. Stack Voltage Rise->17. Fuel Cell Startup Completion].” (Yang, [0046] and Figure 2).
Kim discloses “For example, wake-up reason may be, but is not limited to: Door operation (e.g., door open, door closed); Telematics operation (e.g., remote start); Media operation; Power mode transition of the vehicle (e.g., ACC, IGN); and Detection of theft.” (Kim, [0081 - 0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system for controlling a fuel cell vehicle with the wake-up reasoning taught by Kim because the wake-up conditions disclosed by the applicant is simply a list of conditions, and the combination of the list taught by Yang and the list taught by Kim is sufficient to teach the circumstances disclosed by the applicant. It would have been obvious to try the remaining list items.
Regarding Claim 15:
The method of claim 13, wherein the EVCU sends the primary wakeup signal but not the secondary wakeup signal to the FCPS during a plurality of vehicle wakeup conditions including (1) ignition status, (2) door ajar, (3) remote start active, (4) hood ajar, (5) vehicle lock/unlock status, (6) fuel door wakeup request. (7) charge request(s), (8) diagnostic session, (9) schedule submission requests, and (10) IDCM wakeup.
Yang discloses “Referring to FIG. 2, the reference startup sequence may be defined as [1. Key ON->2. Start->3. Hydrogen Tank ON->4. Battery Management System (BMS) Pre-charge->5. By-Directional High Voltage DC-DC Converter (BHDC) Boost->6. BHDC RUN->7. EV Start Completion, Ready Light ON->8. Air Cutoff Valve (ACV) Open/Electric Pump Drive->9. Hydrogen Supply Valve ON->10. Hydrogen Purge Valve ON->11. Hydrogen Pressure Control Valve ON->12. Low-Voltage DC-DC Converter (LDC) Drive->13. Stack Relay ON->14. Hydrogen Recirculation Blower Drive->15. Air Blower Drive->16. Stack Voltage Rise->17. Fuel Cell Startup Completion].” (Yang, [0046] and Figure 2).
Kim discloses “For example, wake-up reason may be, but is not limited to: Door operation (e.g., door open, door closed); Telematics operation (e.g., remote start); Media operation; Power mode transition of the vehicle (e.g., ACC, IGN); and Detection of theft.” (Kim, [0081 - 0086]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to combine the system for controlling a fuel cell vehicle with the wake-up reasoning taught by Kim because the wake-up conditions disclosed by the applicant is simply a list of conditions, and the combination of the list taught by Yang and the list taught by Kim is sufficient to teach the circumstances disclosed by the applicant. It would have been obvious to try the remaining list items.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim, Ji Tae, et. al. (US 20150112530 A1)
Kim discloses a system for controlling a fuel cell vehicle with a main controller and sub-controllers, however, does not teach a wakeup signal, wakeup conditions, nor refueling, and was therefore not used as prior art.
Wenk, Stephan (US 20190227816 A1)
Wenk discloses a system containing activation signals, however, does not teach having two separate sets of wakeup signals, nor a set of wakeup conditions, and was therefore not used as prior art.
/J.B.C./
Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656