DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/192,446 filed on 07/27/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shafin et al. (U.S 20240292435, Aug. 29, 2024) in view of Cavalcanti et al. (US 20180184450, Jun. 28, 2018).
Regarding Claim 1, Shafin discloses an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause an Access Point (AP) to set an Association Identifier (AID) field to a predefined AID value configured to indicate that a non-AP station (STA) having latency-sensitive traffic is to be allowed to transmit a non-Trigger-Based (non-TB) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) comprising the latency-sensitive traffic according to a channel contention mechanism during a contention-based time period(page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule).
Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field (page 3, See Fig 1B, par (0036-0040), line 1-20, body 156 (wherein body frame 156 is a trigger frame) include scheduling element to allocate one or more CBAPs(contention base access period), scheduling element include a type field to indicate the scheduled interval relates to a CBAP, scheduling element include a CBAP, which include an AID of a source STA defined for an allocated CBAP(the trigger frame comprising AID field), scheduling element allocate a CBAP, a CBAP between devices by setting AID field, scheduling element configured to allocate a CBAP).
Shafin and Cavalcanti are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field the teaching of Shafin to include the scheduling element allocate a CBAP, a CBAP between devices by setting AID field, scheduling element configured to allocate a CBAP teaching of Cavalcanti because it is providing information about environmental conditions, such as temperature and noise level, the network comprise a mobile station that provides a user interface for connecting with the industrial control network.
Regarding Claim 5, Shafin discloses to cause the AP to transmit transmission- configuration information configured to indicate a transmission-configuration of the non-TB PPDU (page 5, par (0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP (contention-based time period).
Regarding Claim 7, Shafin discloses to cause the AP to transmit to the non-AP STA traffic-characterization information configured to define one or more parameters to characterize the latency-sensitive traffic (page 5, par (0057), line 1-10, transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2- enabled TWT schedule).
Regarding Claim 8, Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP (page 4, par (0052), line 1-10, measured from the beginning of the CBAP and following a TxOP, only if the scheduling element allocating the CBAP to device, scheduling element, includes the AID of device in the destination field).
Regarding Claim 10, Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame (page 4, par (0052), line 1-10, measured from the beginning of the CBAP and following a TxOP, only if the scheduling element allocating the CBAP to device).
Regarding Claim 13, Shafin discloses to cause the AP to set the AID field comprising the predefined AID value in a user Information (info) field of the MU RTS trigger frame(page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule).
Regarding Claim 15, Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except comprising at least one radio to transmit the trigger frame.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches comprising at least one radio to transmit the trigger frame (page 3, See Fig 1B, par (0036-0040), line 1-20, body 156 (wherein body frame 156 is a trigger frame) include scheduling element to allocate one or more CBAPs(contention base access period), scheduling element include a type field to indicate the scheduled interval relates to a CBAP, scheduling element include a CBAP, which include an AID of a source STA defined for an allocated CBAP(the trigger frame comprising AID field).
Regarding Claim 16, Shafin discloses one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system (page 3, par (0035), line 1-5, The AP 101 includes multiple antennas and multiple transceivers, the AP includes a controller/processor, a memory, and a backhaul or network interface).
Regarding Claim 17, Shafin discloses an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause an Access Point (AP) to set an Association Identifier (AID) field to a predefined AID value configured to indicate that a non-AP station (STA) having latency-sensitive traffic is to be allowed to transmit a non-Trigger-Based (non-TB) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) comprising the latency-sensitive traffic according to a channel contention mechanism during a contention-based time period(page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule).
Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field (page 3, See Fig 1B, par (0036-0040), line 1-20, body 156 (wherein body frame 156 is a trigger frame) include scheduling element to allocate one or more CBAPs(contention base access period), scheduling element include a type field to indicate the scheduled interval relates to a CBAP, scheduling element include a CBAP, which include an AID of a source STA defined for an allocated CBAP(the trigger frame comprising AID field), scheduling element allocate a CBAP, a CBAP between devices by setting AID field, scheduling element configured to allocate a CBAP).
Shafin and Cavalcanti are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field the teaching of Shafin to include the scheduling element allocate a CBAP, a CBAP between devices by setting AID field, scheduling element configured to allocate a CBAP teaching of Cavalcanti because it is providing information about environmental conditions, such as temperature and noise level, the network comprise a mobile station that provides a user interface for connecting with the industrial control network.
Regarding Claim 18, Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame (page 4, par (0052), line 1-10, measured from the beginning of the CBAP and following a TxOP, only if the scheduling element allocating the CBAP to device).
Regarding Claim 19, Shafin discloses an apparatus comprising means for setting at an Access Point (AP) an Association Identifier (AID) field to a predefined AID value configured to indicate that a non-AP station (STA) having latency-sensitive traffic is to be allowed to transmit a non-Trigger-Based (non-TB) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) comprising the latency-sensitive traffic according to a channel contention mechanism during a contention-based time period(page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule).
Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field (page 3, See Fig 1B, par (0036-0040), line 1-20, body 156 (wherein body frame 156 is a trigger frame) include scheduling element to allocate one or more CBAPs(contention base access period), scheduling element include a type field to indicate the scheduled interval relates to a CBAP, scheduling element include a CBAP, which include an AID of a source STA defined for an allocated CBAP(the trigger frame comprising AID field), scheduling element allocate a CBAP, a CBAP between devices by setting AID field, scheduling element configured to allocate a CBAP).
Shafin and Cavalcanti are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field the teaching of Shafin to include the scheduling element allocate a CBAP, a CBAP between devices by setting AID field, scheduling element configured to allocate a CBAP teaching of Cavalcanti because it is providing information about environmental conditions, such as temperature and noise level, the network comprise a mobile station that provides a user interface for connecting with the industrial control network.
Regarding Claim 20, Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP.
Cavalcanti is the same field of invention teaches to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP (page 4, par (0052), line 1-10, measured from the beginning of the CBAP and following a TxOP, only if the scheduling element allocating the CBAP to device, scheduling element, includes the AID of device in the destination field).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 3 or 4 or 6 or 9 or 11 or 14 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 3 or 4 or 6 or 9 or 11 or 14 are incorporated into the independent claim 17.
Claim 19 would be allowable if (i) claims 2 or 3 or 4 or 6 or 9 or 11 or 14 are incorporated into the independent claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Kim et al. (US 20240114552, Apr. 4, 2024) teaches Buffer Status Reporting for Triggered Transmission Opportunity Sharing.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464