CTNF 18/192,446 CTNF 85728 DETAILED ACTION The instant application having application No 18/192,446 filed on 03/29/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-fti The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-fti Claim s 1-3, and 5-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shafin et al. (U.S 20240292435, Aug. 29, 2024) in view of Ryu et al. (US 20250071813, Feb. 27, 2025) . Regarding Claim 1 , Shafin discloses an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause an Access Point (AP) to set an Association Identifier (AID) field to a predefined AID value configured to indicate that a non-AP station (STA) having latency-sensitive traffic is to be allowed to transmit a non-Trigger-Based (non-TB) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) comprising the latency-sensitive traffic according to a channel contention mechanism during a contention-based time period (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule) . Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field. Ryu is the same field of invention teaches transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP, perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame) . Shafin and Ryu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention- based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field the teaching of Shafin to include the perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame teaching of Ryu because it is providing protection for the set of TWT SPs. A TWT protection field indicate to use a NAY protection mechanism to protect access to the medium during the corresponding TWT SPs. Regarding Claim 2 , Shafin discloses the AP to transmit STA- identification information configured to identify a plurality of allocated non-AP STAs, which are to be allowed to transmit non-TB PPDUs with latency-sensitive traffic according to the channel contention mechanism during the contention-based time period (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule) . Regarding Claim 3 , Shafin discloses the trigger frame comprises time-offset information configured to indicate time-offsets between a plurality of contention-based time periods to be allocated by the trigger frame (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields) . Regarding Claim 5 , Shafin discloses to cause the AP to transmit transmission- configuration information configured to indicate a transmission-configuration of the non-TB PPDU (page 5, par (0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP (contention-based time period) . Regarding Claim 6 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the transmission-configuration information is configured to indicate at least one of a PPDU duration limit, a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) limit, or a transmission type . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches the transmission-configuration information is configured to indicate at least one of a PPDU duration limit, a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) limit, or a transmission type (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP) . Regarding Claim 7 , Shafin discloses to cause the AP to transmit to the non-AP STA traffic-characterization information configured to define one or more parameters to characterize the latency-sensitive traffic (page 5, par (0057), line 1-10, transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2- enabled TWT schedule) . Regarding Claim 8 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP. Ryu is the same field of invention teaches to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP, perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame) . Regarding Claim 9 , Shafin discloses to cause the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a restricted Target Wake Time (r-TWT) Service Period (SP), wherein the predefined AID value is configured to indicate that non-AP STAs, which are members of the r-TWT SP, are to be allowed to transmit non-TB PPDUs during the contention- based time period (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs) . Regarding Claim 10 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame. Ryu is the same field of invention teaches the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP) . Regarding Claim 11 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except to cause the AP to set a predefined Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) sharing mode subfield value in a TxOP sharing mode subfield of the MU RTS trigger frame, wherein the predefined TxOP sharing mode subfield value is configured to indicate that the MU RTS trigger frame is to allocate time for low-latency frame transmissions . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches to cause the AP to set a predefined Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) sharing mode subfield value in a TxOP sharing mode subfield of the MU RTS trigger frame, wherein the predefined TxOP sharing mode subfield value is configured to indicate that the MU RTS trigger frame is to allocate time for low-latency frame transmissions (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP, perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame) . Regarding Claim 12 , Shafin discloses the predefined TxOP sharing mode subfield value is 3 (page 5, par (0050), line 1-10, initiates triggered TXOP sharing for P2P communications by sending MURTS TXS Trigger frame with the Triggered TXOP Sharing Mode subfield in the Common Info field set to 2 at the beginning of the TWT SP) . Regarding Claim 13 , Shafin discloses to cause the AP to set the AID field comprising the predefined AID value in a user Information (info) field of the MU RTS trigger frame (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule) . Regarding Claim 14 , Shafin discloses to cause the AP to set in the user info field at least one of a PPDU duration limit subfield, a contention parameter subfield, a non-TB PPDU transmission type subfield, or a low-latency criteria subfield (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP) . Regarding Claim 15 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except comprising at least one radio to transmit the trigger frame . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches comprising at least one radio to transmit the trigger frame (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame) . Regarding Claim 16 , Shafin discloses one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system (page 3, par (0035), line 1-5, The AP 101 includes multiple antennas and multiple transceivers, the AP includes a controller/processor, a memory, and a backhaul or network interface) . Regarding Claim 17 , Shafin discloses a product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause an Access Point (AP) to set an Association Identifier (AID) field to a predefined AID value configured to indicate that a non-AP station (STA) having latency-sensitive traffic is to be allowed to transmit a non-Trigger-Based (non-TB) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) comprising the latency-sensitive traffic according to a channel contention mechanism during a contention-based time period (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule) . Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP, perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame) . Shafin and Ryu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field the teaching of Shafin to include the perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame teaching of Ryu because it is providing protection for the set of TWT SPs. A TWT protection field indicate to use a NAY protection mechanism to protect access to the medium during the corresponding TWT SPs. Regarding Claim 18 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches the trigger frame comprises a Multi-user (MU) Request to Send (RTS) trigger frame (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP) . Regarding Claim 19 , Shafin discloses an apparatus comprising means for setting at an Access Point (AP) an Association Identifier (AID) field to a predefined AID value configured to indicate that a non-AP station (STA) having latency-sensitive traffic is to be allowed to transmit a non-Trigger-Based (non-TB) Physical layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) comprising the latency-sensitive traffic according to a channel contention mechanism during a contention-based time period (page 5, par(0056-0058), line 1-20, the STA send non-trigger based(non-TB) physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) during the TWT SP(contention-based time period), then a restricted TWT scheduled STA that is a member of that schedule transmit latency sensitive traffic identified by the traffic identifiers (TIDs) negotiated through the restricted TWT setup procedure during the TWT SP corresponding to the multiple non-AP STAs obtain membership of an MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule, and during the TWT SP can send the MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame addressed to more than one of the multiple TWT scheduled STAs the User Info fields that correspond to the AIDs (Association Identifier) of the corresponding scheduled STAs that are members of the MU-RTS TXS Mode 2-enabled TWT schedule) . Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except and means for causing the AP to transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention- based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches and means for causing the AP to transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention- based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, The AP receiving an RTS frame from a non-AP STA transmit a TXOP preemption request frame after the AP schedules transmission of the low latency traffic, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP, perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame) . Shafin and Ryu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on transmit a trigger frame to allocate the contention-based time period, the trigger frame comprising the AID field the teaching of Shafin to include the perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame teaching of Ryu because it is providing protection for the set of TWT SPs. A TWT protection field indicate to use a NAY protection mechanism to protect access to the medium during the corresponding TWT SPs. Regarding Claim 20 , Shafin discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except comprising means for causing the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP . Ryu is the same field of invention teaches comprising means for causing the AP to transmit the trigger frame during a Transmit Opportunity (TxOP) of the AP, the trigger frame configured to allocate the contention-based time period during the TxOP (page 4, par (0078-0079), line 1-10, the AP allocate a time period to the non-AP STA such as by MU-RTS TXS Trigger frame, the AP do this during the remaining TXOP, perform contention-based channel access to obtain a TXOP for scheduling of low latency traffic after transmitting the TXOP preemption request frame) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 The following is a quotation of the second paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim s 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. 07-34-18 Claim elements “ comprising means for setting, means for causing the AP to transmit a trigger frame ” is a non-structural substitute term for means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. Applicant is required to: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be a means (or step) plus function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant is required to clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Examiner Notice Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 4 is incorporated into the independent claim 1. Claim 17 would be allowable if (i) claim 4 is incorporated into the independent claim 17. Claim 19 would be allowable if (i) claim 4 is incorporated into the independent claim 19. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are: Kim et al. (US 20240114552, Apr. 4, 2024) teaches Buffer Status Reporting for Triggered Transmission Opportunity Sharing. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IQBAL ZAIDI whose telephone number is (571)270-3943. The examiner can normally be reached on M to Thu 8.a.m to 6.p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, NGO RICKY can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /IQBAL ZAIDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 10 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 11 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 12 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 13 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/192,446 Page 14 Art Unit: 2464