DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim on which claim 19 depends on is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16 recites "length of polyvinyl chloride, or tarpaulin, or a combination thereof” it is not clear what part of the container is made of those materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 2018/0194550) in view of Town (US 8,894,282) further in view of Smith (US 2,749,957).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Green (figs. 13 and 20) discloses a portable leak-proof container 300, 400 (for substantially liquid materials, solid materials or a combination thereof), comprising:
a substantially planar base 302, 402 having an outer circumference or perimeter that is substantially circular in shape; and
a plurality of panels 320, 420 abutting the substantially planar base, the plurality of panels 320, 420 being individually encased within a plurality of wall compartments 314, 414 of a wall 310, 410 having a truncated cone shape, wherein the wall having the truncated cone shape is attached with at least the substantially planar base at the outer circumference or perimeter.
Green fails to disclose the wall having the truncated cone shape being fused via radio frequency welding; and
a plurality of straps individually comprising complete loops having a portion affixed to at least the substantially planar base.
However, Town discloses a lifting bag having pieces joined by radio frequency welding (col. 3, lines 51-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have fused the wall of Green via radio frequency welding to provide a strong uniform bond. Also, it has been held that when a patent claims a structure already known in the prior art that is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result. KSR, 127 S.Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 50-51, 148 USPQ 479, 483 (1966)).
Further, Smith teaches a carrier having a plurality of straps 13 individually comprising complete loops having a portion affixed to at least a substantially planar base (figs. 1-3 and col. 2, lines 42-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the modified device of Green a plurality of straps, for lifting the package, as taught by Smith in col. 2, lines 42-46.
Regarding claims 2-4, Green further discloses the wall having detruncated cone shape comprising an angle 312, 412 having a pitch of less than 90 degrees (figs. 14 and 21) but the modified Green fails to disclose the angle 312, 412 being between 65 degrees and 75 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have made the angle 312, 412 of the Modified Green, between 60 degrees and 80 degrees, since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than a prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Green further discloses one or more fasteners 332 and 432, coupled to the wall 310, 410 having the truncated cone shape, to retain a cover 160 over a top portion of the portable leak-proof container figs. (13 and 20).
Regarding claim 7, Green in another embodiment teaches eyelets 134 eyelets to accommodate a corresponding number of stakes, the corresponding number of stakes to restrict movement of the portable leak-proof container with respect to a supporting surface (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the device of Green eyelets, to anchor the container to the ground as taught by Green in paragraph 0042.
Regarding claim 9, Green further discloses the portable leak-proof container is suitable for or capable of retaining concrete suspended in a liquid medium or for containing a slurry material (paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 10, Green further discloses the plurality of panels abutting the substantially round base being substantially rectangular in shape at least when the shape of the base have multiple (more than 16) sides (figs. 13, 20 and paragraph 0061).
Regarding claims 12-13, the modified Green further discloses:
wherein for individual straps of the plurality of straps 13, an additional portion is affixed to one or more of the plurality of panels abutting the substantially planar base; and
wherein for individual straps of the plurality of straps 13, an additional portion is affixed to the wall having the truncated cone shape (figs. 1 and 3 of Smith, and col. 2, lines 6-17).
Regarding claim 15, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Green further discloses the plurality of straps being affixed to the substantially planar base, to at least one of the plurality of panels abutting the substantially planar base, wherein the plurality of straps are sewn onto the planar base and the wall (fig. 3 of Smith).
Regarding claims 17-20, the modified Green discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for the substantially planar base comprising a diameter of approximately five feet or seven feet and wherein the plurality of straps comprise six to eight straps or three to four complete loops.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have made the diameter of the base either five feet or seven feet, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding the number of straps and complete loops, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 21, Green further discloses a self-erecting moisture-shedding cover 160 capable of being placed in contact with an upper portion of the wall having the truncated cone shape (paragraphs 0050 and 0069).
Regarding claim 23, Green further discloses the self- erecting moisture-shedding cover 160 comprising a skirt 166 which is capable of providing a path for moisture shedding below a lip of the upper portion of the wall having the truncated cone shape (fig. 7).
Claims 22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 2018/0194550) in view of Town (US 8,894,282) and Smith (US 2,749,957) as applied to claim 21 above, further in view of McLeese (US 4,858,634).
Regarding claims 22 and 24-25, the modified Green discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for the self-erecting moisture-shedding cover comprising:
two or more flexible ribs, the two or more flexible ribs being prestressed to maintain an arc or dome shape responsive to deployment; wherein the two or more flexible ribs crossover at a crossover location at a base portion of the self- erecting moisture-shedding cover; and
a tensioner to retain in place the two or more flexible ribs at the crossover location at the base portion of the self-erecting moisture-shedding cover.
However, McLeese teaches a self-erecting structure having the claimed flexible ribs and tensioner 20 (fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have provided the self-erecting cover of the modified Green, flexible ribs and tensioners, to provide a cover that is instantaneously self-erecting from its stored configuration, and can easily be restored to its storage configuration, as taught by McLeese in col. 1, lines 6-11.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 2018/0194550) in view of Town (US 8,894,282) and Smith (US 2,749,957) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hunter (US 9,751,691).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Green discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for container comprising at least a substantial percentage of polyvinyl chloride.
However, Hunter teaches a container made of PVC (col. 5, lines 64-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have made the modified device of Green, of PVC, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered. While Green (US 2018/0194550) and Town (US 8,894,282) do not expressly teach the newly added limitation, newly applied reference Smith teaches the limitation added by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE G NEWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735