Response to Argument and Amendment
The response filed on 2/2/26 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 19-22 are pending in this office action.
The rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite is withdrawn due to the amendment of the claims.
Claims 1-2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (WO 2007/070643) is withdrawn based on the argument and the amendment submitted found persuasive..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) !-3, 7-9 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO 2007/070643) in view of Quinlan et al. (WO 2017/108215) and Othel-Jacobsen (US 2022/0339349) and further in view of O’Connor et al. (US 2002/0185184).
With regards to instant claims 1,nand 19, Zhang teaches an adhesive layer for the skin (i.e., a patch as interpreted , see pg 1, lines 9+, see pg 14, lines 11+) that is flexible (see pg 14, lines 29+) with a therapeutic agent i.e., a corticosteroid (see pg. 6, lines 19+, as required by instant claims 1-2) when applied to the skin (see abstract).
However, fails to teach that the adhesive patch composition is comprises an adhesive patch in a selective pattern, and fails to teach a second flexible layer of material and a medical device.
With regards to instant claim 1, Quinlan teaches an adhesive patch (see para 0004) comprising a flexible adhesive layer that can be adhered to the skin (see para 0004) and a second layer (see 0073, as required by instant claim 4) adaptable to a health device (see abstract). With regards to the second flexible layer adapted to adhere to the first layer material, as they comprise the same material and therefore adaptable to adhere to the first layer (see 0073, as required by instant claim 5) to a medical device a health device (see 0005, 0007, as required by claim 5-6) wherein the health device is a glucose monitor (see 0049, as required by instant claim 7). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the teaching of Zhang to include a medical device as taught by Quinlan because Quinlan teaches an adhesive patch that has a medical device.
Banyal teaches a transdermal drug delivery system containing a discrete dosage form as medicated adhesive for the skin wherein the adhesive is a multi-layer drug in adhesive (as required by instant claim 8, wherein the drug is disposed between the backing and the liner (see diagram , pg 115) and therefore the drug will diffuse through the adhesive composition (as required by instant claim 9).
Othel-Jacobsen teach with regards to instant claims 1 and 19 a patch (see tittle) comprising a first and second layer (see abstract) configured to adhere to the skin (see abstract) and configured to adhere to a medical device (see 0021) wherein the adhesive layers may be replaced with microneedles 9see 0057) wherein the begins to release into patient skin upon application of the patch and may comprise anti-inflammatory agent (see 0057, as required by instant claims 1-2).
O’Connor teaches an adhesive tape (see 0047), comprising a microfluidic path (see 0043), see
and would therefore would dispose the therapeutic in a selective pattern.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adhere one of the layers to the medical device and the skin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to expand the teachings of Zhang to include Quinlan, Banyal, Othel-Jacobsen and O’Connor to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success because they are drawn to the same technical feature.
Applicant’s argument have been considered and the response is moot based on the new rejection above.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 3/17/26