DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings have been received on 3/29/2023 and these drawings have been objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 for the following reasons: lines, numbers and letters are not uniformly thick and well defined; and numbers and reference characters are not plain and legible for all figures. New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because of the reasons stated above. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “power unit” in claims 1-4 and 6 and “control unit” in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites “that automatically takes foreign matter from a respiratory airway” which positively recites the airway. The examiner recommends changing this language to read “configured to automatically take foreign matter from a respiratory airway”.
Claims 2-6 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shang et al. (CN 215915857), hereinafter Shang. The examiner notes that the translation is used in the rejections set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, Shang discloses: A portable first-aid anti-asphyxiation device (figure 1) that automatically takes foreign matter from a respiratory airway (abstract), comprising:
a suction master member (top portion of figure 1 not including 3 and 18) and
a mask (3, 18),
wherein the suction master member comprises a housing (1, 2), a power unit (9), a control unit (shown in figure 4: 14, 16, 17), and a piston module (6, 7, 8),
the power unit (9) is configured to drive the piston module (6, 7, 8) to move inside the housing to generate negative pressure and take the negative pressure to suck the foreign matter out of the airway (page 3, paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 2, Shang further discloses wherein the housing is a tube (1, 2 is a tube as shown in figure 2) defining a space, the tube defining the space has an inner chamber (within 4) and an outer chamber (between 1 and 4), the power unit (9) is received in the outer chamber (see figure 2), and the piston module (6, 7, 8) is received in the inner chamber (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang in view of He (US 11,478,575 B1), hereinafter He.
Regarding claim 3, Shang discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 2 above. Shang does not explicitly disclose wherein an end of the tube is arranged with an one-way air-intake valve and two one-way air-outlet valves, the one-way air-intake valve is configured to control the inner chamber to intake air unidirectionally, and the two one-way air-outlet valves are configured to control the outer chamber to output air unidirectionally.
However He teaching a removal device (abstract) wherein an end (at 24) of the tube (3) is arranged with an one-way air-intake valve (21) and two one-way air-outlet valves (22), the one-way air-intake valve is configured to control the inner chamber to intake air unidirectionally (col. 8, lines 44-48; Shang provides air into the inner chamber and thus the modification would result in the one-way air-intake valve would control the inner chamber of Shang to intake air unidirectionally), and the two one-way air-outlet valves (22) are configured to control the outer chamber to output air unidirectionally (col. 9, lines 22-29; Shang as modified by the valve structure would have the one-way air-outlet valves around the periphery of the inlet valve and thus would be configured to control the outer chamber to output air unidirectionally as they would be located at the ledge where 2 meets 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shang such that an end of the tube is arranged with an one-way air-intake valve and two one-way air-outlet valves, the one-way air-intake valve is configured to control the inner chamber to intake air unidirectionally, and the two one-way air-outlet valves are configured to control the outer chamber to output air unidirectionally as taught by He for the benefit of compressing being accelerated (col. 9, lines 25-29) and preventing pushing air into the patient (col. 8, lines 12-13).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang in view of He, in further view of Kirchner (US 7,267,662 B1), hereinafter Kirchner.
Regarding claim 4, Shang further discloses wherein the piston module comprises a piston rod (7, 6) sealed to an inner wall of the tube (see figure 2), and the other end (at 8) is fixed to a press sleeve (4, see figure 2).
Shang does not explicitly state one end of the piston rod (at 6) is arranged with a U-shaped seal ring.
However, Kirchner teaches it is known wherein one end (at 7.1, 7.2) of a piston rod (7) is arranged with a U-shaped seal ring (see figures 5A-E, especially 5C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shang wherein one end of the piston rod (at 6) is arranged with a U-shaped seal ring as taught by Kirchner for the benefit of providing an appropriate seal with an appropriate amount of friction. Further a change in shape is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, Shang further discloses wherein the power unit is a spring (9), and the spring is disposed between the press sleeve (4) and the tube (1) (see figure 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang in view of Richards (US 3,316,903).
Regarding claim 6, Shang discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 1 above. Shang does not explicitly disclose wherein an outside of the suction master member is arranged with a hanging bracket.
However, Richards discloses an oral device wherein an outside of the device is arranged with a hanging bracket (17) (see figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shang to include a hanging bracket for the benefit of allowing a strap to hold the device in the position as shown in figure 2 of Shang (col. 3, lines 15-20 of Richards), and for the benefit of carrying the device.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785