DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 20 amended
Claims 16-19 cancelled
Claims 1-15 and 20 pending
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 20 states “a water-soluble salt comprising a metal cation to a surface of a substrate to form a treated substrate, wherein the water-soluble salt is selected from the group consisting of calcium chloride, calcium bromide, calcium nitrate, calcium acetate, calcium propionate, calcium lactate, calcium gluconate, magnesium chloride, magnesium bromide, magnesium nitrate, magnesium acetate, and any combination thereof”.
However, it is unclear if the “water-soluble salt”; (a) comprises one material that is “metal cation” and where this compound (that comprise “metal cation”) is “selected from the group consisting of…”; or (b) comprises two material, where the first material is compound that has a “metal cation” and the second material is “selected from the group consisting of…”.
However, per the instant specification in more than one place, the specification support the “water-soluble salt that comprises a metal cation is selected from the group consisting of…”.
For the sake of expedite prosecution the examiner interprets this as “wherein the water-soluble salt that comprises a metal cation is selected from the group consisting of…”.
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 state; “The method of claim 1, wherein the metal cation is selected from the group consisting of calcium, magnesium, zinc, barium, copper, strontium, manganese, iron, nickel, cobalt, tin, cadmium, lead, and any combination thereof”.
However, Claim 1 disclose that the “water-soluble salt comprises a metal cation … is selected from the group consisting of calcium chloride, calcium bromide, calcium nitrate, calcium acetate, calcium propionate, calcium lactate, calcium gluconate, magnesium chloride, magnesium bromide, magnesium nitrate, magnesium acetate, and any combination thereof”
Therefore, the “metal cation” of claim 1 includes only calcium and magnesium, where claim 14 include more that those two metals, such as “zinc, barium, copper, strontium, manganese, iron, nickel, cobalt, tin, cadmium, lead, and any combination thereof”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo (PG Pub 2013/0344131 A1).
Consider Claims 1 and 20, Lo teaches the process of coating (hemostatic materials) a substrate [0009], by applying a formulation having biopolymer/binder such as alginate to react/cross-licked with salt (water soluble salt/metal cation) such as calcium chloride [0009], where the metal cation/calcium chloride weight percent is from 1-8% [0118]. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05). Lo does not explicitly teach the order of applying the materials onto the substrate; however, it would be obvious for ordinary skilled person in the art to apply the ingredient in the claimed sequence. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
Lo does not explicitly teach the resulted “coated substrate has a kit value of at least about 5”.
However, the prior art of Lo teaches each and every process step and limitation of the applicant’s claims, including the “list of steps taught/taken by references”. Since the “coated substrate has a kit value of at least about 5” by the applicant’s claimed process is simply a function of the “list of steps taught/taken by references”, and the prior art of Lo teaches the claimed process steps. The process of the combination of the Lo would have naturally flow or inherently produced “coated substrate has a kit value of at least about 5” unless essential process steps and/or limitations are missing from the applicant’s claims.
Consider Claims 2-5, Lo teaches the substrate is optionally has fiber [0052], and the substrate is made from Kraft paper [0126]. Lo does not teach substrate to include filler, encompassing 0%. In the case where the claimed ranges, “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). (MPEP 2144.05).
Consider Claims 6-7, Lo teaches the forming of a layer/first layer of the formulated solution onto the substrate [0009] forming a surface treated substrate, where it would be obvious that the treated surface has the entire surface (of the coated area) is 100% coated.
Consider Claim 8, Lo teaches the additional usage of starch [0078].
Consider Claim 9, Lo teaches the drying process of the treated substrate [0080].
Consider Claim 10, Lo teaches the application using spraying process [0090]-[0091].
Consider Claims 11-12, Lo teaches the size pressing/pressure process [0064].
Consider Claims 13 and 15, Lo teaches the biopolymer is alginate [0009].
Consider Claim 14, Lo teaches the metal cation is calcium [0009].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15, 20 under 103a have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lo.
In light of the applicant amendment, a new rejection with new prior art is used. Therefore, the applicant arguments are moot.
All other applicant arguments not specifically addressed above are deemed unpersuasive as either not commensurate in scope with the broadly drafted claims or are unsupported by factual evidence and are deemed mere attorney speculation.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718