DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 02/16/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 6-13 and 16-23 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection in the claims previously set forth in the Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-13 and 16-23 in a reply filed 02/16/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant respectfully argues that YOUN’s priority filing (the ‘508 Provisional) fails to disclose the amended claims using Figure 6.X.2-1. The applicant contends that the ‘508 Provisional fails to disclose “(Remarks – Page 14) 1. Absence of CN Tunnel Information: In Step 6 of Figure 6.X.2-1, the arrow from the SMF to the AMF is labeled "Nsmf_PDUSessionUpdateSMContext Response (N2 information)." The accompanying text merely states that "the SMF shall indicate... so that the N2 information is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access." It does not explicitly disclose the transmission of "core network (CN) tunnel information" as required by Claim 6.
2. Absence of AN Tunnel Information Receipt: Step 6 is immediately followed by Step 7
("User plane establishment..."). The '508 Provisional does not disclose an intermediate step where the AMF receives a response from the Access Network (TNGF). While the text mentions "The SMF establishes user plane resources," there is no description of the AMF receiving "access network (AN) tunnel information" via an N2 response.
3. Absence of Second PDU Session Update: Subsequent to Step 7 (User plane
establishment), the process proceeds directly to Step 8 ("UDM Registration"). There is no disclosure of a step where the AMF transmits a "second PDU session update request message" including the AN tunnel information back to the SMF. The description of Step 7 only states, "The SMF provides PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE," and fails to describe the AMF forwarding AN tunnel information to the SMF”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Although YOUN does not explicitly include examples of the N2 interface, the CN tunnel information and the AN tunnel information in the ‘508 Provisional, the ‘508 Provisional proposes the access path switching procedure in Figure 6.X.2-1 to “(Page UT22-0244 29) follow the normal registration procedure as described in TS 23.502 but does not perform UDM registration”. The TS 23.502 (e.g., section 4.3.2 PDU Session Establishment) contains the N2 interface, the CN tunnel information and the AN tunnel information which are then used during the access switching procedure to ensure uninterrupted PDU session continuity as the UE moves between network nodes. Similar information recited in the TS 23.502 are found in YOUN regarding the N2 interface (YOUN - [0112] N2: Reference point between the (R)AN and the AMF)), the CN tunnel information (YOUN - [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; [0287] When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU session: [0288] If the UE is registered to the same PLMN over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses... The AMF informs the SMF that the UE is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of user-plane resources on both accesses and two N3/N9 tunnels (hence the CN tunnel information) between PSA and the RAN/AN) and the AN tunnel information (Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0244] Step 14 (of Fig. 8): The (R)AN transmits a N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The N2 PDU Session Response message may include PDU session ID, Cause, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, AN Tunnel Info, List of accepted/rejected QFI(s), User Plane Enforcement Policy Notification)), etc; [0245] Step 15: The AMF transmits an Update SM Context Request message... to the SMF. The AMF forwards the N2 SM information received from (R)AN to the SMF).
Therefore, YOUN reference can rely on the priority date of March 25, 2022, and YOUN discloses the following amended claims recited in claim 6:
receiving, from the SMF (Fig. 7 – Step 5; Fig. 14 – Step 6 - Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response), a response to the first PDU session update request message ([0217] (5) Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message… or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3), the response including core network (CN) tunnel information (Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access);
transmitting, to the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), an N2 request (Fig. 14; [0407] Step 4: The AMF sends Initial UE Context Setup Request message to the TNGF (the request message is sent between trusted non-3GPP access and AMF hence, the request message is a N2 request according to - [0112] N2: Reference point between the (R)AN and the AMF)) including the CN tunnel information ([0223] Step 8 (of Fig 7): The SMF selects one or more UPFs; [0227] Step 11: The SMF transmits a N1N2Message Transfer message... to the AMF; [0228] The N1N2Message Transfer message may include N2 SM information. The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; [0287] When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU session: [0288] If the UE is registered to the same PLMN over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses... The AMF informs the SMF that the UE is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of user-plane resources on both accesses and two N3/N9 tunnels (hence the CN tunnel information) between PSA and the RAN/AN; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access);
receiving, from the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), an N2 response (Fig. 14 – Step 4. Initial UE Context Setup Request/Response; (the response is a N2 response according to [0112];)) including access network (AN) tunnel information ([0244] The N2 PDU Session Response message may include PDU session ID, Cause, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, AN Tunnel Info; [0401] Step 2: The UE registers over a trusted non-3GPP access with a new registration type “non-3GPP access switching”; [0406] Step 3: The AMF may perform authentication procedure based on existing procedure; Fig. 14 - Step 4 Initial UE Context Setup Request/Response (between the AMF to the TNGF); Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; (Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access... there may be three user plane tunnels... in the UE and UPF (SMF needs to provide UPF with AN tunnel info in order to establish user plane tunnel with UE and UPF according to [0246];). When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access); and
transmitting, to the SMF (Fig. 14 – Step 5, 9), a second PDU session update request message ([0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 before performing step 8. If the AMF has transmitted such signaling to all SMFs managing multiple PDU sessions and/or multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling. If the AMF does not receive a response from the SMF for a period of time, an AN release procedure may be performed in step 9; [0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released. Also, user plane resources of single access PDU session is deactivated (AMF transmits PDU session update request to the SMF, to deactivate a PDU session according to [0434] the AMF may deactivate the PDU session to eliminate the impact on the SMF that manages the normal PDU session. This may be done by transmitting Nsmf_PDUSession_Update_SMContext request with the operation type set to “UP deactivate”)) including the AN tunnel information (Fig. 14 - Step 4; Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0401]; [0244] Step 14 (of Fig. 8): The (R)AN transmits a N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF. The N2 PDU Session Response message may include... N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, AN Tunnel Info... etc; [0245] Step 15: The AMF transmits an Update SM Context Request message... to the SMF. The AMF forwards the N2 SM information received from (R)AN to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; (Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access... there may be three user plane tunnels... in the UE and UPF (SMF needs to provide UPF with AN tunnel info in order to establish user plane tunnel with UE and UPF according to [0246];). When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access... the N2 information is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access), wherein the AN tunnel information (Fig. 14 - Step 4; Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0244]; [0245];) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; [0410];) is associated with switching traffic from a source access network to the target access network ([0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released... When the UE and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE and UPF starts to transmit traffic over trusted non-3GPP access; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
Thus, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 11, 16 and 21, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 6. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 6. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for the dependent claims.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 6-13 and 16-23, the words first and second are interpreted as labels to differentiate between components and do not impart any additional structural limitations.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The acronym CN tunnel information and AN tunnel information are not clearly defined in the specification (e.g., Core network (CN) tunnel information).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7, 11-13, 16-17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YOUN et al (US 20250168801 A1, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application Nos. 63/323,508, filed on Mar. 25, 2022, hereinafter, YOUN).
Regarding claim 6, YOUN discloses:
A method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 14; [0010] In another aspect, a method performed by an AMF adapted to operate in a wireless communication system is provided), the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) via a target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), a registration request message (Fig. 14; Step 2) including an indication of an access path switching in a multi-access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session and a list of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions to be activated ([0010] The method comprises, performing a first registration procedure for a UE over a first non-3GPP access, and receiving a registration request message of a second registration procedure from the UE over a second non-3GPP access (trusted non-3GPP access). The registration request message includes, i) information about an access switching from the first non-3GPP access to the second non-3GPP access, and ii) information about a Multi-Access (MA) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session related to the access switching; [0331] In some implementations, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message… based on an indication that the access switching in non-3GPP accesses is supported for the MA PDU session. Or, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a separate Information Element (IE) in the registration request message);
transmitting, to a session management function (SMF) (Fig. 7; Step 3; Fig. 14 – Step 5. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request), a first PDU session update request message ([0211] Step 3:…If the AMF already has an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “existing PDU Session”), the AMF invokes Update SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request)) including the indication of the access path switching ([0206] If the Request Type indicates “Existing PDU Session” referring to an existing PDU session moved between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access… the PDU session establishment procedure can be performed in the following cases: [0207] the SMF ID corresponding to the PDU session ID and the AMF belong to the same PLMN) and the list of PDU sessions to be activated ([0331] the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message… based on an indication that the access switching in non-3GPP accesses is supported for the MA PDU session);
receiving, from the SMF (Fig. 7 – Step 5; Fig. 14 – Step 6 - Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response), a response to the first PDU session update request message ([0217] Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message… or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3), the response including core network (CN) tunnel information ([0223] Step 8 (of Fig 7): The SMF selects one or more UPFs; [0227] Step 11: The SMF transmits a N1N2Message Transfer message... to the AMF; [0228] The N1N2Message Transfer message may include N2 SM information. The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; [0287] When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU session: [0288] If the UE is registered to the same PLMN over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses... The AMF informs the SMF that the UE is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of user-plane resources on both accesses and two N3/N9 tunnels (hence the CN tunnel information) between PSA and the RAN/AN; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access);
transmitting, to the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), an N2 request (Fig. 7 - Step 12; [0239] Step 12: The AMF sends... the N2 SM information received from the SMF within the N2 PDU Session Request message to the (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network); Fig. 14; [0407] Step 4: The AMF sends Initial UE Context Setup Request message to the TNGF (the request message is sent between trusted non-3GPP access and AMF hence, the request message is a N2 request according to - [0112] N2: Reference point between the (R)AN and the AMF)) including the CN tunnel information ([0239] Step 12: The AMF sends... the N2 SM information received from the SMF within the N2 PDU Session Request message to the (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network); [0228] The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access (e.g., the AMF forward the N2 information to the TNGF));
receiving, from the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), an N2 response (Fig. 8 – Step 14; [0244] Step 14: The (R)AN transmits a N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF; Fig. 14 – Step 4. Initial Context Setup Request/Response; (the response is a N2 response according to [0112];)) including access network (AN) tunnel information ([0244] The N2 PDU Session Response message may include PDU session ID, Cause, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, AN Tunnel Info; [0401] Step 2: The UE registers over a trusted non-3GPP access with a new registration type “non-3GPP access switching”; [0406] Step 3: The AMF may perform authentication procedure based on existing procedure; Fig. 14 - Step 4 Initial UE Context Setup Request/Response (between the AMF to the TNGF); Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 - Step 15; [0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access... there may be three user plane tunnels... in the UE and UPF (SMF provides UPF with AN tunnel info in order to establish user plane tunnel with UE and UPF according to [0246];). When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access); and
transmitting, to the SMF (Fig. 8 – Step 15; Fig. 14 – Step 5), a second PDU session update request message ([0245] Step 15: The AMF transmits an Update SM Context Request message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the SMF; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 (PDU Session Update SM Context Request)... If the AMF has transmitted... multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling) including the AN tunnel information ([0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response; [0410];) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 - Step 15; [0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; [0410];), wherein the AN tunnel information for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0245]; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6; [0410];) is associated with switching traffic from a source access network to the target access network ([0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0189] FIGS. 7 and 8 show an example of a PDU session establishment procedure to which implementations of the present disclosure are applied; [0414] Step 9 (of Fig 14): The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released... When the UE and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE and UPF starts to transmit traffic over trusted non-3GPP access; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 7, YOUN further discloses:
the method of claim 6, further comprising transmitting, to the UE via the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), a registration accept message in response to the registration request message (Fig. 14 step 10; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 11, YOUN discloses:
a method performed by a session management function (SMF) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 14; Fig. 17), the method comprising:
Receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Fig. 7; Step 3; Fig. 14 – step 5 Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request; [0408] Step 5: After the Initial UE Context Setup procedure is completed, the AMF notifies to the SMF that the UE requested non-3GPP access switching), a first protocol data unit (PDU) session update request message ([0211] Step 3:…If the AMF already has an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “existing PDU Session”), the AMF invokes Update SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request)) including an indication of an path switching in a multi-access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 17; [0426] Step 1: The UE is registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU session. During the MA PDU session establishment, the UE may indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching to the SMF (AMF relays the PDU request message indicating N3GPP access switching from the UE to SMF). Considering the received capabilities of the UE, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF may indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE in the PDU session establishment accept message (SMF received PDU request message and then transmitted a PDU accept message back to the UE through AMF)) and a list of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions to be activated ([0331] In some implementations, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message… based on an indication that the access switching in non-3GPP accesses is supported for the MA PDU session. Or, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a separate Information Element (IE) in the registration request message),
wherein the indication of the access path switching ([0426];) and the list of PDU sessions to be activated ([0331];) are included in a registration request message ([0009] transmitting a registration request message of a second registration procedure to an Access and mobility Management Function (AMF) over a second non-3GPP access. The registration request message includes, i) information about an access switching from the first non-3GPP access to the second non-3GPP access, and ii) information about a Multi-Access (MA) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session related to the access switching; [0031] the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message;) transmitted from the UE to the AMF via a target access network ([0009] a method performed by a User Equipment (UE)... performing a first registration procedure over a first non-3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access, and transmitting a registration request message of a second registration procedure to an Access and mobility Management Function (AMF) over a second non-3GPP access (trusted non-3GPP access, target access network);
transmitting, to the AMF, a response (Fig. 7 – Step 5; Fig. 14; step 6 Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the first PDU session update request messages (Fig. 14 – step 5 Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request; [0408] Step 5: After the Initial UE Context Setup procedure is completed, the AMF notifies to the SMF that the UE requested non-3GPP access switching), the response including core network (CN) tunnel information ([0223] Step 8 (of Fig 7): The SMF selects one or more UPFs; [0227] Step 11: The SMF transmits a N1N2Message Transfer message... to the AMF; [0228] The N1N2Message Transfer message may include N2 SM information. The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; [0287] When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU session: [0288] If the UE is registered to the same PLMN over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses... The AMF informs the SMF that the UE is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of user-plane resources on both accesses and two N3/N9 tunnels (hence the CN tunnel information) between PSA and the RAN/AN), wherein the CN tunnel information is delivered to the target access network ([0228] The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access (target access network)), and
receiving, from the AMF (Fig. 8 – Step 15; Fig. 14 – Step 5), a second PDU session update request message ([0245] Step 15: The AMF transmits an Update SM Context Request message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the SMF; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 (PDU Session Update SM Context Request)... If the AMF has transmitted... multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling) including access network (AN) tunnel information ([0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response; [0410];) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 - Step 15; [0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; [0410];), wherein the AN tunnel information for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0245]; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6; [0410];) is associated with switching traffic from a source access network to the target access network ([0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0189] FIGS. 7 and 8 show an example of a PDU session establishment procedure to which implementations of the present disclosure are applied; [0414] Step 9 (of Fig 14): The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released... When the UE and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE and UPF starts to transmit traffic over trusted non-3GPP access; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 12, YOUN further discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, from the AMF (Fig. 7 step 3), a PDU session create request message ([0211] (3) Step 3: If the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “initial request”), the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request). If the AMF already has an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “existing PDU Session”), the AMF invokes Update SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request)); and
transmitting, to the AMF (Fig. 7 step 5), a PDU session create response message in response to the PDU session create request message ([0217] (5) Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response) or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3).
Regarding claim 13, YOUN further discloses the method of claim 12:
wherein the PDU session create request message ([0211] (3) Step 3: If the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “initial request”), the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request)) includes the indication of the access path switching, the list of PDU sessions to be activated ([0218] If the SMF received Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request in step 3 and the SMF is able to process the PDU session establishment request, the SMF creates an SM context and responds to the AMF by providing an SM Context ID; (PDU session establishment request includes the PDU session ID of the MA PDU session see [0200])), radio access technology (RAT) type information for the target access network, and RAT type information for the source access network ((PDU session create message is based on the PDU establishment request from the UE); [0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0400] During the MA PDU session establishment, the UE may indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching (both target and source access network are non-3GPP) in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access (RAT type is the same for both source and target access network) switching to the SMF).
Regarding claim 16, YOUN discloses:
an apparatus (Fig. 2 – second device; [0062] In the present disclosure, the second wireless device 200 may represent a communication modem/circuit/chip) configured to operate as an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 14; [0010] In another aspect, a method performed by an AMF adapted to operate in a wireless communication system is provided), the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 2 – transceiver 206); and
a controller (Fig. 2 – processing chip 201, processor 202; [0064] The one or more processors 102 and 202 may be referred to as controllers, microcontrollers) coupled with the transceiver and configured ([0052] In FIG. 2…The first wireless device 100 and/or the second wireless device 200 may be configured by various elements, devices/parts, and/or modules) to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) via a target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), a registration request message (Fig. 14; Step 2) including an indication of an access path switching in a multi-access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session and a list of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions to be activated ([0010] The method comprises, performing a first registration procedure for a UE over a first non-3GPP access, and receiving a registration request message of a second registration procedure from the UE over a second non-3GPP access (trusted non-3GPP access). The registration request message includes, i) information about an access switching from the first non-3GPP access to the second non-3GPP access, and ii) information about a Multi-Access (MA) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session related to the access switching; [0331] In some implementations, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message… based on an indication that the access switching in non-3GPP accesses is supported for the MA PDU session. Or, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a separate Information Element (IE) in the registration request message),
transmit, to a session management function (SMF) (Fig. 7; Step 3; Fig. 14 – Step 5. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request), a first PDU session update request message ([0211] Step 3:…If the AMF already has an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “existing PDU Session”), the AMF invokes Update SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request)) including the indication of the access path switching ([0206] If the Request Type indicates “Existing PDU Session” referring to an existing PDU session moved between 3GPP access and non-3GPP access… the PDU session establishment procedure can be performed in the following cases: [0207] the SMF ID corresponding to the PDU session ID and the AMF belong to the same PLMN) and the list of PDU sessions to be activated ([0331] the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message… based on an indication that the access switching in non-3GPP accesses is supported for the MA PDU session),
receive, from the SMF (Fig. 7 – Step 5; Fig. 14 – Step 6 - Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response), a response to the first PDU session update request message ([0217] Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message… or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3), the response including core network (CN) tunnel information ([0223] Step 8 (of Fig 7): The SMF selects one or more UPFs; [0227] Step 11: The SMF transmits a N1N2Message Transfer message... to the AMF; [0228] The N1N2Message Transfer message may include N2 SM information. The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; [0287] When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU session: [0288] If the UE is registered to the same PLMN over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses... The AMF informs the SMF that the UE is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of user-plane resources on both accesses and two N3/N9 tunnels (hence the CN tunnel information) between PSA and the RAN/AN; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access);
transmit, to the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), an N2 request (Fig. 7 - Step 12; [0239] Step 12: The AMF sends... the N2 SM information received from the SMF within the N2 PDU Session Request message to the (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network); Fig. 14; [0407] Step 4: The AMF sends Initial UE Context Setup Request message to the TNGF (the request message is sent between trusted non-3GPP access and AMF hence, the request message is a N2 request according to - [0112] N2: Reference point between the (R)AN and the AMF)) including the CN tunnel information ([0239] Step 12: The AMF sends... the N2 SM information received from the SMF within the N2 PDU Session Request message to the (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network); [0228] The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access (e.g., the AMF forward the N2 information to the TNGF));
receive, from the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), an N2 response (Fig. 8 – Step 14; [0244] Step 14: The (R)AN transmits a N2 PDU Session Response message to the AMF; Fig. 14 – Step 4. Initial Context Setup Request/Response; (the response is a N2 response according to [0112];)) including access network (AN) tunnel information ([0244] The N2 PDU Session Response message may include PDU session ID, Cause, N2 SM information (PDU Session ID, AN Tunnel Info; [0401] Step 2: The UE registers over a trusted non-3GPP access with a new registration type “non-3GPP access switching”; [0406] Step 3: The AMF may perform authentication procedure based on existing procedure; Fig. 14 - Step 4 Initial UE Context Setup Request/Response (between the AMF to the TNGF); Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 - Step 15; [0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access... there may be three user plane tunnels... in the UE and UPF (SMF provides UPF with AN tunnel info in order to establish user plane tunnel with UE and UPF according to [0246];). When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access); and
transmit, to the SMF (Fig. 8 – Step 15; Fig. 14 – Step 5), a second PDU session update request message ([0245] Step 15: The AMF transmits an Update SM Context Request message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the SMF; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 (PDU Session Update SM Context Request)... If the AMF has transmitted... multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling) including the AN tunnel information ([0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response; [0410];) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 - Step 15; [0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; [0410];), wherein the AN tunnel information for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0245]; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6; [0410];) is associated with switching traffic from a source access network to the target access network ([0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0189] FIGS. 7 and 8 show an example of a PDU session establishment procedure to which implementations of the present disclosure are applied; [0414] Step 9 (of Fig 14): The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released... When the UE and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE and UPF starts to transmit traffic over trusted non-3GPP access; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 17, YOUN further discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured ([0052];) to transmit, to the UE via the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), a registration accept message (Fig. 14 step 10; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access) in response to the registration request message (Fig. 14; Step 2).
Regarding claim 21, YOUN discloses:
an apparatus (Fig. 2 – second device; [0062] In the present disclosure, the second wireless device 200 may represent a communication modem/circuit/chip) configured to operate as a session management function (SMF) (Fig. 14; Fig. 17) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 14; [0010] In another aspect, a method performed by an AMF adapted to operate in a wireless communication system is provided… The method further comprises transmitting the information… to a Session Management Function (SMF)), the apparatus comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 2 – transceiver 206); and
a controller (Fig. 2 – processing chip 201, processor 202; [0064] The one or more processors 102 and 202 may be referred to as controllers, microcontrollers) coupled with the transceiver and configured ([0052] In FIG. 2…The first wireless device 100 and/or the second wireless device 200 may be configured by various elements, devices/parts, and/or modules) to:
receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), a first protocol data unit (PDU) session update request message ([0211] Step 3:…If the AMF already has an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “existing PDU Session”), the AMF invokes Update SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request)) including an indication of an access path switching in a multi-access protocol data unit (MA PDU) session of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 17; [0426] Step 1: The UE is registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU session. During the MA PDU session establishment, the UE may indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching to the SMF (AMF relays the PDU request message indicating N3GPP access switching from the UE to SMF). Considering the received capabilities of the UE, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF may indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE in the PDU session establishment accept message (SMF received PDU request message and then transmitted a PDU accept message back to the UE through AMF)) and a list of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions to be activated ([0331] In some implementations, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message… based on an indication that the access switching in non-3GPP accesses is supported for the MA PDU session. Or, the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a separate Information Element (IE) in the registration request message),
wherein the indication of the access path switching ([0426];) and the list of PDU sessions to be activated ([0331];) are included in a registration request message ([0009] transmitting a registration request message of a second registration procedure to an Access and mobility Management Function (AMF) over a second non-3GPP access. The registration request message includes, i) information about an access switching from the first non-3GPP access to the second non-3GPP access, and ii) information about a Multi-Access (MA) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session related to the access switching; [0031] the information about the MA PDU session may be included within a List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated in the registration request message;) transmitted from the UE to the AMF via a target access network ([0009] a method performed by a User Equipment (UE)... performing a first registration procedure over a first non-3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access, and transmitting a registration request message of a second registration procedure to an Access and mobility Management Function (AMF) over a second non-3GPP access (trusted non-3GPP access, target access network);
transmit, to the AMF, a response (Fig. 7 – Step 5; Fig. 14; step 6 Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the first PDU session update request message (Fig. 14 – step 5 Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request; [0408] Step 5: After the Initial UE Context Setup procedure is completed, the AMF notifies to the SMF that the UE requested non-3GPP access switching), the response including core network (CN) tunnel information ([0223] Step 8 (of Fig 7): The SMF selects one or more UPFs; [0227] Step 11: The SMF transmits a N1N2Message Transfer message... to the AMF; [0228] The N1N2Message Transfer message may include N2 SM information. The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; [0287] When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU session: [0288] If the UE is registered to the same PLMN over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses... The AMF informs the SMF that the UE is registered over both accesses and this triggers the establishment of user-plane resources on both accesses and two N3/N9 tunnels (hence the CN tunnel information) between PSA and the RAN/AN), wherein the CN tunnel information is delivered to the target access network ([0228] The N2 SM information carries information that the AMF shall forward to the (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) which may include: [0229] The CN Tunnel Info: Core network address(es) of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session; Fig. 14 – Step 6 – N2 information; [0410] Steps 6-7: The SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there may be three user plane tunnels (i.e., 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF may indicate the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the N2 information (contains information of the user plane tunnel of the UPF, hence the CN tunnel information) is delivered to the trusted non-3GPP access (target access network)), and
receive, from the AMF (Fig. 8 – Step 15; Fig. 14 – Step 5), a second PDU session update request message ([0245] Step 15: The AMF transmits an Update SM Context Request message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request) to the SMF; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 (PDU Session Update SM Context Request)... If the AMF has transmitted... multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling) including access network (AN) tunnel information ([0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6 UpdateSMContext Request/Response; [0410];) for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 - Step 15; [0245] Step 15: The AMF forwards the N2 SM information (e.g., AN tunnel info) received from (R)AN (e.g., TNGF, target access network) to the SMF; [0410];), wherein the AN tunnel information for the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access; Fig. 8 – Step 14-15; [0245]; Fig. 14 – Step 5-6; [0410];) is associated with switching traffic from a source access network to the target access network ([0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0189] FIGS. 7 and 8 show an example of a PDU session establishment procedure to which implementations of the present disclosure are applied; [0414] Step 9 (of Fig 14): The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released... When the UE and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE and UPF starts to transmit traffic over trusted non-3GPP access; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
Regarding claim 22, YOUN further discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the controller is further configured ([0052];) to:
receive, from the AMF (Fig. 7 step 3), a PDU session create request message ([0211] Step 3: If the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “initial request”), the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request). If the AMF already has an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “existing PDU Session”), the AMF invokes Update SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request)), and
transmit, to the AMF (Fig. 7 step 5), a PDU session create response message in response to the PDU session create request message ([0217] (5) Step 5: The SMF transmits either Create SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response) or Update SM Context Response message (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response) to the AMF, depending on the request received in step 3).
Regarding claim 23, YOUN further discloses the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the PDU session create request message ([0211] (3) Step 3: If the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE (e.g., when Request Type indicates “initial request”), the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request)) includes the indication of the access path switching, the list of PDU sessions to be activated ([0218] If the SMF received Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request in step 3 and the SMF is able to process the PDU session establishment request, the SMF creates an SM context and responds to the AMF by providing an SM Context ID; (PDU session establishment request includes the PDU session ID of the MA PDU session see [0200])), radio access technology (RAT) type information for the target access network, and RAT type information for the source access network ((PDU session create message is based on the PDU establishment request from the UE); [0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0400] During the MA PDU session establishment, the UE may indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching (both target and source access network are non-3GPP) in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access (RAT type is the same for both source and target access network) switching to the SMF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOUN in view of Wong et al (US 20230308971 A1, hereinafter Wong).
Regarding claim 8, YOUN further discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising a timer corresponding to a time required to switch a determined access path (Fig. 14 – Step 6; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF (a timer) in step 5 before performing step 8. If the AMF has transmitted such signaling to all SMFs managing multiple PDU sessions and/or multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling. If the AMF does not receive a response from the SMF for a period of time (timer expires), an AN release procedure may be performed in step 9; [0438] Step 9: After receiving Numd_UECM_DeregistrationNotify; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access). YOUN does not explicitly disclose starting, the timer, wherein the timer is a deregistration timer.
However, Wong discloses starting, a deregistration timer (Fig. 2C – step 390; [0083] After the UE (102) has switched the MA PDU session to path#2 from path#1, the UE (102) may release the N1 connection associated with path#1 by performing 5G deregistration procedure with AMF (122) or AMF (122) may perform network initiated deregistration when MA PDU session has been established over path #2 and UE has not initiated the deregistration procedure after some waiting period; [0088] For network initiated clean up procedure, AMF (122) starts in 392 in FIG. 2C without waiting for the UE (102) to send the 4G de-registration message 392 in step 390).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the timer of YOUN to include starting, a deregistration timer as taught by Wong in order to free up network resources that are not being used (Wong – [0052] In step 422 the AMF 122 generates and sends N2 UE context release message 424 to N3GPP access network #A. In step 426 the N3GPP access network #A receives the UE context release message and release resources related to UE 102 and path#1; YOUN - [0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released).
Regarding claim 9, YOUN further discloses the method, further comprising;
receiving , from the UE via the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), a PDU session establishment message ([0400] Step 1: The UE is registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU session; [0401] Step 2: The UE registers over a trusted non-3GPP access with a new registration type “non-3GPP access switching”) including the indication of the access path switching and a PDU session identifier (ID) ([0200] The PDU Session Establishment Request message includes a PDU session ID, Requested PDU Session Type, a Requested session) of the MA PDU session; and
transmitting, to the SMF, a PDU session create request message (Fig. 7 – Step 3; [0211] Step 3: If the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE… the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request)) including the indication of the access path switching, the PDU session ID of the MA PDU session ([0218] If the SMF received Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request in step 3 and the SMF is able to process the PDU session establishment request (PDU session establishment request includes the PDU session ID of the MA PDU session see [0200])), radio access technology (RAT) type information for the target access network, and RAT type information for the source access network ((PDU session create message is based on the PDU establishment request from the UE); [0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0400] During the MA PDU session establishment, the UE may indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching (both target and source access network are non-3GPP) in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access (RAT type is the same for both source and target access network) switching to the SMF).
Regarding claim 10, YOUN further discloses the method, further comprising terminating a PDU session for the source access network ([0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released. Also, user plane resources of single access PDU session is deactivated) in case that the timer expires (Fig. 14 – Step 6; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 before performing step 8. If the AMF has transmitted such signaling to all SMFs managing multiple PDU sessions and/or multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling. If the AMF does not receive a response from the SMF for a period of time (timer expires), an AN release procedure may be performed in step 9).
YOUN does not explicitly disclose the timer is a deregistration timer.
However, Wong discloses a deregistration timer (Fig. 2C – step 390; [0083] After the UE (102) has switched the MA PDU session to path#2 from path#1, the UE (102) may release the N1 connection associated with path#1 by performing 5G deregistration procedure with AMF (122) or AMF (122) may perform network initiated deregistration when MA PDU session has been established over path #2 and UE has not initiated the deregistration procedure after some waiting period; [0088] For network initiated clean up procedure, AMF (122) starts in 392 in FIG. 2C without waiting for the UE (102) to send the 4G de-registration message 392 in step 390). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the timer of YOUN and Wong to include the deregistration timer as taught by Wong in order to free up network resources that are not being used (Wong – [0052] In step 422 the AMF 122 generates and sends N2 UE context release message 424 to N3GPP access network #A. In step 426 the N3GPP access network #A receives the UE context release message and release resources related to UE 102 and path#1; YOUN - [0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released).
Regarding claim 18, YOUN further discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the controller is further configured ([0052];) to start a timer corresponding to a time required to switch a determined access path (Fig. 14 – Step 6; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF (a timer) in step 5 before performing step 8. If the AMF has transmitted such signaling to all SMFs managing multiple PDU sessions and/or multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling. If the AMF does not receive a response from the SMF for a period of time (timer expires), an AN release procedure may be performed in step 9; [0438] Step 9: After receiving Numd_UECM_DeregistrationNotify; [0415] Step 10: The AMF transmits a registration accept message to the UE. When the UE receives the registration accept message, the UE considers that the UE is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access).
YOUN does not explicitly disclose start, the timer, wherein the timer is a deregistration timer.
However, Wong discloses start, a timer, wherein the timer a deregistration timer (Fig. 2C – step 390; [0083] After the UE (102) has switched the MA PDU session to path#2 from path#1, the UE (102) may release the N1 connection associated with path#1 by performing 5G deregistration procedure with AMF (122) or AMF (122) may perform network initiated deregistration when MA PDU session has been established over path #2 and UE has not initiated the deregistration procedure after some waiting period; [0088] For network initiated clean up procedure, AMF (122) starts in 392 in FIG. 2C without waiting for the UE (102) to send the 4G de-registration message 392 in step 390).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the timer of YOUN to include start, the deregistration timer as taught by Wong in order to free up network resources (Wong – [0052] In step 422 the AMF 122 generates and sends N2 UE context release message 424 to N3GPP access network #A. In step 426 the N3GPP access network #A receives the UE context release message and release resources related to UE 102 and path#1; YOUN - [0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released).
Regarding claim 19, YOUN further discloses the apparatus, wherein the controller is further configured ([0052];) to:
receive, from the UE via the target access network (trusted non-3GPP access), a PDU session establishment message ([0400] Step 1: The UE is registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU session; [0401] Step 2: The UE registers over a trusted non-3GPP access with a new registration type “non-3GPP access switching”) including the indication of the access path switching and a PDU session identifier (ID) ([0200] The PDU Session Establishment Request message includes a PDU session ID, Requested PDU Session Type, a Requested session) of the MA PDU session, and
transmit, to the SMF, a PDU session create request message (Fig. 7 – Step 3; [0211] Step 3: If the AMF does not have an association with an SMF for the PDU session ID provided by the UE… the AMF invokes Create SM Context Request procedure (e.g., Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request)) including the indication of the access path switching, the PDU session ID of the MA PDU session ([0218] If the SMF received Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request in step 3 and the SMF is able to process the PDU session establishment request (PDU session establishment request includes the PDU session ID of the MA PDU session see [0200])), radio access technology (RAT) type information for the target access network, and RAT type information for the source access network ((PDU session create message is based on the PDU establishment request from the UE); [0399] In the procedure of FIG. 14, it is assumed that the UE is registered over an untrusted non-3GPP access (source) first and then switches to a trusted non-3GPP access (target); [0400] During the MA PDU session establishment, the UE may indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching (both target and source access network are non-3GPP) in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access (RAT type is the same for both source and target access network) switching to the SMF).
Regarding claim 20, YOUN further discloses the apparatus, wherein the controller is further configured ([0052];) to terminate a PDU session for the source access network ([0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released. Also, user plane resources of single access PDU session is deactivated) in case that the timer expires (Fig. 14 – Step 6; [0412] The AMF may wait for a response to the signaling transmitted to the SMF in step 5 before performing step 8. If the AMF has transmitted such signaling to all SMFs managing multiple PDU sessions and/or multiple signaling to one SMF managing multiple PDU sessions, the AMF may wait until it receives a response to all signaling. If the AMF does not receive a response from the SMF for a period of time (timer expires), an AN release procedure may be performed in step 9).
YOUN does not explicitly disclose the timer is a deregistration timer.
However, Wong discloses a deregistration timer (Fig. 2C – step 390; [0083] After the UE (102) has switched the MA PDU session to path#2 from path#1, the UE (102) may release the N1 connection associated with path#1 by performing 5G deregistration procedure with AMF (122) or AMF (122) may perform network initiated deregistration when MA PDU session has been established over path #2 and UE has not initiated the deregistration procedure after some waiting period; [0088] For network initiated clean up procedure, AMF (122) starts in 392 in FIG. 2C without waiting for the UE (102) to send the 4G de-registration message 392 in step 390). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the timer of YOUN and Wong to include the deregistration timer as taught by Wong in order to free up network resources (Wong – [0052] In step 422 the AMF 122 generates and sends N2 UE context release message 424 to N3GPP access network #A. In step 426 the N3GPP access network #A receives the UE context release message and release resources related to UE 102 and path#1; YOUN - [0414] Step 9: The AMF performs AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU is completely released).
Conclusion
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418