DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2018/0364976 A1 to Stone (hereinafter “Stone”) in view of US Publication No. 2016/0063876 A1 to Javidan et al. (hereinafter “Javidan”).
Concerning claim 1, Stone discloses an interactive reading system (Abstract) comprising:
a book having a first book cover and a second book cover, the first book cover is located opposite to the second book cover (Figs. 1 and 2, paragraph [0034]);
a plurality of pages located between the first and the second book covers (Figs. 1 and 2, paragraph [0034]);
an interactive reading system integrated into a cavity located on the book cover (Figs. 1 and 2, paragraph [0035]);
wherein the interactive reading system comprises a housing having on a first side: a control module (paragraphs [0084]-[0086]);
a keyboard connected to the control module (paragraphs [0053]-[0059]);
a memory connected to the control module (paragraph [0049]);
wherein the housing comprises on a second side (paragraph [0034]):
a speaker connected to the control module for playing the recorded audio messages (paragraphs [0035], [0048]);
a compartment adapted to house batteries (Fig. 4, paragraph [0048]);
a headphone connected to the control module (paragraph [0015]);
wherein the device enabled for receiving, storing, and playing audio information (paragraphs [0076]-[0078], [0086]).
Stone lacks specifically disclosing, however, Javidan discloses an audio input device connected to the control module for recording the audio messages (paragraphs [0031], [0048], [0085], [0100], [0118]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the audio input as disclosed by Javidan in the system of Stone in order to create a more interactive system, thereby increasing user interest.
Concerning claim 2, Stone lacks specifically disclosing, however, Javidan discloses wherein the audio input device is a microphone (paragraphs [0031], [0048], [0085], [0100], [0118]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the audio input as disclosed by Javidan in the system of Stone in order to create a more interactive system, thereby increasing user interest.
Concerning claim 3, Stone discloses wherein the book pages include a touching interactive region (paragraphs [0053]-[0059]).
Concerning claim 4, Stone discloses wherein the plurality of pages of the book includes text and images (paragraphs [0011], [0055]).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone, Javidan, and further in view of US Publication No. 2016/0343264 A1 to Murdock et al. (hereinafter “Murdock”).
Concerning claim 5, Stone lacks disclosing, however, Murdock discloses wherein the keyboard is a touch screen (paragraphs [0024], [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the input as disclosed by Murdock in the system of Stone in order to create a more interactive system, thereby increasing user interest.
Concerning claim 6, Stone lacks disclosing, however, Murdock discloses further including a visual recording device (paragraphs [0034], [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the recording device as disclosed by Murdock in the system of Stone in order to create a more interactive system, thereby increasing user interest.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone, Javidan, and further in view of US Publication No. 2022/0375359 A1 to Lewis et al. (hereinafter “Lewis”).
Concerning claim 7, Stone lacks specifically disclosing, however, Lewis discloses wherein a password is required to access the system (Figs. 26a-26c, column 40, line 39 – column 42, line 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the password security as disclosed by Lewis in the system of Stone in order to create a more secure system.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone, Javidan, Lewis, and further in view of US Publication No. 2010/0248204 A1 to Meyering (hereinafter “Meyering”).
Concerning claim 8, Stone discloses a method for recording a reading audio of a text taken from a book and then playing back the recorded message to a further user (paragraphs [0076]-[0078], [0086]), the method comprising the steps of: (see the rejection of claim 1).
Stone lacks disclosing, however, Javidan discloses selecting a page number on the book to start reading the book by using the required key on the keyboard; starting to read the text on the selected page (paragraphs [0031], [0043]-[0048], [0055], [0085], [0100], [0118]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the audio input as disclosed by Javidan in the system of Stone in order to create a more interactive system, thereby increasing user interest.
Stone lacks disclosing, however, Lewis discloses entering a password through the keyboard (Figs. 26a-26c, column 40, line 39 – column 42, line 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the password security as disclosed by Lewis in the system of Stone in order to create a more secure system.
Stone lacks disclosing, however, Meyering discloses, recording the reading text by pressing an enter key on the keyboard; once the recording step is finished, pressing the enter key to save the recorded reading text in the memory; and pressing the play key to enter the desired page number to retry the recorded message, to select a recording mode (Fig. 4, paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention incorporate the audio input as disclosed by Meyering in the system of Stone in order to create a more interactive system, thereby increasing user interest.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715