DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
In addition, new claims 14 and 15 will make the method claims of “a method of manufacturing a display panel (claims 7-11, 14 and 15)” distinguishes from the product claims of “a display panel (claims 1-6)” as process of making and product made because product claims can be made by another and materially different process, such as a photomask with a plurality of first light-transmitting portions without the annular second light-transmitting portion, or using a printing method.
For the purpose of examination and keeping elected method claims 7-11, new claims 14 and 15 will not considered and should be withdrawn or cancelled based on the previous election on 06/16/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Three phases “first sidewall” in claim 1, line 6 and claim 7, line 5, need to be “first side wall”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3,4,6,7,9 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim limitations “all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array and have a same size” in claims 1 and 7 was not described in the original disclosure because there is not disclose about all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures have a same size, but the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures have different sizes from each other.
Also, dependent claims 3,4,6, 9 and 11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claims 1,3,4,6,7,9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the claim limitation “all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array and have a same size” is considered to be indefinite. The claim limitation “all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array and have a same size” appear to contradict the disclosure. Fig.5, claim 4 and original claim 5 discloses the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures have different sizes (such as different diameter or different curvature). Therefore, it is indefinite.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the above limitation as - - “all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array, the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size different from the first same size” - -.
Also, dependent Claims 3,4,6, 9 and 11 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 4, the claim limitation “a curvature of the first side wall is greater than a curvature of the second side wall” fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 because when the diameter is shorter, the curvature is bigger. Therefore, when “a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring” cited in claim 1, “a curvature of the first side wall should be less than a curvature of the second side wall” (see para.108 and 109 of current application).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, comprising:
a substrate (101, or 501);
a driving element layer (at least TFT) disposed on a surface of the substrate;
an organic layer (104, or 504) disposed on a surface of the driving element layer away from the substrate (see at least figs.7 and 10), wherein the organic layer comprises a plurality of first convex structures (125 or 525), and each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (see figs.6-8 and 10); and
a reflective layer (PE (117 with 118), see para.54, or 518) disposed on a side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6 and 10), each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10),
wherein the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), a first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and an outer wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) connected in sequence, and an inclination angle of the first inclined wall is in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (10°, see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see at least figs.5 and 9), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) connected to the outer wall, each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) corresponding to the first convex ring.
Kim does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size. However, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring in order to have the second same size different from the first same size, since The Applicant has not disclosed that a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a diameter of the second convex ring is greater than or equal to a diameter of the first convex ring (see para.110 of the current application discloses “a diameter of the second convex ring maybe greater than or equal to a diameter of the first convex ring” as well) for the purpose of improving diffuse reflectivity to the incident light and improving display effect.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the second side wall comprises a second inclined wall corresponding to the first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and an inclination angle of the second inclined wall is equal or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, Kim does not explicitly disclose a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall. However, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall in order to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size, since The Applicant has not disclosed that a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a curvature of the first side wall is greater than or equal to a curvature of the second side wall (see para.107 and 108 of current application) for the purpose of improving diffuse reflectivity to the incident light and improving display effect.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, comprising:
disposing a material of an organic layer (104 or 504) on a driving element layer (TFT);
treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask (400) to form the organic layer having a plurality of first convex structures (125 or 525), wherein each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (see figs.8B 6 and 10), the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10), a first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10), and an outer wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10) connected in sequence, and the first inclined wall has an inclination angle in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (10°, see at least figs.6, 8B and 10); and
disposing a reflective layer (PE (117 with 118), para.54 or 518) on a side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), and each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see at least figs.6,8C and 10),
wherein the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see at least figs.6,8C and 10).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size. However, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring in order to have the second same size different from the first same size, since The Applicant has not disclosed that a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a diameter of the second convex ring is greater than or equal to a diameter of the first convex ring (see para.110 of the current application discloses “a diameter of the second convex ring maybe greater than or equal to a diameter of the first convex ring” as well) for the purpose of improving diffuse reflectivity to the incident light and improving display effect.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the step of disposing the reflective layer on the side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer comprises: disposing a reflective material (see at least figs.8C and 10) on a side of the first inclined wall away from the driving element layer to form a second inclined wall (see at least figs.8C and 10), wherein the second inclined wall has an inclination angle equal to or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see at least figs.8C and 10).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhong US 2022/0308409.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.5 and 9), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.5 and 9).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner.
Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images (para.65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner as taught by Zhong in the display panel of Kim for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhong US 2022/0308409.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.5 and 9), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.5 and 9).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner.
Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images (para.65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner as taught by Zhong in the display panel of Kim for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 in view of Kaneko US 2004/0135763.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, comprising:
a substrate (101, or 501);
a driving element layer (at least TFT) disposed on a surface of the substrate;
an organic layer (104, or 504) disposed on a surface of the driving element layer away from the substrate (see at least figs.7 and 10), wherein the organic layer comprises a plurality of first convex structures (125 or 525), and each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (see figs.6-8 and 10); and
a reflective layer (PE (117 with 118), see para.54, or 518) disposed on a side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6 and 10), each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10),
wherein the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), a first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and an outer wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) connected in sequence, and an inclination angle of the first inclined wall is in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (10°, see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see at least figs.5 and 9), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) connected to the outer wall, each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) corresponding to the first convex ring.
Kim does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Kaneko discloses a display panel, in at least figs.11a and 11b, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 4) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 2) and the second same size different from the first same size (see fig.11A, the thickness of 4 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Kaneko in the display panel of Kim for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the second side wall comprises a second inclined wall corresponding to the first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and an inclination angle of the second inclined wall is equal or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, Kaneko discloses a display panel, in at least figs.11a and 11b, a curvature of the first side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 2) is less than a curvature of the second side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 4)(see fig.11A, the thickness of 4 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring, so that a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall) for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio (para.9). The reason for combining is the same as claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, comprising:
disposing a material of an organic layer (104 or 504) on a driving element layer (TFT);
treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask (400) to form the organic layer having a plurality of first convex structures (125 or 525), wherein each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (see figs.8B 6 and 10), the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10), a first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10), and an outer wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10) connected in sequence, and the first inclined wall has an inclination angle in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (10°, see at least figs.6, 8B and 10); and
disposing a reflective layer (PE (117 with 118), para.54 or 518) on a side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), and each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see at least figs.6,8C and 10),
wherein the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see at least figs.6,8C and 10).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Kaneko discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.11a and 11b, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 4) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 2) and the second same size different from the first same size (see fig.11A, the thickness of 4 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Kaneko in the method of manufacturing the display panel of Kim for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the step of disposing the reflective layer on the side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer comprises: disposing a reflective material (see at least figs.8C and 10) on a side of the first inclined wall away from the driving element layer to form a second inclined wall (see at least figs.8C and 10), wherein the second inclined wall has an inclination angle equal to or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see at least figs.8C and 10).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 in view of Kaneko US 2004/0135763 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhong US 2022/0308409.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.5 and 9), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.5 and 9).
Kim in view of Kaneko does not explicitly disclose the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner.
Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images (para.65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner as taught by Zhong in the display panel of Kim in view of Kaneko for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 in view of Kaneko US 2004/0135763 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhong US 2022/0308409.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.5 and 9), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.5 and 9).
Kim in view of Kaneko does not explicitly disclose the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner.
Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images (para.65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner as taught by Zhong in the display panel of Kim in view of Kaneko for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 in view of Hanazawa US 2002/0113926.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, comprising:
a substrate (101, or 501);
a driving element layer (at least TFT) disposed on a surface of the substrate;
an organic layer (104, or 504) disposed on a surface of the driving element layer away from the substrate (see at least figs.7 and 10), wherein the organic layer comprises a plurality of first convex structures (125 or 525), and each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (see figs.6-8 and 10); and
a reflective layer (PE (117 with 118), see para.54, or 518) disposed on a side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6 and 10), each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10),
wherein the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), a first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and an outer wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) connected in sequence, and an inclination angle of the first inclined wall is in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (10°, see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see at least figs.5 and 9), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) connected to the outer wall, each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10) corresponding to the first convex ring.
Kim does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Hanazawa discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-12, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 77) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 76) and the second same size different from the first same size (see figs.2 and 12, the thickness of 77 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Hanazawa in the display panel of Kim for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the second side wall comprises a second inclined wall corresponding to the first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10), and an inclination angle of the second inclined wall is equal or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 4, Hanazawa discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-12, a curvature of the first side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 76) is less than a curvature of the second side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 77)(see figs.2 and 12, the thickness of 77 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring, so that a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall) for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light (para.9). The reason for combining is the same as claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, comprising:
disposing a material of an organic layer (104 or 504) on a driving element layer (TFT);
treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask (400) to form the organic layer having a plurality of first convex structures (125 or 525), wherein each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (see figs.8B 6 and 10), the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10), a first inclined wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10), and an outer wall (see at least figs.6, 8B and 10) connected in sequence, and the first inclined wall has an inclination angle in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (10°, see at least figs.6, 8B and 10); and
disposing a reflective layer (PE (117 with 118), para.54 or 518) on a side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), and each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see at least figs.6,8C and 10),
wherein the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see at least figs.6,8C and 10), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see at least figs.6,8C and 10).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Hanazawa discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.1-12, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 77) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 76) and the second same size different from the first same size (see figs.2 and 12, the thickness of 77 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Hanazawa in the method of manufacturing a display panel of Kim for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the step of disposing the reflective layer on the side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer comprises: disposing a reflective material (see at least figs.8C and 10) on a side of the first inclined wall away from the driving element layer to form a second inclined wall (see at least figs.8C and 10), wherein the second inclined wall has an inclination angle equal to or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see at least figs.8C and 10).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 in view of Hanazawa US 2002/0113926 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhong US 2022/0308409.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.5 and 9), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.5 and 9).
Kim in view of Hanazawa does not explicitly disclose the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner.
Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images (para.65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner as taught by Zhong in the display panel of Kim in view of Hanazawa for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2007/0139591 in view of Hanazawa US 2002/0113926 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Zhong US 2022/0308409.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.5 and 9), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.5 and 9).
Kim in view of Hanazawa does not explicitly disclose the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner.
Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images (para.65).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner as taught by Zhong in the display panel of Kim in view of Hanazawa for the purpose of improving display brightness, contrast of the display panel and display quality of the images.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong US 2022/0308409 in view of Kim US 2007/0139591 and Kaneko US 2004/0135763.
Regarding claim 1, Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, comprising:
a substrate (100);
a driving element layer (includes at least TFT and 101-104) disposed on a surface of the substrate;
a layer (107) disposed on a surface of the driving element layer away from the substrate, wherein the layer comprises a plurality of first convex structures (see figs.3 and 5), and each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (para.17 and fig.5); and
a reflective layer (106) disposed on a side of the layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see fig.3), each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see fig.3),
wherein the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see fig.3), a first inclined wall (see fig.3), and an outer wall (see fig.3) connected in sequence (see fig.3), and an inclination angle of the first inclined wall is in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (5° to 15°, see figs.3 and 5), the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see figs.3 and 5), and all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see figs.3 and 5), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see figs.3 and 5), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see figs.3 and 5).
Zhong does not explicitly disclose the layer is an organic layer, a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Kim discloses a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, the layer is an organic layer (104 or 504) for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures (see fig.8B).
Kaneko discloses a display panel, in at least figs.11a and 11b, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 4) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 2) and the second same size different from the first same size (see fig.11A, the thickness of 4 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the layer is an organic layer and a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Kim and Kaneko in the display panel of Zhong for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio.
Regarding claim 3, Zhong discloses the second side wall comprises a second inclined wall corresponding to the first inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5), and an inclination angle of the second inclined wall is equal or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kaneko discloses a display panel, in at least figs.11a and 11b, a curvature of the first side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 2) is less than a curvature of the second side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 4)(see fig.11A, the thickness of 4 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring, so that a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall) for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio (para.9). The reason for combining is the same as claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Zhong discloses the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.3, 5 and 6), the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner (see figs.3, 5 and 6), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.3, 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Zhong discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, comprising:
disposing a material of a layer (107) on a driving element layer (includes at least TFT and 101-104);
treating the material of the layer with a photomask to form the layer having a plurality of first convex structures (see figs.3 and 5), wherein each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (para.17 and fig.5), the first side wall comprises a bottom wall, a first inclined wall, and an outer wall connected in sequence (see fig.3), and the first inclined wall has an inclination angle in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (para.17 and fig.5); and
disposing a reflective layer (106) on a side of the layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see fig.3), and each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see fig.3),
wherein the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see fig.3), all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see fig.3) the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see figs.3 and 5), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see figs.3 and 5).
Zhong does not explicitly disclose the layer is an organic layer and treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask to form the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, the layer is an organic layer (104 or 504) and treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask (400) to form the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures (125) for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures (see fig.8B).
Kaneko discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.11a and 11b, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 4) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 2) and the second same size different from the first same size (see fig.11A, the thickness of 4 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the layer is an organic layer and treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask to form the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Kim and Kaneko in the method of manufacturing the display panel of Zhong for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and increasing luminance and increasing contrast ratio.
Regarding claim 9, Zhong discloses the step of disposing the reflective layer on the side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer comprises: disposing a reflective material on a side of the first inclined wall away from the driving element layer to form a second inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5), wherein the second inclined wall has an inclination angle equal to or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Zhong discloses the second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.3, 5 and 6), the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner (see figs.3, 5 and 6), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.3, 5 and 6).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong US 2022/0308409 in view of Kim US 2007/0139591 and Hanazawa US 2002/0113926.
Regarding claim 1, Zhong discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, comprising:
a substrate (100);
a driving element layer (includes at least TFT and 101-104) disposed on a surface of the substrate;
a layer (107) disposed on a surface of the driving element layer away from the substrate, wherein the layer comprises a plurality of first convex structures (see figs.3 and 5), and each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (para.17 and fig.5); and
a reflective layer (106) disposed on a side of the layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see fig.3), each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see fig.3),
wherein the first side wall comprises a bottom wall (see fig.3), a first inclined wall (see fig.3), and an outer wall (see fig.3) connected in sequence (see fig.3), and an inclination angle of the first inclined wall is in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (5° to 15°, see figs.3 and 5), the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see figs.3 and 5), and all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see figs.3 and 5), the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see figs.3 and 5), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see figs.3 and 5).
Zhong does not explicitly disclose the layer is an organic layer, a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Kim discloses a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, the layer is an organic layer (104 or 504) for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures (see fig.8B).
Hanazawa discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-12, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 77) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 76) and the second same size different from the first same size (see figs.2 and 12, the thickness of 77 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the layer is an organic layer and a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Kim and Hanazawa in the display panel of Zhong for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light.
Regarding claim 3, Zhong discloses the second side wall comprises a second inclined wall corresponding to the first inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5), and an inclination angle of the second inclined wall is equal or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Hanazawa discloses a display panel, in at least figs.1-12, a curvature of the first side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 76) is less than a curvature of the second side wall (the side wall of the convex ring formed by 77)(see figs.2 and 12, the thickness of 77 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring, so that a curvature of the first side wall is less than a curvature of the second side wall) for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light (para.9). The reason for combining is the same as claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Zhong discloses the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.3, 5 and 6), the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner (see figs.3, 5 and 6), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.3, 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Zhong discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.1-6, comprising:
disposing a material of a layer (107) on a driving element layer (includes at least TFT and 101-104);
treating the material of the layer with a photomask to form the layer having a plurality of first convex structures (see figs.3 and 5), wherein each of the first convex structures has an arcuate first side wall from bottom to top (para.17 and fig.5), the first side wall comprises a bottom wall, a first inclined wall, and an outer wall connected in sequence (see fig.3), and the first inclined wall has an inclination angle in a range of greater than 0° and less than or equal to 10° (para.17 and fig.5); and
disposing a reflective layer (106) on a side of the layer away from the driving element layer, wherein the reflective layer comprises a plurality of second convex structures (see fig.3), and each of the second convex structures comprises a second side wall corresponding to the first side wall (see fig.3),
wherein the plurality of first convex structures are in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of second convex structures (see fig.3), all of the plurality of first convex structures and the plurality of second convex structures are arranged in an array (see fig.3) the all of the plurality of first convex structures have a first same size, and the all of the plurality of second convex structures have a second same size (see at least figs.5 and 9), and
each of the first convex structures comprises a first convex ring connected to the outer wall (see figs.3 and 5), each of the second convex structures comprises a second convex ring corresponding to the first convex ring (see figs.3 and 5).
Zhong does not explicitly disclose the layer is an organic layer and treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask to form the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size.
Kim discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.5-10, the layer is an organic layer (104 or 504) and treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask (400) to form the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures (125) for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures (see fig.8B).
Hanazawa discloses a method of manufacturing a display panel, in at least figs.1-12, a diameter of the second convex ring (the convex ring formed by 77) is less than a diameter of the first convex ring (the convex ring formed by 76) and the second same size different from the first same size (see figs.2 and 12, the thickness of 77 is the biggest on the tip/top of the protrusion of the second convex ring) for the purpose of obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light (para.9).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the layer is an organic layer and treating the material of the organic layer with a photomask to form the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and a diameter of the second convex ring is less than a diameter of the first convex ring and the second same size different from the first same size as taught by Kim and Kaneko in the method of manufacturing the display panel of Zhong for the purpose of forming the organic layer having the plurality of first convex structures and obtaining a displayed image of higher quality using external ambient light
Regarding claim 9, Zhong discloses the step of disposing the reflective layer on the side of the organic layer away from the driving element layer comprises: disposing a reflective material on a side of the first inclined wall away from the driving element layer to form a second inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5), wherein the second inclined wall has an inclination angle equal to or substantially equal to the inclination angle of the first inclined wall (see figs.3 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Zhong discloses the second convex structures are arranged in M rows by N columns (see figs.3, 5 and 6), the second convex structures in two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner (see figs.3, 5 and 6), and both of M and N are integers greater than 0 (see figs.3, 5 and 6).
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hanazawa US 2002/0113926 (figs.1-12) can be a primary reference as well.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871