Priority
Instant application 18/192,624 filed on 03/29/2023 claims benefit as follow:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 1 and 21-38 are pending.
The amendment filled on 02/26/2026 have been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025 and 11/08/2023 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not create an undue burden on the Office to simultaneously search subject matter of Groups I and II. This is not found persuasive because search for each of the inventions is not co-extensive particularly regarding the literature search. Group I does not necessarily read on the prior art applicable to Group II because the method claims require a distinct patient population that is not required by the product claims. Burden consists not only of searching multiple databases for foreign references and literature searches. Burden also resides in the examination of independent claim sets for clarity, enablement and double patenting issues. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 37 and 38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/26/2026.
Regarding species election, in an office action mailed on 02/03/2026 examiner requested:
It should be noted that Applicant did not elect any species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monks (Monks, N. R., Ferraz, A., Bordignon, S., Machado, K. R., Lima, M. F. S., Rocha, A. B., & Schwartsmann, G. (2002). In vitro Cytotoxicity of Extracts from Brazilian Asteraceae. Pharmaceutical Biology, 40(7), 494–500) in view of Pandey (Amita Pandey, Shalini Tripath., Journal of Pharmacognosy and Phytochemistry 2014; 2 (5): 115-119).
Monks teaches that ethanol extracts from Baccharis coridifolia have anti-proliferative activity (see abstract).
Further, Monks teaches the extracts have been tested using three cell lines: HT29, NCI-H460 and U373 (see abstract and Table 2):
Monks teaches “Baccharis coridifolia was found to be the most potent species tested. Both the organic and aqueous extracts from leaves and stems resulted in IC50 concentrations below 5 mg/ml” (see page 498, last paragraph).
Monks teaches compositions comprising monohydric alcohol (ethanol) (see Methodology, page 495).
Regarding claim 28, Monks teaches ethanol extracts (organic) (see page 495, Collection and extraction of plant materials).
Regarding claim 30, Monks teaches the plant material comprises leaves (see page 498, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 34, Monks teaches purifying the macerate by filtration (see page 495, Collection and extraction of plant materials):
Regarding claim 36, Monks teaches the extract have been tested on NCI-H460 human large cell lung carcinoma cell lines:
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Monks’s ethanol extracts from Baccharis coridifolia are intended for treatments of cancers, including carcinoma in an individual in need
Monks does not explicitly teach the extraction steps recited in the instant claims.
It should be noted that the instant claims recite a pharmaceutical composition which is prepared by a method comprising steps (a) and (b). The instant claims require incubating the macerate for a period of at least 21 days whereas Monks teaches maceration for 48 hours.
Regarding instant claims 21-24, Monks is silent about the ratio of the plant material to the solvent.
Regarding claims 26 and 27, Monks is silent about the concentration of alcohol.
However, since Monks teaches ethanol extracts from Baccharis coridifolia comprising one or more anti-oncogenic phytochemicals, a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been capable to adjust extraction parameters by routine experimentations. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II) (A) and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) “[W]here the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
In addition, Pandey teaches:
Regarding instant claim 21, it should be noted that Pandey teaches plant material to the solvent of 10:100 (solvent to sample 100:10 (v/w)) (see page 116, “Variation in extraction methods usually depends upon”).
During extraction, solvents diffuse into the solid plant material and solubilize compounds with similar polarity (see abstract of Pandey). Knowing that ethanol extracts from Baccharis coridifolia have anti-proliferative activity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the incubating time and the solvent concentration needed to solubilize the plant material.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 21-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.11918553 in view of Monks (Monks, N. R., Ferraz, A., Bordignon, S., Machado, K. R., Lima, M. F. S., Rocha, A. B., & Schwartsmann, G. (2002). In vitro Cytotoxicity of Extracts from Brazilian Asteraceae. Pharmaceutical Biology, 40(7), 494–500).
The claims of U.S. Patent No.11918553 recite:
It should be noted that the claims of U.S. Patent No.11918553 recite the same pharmaceutical composition as recited in the instant claims.
The claims of U.S. Patent No.11918553 do not recite using the recited composition for treatments of cancer.
However, Monks teaches that ethanol extracts from Baccharis coridifolia have anti-proliferative activity (see abstract).
Further, Monks teaches the extracts have been tested using three cell lines: HT29, NCI-H460 and U373 (see Table 2):
Regarding instant claim 36, Monks teaches carcinoma (see page 495, right column, first paragraph):
Applying KSR prong (A) - Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the composition recited by claims of U.S. Patent No.11918553 for treatment of cancer because Monks teaches that ethanol extracts from Baccharis coridifolia have anti-proliferative activity.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621