DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Tanaka et al. (2009/0040252) and Yusef et al. (6,520,622).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a printing apparatus, comprising:
a frame (figs. 4, 8, note that the frame is being taken to be the entire interior housing on which guide rail 22 is attached including frame portion 23);
a printing head (fig. 16, item 4) that includes a nozzle (see fig. 16) ejecting ink for printing on a printing medium conveyed in a conveyance direction ([0041]),
a carriage (fig. 16, item 5) on which the printing head is mounted and that reciprocally moves in a main scanning direction (fig. 16, into page);
a sliding mechanism (fig. 16, item 55a/56a/161/59) provided in
a second sliding mechanism (fig. 16, item 55b/56b/62/59) provided in the carriage and spaced apart from the sliding mechanism in the conveyance direction (see fig. 16);
a guide rail (fig. 16, item 22) attached to the frame and including (1) a first surface (fig. 16, upper surface of 22 in contact with 55a) with which the sliding mechanism surface is brought into contact (see fig. 16) and (2) a second surface (fig. 16, bottom surface of item 22 facing item 56a) directly behind the first surface, the guide rail guiding movement in the main scanning direction of the carriage (see fig. 16),
wherein a first regulation mechanism (fig. 16, item 56a) is provided in the sliding mechanism and including a regulating surface (figs. See fig. 16) facing the second surface in a position away from the second surface at a predetermined distance during scanning of the carriage (see fig. 16), and
wherein the frame includes a third surface (fig. 16, item vertical surface of frame portion 23 contacting item 62) with which the second sliding mechanism is brought into contact (see fig; 16);
wherein a portion of the first surface and a portion of the second sliding mechanism overlap when viewed in the conveyance direction (see fig. 16).
Ishikawa does not teach a switching mechanism. Tanaka teaches a switching mechanism (Tanaka, fig. 12, item 583) that is provided between the carriage and the sliding mechanism and that switches a position of the carriage in a vertical direction (Tanaka, see fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a switching mechanism of the type disclosed by Tanaka to the device of Ishikawa because doing so would allow for adjustment of the relative positions of the carriage and the print medium.
Ishikawa in view of Tanaka does not teach wherein the first surface and second surface are inclined so as to rise linearly with respect to a horizontal plane as the guide tail extends downstream in the conveyance direction. Jusef teaches several variations of guide rails that can have either or both of inclined and non-inclined contact surfaces (Jusef, see figs. 4-7, Note that guide rails can be constructed with surfaces along any number of angles). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time of invention to use inclined first and second rail contact surfaces, as disclosed by Jusef, instead of the non-inclined rail contact surfaces disclosed by Ishikawa in view of Tanaka because doing so would amount to using one known rail variant instead of another as a simple design choice.
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein in a case where the position of the carriage in the vertical direction is switched by the switching mechanism, each of a position in the vertical direction and a position in the conveyance direction of the sliding mechanism is not changed with respect to the guide rail (Tanaka, see figs. 12, 13, Note that, upon combination, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the switching mechanism switches the position of the carriage in the vertical direction with respect to the guide rail (Tanaka, see figs. 12, 13, Note that, upon combination, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the switching mechanism is mounted so as to be slidable in the main scanning direction between the carriage and the sliding mechanism (Tanaka, see figs. 10, 11, Note that, upon combination, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 2,
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 6, further comprising: a third sliding mechanism that is attached to the carriage, wherein the frame includes a fifth surface with which the third sliding mechanism is brought into contact and a sixth surface as a back surface of the fifth surface, and the carriage includes a third regulation mechanism facing the sixth surface in a position away from the sixth surface at a predetermined distance (Ishikawa, see fig. 13, Note that there are two second sliding mechanisms arranged in the main scanning direction, and thus one can be taken to be the second sliding mechanism and one can be taken to be the third sliding mechanism).
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the sliding mechanism includes a fourth regulation mechanism that regulates upward displacement of the switching mechanism in the vertical direction, and the carriage includes a fifth regulation mechanism that regulates upward displacement in the vertical direction (Ishikawa, see fig. 13, Note that the third sliding mechanism corresponds to fourth and fifth regulation mechanisms).
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the switching mechanism includes a pinched portion including a stepwise shape and a regulation surface (Tanaka, see fig. 10, note stepwise portion of item 583), and the pinched portion is held by the fourth regulation mechanism of the sliding mechanism and the fifth regulation mechanism of the carriage (Tanaka, see figs. 10-13).
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 9, another of the fourth regulation mechanism is provided, and another of the fifth regulation mechanism is provided, such that the fourth regulation mechanism and the fifth regulation mechanism constitute a pair, and such that the another fourth regulation mechanism and the another fifth regulation mechanism constitute another pair,
wherein a length between the pair and the another pair in the main scanning direction is close to a width of the carriage in the main scanning direction (Tanaka, see figs. 10-13, Note that all regulation mechanisms are provided in pairs, each pair on one end of the carriage in the main scanning direction).
Regarding claim 14, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein a position of a supporter that supports the carriage in the conveyance direction and a position of a supporter that supports the switching mechanism in the conveyance direction are the same (Ishikawa, see fig. 16, Note that all components are overlapped).
Regarding claim 15, Ishikawa in view of Tanaka and Jusef teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the conveyance direction is orthogonal to each of the main scanning direction and the vertical direction (Ishikawa, see fig. 16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 /ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853