Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant's amendment which was filed on 12/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 5-8 have been cancelled. No claims has been added. Claims 1-4, 10-14 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent and claims 10-14 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loeppert (US 2015/0304753) in view of Fu (US 2022/0340409) in further view of Chen (US 2022/0408208, Citations will be from provisional application 63/202596).
Regarding claim 1, Loeppert teaches A speaker device comprising: a first acoustic medium (Loeppert figure 2, path 103, port 106); a second acoustic medium (Loeppert figure 2, volume between lid 104 and MEMS 108, or outside the frame); a substrate in contact with the acoustic medium (Loeppert figure 2, base 102); a liner disposed on the substrate (Loeppert figure 2, solder mask 152 or barrier 112. With BRI most components of base 102 can be considered a liner); and a MEMS speaker unit (Loeppert ¶0003, “assemblies include microphones and speakers”) attached directly to the liner (Loeppert figure 2, MEMS apparatus 108 is attached to mask 152 directly), wherein a volume defined between the MEMS speaker unit, the liner and the substrate, includes a first port providing acoustic coupling between the MEMS speaker unit and the first acoustic medium (Loeppert figure 2, path 103, port 106), a lid connected to the substrate (Loeppert figure 2, lid 104) and covering the MEMS speaker unit and in contact with at least a second acoustic volume (Loeppert figure 2, lid 104), however does not explicitly teach the MEMS apparatus is a MEMS speaker, wherein the lid includes a second port providing acoustic coupling between the MEMS speaker unit and the second acoustic medium.
Fu teaches the MEMS apparatus is a MEMS speaker (Fu ¶0002); wherein the lid (Fu figure 1, lid 60. With BRI, the lid of the MEMS device that covers the components of the microspeaker can be considered the lid as well) includes a second port providing acoustic coupling between the MEMS speaker unit and the second acoustic medium (Fu figure 1, lid 60 with venting hole 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known MEMS speaker of Fu to modify the known MEMS microphone of Loeppert to achieve the predictable result of improved sound performance in high and low frequency ranges (Fu ¶0015).
Chen teaches wherein the lid includes a second port providing acoustic coupling between the MEMS speaker unit and the second acoustic medium (Chen figure 14, ¶0086, “ports O3 on package cap 185 and second sound inlet O2 of microphone enclosure 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Chen to improve the known speaker device of Loeppert in view of Fu to achieve the predictable result of a smaller MEMS device (Chen ¶0005).
Regarding claim 2, Loeppert in view of Fu in further view of Chen teaches wherein the liner has a minimum thickness of 20 micron (Loeppert ¶0113, “The barrier 2112 can have a wide variety of dimensions. In one illustrative example, the barrier 2112 is approximately 0.5 mm long by approximately 0.5 mm wide by approximately 0.25 mm thick placed under the MEMS apparatus 2108 in the cavity over the port 2106”).
Regarding claim 9, Loeppert in view of Fu in further view of Chen teaches where the volume defined by the lid is segregated into at least two distinct acoustic volumes and the liner includes an acoustic port coupled into at least one of the two distinct volumes (Loeppert figure 2, volume between lid and MEMS 108, and port 106).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loeppert (US 2015/0304753) in view of Fu (US 2022/0340409) in further view of Chen (US 2022/0408208, Citations will be from provisional application 63/202596) in further view of Poulsen (US 2014/0340366).
Regarding claims 3, Loeppert in view of Fu in further view of Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the MEMS speaker unit is configured to generate sound from modulated ultrasound using active demodulation.
Poulsen teaches wherein the MEMS speaker unit is configured to generate sound from modulated ultrasound using active demodulation (Poulsen ¶0051 “MEMS speaker” and ¶0062).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Poulsen to improve the known speaker device of Loeppert in view of Fu in further view of Chen to achieve the predictable result of minimizing sampling bandwidth and reducing power consumption(Poulsen ¶0047).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loeppert (US 2015/0304753) in view of Fu (US 2022/0340409) in further view of Chen (US 2022/0408208, Citations will be from provisional application 63/202596) in further view of Angel (US 2021/0274291).
Regarding claim 4, Loeppert in view of Fu in further view of Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the volume defined between the MEMS speaker unit the liner and the substrate is at least 0.05 mm.sup.3.
Angel teaches wherein the volume defined between the MEMS speaker unit the liner and the substrate is at least 0.05 mm.sup.3 (Angel ¶0192, Length of 700μm with diameter 450μm yields a volume more than double 0.05 mm.sup.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the volume between the MEMS speaker unit, the liner and the substrate of Loeppert in view of Fu in further view of Chen to achieve the desired frequency characteristics since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693