DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending in the current application.
Claim 1 is amended in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments filed August 12, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the Van Aert and Mougin do not appear to teach or suggest a total amount of polyurethane and pigment as recited by newly amended claim 1.
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The grounds of rejection have been updated below to reflect the present claim amendments. Van Aert teaches the aqueous liquid polyurethane resin dispersion comprises equal to or lower than 30 wt% of polyurethane with respect to the total aqueous liquid (Van Aert, [0049]). Van Aert teaches the pigment is included in the dispersion in an amount of preferably 0.1 to 10 wt% to achieve sufficient saturation and image density, and to prevent decrease in color and nozzle clogging (Van Aert, [0076]). The totality of polyurethane (equal to or lower than 30 wt%) and pigment (0.1 to 10 wt%) yields a range of 0.1 to 40 wt%; this range encompasses the claimed range of 5 to 20 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05). In view of the foregoing, Van Aert is considered to render obvious the new amendments to claim 1, and in combination with Mougin is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the presently claimed invention with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Interpretations
Claim 5 recites the term “normal boiling point.” The specification as originally filed at [00119] defines this term as referring to a boiling point measured at an atmospheric pressure of 0.101 MPa (about 1 atm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Aert et al. (WO 2021/013690 A1) in view of Mougin et al. (US 2006/0067907 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Van Aert teaches an aqueous inkjet ink comprising an aqueous polyurethane resin dispersion, pigment, water, and a water-soluble organic solvent (Van Aert, Abstract, [0008]-[0013], [0049]-[0052], [0060]-[0077]). Van Aert teaches the polyurethane resin pigment dispersion contains a polyol (i.e., an active hydrogen atom-containing component) having a cationic group of a quaternary ammonium, a polyether polyol, polyisocyanates, and polymeric diols (Van Aert, [0013]-[0039]). Van Aert teaches the polyisocyanates include aliphatic diisocyanates, cyclic aliphatic diisocyanates, and aromatic diisocyanates (Van Aert, [0030]-[0032]). Van Aert teaches the aqueous liquid polyurethane resin dispersion comprises equal to or lower than 30 wt% of polyurethane with respect to the total aqueous liquid (Van Aert, [0049]). Van Aert teaches the pigment is included in the dispersion in an amount of preferably 0.1 to 10 wt% to achieve sufficient saturation and image density, and to prevent decrease in color and nozzle clogging (Van Aert, [0076]). The totality of polyurethane (equal to or lower than 30 wt%) and pigment (0.1 to 10 wt%) yields a range of 0.1 to 40 wt%; this range encompasses the claimed range of 5 to 20 wt%, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Van Aert remains silent regarding the polyol having a cationic group of a quaternary ammonium being included in an amount of 12 wt% or more based on the total components of the polyurethane resin.
Mougin, however, teaches a polyurethane resin formed with a polyol cationic unit having at least one quaternary ammonium, a non-ionic unit, and a polyisocyanate compound (Mougin, Abstract, [0010]-[0014], [0048]-[0066]). Mougin teaches the polyol cationic unit having at least one quaternary ammonium is included in the polyurethane in an amount of 0.1 to 90 wt% based on total weight of the polyurethane (Mougin, [0076]-[0078]). Mougin’s range overlaps the claimed range of 12 wt% or more, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Since Van Aert and Mougin both disclose polyurethane resins containing polyols having a cationic group of a quaternary ammonium and polyisocyanates, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included Van Aert’s polyol having a cationic group of a quaternary ammonium in an amount of that renders obvious the claimed range according to the guidance of Mougin to yield a polyurethane-based composition that exhibits improved film forming properties, exhibits improved viscoelastic properties, and prevents film brittleness as taught by Mougin (Mougin, [0008]-[0009], [0077]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Van Aert teaches the polyols having a cationic group of a quaternary ammonium include Formulas I and II that satisfy formulas (1) and (2) of claim 2 (Van Aert, [0018]-[0020]).
Van Aert – Formula I & II
Regarding Claim 3, modified Van Aert teaches the polyurethane resin pigment dispersion contains a polyether polyol, a polycarbonate polyol, and a polyester polyol (Van Aert, [0021]-[0029], [0033]-[0039]).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Van Aert teaches the polycarbonate polyol includes crystalline polycarbonate polyol such as Duranol T5651 (Van Aert, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Van Aert teaches the water-soluble organic solvent includes dipropylene glycol that has a boiling point of 232oC (Van Aert, [0049]-[0052]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Van Aert teaches the aqueous inkjet ink comprises a surfactant (Van Aert, [0053]-[0055]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Van Aert teaches the surfactant includes a nonionic surfactant (Van Aert, [0053]-[0055]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782