DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1: Fig. 2A in the reply filed on January 07, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no adequate reasons have been provided to support a conclusion of patentable distinctness between the species. The examiner disagrees with applicant’s arguments because the mutually exclusive characteristics of each species was given in the description of each species. However, upon further review, Species 3: Fig. 2C is not mutually exclusive from Species 1 and 2 (Fig. 2A and Fig. 2B) because the bidirectional pumping configuration encompasses both the forward and backward pumping configuration. Therefore, the restriction requirement mailed on November 07, 2025 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by J. Mirza et al., "Widely tunable and switchable multiwavelength erbium-doped fiber laser based on a single ring cavity," J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 39, 1118-1129 (2022).
Regarding claim 1, Mirza et al. disclose: a multiwavelength erbium-doped fiber laser (EDFL), comprising: a single ring cavity (Fig. 2a shows a ring cavity erbium doped fiber laser that is forward pumped) (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); a wave division multiplexer (WDM) coupler (WDM coupler) located within the single ring cavity (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); a pump laser (pump) located outside of the single ring cavity and optically connected to the WDM coupler, wherein the pump laser is configured to inject a pump laser beam into the single ring cavity through the WDM coupler (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); an erbium doped fiber (EDF) located in the single ring cavity, wherein an input terminal of the erbium doped fiber is connected to the WDM coupler and is configured to amplify the pump laser beam and generate an amplified laser beam by stimulated emission of the erbium doped fiber (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); an optical isolator (ISO) located in the single ring cavity and connected to an output terminal of the erbium doped fiber (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); a fiber coupler (90:10 coupler) located in the single ring cavity and connected to the ISO, wherein the fiber coupler is configured to divide the amplified laser beam into an output laser beam and a laser beam retained in the single ring cavity (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); a tunable optical filter (TOF) (transmission type optical bandpass filter) located within the single ring cavity and connected at a TOF input terminal to the fiber coupler and at a TOF output terminal to an input terminal of the WDM coupler, wherein the TOF is configured to receive the laser beam retained in the single ring cavity and filter the laser beam retained in the single ring cavity to a desired wavelength, wherein the desired wavelength is selected from the range of 1524 nm to 1650 nm (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, page 1124); and a comb filter (CF) connected to the fiber coupler, wherein the CF includes a dual-drive Mach-Zehnder modulator (DD-MZM) configured to receive the output laser beam and divide the output laser beam into multiple wavelengths (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Fig. 2 of Mirza
Fig. 5 of Mirza
Regarding claim 2, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the ISO is configured to receive the retained laser beam and ensure unidirectional operation of the retained laser beam by eliminating back reflections in the single ring cavity (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 3, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the fiber coupler is configured to retain 90% of the laser beam within the single ring cavity and output 10% of the laser beam (90:10 coupler) (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 4, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the erbium doped fiber has an Er3+ ion concentration of about 16×1024 ions per meter cubed, and a length of about 5 meters (table 3) (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 5, Mirza et al. disclose: further comprising a controller connected to the TOF, the pump laser, the OSA, the OPM, and the comb filter (implicitly taught, controller must be connected to the TOF, the pump laser, the OSA and the OPM in order to monitor the lasing signal, adjust the pump power, tune the TOF and to tune the output wavelength).
Regarding claim 6, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the desired wavelength is selected from the range of 1629 nm to 1650 nm (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 7, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the multiple wavelengths are selected in the C band range of 1530 nm to 1565 nm (Fig. 9, page 1125).
Regarding claim 8, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the multiple wavelengths are selected in the L band range of 1565 nm to 1625 nm (Fig. 9, page 1125).
Regarding claim 10, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the pump laser is configured to generate light at a wavelength of about 980 nm (Fig. 2a, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 11, Mirza et al. disclose: wherein the out of cavity CF is configured to divide the output laser beam into about 49 wavelengths by varying a frequency of an alternating voltage input to the DD-MZM (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 12, Mirza et al. disclose: a first input to the DD-MZM of the out of cavity CF connected to the fiber coupler (90:10 coupler); a frequency variable sinusoidal voltage source (fRF); a first converter amplifier (upper EA) connected between the frequency variable sinusoidal voltage source and a second input to the DD-MZM; a second converter amplifier (bottom EA) connected between the frequency variable sinusoidal voltage source and a third input to the DD-MZM; a first DC bias voltage source (upper VBias) connected to a fourth input to the DD-MZM, wherein the first DC bias voltage source is configured to increase the amplitude of an amplified voltage at the second input to the DD-MZM; a second DC bias voltage source (lower VBias) connected to a fifth input to the DD-MZM, wherein the second DC bias voltage source is configured to increase the amplitude of an amplified voltage at the third input to the DD-MZM; and an output port of the DD-MZM configured to generate the multiple wavelengths (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 13, Mirza et al. disclose: an optical spectrum analyzer (OSA) connected to an output of the fiber coupler (OPM and OSA connected to 90:10 coupler), wherein the OSA is configured to monitor a spectrum of the output laser beam (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 14, Mirza et al. disclose: further comprising: an optical power meter (OPM) connected to an output of the fiber coupler (OPM and OSA connected to 90:10 coupler), wherein the OPM is configured to monitor a lasing power of the output laser beam (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 15, Mirza et al. disclose: a method for generating multiple wavelengths by a single ring cavity erbium-doped fiber laser (EDFL), comprising: injecting a pump laser beam into a single ring cavity through a WDM coupler; generating an amplified laser beam by amplifying, by stimulated emission of an erbium doped fiber located in the single ring cavity, the pump laser beam; isolating, with an optical isolator (ISO) connected to an output of the erbium doped fiber, the amplified laser beam from back reflections in the single ring cavity; dividing, by a fiber coupler located in the single ring cavity and connected to the ISO, the amplified laser beam into an output laser beam and a laser beam retained in the single ring cavity; filtering, with a tunable optical filter (TOF) located within the single ring cavity and connected at a TOF input to the fiber coupler and at a TOF output to the input of the WDM coupler, the retained laser beam to a desired wavelength selected from the range of 1524 nm to 1650 nm; and dividing, by an out of cavity comb filter (CF) connected to the fiber coupler, the output laser beam into multiple wavelengths (the apparatus of claim 1 discloses the claimed method, see the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Mirza et al. disclose: configuring the erbium doped fiber to have an ion concentration of about 16×1024 ions per meter cubed, and a length of about 5 meters (table 3) (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 17, Mirza et al. disclose: dividing the output laser beam into about 49 wavelengths by varying a frequency of an alternating voltage input to the DD-MZM (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 18, Mirza et al. disclose: receiving the output laser beam at a first input to the DD-MZM of the out of cavity CF; generating, by a frequency variable voltage source, a sinusoidal voltage; amplifying, by a first converter amplifier connected to the frequency variable voltage source, the sinusoidal voltage; inputting the sinusoidal voltage from the first converter amplifier to a second input to the DD-MZM; amplifying, by a second converter amplifier connected to the frequency variable voltage source, the sinusoidal voltage; inputting the sinusoidal voltage from the second converter amplifier to a third input to the DD-MZM; receiving, at a fourth input to the DD-MZM, a first DC bias voltage, wherein the first DC bias voltage is configured to increase the amplitude of the amplified sinusoidal voltage at the second input to the DD-MZM; receiving, at a fifth input to the DD-MZM, a second DC bias voltage, wherein the second DC bias voltage is configured to increase the amplitude of the amplified sinusoidal voltage at the third input to the DD-MZM; and generating, at an output port of the DD-MZM, the multiple wavelengths (the apparatus of claim 12 discloses the claimed method, see the rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 19, Mirza et al. disclose: monitoring, with an optical spectrum analyzer (OSA) connected to an output of the fiber coupler, a spectrum of the output laser beam; and monitoring, with an optical power meter (OPM) connected to the output of the fiber coupler, a lasing power of the output laser beam (OPM and OSA connected to 90:10 coupler) (Fig. 5, page 1122, right column, pages 1124 and 1125).
Regarding claim 20, Mirza et al. disclose: a method of assembling a multiwavelength erbium-doped fiber laser (EDFL) having a single ring cavity, comprising: connecting a wave division multiplexer (WDM) coupler into the single ring cavity; connecting a pump laser located extra-cavity to the WDM coupler, wherein the pump laser is configured to inject a pump laser beam into the single ring cavity through the WDM coupler; connecting an input of an erbium doped fiber to the WDM coupler, wherein the erbium doped fiber is configured to amplify the pump laser beam and generate an amplified laser beam at an output of the erbium doped fiber, wherein the erbium doped fiber is configured to have an ion concentration of about 16×10.sup.24 ions per meter cubed and a length of about 5 meters; connecting an optical isolator (ISO) to the output of the erbium doped fiber; connecting a fiber coupler to the ISO, wherein the fiber coupler is configured to divide the amplified laser beam into an output laser beam and a laser beam retained in the single ring cavity; connecting an input of a tunable optical filter (TOF) to the fiber coupler and an output of the TOF to the input of the WDM coupler, wherein the TOF is configured to receive the laser beam retained in the single ring cavity and filter the laser beam retained in the single ring cavity to a desired wavelength selected from the range of 1524 nm to 1650 nm; and connecting an out of cavity comb filter (CF) to the fiber coupler, wherein the out of cavity CF includes a dual-drive Mach-Zehnder modulator (DD-MZM) configured to receive the output laser beam and divide the output laser beam into multiple wavelengths (the apparatus of claim 1 discloses the claimed method, see the rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over J. Mirza et al., "Widely tunable and switchable multiwavelength erbium-doped fiber laser based on a single ring cavity," J. Opt. Soc. Am. B 39, 1118-1129 (2022).
Regarding claim 9, Mirza et al. do not disclose: wherein the multiple wavelengths are selected in the U band range of 1625 nm to 1675 nm.
However, In accordance with MPEP 2144.05 II, Optimization of Ranges: Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In the prior art the general conditions are disclosed, a dual drive Mach-Zehnder modulator configured to receive the output laser beam and divides the output laser beam into multiple wavelengths. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to obtain a workable range of values for multiple wavelengths by routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumagai et al. (US 6,101,021) disclose: a ring resonator generates a repetitive, high-frequency optical pulse. Optical branching circuit branches a portion of the optical pulse circulating through ring resonator, while optical branching circuit further branches a portion thereof to protective device. Pumping source generates an excitation light for exciting a rare-earth doped optical fiber. Optical multiplexer couples the optical pulse branched by optical branching circuit, and the excitation light. Upon excitation by means of the excitation light, rare-earth doped optical fiber amplifies and emits the incoming optical pulse. The optical power of the excitation light is adjusted such that the output of rare-earth doped optical fiber reaches a saturation power. Optical switch blocks the incoming optical pulse during the time period when pumping source is not emitting an excitation light, and during a fixed time period following the emission of the excitation light. In this manner, the entry of an excessively large optical pulse exceeding the saturation power into photo-detector at the time of starting up the power source is prevented. Optical attenuator attenuates the optical power of the optical pulse emitted from optical switch to an optical power which the photo-detector is capable of photo-detecting. Photo-detector converts the optical pulse emitted from protective device into an electronic signal; narrow band filter extracts a clock signal from the output of photo-detector; and electric amplifier amplifies the output of narrow band filter, and outputs a clock signal. Phase shifter adjusts the phase of this clock signal; electric amplifier amplifies the output of phase shifter, and outputs a clock signal to optical modulator. Optical modulator modulates the intensity of the light circulating through the ring resonator based on the clock signal, and generates an optical pulse (Abstract). Liu et al. (US 6,845,108) disclose: techniques and designs for tunable and dynamically stabilized a laser wavelength in various lasers, including fiber lasers and actively mode-locked lasers. In an actively mode-locked laser, a dynamic wavelength tuning control and a dynamic cavity length control are implemented to maintain mode locking during tuning of the laser wavelength (Abstract). Li et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0255944) disclose: A method and apparatus for producing single mode random fiber ring laser by inducing random distributed feedback in a short section of the fiber ring to thereby enable single mode lasing while reducing frequency jitter and relative intensity noise. The random distributed feedback maybe achieved through deep refractive index modulation at a series of randomly distributed laser-irradiated points inscribed along the length of the induced random distributed feedback fiber. The laser-processed random distributed feedback fiber maybe incorporated into the fiber ring in conjunction with a variable optical attenuator and band pass optical filter for enhancing the single mode operation (Abstract).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828