DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PG Pub. 20170255090) in view of Toyooka et al. (JP 2015099369).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a projector (para. 0184; The present invention also provides a projection system, including a light source system, which can have structures and functions as described in the above embodiments. The projection system can employ various display technologies) comprising:
a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5) configured to receive first colored light and second colored light (green and blue light), and output image light of a first color and image light of a second color in time series (para. 0072; the light sequence of blue and green lights modulated by the DMD 511);
a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5) configured to receive third colored light and output image light of a third color (red light); and
a light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5) configured to supply light including the first colored light (blue), the second colored light (green), and the third colored light (red), wherein the light source device includes a first solid light source (para. 0004; the excitation light may employ a blue LED (light emitting diode) or blue laser) configured to emit the first colored light (blue), and
a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5) configured to wavelength-convert excitation light into converted light including the second colored light and the third colored light (para. 0071; filter plate 509 receives the yellow light 53 and blue light 55 sequentially outputted by the wavelength conversion layer 503; it transmits the blue light 55 and the green component 53a of the yellow light 53 and outputs them to the DMD 511 via a first light path, and reflects the red component 53b of the yellow light 53 to the reflector 507. The reflector 507 reflects the red light 53b via the second light path to the DMD 513),
Hu fails to explicitly teach a ratio between output periods of the first colored light and the converted light is the same as a ratio between output periods of the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color at a frame rate, and an output intensity of the first colored light is set according to an output intensity of the converted light based on the ratio between the output periods of the first colored light and the converted light; however, Hu teaches in figs. 3A-3C the first colored light (blue) and the converted light (yellow) appears to have the same intensity and are modulated accordingly. Paras. 0063-0065 discloses the manipulation of the ratios in order to achieve the desired white balance.
Hu fails to teach wherein a number of rotations of a rotary fluorescent plate is an integral multiple of a pulse width modulation frequency of the first solid light source.
Toyooka discloses wherein a number of rotations of a rotary fluorescent plate is an integral multiple of a pulse width modulation frequency of the first solid light source (pg. 6 last para.; the PWM control frequency of the solid light source 11 is A [Hz] and the rotation frequency of the rotating fluorescent screen 13 (motor 14) is B [Hz], the signal processing unit 61 performs the following (1) to (3). Control signals C1 and C2 that satisfy any one of the relational expressions shown in FIG. A = B (1) A = 2B (2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Hu with the control method of Toyooka in order to prevent the occurrence of flicker caused by rotationally driving the rotating fluorescent plate (Toyooka; pg. 6 2nd para.).
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses an illumination system for a projection device comprising a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5); a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5); a light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5); and a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5).
Hu fails to explicitly teach wherein a ratio between output intensities of the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color is 4:1, and a light intensity of the first colored light is set according to a light intensity of the converted light based on the ratio between the output intensities of the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color; however, Hu teaches in figs. 3A-3C the first colored light (blue) and the converted light (yellow) appears to have the same intensity and are modulated accordingly. Paras. 0063-0065 discloses the manipulation of the ratios in order to achieve the desired white balance.
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses a wavelength conversion rotator (wavelength conversion layer 503 and a first drive device 505 of fig. 5) including a wavelength conversion element (503) that uses the first colored light (blue light) output from the first solid light source (excitation light source 501 of fig. 5) as the excitation light and a transmission portion that transmits the first colored light (para. 0056; The second segment is a light transmitting segment, which transmits the blue light as the second light); and a control device configured to control light emission of the first solid light source, wherein the control device controls the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source based on the ratio between the output time of the first colored light and the output time of the converted light in a period in which the first colored light transmits through the transmission portion (para. 0064; the two DMDs may be used to vary the lengths of modulation times for each color to control the color coordinates of the resulting white light. For example, in one implementation, if the red light is too strong and causes the resulting white light to have a red tint to it, the DMD 213 may be controlled to shorten the modulation time so that in a certain time period the red light is not output.).
Regarding claim 5, Hu embodiment 2 discloses a single excitation light source (501).
Hu embodiment 2 fails to teach wherein the light source device further includes a second solid light source configured to emit the first colored light, and the wavelength conversion element receives, as the excitation light, light emitted from the second solid light source.
Hu 16th embodiment discloses wherein the light source device (excitation light 2801 of fig. 28) further includes a second solid light source (excitation light source 2802 of fig. 28) configured to emit the first colored light (blue), and the wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion device 2805 of fig. 28) receives, as the excitation light, light emitted from the second solid light source (illustrated in fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the 2nd embodiment of Hu with the multiple excitation light sources of 16th embodiment in order to increase the brightness of the illumination system.
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses further comprising: a light source control device (para. 0063; discloses output emissions of the light source and also operation of the wavelength conversion element; it further goes into the timing of each period and the output and rotation of the wavelength conversion element, a controller is needed to perform the operations) configured to control light emission of the first solid light source, wherein the light control device configured to control light emission of the first solid light source, wherein the control device controls the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source based on the ratio between the output time of the first colored light and the output time of the converted light in a period in which the first colored light transmits through the transmission portion (para. 0064; the two DMDs may be used to vary the lengths of modulation times for each color to control the color coordinates of the resulting white light. For example, in one implementation, if the red light is too strong and causes the resulting white light to have a red tint to it, the DMD 213 may be controlled to shorten the modulation time so that in a certain time period the red light is not output.).
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5) configured to receive first colored light and second colored light (green and blue light), and output image light of a first color and image light of a second color in time series (para. 0072; the light sequence of blue and green lights modulated by the DMD 511);
a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5) configured to receive third colored light and output image light of a third color (red light); and
a first light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5) configured to emit the first colored light (blue), and
a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5) configured to wavelength-convert excitation light into converted light including the second colored light and the third colored light (para. 0071; filter plate 509 receives the yellow light 53 and blue light 55 sequentially outputted by the wavelength conversion layer 503; it transmits the blue light 55 and the green component 53a of the yellow light 53 and outputs them to the DMD 511 via a first light path, and reflects the red component 53b of the yellow light 53 to the reflector 507. The reflector 507 reflects the red light 53b via the second light path to the DMD 513),
wherein the light source device supplies light including the first colored light (blue), the second colored light (green) and the third (red) (para. 0073), the second colored light (green), and the third colored light (red) to the first liquid crystal panel and the second liquid crystal panel (illustrated in fig. 5), the first colored light and the converted light are output in time series (paras. 0071-0074; further the light outputs are emitted by the wavelength conversion device 503 which is in time series).
Hu fails to explicitly teach a ratio between output periods of the first colored light and the converted light is the same as a ratio between output periods of the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color at a frame rate, and an output intensity of the first colored light is set according to an output intensity of the converted light based on the ratio between the output periods of the first colored light and the converted light; however, Hu teaches in figs. 3A-3C the first colored light (blue) and the converted light (yellow) appears to have the same intensity and are modulated accordingly. Paras. 0063-0065 discloses the manipulation of the ratios in order to achieve the desired white balance.
Hu fails to teach wherein a number of rotations of a rotary fluorescent plate is an integral multiple of a pulse width modulation frequency of the first solid light source.
Toyooka discloses wherein a number of rotations of a rotary fluorescent plate is an integral multiple of a pulse width modulation frequency of the first solid light source (pg. 6 last para.; the PWM control frequency of the solid light source 11 is A [Hz] and the rotation frequency of the rotating fluorescent screen 13 (motor 14) is B [Hz], the signal processing unit 61 performs the following (1) to (3). Control signals C1 and C2 that satisfy any one of the relational expressions shown in FIG. A = B (1) A = 2B (2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Hu with the control method of Toyooka in order to prevent the occurrence of flicker caused by rotationally driving the rotating fluorescent plate (Toyooka; pg. 6 2nd para.).
Regarding claim 9, Hu discloses an illumination system for a projection device comprising a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5); a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5); a light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5); and a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5).
Hu fails to explicitly teach wherein a ratio between output intensities of the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color is 4:1, and a light intensity of the first colored light is set according to a light intensity of the converted light based on the ratio between the output intensities of the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color; however, Hu teaches in figs. 3A-3C the first colored light (blue) and the converted light (yellow) appears to have the same intensity and are modulated accordingly. Paras. 0063-0065 discloses the manipulation of the ratios in order to achieve the desired white balance.
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses a wavelength conversion rotator (wavelength conversion layer 503 and a first drive device 505 of fig. 5) including a wavelength conversion element (503) that uses the first colored light (blue light) output from the first solid light source (excitation light source 501 of fig. 5) as the excitation light and a transmission portion that transmits the first colored light (para. 0056; The second segment is a light transmitting segment, which transmits the blue light as the second light); and a control device configured to control light emission of the first solid light source, wherein the control device controls the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source based on the ratio between the output time of the first colored light and the output time of the converted light in a period in which the first colored light transmits through the transmission portion (para. 0064; the two DMDs may be used to vary the lengths of modulation times for each color to control the color coordinates of the resulting white light. For example, in one implementation, if the red light is too strong and causes the resulting white light to have a red tint to it, the DMD 213 may be controlled to shorten the modulation time so that in a certain time period the red light is not output.).
Regarding claim 11, Hu embodiment 2 discloses a single excitation light source (501).
Hu embodiment 2 fails to teach wherein the light source device further includes a second solid light source configured to emit the first colored light, and the wavelength conversion element receives, as the excitation light, light emitted from the second solid light source.
Hu 16th embodiment discloses wherein the light source device (excitation light 2801 of fig. 28) further includes a second solid light source (excitation light source 2802 of fig. 28) configured to emit the first colored light (blue), and the wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion device 2805 of fig. 28) receives, as the excitation light, light emitted from the second solid light source (illustrated in fig. 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the 2nd embodiment of Hu with the multiple excitation light sources of 16th embodiment in order to increase the brightness of the illumination system.
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses further comprising: a light source control device (para. 0063; discloses output emissions of the light source and also operation of the wavelength conversion element; it further goes into the timing of each period and the output and rotation of the wavelength conversion element, a controller is needed to perform the operations) configured to control light emission of the first solid light source, wherein the light control device configured to control light emission of the first solid light source, wherein the control device controls the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source based on the ratio between the output time of the first colored light and the output time of the converted light in a period in which the first colored light transmits through the transmission portion (para. 0064; the two DMDs may be used to vary the lengths of modulation times for each color to control the color coordinates of the resulting white light. For example, in one implementation, if the red light is too strong and causes the resulting white light to have a red tint to it, the DMD 213 may be controlled to shorten the modulation time so that in a certain time period the red light is not output.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PG Pub. 20170255090) and Toyooka et al. (JP 2015099369) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maeda (US PG Pub. 20190331993).
Regarding claim 2, Hu as modified by Toyooka discloses an illumination system for a projection device comprising a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5); a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5); a light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5); and a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5).
Hu as modified by Toyooka fails to teach wherein the first liquid crystal panel outputs black image light between the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color.
Maeda discloses wherein the first liquid crystal panel outputs black image light between the image light of the first color and the image light of the second color (para. 0119; the excitation light is irradiated to the third region 343 and the fourth region 344, the projector displays a black image via the first digital micro mirror device 333G and a B image via the second digital micro mirror device 333 RB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify illumination system of Hu and Toyooka with the black image of Maeda in order to produce color light fluxes having a good color purity and luminance with a simple configuration, and a projector that can project a high-quality image (Maeda; para. 0121).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US PG Pub. 20170255090) and Toyooka et al. (JP 2015099369) as applied to claim 5 and 11 above, and further in view of Kitano et al. (US PG Pub. 20120268917).
Regarding claim 6, Hu as modified by Toyooka discloses an illumination system for a projection device comprising a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5); a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5); a light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5); and a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5).
Hu as modified by Toyooka fails to teach wherein the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source is set according to the number of light emitting elements of the first solid light source.
Kitano discloses wherein the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source is set according to the number of light emitting elements of the first solid light source (para. 0062; the number of the laser diodes is not particularly limited, and is appropriately set in accordance with the intensity of the output light to be obtained).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Hu and Toyooka with the controller of Kitano in order to obtain a particular output intensity (Kitano; para. 0062).
Regarding claim 12, Hu as modified by Toyooka discloses an illumination system for a projection device comprising a first liquid crystal panel (first spatial light modulator 511 of fig. 5); a second liquid crystal panel (second spatial light modulator 513 of fig. 5); a light source device (an excitation light source 501 of fig. 5); and a wavelength conversion element (wavelength conversion layer 503 of fig. 5).
Hu as modified by Toyooka fails to teach wherein the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source is set according to the number of light emitting elements of the first solid light source.
Kitano discloses wherein the output intensity of the first colored light from the first solid light source is set according to the number of light emitting elements of the first solid light source (para. 0062; the number of the laser diodes is not particularly limited, and is appropriately set in accordance with the intensity of the output light to be obtained).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the illumination system of Hu Toyooka with the controller of Kitano in order to obtain a particular output intensity (Kitano; para. 0062).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 /TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2882