DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites the limitation “…wherein the cable includes and 8 AWG conductor…” in line 1 of the claim. This is a typographical error, claim should read “wherein the cable includes an 8 AWG conductor…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUSHITA et al. (US 10,128,651 B2, hereinafter MATSUSHITA).
Regarding claim 1, MATSUSHITA discloses a system, comprising:
a transistor having a control input (See Fig.1, discloses a transistor gate receiving a control signal from control unit 6) and first and second current terminals (See Fig.1, Item#5, discloses a transistor comprising a first terminal connected to power source 1 and second terminal connected to diode 9 and inductor 8);
a diode coupled between the second current terminal and a supply reference terminal (See Fig.1, Item#9);
an electronics unit having a supply voltage terminal, the electronics unit having a capacitor coupled between the supply voltage terminal and the supply reference terminal (See Fig.1, discloses a “Loas” comprising a capacitor 9 coupled between a supply voltage line in the upper branch and a ground at the bottom branch);
a cable coupled between the transistor and the electronics unit (See Fig.1, discloses a conductor connection between the capacitor 10 and the transistor 5), the cable having a parasitic inductance (See Fig.1, Item#8); and
a controller (See Fig.1, Item#6, discloses a control unit) having a current sense input (See Fig.1, Item#6C, discloses a current detecting part) and a control output (See Fig.1, Item#6a, discloses a gate driving part), the current sense input coupled to the first current terminal (See Fig.1, discloses the current sensing part 6c is connected to the first terminal of the transistor 5), and the control output coupled to the control input (See Fig.1, discloses the controller 6 gate driving part 6a is connected to the gate of the transistor 5), the controller configured to repeatedly turn on and off the transistor to charge the capacitor (See Fig.3A and Col.2, lines 36-42, discloses the transistor 5 is turned on. Also (See Col.2, lines 36-42 and Col.6, lines 13-24, disclose the transistor 5 is turned off when the measured current reaches a threshold Ith. Col.5, lines 28-34, disclose repeating the process of turning the transistor on and off to charge the capacitor and inhibiting inrush current), wherein each time the transistor is turned off, inductive energy in the parasitic inductance continues to charge the capacitor (See Fig.3B, discloses current IL flows from the inductance 8 to the capacitor 10 when the transistor 5 is turned off).
However, MATSUSHITA does not disclose the cable having a length of at least one meter.
However, the examiner explains that the cable length is an obvious design choice, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed MATSUSHITA by changing the cable length to a desired length (such as 1 meter) for the benefit of providing power to a load at a specific distance.
Regarding claim 7, MATSUSHITA discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the capacitor is coupled between a supply voltage terminal and a supply reference terminal of an electronics unit (See Fig.1, discloses a capacitor 10 coupled between voltage supply terminal in the upper branch and ground coupled to the lower branch).
Claim(s) 3-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUSHITA in view of BERNARDON et al. (US 2014/0009134 A1, hereinafter BERNARDON).
Regarding claim 8 and 16 (claim 8 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MATSUSHITA discloses a system, comprising:
a transistor having a control input and first and second current terminals (See Fig.1, Item#5, discloses a transistor comprising a first terminal connected to power source 1 and second terminal connected to diode 9 and inductor 8);
a capacitor (See Fig.1, Item#10);
a cable coupled between the transistor and the capacitor (See Fig.1, discloses a conductor connection between the capacitor 10 and the transistor 5); and
a controller (see Fig.1, Item#6, discloses a control unit) having a current sense input (See Fig.1, Item#6C, discloses a current detecting part) and a output (See Fig.1, Item#6a, discloses a gate driving part), the current sense input coupled to the first current terminal (See Fig.1, discloses the current sensing part 6c is connected to the first terminal of the transistor 5), and the output of the controller coupled to the control input, the controller configured to:
(a) turn on the transistor (See Fig.3A and Col.2, lines 36-42, discloses the transistor 5 is turned on);
(b) determine that a current through the transistor has reached a threshold (See Col.2, lines 36-42 and Col.6, lines 13-24, disclose monitoring the current to determine when it reaches a threshold value Ith to turn off the transistor) ;
(c) in response to the determination that the current has reached the threshold (See Col.2, lines 36-42 and Col.6, lines 13-24, disclose the transistor 5 is turned off when the measured current reaches a threshold Ith),
turn OFF the transistor (See Col.6, lines 28-36, disclose the transistor is turned off until the next switching period arrives).
However, MATSUSHITA does not disclose start a timer; and (d) upon expiration of the timer, repeat (a), (b), and (c).
BERNARDON discloses an inrush current limiting circuit, comprising a transistor, (c) in response to the determination that the current has reached the threshold, turn OFF the transistor and start a timer (See Par.22, discloses that “When the current during the inrush current phase reaches a predefined upper threshold, the switch 106 may be turned off (i.e. rendered non-conductive) by the controller 120 for a predefined period of time”. The predefined period of time is interpreted to be a setting of a timer until it expires then the switch is reconnected); and (d) upon expiration of the timer, repeat (a), (b), and (c) (See Par.22, disclose the process is repeated when the time expires, the switch is turned on again. MATSHUSHITA as modified by BERNARDON discloses that the current is monitored after the switch is turned on to determine when to switch it off).
MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON are analogous art since they both deal with inrush current limiting circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MATSUSHITA with the teachings of BERNARDON by setting a timer and turning the transistor on when the time expires for the benefit of ensuring the switch is turned on to resume the power delivery without the need to continuously monitor the current.
Regarding claims 9 and 19-20 (claim 9 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, wherein a time period associated with the timer and the threshold are programmable (See BERNARDON, Par.22, discloses the off time may be fixed or variable. The time is set in the control unit 120 and is interpreted to be programmable since controllers are programmable processing units).
Regarding claim 10, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, However, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON do not disclose wherein the cable has a length of at least 1 meter.
However, the examiner explains that the length of the cable is an obvious design choice and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON by changing the cable length to a length such as 1 meter for the benefit of providing power to a load at a specific distance.
Regarding claim 11, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, however, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON do not explicitly disclose wherein the cable includes an 8 AWG conductor and has a length of at least 1 meter.
However, the examiner explains that the conductor gauge and length are determined based on the specific application and the current value that flows through the conductor and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to modify the invention disclosed by MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON by using an appropriate size and length conductor for the benefit of safely conducting the current without risk of overheating or damage.
Regarding claim 12, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, further comprising a diode having an anode and a cathode (See MATSUSHITA, Fig.1, Item#9, discloses a diode), the anode coupled to the second current terminal (See MATSUSHITA, Fig.1, discloses the anode of diode 9 is connected to second current terminal of transistor 5) and the cathode coupled to a supply reference terminal (See MATSUSHITA, Fig.1, discloses the cathode of the diode 9 is coupled to ground).
Regarding claim 13, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, wherein the system is an automobile (See BERNARDON, Par.40, discloses the circuit may be used in an automotive application).
Regarding claims 14 and 18 (Claim 14 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, further comprising an automobile battery coupled to the first current terminal (See BERNARDON, Pars.40-41, disclose the operation is performed in a vehicle environment), and (a), (b), and (c) are repeatedly performed until the capacitor is charged to a voltage of the automobile battery (See Claim 8 rejection discloses repeating the steps of the (a), (b) and (c). BERNARDON, Par.22, discloses charging the capacitor until it reaches the voltage of the battery provided at input 102. For the benefit of continuing to operate application such as an airbag if connection with the battery is severed [Pars.40-41]).
Regarding claim 15, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, wherein the capacitor is coupled between a supply voltage terminal and a supply reference terminal of an electronics unit (See MATSUSHITA, Fig.1, discloses capacitor 10 coupled between supply voltage terminal at the top branch and ground at the bottom branch).
Regarding claim 17, disclose the method for charging the capacitor of claim 16 as discussed above, further comprising continuing to charge the capacitor after turning off the transistor using energy stored a magnetic field of a parasitic inductance (See MATSUSHITA, Fig.3B, discloses a current IL output from the inductance 8 while the transistor 5 is opened and the current continues to charge the capacitor 10).
Regarding claim 3, MATSUSHITA discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the controller configured to:
(a) turn ON the transistor (See Fig.3A and Col.2, lines 36-42, discloses the transistor 5 is turned on);
(b) determine that a current through the transistor has reached a threshold (See Col.2, lines 36-42 and Col.6, lines 13-24, disclose monitoring the current to determine when it reaches a threshold value Ith to turn off the transistor) ;
(c) in response to the determination that the current has reached the threshold (See Col.2, lines 36-42 and Col.6, lines 13-24, disclose the transistor 5 is turned off when the measured current reaches a threshold Ith), turn OFF the transistor (See Col.6, lines 28-36, disclose the transistor is turned off until the next switching period arrives).
However, MATSUSHITA does not disclose start a timer; and (d) upon expiration of the timer, repeat (a), (b), and (c).
BERNARDON discloses an inrush current limiting circuit comprising a transistor, (c) in response to the determination that the current has reached the threshold, turn OFF the transistor and start a timer (See Par.22, discloses that “When the current during the inrush current phase reaches a predefined upper threshold, the switch 106 may be turned off (i.e. rendered non-conductive) by the controller 120 for a predefined period of time”. The predefined period of time is interpreted to be a setting of a timer until it expires then the switch is reconnected); and (d) upon expiration of the timer, repeat (a), (b), and (c) (See Par.22, disclose the process is repeated when the time expires, the switch is turned on again. MATSHUSHITA as modified by BERNARDON discloses that the current is monitored after the switch is turned on to determine when to switch it off).
MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON are analogous art since they both deal with inrush current limiting circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MATSUSHITA with the teachings of BERNARDON by setting a timer and turning the transistor on when the time expires for the benefit of ensuring the switch is turned on to resume the power delivery without the need to continuously monitor the current.
Regarding claim 4, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 3 as discussed above, wherein the threshold is programmable and wherein the timer is programmable (See BERNARDON, Par.22, discloses the off time may be fixed or variable. The time is set in the control unit 120 and is interpreted to be programmable since controllers are programmable processing units and the selection between fixed and variable time periods further emphasizes the programmable nature of the time period).
Regarding claim 5, MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON disclose the system of claim 8 as discussed above, further comprising an automobile battery coupled to the first current terminal (See BERNARDON, Pars.40-41, disclose the operation is performed in a vehicle environment), and (a), (b), and (c) are repeatedly performed until the capacitor is charged to a voltage of the automobile battery (See Claim 8 rejection discloses repeating the steps of the (a), (b) and (c). BERNARDON, Par.22, discloses charging the capacitor until it reaches the voltage of the battery provided at input 102. For the benefit of continuing to operate application such as an airbag if connection with the battery is severed [Pars.40-41]).
Regarding claim 6, MATSUSHITA disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, However, MATSUSHITA does not disclose wherein the system is an automobile.
BERNARDON discloses an inrush current limiting circuit in a system comprising an automobile (See BERNARDON, Par.40, discloses the circuit may be used in an automotive application).
MATSUSHITA and BERNARDON are analogous art since they both deal with inrush current limiting circuits.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUSHITA in view of YELAMOS RUIZ et al. (US 11,349,474 B1, hereinafter YELAMOZ).
Regarding claim 2, MATSUSHITA discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the transistor is a first transistor (See Fig.1, Item#5).
However, MATSUSHITA does not disclose the system includes a second transistor coupled in parallel with the first transistor.
YELAMOZ discloses circuit comprising an inrush current limiting function, the circuit including a second transistor coupled in parallel with a first transistor (See Fig.6, Items#114 and 112 and Col.4, lines 36-47. Note: YELAMOZ further discloses that the inrush current protection switch 112 may comprise a plurality of switches connected in parallel as shown in Fig.1 and Col.4, lines 48-60).
MATSUSHITA and YELAMOZ are analogous art since they both deal with inrush current limiting circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MATSUSHITA with the teachings of YELAMOZ by adding a second transistor in parallel with the first transistor for the benefit of reducing power losses during normal operation by using a second switch with lower resistance and using the inrush current limiting transistor during inrush current protection mode.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2859