DETAILED ACTION
Amended claim 1 is the broadest independent claim I ever seen. Please amend the claim 1 in reasonable way. Thank you.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the different current densities recited in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Sheade et al (Fig. 1); 4,758,793].
Regarding claim 1, Sheade et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a radio frequency detector (22) having an RF detector input (input of 22) and an RF detector output (23) and configured to receive an input RF signal (RF IN) at the RF detector input (input of 22), and a thermal voltage multiplier circuit (35a, 35a’) having a multiplier terminal (upper terminals of 35a and 35a’) coupled to the RF detector output (23).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the radio frequency detector (22) and the thermal voltage multiplier circuit (35a, 35a’) are a part of a power detector (18).
Regarding claim 14, Sheade et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a radio frequency detector (22) having an RF detector input (input of 22) and an RF detector output (23) and the radio frequency detector (22) configured to provide a first signal (the signal coming out of the terminal 23) at the RF detector output (23) responsive to an input RF signal (RF IN) at the RF detector input (input of 22), and a processing circuit (36a, 36b, 35a, 35a’, 36b, 36c, 35b, 35b’) having a processing terminal (output terminal of 36a) coupled to the RF detector output (23) and the processing circuit (36a, 36b, 35a, 35a’, 36b, 36c, 35b, 35b’) configured to provide a third signal (output signal of 36a) at the processing terminal (output terminal of 36a) based on scaling the first signal (the signal coming out of the terminal 23) by a factor that is proportional to temperature.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the factor is based on a thermal voltage (the voltage present on the schottky diodes 35a and 35a’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Sheade et al (Fig. 1); 4,758,793].
Sheade et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a processing circuit (36a, 36b, 35a, 35a’, 36b, 36c, 35b, 35b’) and wherein the processing circuit (36a, 36b, 35a, 35a’, 36b, 36c, 35b, 35b’) includes schottky diodes 35a and 35a’ which is coupled to the processing terminal (output terminal of 36a). The schottky diode (35a or 35a’) is functionally equivalent to the claimed diode connected BJT. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have replaced the diode connected BJT with the schottky diode since the schottky diode is functionally equivalent to the claimed diode connected BJT.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Humpherys (Fig. 1); 5,656,929] in view of [Sheade et al (Fig. 1); 4,758,793].
Humpherys discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a radio frequency detector (7) having an RF detector input (6) and an RF detector output (8) and configured to receive an input RF signal (RF) at the RF detector input (6), and an analog multiplier (14) having a multiplier terminal (right terminal of 14) coupled to the RF detector output (8). As described above, Humpherys discloses all the limitations in claim 1 except for that the multiplier being a thermal voltage multiplier. Sheade et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising a thermal voltage multiplier (35a, 35a’). It would have been obvious to substitute Sheade et al’s thermal voltage multiplier (35a, 35a’ in Fig. 1 of Sheade et al) in place of Humpherys’s multiplier (14 in Fig. 1 of Humpherys) since Humpherys disclose a generic multiplier thereby suggesting that any equivalent multiplier would have been usable in Humpherys’s reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 20 and 21 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Also, applicant argues that according to 35 USC 113, applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter to be patented. However, contrary to the applicant’s argument, the different current densities recited in claim 17 are necessary for the understanding of the subject matter to be patented. Again, according to 37 CFR 1.83(a), drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. It [37 CFR 1.83(a)] doesn’t say if you understand the subject matter to be patented, the drawings do not require to show the subject matter to be patented. Therefor, applicant arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Henry Choe whose telephone number is (571)272-1760. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 6:00 AM- 6:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interview practice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrea J Lindgren Baltzell can be reached on (571)272-5918. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HENRY CHOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843