DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 8, 11, 13, 20, 21, 27, 29, 33, and 35 have been amended, Claims 3-4 are canceled and Claims 1-2 and 5-35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of Claim 27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-11, 16-19, 20-23, 26-27, and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seok et al. (EP 2999041 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim Seok" in view of Inoue et al (US 20170338470 A1), hereinafter “Inoue”. Kim Seok and Inoue et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode fabrication.
In regard to Claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 20-23, Kim Seok et al. discloses a battery, comprising an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Kim Seok, Abstract). Kim Seok et al. also discloses the first electrode plate comprises a first conductor (current collector) and a first conductive material layer (active material coating region) (Kim Seok, Abstract), wherein the first conductor comprises a first surface and a second surface, and the first surface and the second surface are two opposite surfaces of the first conductor and the first conductive material layer is disposed on the first surface, and the first conductive material layer comprises a first recess (Kim Seok, Figure 2 (110, 160-1)).
Kim Seok et al. further discloses the first surface comprises a first region and a second region, the first region is separated from the second region wherein the first region is exposed from the first recess, and the second region is provided without the first conductive material layer and the battery further comprises a first conductive plate, and in the second region, the first conductor is connected to the first conductive plate (Kim Seok, Annotated Figure 2).
Annotated Figure 2
While Kim Seok et al. discloses that a variation in the shape of the recess is known to the skilled artisan (Kim Seok, [11]) and that the recesses may be formed on both surfaces of the collector and active material layer (Kim Seok, Figure, it fails to explicitly disclose wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, the first recess comprises a first part, a second part and a third part extending by different distances or lengths.
Inoue et al. discloses a current collector coated with active material with recesses in the active material layer wherein in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, the first recess comprises a first part, a second part, and a third part extending by different distances and in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction a length of the first part is different from a length of the second part and third part wherein the third part extends along the first direction by a distance greater than distances by which each of the first part and the second part extends along the first direction, such that the first region of the first conductor is exposed from the third part and wherein a plurality of first regions at different locations are exposed from a same first recess (Inoue, [0093-0094], Figures 3B-3C).
Inoue et al. also discloses wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the second conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, the second recess comprises a fourth part, a fifth part and a sixth part extending by different distances or lengths (Inoue, [0103-0104], Fig 4b), wherein the different distances correspond to a variation of the layer for which Inoue teaches the distribution can be adjusted according to certain requirements and that these variations have the benefit of absorbing expansion of the active material layer, suppressing the deformation of the active material layer and suppressing lithium deposition (Inoue, Abstract, [0095, 0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a recess with a variation in height or length as taught in Inoue et al. to the recesses in Kim Seok et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Inoue and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claim 2, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to Claim 1. Kim Seok et al. also discloses wherein the first conductor comprises a plurality of first regions (Kim Seok, Figure 2 (160-1)).
In regard to Claim 10, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1. Kim Seok et al. also discloses wherein the first conductor and the first conductive material layer are a wound structure (Kim Seok, Abstract) that comprises a plurality of first segments (Kim Seok, Figure 3 (180, 190)), and the first recess is disposed in the first segments (Kim Seok, [31]).
In regard to Claim 11, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1. Kim Seok et al. also discloses wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and when viewed along the first direction, the first region is surrounded by the first conductive material layer (Kim Seok, Annotated Figure 2 (160-1)).
In regard to Claims 16-17, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first conductor is a current collector, and the first conductor comprises copper or aluminum (Kim Seok, [19]) and wherein the first conductive material layer is an active material layer, and the first conductive material layer comprises lithium (Kim Seok, [24]).
In regard to Claim 18, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1. Kim Seok also discloses a battery further comprising a second conductive material layer (Kim Seok, [24]), the second conductive material layer is disposed on the second surface, and the second conductive material layer comprises a second recess ; the second surface comprises a third region and a fourth region, the third region is separated from the fourth region, the third region is exposed from the second recess, and the fourth region is provided without the second conductive material layer (Kim Seok, Annotated Figure 2); and the battery further comprises a second conductive plate (Kim Seok, [23] (plurality of electrode tabs)), and in the fourth region, the first conductor is connected to the second conductive plate (Annotated Figure 2).
In regard to Claim 19, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to Claim 18. Kim Seok et al. also discloses wherein the first conductor comprises a plurality of third regions (Kim Seok, Figure 2 (160-1)).
In regard to Claim 26, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 18. Kim Seok et al. also discloses wherein the second conductive material layer is a wound structure (Kim Seok, Abstract) that comprises a plurality of first segments (Kim Seok, Figure 3 (180, 190)), and the second recess is disposed in the first segments (Kim Seok, [31]).
In regard to Claim 27, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 18. Kim Seok et al. also discloses wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the second conductive material layer is a first direction, and when viewed along the first direction, the third region is surrounded by the second conductive material layer (Kim Seok, Annotated Figure 2 (160-1)).
In regard to Claims 32 and 34, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 18, wherein the first conductor is a positive conductor (Kim Seok, [23]), and wherein the conductive material layer is a positive conductive material layer and the dual sided conductive material layer comprises lithium (Kim Seok, [24]).
In regard to Claim33, Kim Seok et al. discloses the battery according to claim 18. While Kim Seok discloses intermittent recesses (Kim Seok, [9-10]), it is silent as to staggering the first and second recesses. Inoue et al. discloses the first recess and the second recess are disposed in a staggered manner such that the first recess and the second recess do not overlap in a direction perpendicular to surfaces of the first conductor wherein this configuration is provided so as to not reduce the strength of the electrode (Inoue, [0104], Figure 4B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide staggered recesses as taught in Inoue to the recesses in Kim Seok as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Inoue and as doing so would amount to nothing more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to Claim 35, Kim Seok et al. discloses an electronic device, comprising a main body and a battery, and the battery is accommodated in the main body; wherein the battery comprises an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Kim Seok, Abstract). Kim Seok et al. also discloses the first electrode plate comprises a first conductor (current collector) and a first conductive material layer (active material coating region) (Kim Seok, Abstract), wherein the first conductor comprises a first surface and a second surface, and the first surface and the second surface are two opposite surfaces of the first conductor and the first conductive material layer is disposed on the first surface, and the first conductive material layer comprises a first recess (Kim Seok, Figure 2 (110, 160-1)).
Kim Seok et al. further discloses the first surface comprises a first region and a second region, the first region is separated from the second region wherein the first region is exposed from the first recess, and the second region is provided without the first conductive material layer and the battery further comprises a first conductive plate, and in the second region, the first conductor is connected to the first conductive plate (Kim Seok, Annotated Figure 2).
Kim Seok et al. also discloses a variation in the shape of the recess is known to the skilled artisan (Kim Seok, [11]), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, the first recess comprises a first part, a second part and a third part extending by different distances or lengths.
Inoue et al. discloses a current collector coated with active material with recesses in the active material layer wherein in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, the first recess comprises a first part, a second part, and a third part extending by different distances and in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction a length of the first part is different from a length of the second part and third part wherein the third part extends along the first direction by a distance greater than distances by which each of the first part and the second part extends along the first direction, such that the first region of the first conductor is exposed from the third part (Inoue, [0093-0094], Figures 3B-3C), wherein the different distances correspond to a variation of the layer for which Inoue teaches the distribution can be adjusted according to certain requirements and that these variations have the benefit of absorbing expansion of the active material layer, suppressing the deformation of the active material layer and suppressing lithium deposition (Inoue, Abstract, [0095, 0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a recess with a variation in height or length as taught in Inoue et al. to the recesses in Kim Seok et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Inoue and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seok et al. (EP 2999041 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim Seok" in view of Inoue et al (US 20170338470 A1), hereinafter “Inoue” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Maruyama et al. (US 20210328250 A1), hereinafter "Maruyama". Kim Seok, Inoue, and Maruyama et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode fabrication.
In regard to Claim 7, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 5. While Kim discloses the plurality of recesses may be distributed in a fan shape (Ki Seok, [11]) and Inoue et al. discloses the electrode layers are overlapped and have recesses (Inoue, [0097]) they fail to explicitly disclose that the plurality of first recesses overlap along the third direction.
Maruyama et al. discloses a wound battery with current collectors coated with active material layers and a plurality of recesses (notches) that in a preferred embodiment overlap along the third direction (Maruyama, [0001, 0049]), which achieves the benefit of the internal resistance of the battery being reduced and reducing the occurrence of inductance caused by the paths which bypass the notch (Maruyama [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a plurality of recesses that overlap as taught in Maruyama et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisans of Kim Seok et al. the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Maruyama and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
In regard to Claim 24, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 22. While Kim discloses the plurality of recesses may be distributed in a fan shape (Ki Seok, [11]) and Inoue et al. discloses the electrode layers are overlapped and have recesses (Inoue, [0097]) they fail to explicitly disclose that the plurality of first/second recesses overlap along the third direction.
Maruyama et al. discloses a wound battery with current collectors coated with active material layers and a plurality of recesses (notches) that in a preferred embodiment overlap along the third direction (Maruyama, [0001, 0049]), which achieves the benefit of the internal resistance of the battery being reduced and reducing the occurrence of inductance caused by the paths which bypass the notch (Maruyama [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a plurality of recesses that overlap as taught in Maruyama et al. the dual sided recesses disclosed in Kim Seok et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisans of Kim Seok et al. the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Maruyama and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claims 8 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seok et al. (EP 2999041 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim Seok" in view of Inoue et al (US 20170338470 A1), hereinafter “Inoue” as applied to claims 1 above and further in view of Sasaki et al. (US 20190198935 A1), hereinafter "Sasaki". Kim Seok, Inoue, and Sasaki et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode fabrication.
In regard to Claims 8 and 25, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1. Kim and Inoue are silent as to the dimensions of the plurality of recesses. However, Sasaki et al. discloses a recess (24) formed in the active material layer where the extension distance range of the first recess is 4.7 to 22.1 µm based on the delta T which is the difference in depth of the uniform active material layer and the active material layer in the recessed region provided in the working examples (Sasaki, Abstract, [0040], Table 1), which falls within the claimed range. Sasaki et al. also disclose a length range of the first recess is 0.5 mm to 5 mm (width W) ranges from 1 to 20mm (Sasaki, [0043]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 12-14 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seok et al. (EP 2999041 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim Seok" in view of Inoue et al (US 20170338470 A1), hereinafter “Inoue” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim et al (US 20120156564 A1), hereinafter "Kim". Kim Seok, Inoue, and Kim et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode fabrication.
In regard to Claims 12-14, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 1. However, Kim Seok et al. is silent as to a first layer containing an insulation material.
Kim et al. discloses a wound structure with current collectors coated with an active material layer wherein the active material layer has recesses (uncoated regions) and the wherein the battery further comprises a first layer containing an insulation material, and the first layer is connected to the first conductive material layer wherein the first layer is a bonding layer (Kim, [0006, 0014, 0074]). Kim teaches the benefit of this layer as being capable of maintaining the insulative and adiabatic characteristics as well as their shapes under high temperature conditions (Kim, [0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide an insulating layer attached to the conductive material layers of Kim Seok as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Kim et al. and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Kim et al. also discloses this first layer (insulation tape) can have various thicknesses and sizes depending on the desired function of the composite material tape and that wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, a dimension of the first layer is 5 m to 200 µm (Kim, [0039]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claims 28-30, Kim Seok in view of Inoue et al. discloses the battery according to claim 18. However, Kim Seok et al. is silent as to a first layer containing an insulation material.
Kim et al. discloses a wound structure with current collectors coated with an active material layer wherein the active material layer has recesses (uncoated regions) and the wherein the battery further comprises a first layer containing an insulation material, and the first layer is connected to the first and/or second conductive material layer, as Kim Seok discloses a dual sided conductive material coating and wherein the first layer is a bonding layer (Kim, [0006, 0014, 0074]). Kim teaches the benefit of this layer as being capable of maintaining the insulative and adiabatic characteristics as well as their shapes under high temperature conditions (Kim, [0037]).Therefore provide an insulating layer attached to the conductive material layers of Kim Seok as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Kim et al. and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Kim et al. also discloses this first layer (insulation tape) can have various thicknesses and sizes depending on the desired function of the composite material tape and that wherein a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first conductive material layer is a first direction, and along the first direction, a dimension of the first layer is 5 m to 200 µm (Kim, [0039]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Claims 15 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim Seok et al. (EP 2999041 A1 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Kim Seok" in view of Inoue et al (US 20170338470 A1), hereinafter “Inoue” as applied to claims 1 and 18 above in view of Kim et al (US 20120156564 A1), hereinafter "Kim" as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Lu et al. (CN104559823A - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Lu". Kim Seok, Inoue, Kim, and Lu et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode fabrication.
In regard to Claims 15 and 31, Kim Seok in view of Inoue and further in view of Kim et al. disclose the battery according to claim 12. Kim et al. also discloses wherein the first layer is a bonding layer and wherein the bonding layer comprises a substrate layer (organic base) and an adhesive layer disposed on the substrate layer (Kim, [0037-0038] and that the substrate layer comprises polyethylene terephthalate (Kim, [0043]) however Kim is silent as to the adhesive layer comprising a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer.
Lu et al. discloses a single-surface adhesive tape for lithium batteries comprising a base layer (PET) and the adhesive layer is a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer (Lu, [0010]) wherein the benefit of this configuration is taught as the tape has good viscosity, can resist the corrosion of electrolyte lithium battery, which does not have chemical reaction with the electrolyte of the lithium battery in, keeping the performance of the lithium battery and keeps the quality of the lithium battery (Lu, [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a substrate layer and an adhesive layer disposed on the substrate layer; the substrate layer comprises polyethylene terephthalate; and the adhesive layer comprises a styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymer as taught in Lu et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Lu and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known adhesive for another to obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection was changed form a 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(1) rejection to a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and does not rely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in view of the limitations of Claims 3 and 4 included in amended claim 1 and 35. Further applicants arguments with regard to Claim 33 has been considered but is moot because the current rejection does not rely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument including the staggered recesses.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725