DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending, wherein claims 1-2 and 16 are amended. Claims 1-21 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been entered. A reply to the Applicant’s remarks/arguments is presented after addressing the claims.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office Action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments or/and arguments.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. References cited in the current Office action can be found in a prior Office action. Reference not previously cited can be found per the attached PTO-892 for this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 105703010 A, hereafter Wu) in view of Takeda et al. (US 20180108903 A1, hereafter Takeda).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an electrochemical apparatus (Title, Abstract), comprising a negative electrode,
wherein the negative electrode (See Fig. 1 or Fig. 2) comprises a current collector (“11”), a first coating (“122”), and a second coating (“121”); the second coating is provided on at least one surface of the current collector (See Figs.), and the first coating is provided between the current collector and the second coating (See Figs.).
Wu further teaches the first coating comprises inorganic particles (e.g., “aluminum oxide”, [0041]; “inorganic additive”, [0037]). Wu is silent on boehmite as one of the claimed inorganic particles. However, it is well known in the battery field that aluminum oxide (or alumina) and boehmite are functional equivalents as ceramic particles that are coated on a negative electrode current collector. The ceramic particles are usually much harder than a negative electrode active material (See, e.g., [0027], [0022], Takeda) and will contribute to peel strength and hardness of the negative electrode active material layer ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have employed boehmite as an alternative to aluminum oxide of Wu since the substitution of known equivalents for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06). Furthermore, boehmite has a Mohs hardness of being 2 to 7 as instantly disclosed and claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the inorganic particles may comprise silicon dioxide ([0041], Wu), which reads on the claimed quartz sand having a similar composition.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 8-9, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, and further teaches the first coating comprises a zero-dimensional conductive agent or a one-dimensional conductive agent (Wu: [0037]; “carbon black”, “carbon nanotubes”, [0045]), a binder (e.g., “styrene-butadiene rubber”, [0048]), and a dispersant (e.g., “sodium carboxymethyl cellulose”, [0048]). The mass ratio Based on a total mass of the first coating, the mass ratio of the inorganic particle may be in a range of 10% to 20%, the mass ratio of the conductive agent may be in a range of 45% to 72%, the mass ratio of the binder may be in a range of 18% to 35% ([0038]), and thus the remaining component of the dispersant may be in a range of less than 27%. The claimed ranges overlap the above ranges, respectively. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claims 10 and 14-15, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, and the claimed limitations in claims 10 and 14-15 represent characteristics or properties of the negative electrode. Since Wu in view of Takeda teaches the same negative electrode as claimed. The claimed characteristics or properties are necessarily present. It is well settled that when a claimed product reasonably appears to be substantially the same as a product disclosed by the prior art, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the prior art product does not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics attributed to the claimed product, and that it is of no moment whether the rejection is based on § 102 or § 103 since the burden is on the applicant is the same. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,708 (Fed Cir. 1990); In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 11, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, and the thickness of the first coating may be in the range of 0.5 µm to 8 µm ([0033], Wu), overlapping the instantly claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 12, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, but is silent as to the instantly claimed coating weight. However, Wu discloses that the weight ratios of various components of the first coating are adjustable (See Examples 1-9), thus one of ordinary skill in the art would readily arrive at the claimed range of coating weight through routine experimentations. In the absence of unexpected results or evidence that the coating weight is critical, the claimed range is not patentably distinguishable. Upon review of the entire initial disclosure, there does not appear to be any criticality to the claimed thickness.
Regarding claim 13, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a cover rate of the first coating is in a range of 50% to 100% (See Figs. 1 or 2), and the cover rate is an area ratio of a surface of the current collector that is covered by the first coating.
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches an electronic apparatus (“electrochemical energy storage apparatus”, at least Title and Abstract) comprising an electrochemical apparatus (“electrochemical energy storage apparatus”, at least Title and Abstract), the electrochemical apparatus comprises a negative electrode,
wherein the negative electrode (See Fig. 1 or Fig. 2) comprises a current collector (“11”), a first coating (“122”), and a second coating (“121”); the second coating is provided on at least one surface of the current collector (See Figs.), and the first coating is provided between the current collector and the second coating (See Figs.).
Wu further teaches the first coating comprises inorganic particles (e.g., “aluminum oxide”, [0041]; “inorganic additive”, [0037]). Wu is silent on boehmite as one of the claimed inorganic particles. However, it is well known in the battery field that aluminum oxide (or alumina) and boehmite are functional equivalents as ceramic particles that are coated on a negative electrode current collector. The ceramic particles are usually much harder than a negative electrode active material (See, e.g., [0027], [0022], Takeda) and will contribute to peel strength and hardness of the negative electrode active material layer ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have employed boehmite as an alternative to aluminum oxide of Wu since the substitution of known equivalents for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06). Furthermore, boehmite has a Mohs hardness of being 2 to 7 as instantly disclosed and claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16, and further teaches the first coating comprises a zero-dimensional conductive agent or a one-dimensional conductive agent (Wu: [0037]; “carbon black”, “carbon nanotubes”, [0045]), a binder (e.g., “styrene-butadiene rubber”, [0048]), and a dispersant (e.g., “sodium carboxymethyl cellulose”, [0048]). The mass ratio Based on a total mass of the first coating, the mass ratio of the inorganic particle may be in a range of 10% to 20%, the mass ratio of the conductive agent may be in a range of 45% to 72%, the mass ratio of the binder may be in a range of 18% to 35% ([0038]), and thus the remaining component of the dispersant may be in a range of less than 27%. The claimed ranges overlap the above ranges, respectively. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 19, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16, and the claimed limitation in claim 19 represents characteristic or property of the negative electrode. Since Wu in view of Kim teaches the same negative electrode as claimed. The claimed characteristics or properties are necessarily present. It is well settled that when a claimed product reasonably appears to be substantially the same as a product disclosed by the prior art, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the prior art product does not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics attributed to the claimed product, and that it is of no moment whether the rejection is based on § 102 or § 103 since the burden is on the applicant is the same. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,708 (Fed Cir. 1990); In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 20, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16, and the thickness of the first coating may be in the range of 0.5 µm to 8 µm ([0033]), overlapping the instantly claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Takeda, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 107437622 A, whose English machine translation is being employed here for citation purposes, hereafter Liu).
Regarding claim 21, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, and the instantly claimed content of the inorganic particle can be arrived at by one of ordinary skill in the art since a selection of a specific amount of the inorganic particles would be an obvious matter of design choice and involves merely ordinary capabilities. For instance, Liu discloses a similar structure and composition as claimed, and further discloses an amount of inorganic particles being 3% to 20% by mass, based on a total mass of the first coating (claim 7, Liu). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the content of 3% to 20% by mass taught by Liu as an alternative to that of Wu in the absence of unexpected results or evidence that the claimed range is critical. As such, the claimed range of 1% to 6% overlaps the above range of 3% to 20%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Takeda, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190140280 A1, hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 1, but is silent as to the instantly claimed size of the inorganic particles. However, in a similar invention, Zhang discloses the use of a size of 100 nm to 10 µm ([0044]) for inorganic particles included in a safety coating (equivalent to the first coating as claimed) that is disclosed between an electrode current collector and an electrode active material layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have used an average diameter of 100 nm to 10 µm taught by Zhang in order to improve conductive network blocking effect of the inorganic particles at a high temperature and thereby improve the response speed of the safety coating ([0044], Zhang). The claimed range of Dv50 of the inorganic particles lies inside the above range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Takeda, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (CN 111710832 A, hereafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 6, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 5, but is silent as to the instantly claimed size of the carbon black as the zero-dimensional conductive agent. However, a selection of a size of carbon black involves merely ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. For instance, in a similar invention, Zhu discloses a use of 300 nm ([0079]) of carbon black in the porous composite layer (equivalent to the claimed first coating). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have selected a Dv50 of the zero-dimensional conductive agent being 300 nm taught by Zhu, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07. Again, in the absence of unexpected results or evidence that the claimed size range is critical, it is not patentably distinguishable. Upon review of the entire initial disclosure, there does not appear to be any criticality to the claimed size range.
Regarding claim 7, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electrochemical apparatus according to claim 5, but is silent as to the instantly claimed size of the size of the one-dimensional conductive agent. However, a selection of a size of a one-dimensional agent, such as a carbon nanotube, involves merely ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. For instance, in a similar invention, Zhu discloses a use of 300 nm ([0095]) of a carbon nanotube in the porous composite layer (equivalent to the claimed first coating). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have selected an average diameter of the one-dimensional conductive agent being 300 nm taught by Zhu, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07. Again, in the absence of unexpected results or evidence that the claimed size range is critical, it is not patentably distinguishable. Upon review of the entire initial disclosure, there does not appear to be any criticality to the claimed size range.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Takeda, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 17, Wu in view of Takeda teaches the electronic apparatus according to claim 16, but is silent as to the instantly claimed size of the inorganic particles. However, in a similar invention, Zhang discloses the use of a size of 100 nm to 10 µm ([0044]) for inorganic particles included in a safety coating (equivalent to the first coating as claimed) that is disclosed between an electrode current collector and an electrode active material layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have used an average diameter of 100 nm to 10 µm taught by Zhang in order to improve conductive network blocking effect of the inorganic particles at a high temperature and thereby improve the response speed of the safety coating ([0044], Zhang). The claimed range of Dv50 of the inorganic particles lies inside the above range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Apr. 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejections above.
In addition, Applicant’s other main arguments are related to the primary reference Wu. However, it is respectfully noted that the combination of Wu and other references, rather than Wu itself, was/is relied on in the rejections. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (in this case, the Wu reference), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, since independent claims 1 and 16 are not allowable, their dependent claims, including claims 10 and 14, are not allowable.
Correspondence
/ZHONGQING WEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727