DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 12-14 and 17-18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
The prior rejection of claim 14 under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn in view of the 4/1/2026 claim amendments .
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 12 of the remarks filed 6/30/2026, Applicant argues that cited art of record Moro fails to consider physical constraints of quantum hardware qubit connectivity. However, while Moro may not provide a detailed description of physical constraints per se, Moro is certainly directed to quantum compiling which requires implementation of computations as physical hardware circuits (e.g. see the end of paragraph 1 on p. 1 of Moro). Moro must at some level consider physical constraints for qubit implementation. This argument is not persuasive.
On pp. 12-13 of the remarks, Applicant argues that cited art of record Low teaches the use of SWAP gates to parallelize computation which would not apply to Moro’s unitary operation. In response to applicant's argument that Low’s SWAP gate parallelization is not usable with Moro’s quantum gates, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Low provides a teaching of a utility of SWAP gates that enables parallel operation. Note that SWAP gates are a well-known example of a quantum gate in the field of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art understands that parallelization allows two computations to occur in shorter time than if they were performed sequentially, and Low specifically suggests that parallelization allows for reduced circuit depth (see Low, ¶ 0002 and 0004). Even if Low’s parallel quantum SWAP gates provide an alternate architecture than Moro’s quantum computations, one of ordinary skill has good reason to combine the teachings as indicated in the rejection. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Quantum Compiling by Deep Reinforcement Learning” by Moro et al. (“Moro”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210157662 by Heckey et al. ("Heckey"), U.S. Patent Application Publication 20190018721 by Wallman et al. ("Wallman") and U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200394544 by Low et al. ("Low").
In regard to claim 1, Moro discloses:
1. A system, comprising: one or more computing devices of a … network configured to implement a quantum computing service, wherein the quantum computing service is configured to enable execution of quantum circuits using a plurality of quantum hardware devices; and one or more computing devices of the … network configured to implement a quantum compilation service configured to compile instructions comprising a quantum circuit mapping for executing a logical quantum circuit using a given one of the quantum hardware devices, See Moro, Abstract, e.g. “compiling high-level quantum algorithms into lower-level circuits of quantum gates.” Also bottom of p. 7, “As a concluding remark, we observe that this approach can be specialized, taking into account any hardware constraints that limit operations, integrating them directly into the environments.” Also middle of p. 8 under “Software and Hardware,” e.g. “Intel Xeon W-2195 and a Nvidia GV100.”
Moro does not expressly disclose: … service provider…. This is taught by Heckey. See Heckey, Fig. 1 element 100 “Service Provider Network.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Heckey’s service provider network with Moro’s devices in order to enable potential users of quantum computers to access quantum computers based on multiple different quantum computing technologies and/or paradigms, without the cost and resources required to build or manage such quantum computers as suggested by Heckey (see ¶ 0071).
As noted above, Moro broadly describes “compiling high-level quantum algorithms into lower-level circuits of quantum gates” (see Abstract). Moro does not expressly disclose: wherein the mapping comprises an allocation of logical qubits of the logical quantum circuit to physical qubits of the given one of the quantum hardware devices, However, Wallman provides a more detailed description. See ¶ 0051, “In some aspects of operation, the compiler system 106 obtains quantum-logic source code (e.g., a quantum-logic gate sequence, a quantum-logic circuit, a quantum algorithm, etc.), modifies the quantum-logic source code, and provides the modified quantum-logic source code to the quantum device 110 for execution by the quantum information processor 114.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wallman’s allocation with Moro’s compiler qubit mapping in order to execute a quantum circuit as suggested by Wallman (see ¶ 0051).
Moro also discloses:
wherein to implement the quantum compilation service, the one or more computing devices are further configured to:
implement a reinforcement-learning-based (RL-based) quantum circuit router, Moro, pp. 1-2, e.g.:
By exploiting a deep reinforcement learning algorithm, it would be in principle possible to train an agent to generalize how to map any unitary operator into a sequence of elementary gates within an arbitrary precision.
…
In the framework of quantum compiling, the environment consists of a quantum circuit that starts as the identity at the beginning of each episode. It is built incrementally at each time-step by the agent, choosing a gate from B according to the policy π encoded in the deep neural network, as shown in Figure 1. Therefore, the available actions that the agent can perform correspond to the gates in the base B.
wherein the RL-based quantum circuit router is configured to:
receive a request to generate the quantum circuit mapping; generate, via a reinforcement learning model, one or more results of the quantum circuit mapping, Moro, 3rd and 8th paragraphs on p. 2:
In this work, we propose a novel approach to quantum compiling, exploiting deep reinforcement learning to approximate, with competitive tolerance, single-qubit unitary operators as circuits made by an arbitrary initial set of elementary quantum gates.
…
In this work, we ask the agent to approximate any single-qubit unitary matrix U , within a fixed tolerance ε.
wherein the one or more results comprise an ordering of quantum gates and … to be performed to execute the logical quantum circuit using the given one of the quantum hardware devices; and Moro, pp. 1-2, e.g.:
In the framework of quantum compiling, the environment consists of a quantum circuit that starts as the identity at the beginning of each episode. It is built incrementally at each time-step by the agent, choosing a gate from B according to the policy π encoded in the deep neural network, as shown in Figure 1. Therefore, the available actions that the agent can perform correspond to the gates in the base B.
Moro does not expressly disclose: SWAP gates. This is taught by Low. See Low, ¶ 0004, “Via the network of swap gates, the computation of the numerous many-body terms may be parallelized within the quantum computer, resulting in a significantly decreased circuit depth of the computer.” Also ¶ 0046, “It should be noted that swapping the logical positions of qubits, via swap operations, may conserve the physical arrangement and/or physical ordering of the physical instantiations of the qubits. More specifically, a qubit swap operation may swap the quantum states of the two affected qubits and not affect any physically observable configuration of the physical instantiation of the qubit.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Low’s network of swap gates with Moro’s circuit in order to enable parallelization resulting in a significantly decreased circuit depth of the computer while conserving physical arrangements of qubits as suggested by Low (see ¶ 0002, 0004 and 0046).
Moro and Heckey also teach:
provide the one or more generated results to the quantum computing service, See Moro 2nd paragraph on p. 4, “At the end of the learning, the agent discovered an approximating circuit made by 76 gates only, within the target tolerance.” Also see Heckey Fig. 1 as cited above.
Moro does not expressly disclose:
wherein the one or more computing devices that implement the quantum computing service are further configured to submit the compiled instructions comprising the one or more generated results for use in execution of the logical quantum circuit using the given quantum hardware device. This is taught by Heckey. See Heckey ¶ 0091, “Quantum circuits that have been translated by translation module 112 may be provided to back-end API transport module 110 in order for the translated quantum circuits to be transported to a quantum computer at a respective quantum hardware provider location.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Heckey’s translated circuit submission with Moro’s reinforcement learning results in order to enable potential users of quantum computers to access quantum computers based on multiple different quantum computing technologies and/or paradigms, without the cost and resources required to build or manage such quantum computers as suggested by Heckey (see ¶ 0071).
In regard to claim 2, Moro also discloses:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein to generate, via the reinforcement learning model, the one or more results of the quantum circuit mapping, the RL-based quantum circuit router is further configured to: select an action of a plurality of actions that change a current state of the quantum circuit mapping being generated, … update the current state of the quantum circuit mapping being generated to an updated state of the quantum circuit mapping being generated based, at least in part, on the selected action. Moro, bottom of p. 2, e.g.:
In the framework of quantum compiling, the environment consists of a quantum circuit that starts as the identity at the beginning of each episode. It is built incrementally at each time-step by the agent, choosing a gate from B according to the policy π encoded in the deep neural network, as shown in Figure 1. Therefore, the available actions that the agent can perform correspond to the gates in the base B.
Moro does not expressly disclose: wherein the selected action causes a SWAP gate to be scheduled such that one or more respective ones of the quantum gates of the logical quantum circuit are additionally scheduled; and This is taught by Low. See Low, ¶ 0005, “The qubit swap operations may be implemented by the network of quantum gates.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Low’s network of gates with Moro’s circuit in order to enable parallelization resulting in a significantly decreased circuit depth of the computer as suggested by Low.
In regard to claim 4, Moro and Wallman also teach:
4. The system of claim 1, wherein to compile instructions comprising the quantum circuit mapping, the one or more computing devices of the service provider network configured to implement the quantum compilation service are further configured to: generate the allocation of the logical qubits of the logical quantum circuit to the physical qubits of the plurality of quantum hardware devices; and See Moro, Abstract, e.g. “compiling high-level quantum algorithms into lower-level circuits of quantum gates.” Also see Wallman, ¶ 0051, “In some aspects of operation, the compiler system 106 obtains quantum-logic source code (e.g., a quantum-logic gate sequence, a quantum-logic circuit, a quantum algorithm, etc.), modifies the quantum-logic source code, and provides the modified quantum-logic source code to the quantum device 110 for execution by the quantum information processor 114.”
provide the request to generate the quantum circuit mapping to the RL-based quantum circuit router, wherein the request comprises the allocation. See Moro, bottom half of p. 2, “In this work, we ask the agent to approximate any single-qubit unitary matrix U , within a fixed tolerance ε. Therefore, the goal of the agent is to find a unitary matrix Un = ∏n j=1 Aj, resulting from the composition of the elements in the sequence, that is sufficiently close to U .” Also see Wallman, Fig. 3C, depicting an example of an allocation.
In regard to claim 5, Moro and Wallman also teach:
5. The system of claim 4, wherein: the request to generate the quantum circuit mapping further comprises a noise model corresponding to the given one of the quantum hardware devices; and the allocation is additionally based, at least in part, on the noise model. Wallman, ¶ 0067, “FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C are schematic diagrams showing an example of noise tailoring applied to a quantum-logic gate sequence.”
In regard to claim 6, Moro and Heckey also teach:
6. The system of claim 1, wherein: the given one of the quantum hardware devices is a quantum hardware device of a quantum hardware provider; the quantum hardware provider is accessible to the quantum compilation service via the service provider network; and physical qubit connectivity information corresponding to the given one of the quantum hardware devices is provided via the service provider network. See Heckey, Fig. 1, depicting physical connectivity of hardware provided by a service provider network.
In regard to claim 7, Moro also discloses:
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the RL-based quantum circuit router is further configured to: update one or more rewards of the reinforcement learning model of the RL-based quantum circuit router based, at least in part, on the one or more generated results of the quantum circuit mapping. Moro, p. 2, under “Deep reinforcement learning”:
According to a policy function that fully determines its behavior, the former interacts with the latter at discrete time-steps, performing an action based on an observation related to the current state of the environment. Therefore, the environment evolves changing its state and returning a reward signal, that can be interpreted as a measure of the adequateness of the action the agent has performed.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moro in view of Heckey, Wallman and Low as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210278825 by Wen et al. ("Wen").
In regard to claim 3, Moro also discloses:
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more computing devices of the service provider network configured to implement the RL-based quantum circuit router or one or more additional computing devices of the service provider network are configured to: train the RL-based quantum circuit router, Moro, p. 3, e.g. “In this work we exploit Deep Q-Learning (DQL)43 and Proximal Policy Optimization (PPO)44 algorithms to train the agents, depending on the reward function.”
…
determine loss values corresponding to respective ones of the projected quantum gate scheduling paths, wherein the determined loss values are provided to a value network to update rewards of the reinforcement learning model used by a policy network of the RL-based quantum circuit router. Moro, in the description of Fig. 1, e.g. “At each time-step n the agent receives the current observation On and based on that information it chooses the next gate to apply on the quantum circuit. Therefore, the environment returns the real-valued reward rn to the agent.”
Moro does not expressly disclose: wherein to train the RL-based quantum circuit router, said one or more computing devices or the one or more additional computing devices are further configured to: cause a Monte Carlo Tree Search (MCTS) algorithm to be performed, wherein the MCTS algorithm forecasts projected quantum gate scheduling paths based on respective ones of the plurality of actions; and This is taught by Wen. See ¶ 0004, “MCTS.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Moro’s RL-based action scheduling with Wen’s MCTS in order to utilize an efficient and quick real time search to identify the optimal policy from the one or more possible policies as suggested by Wen (see ¶ 0004).
Claims 8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moro in view of Wallman, Low and Wen.
In regard to claim 8, Moro discloses:
8. A method, comprising: See Moro, at least p. 7, under “Methods.”
receiving a request to generate compiled instructions comprising a quantum circuit mapping for executing a logical quantum circuit using a quantum hardware device; Moro, 3rd and 8th paragraphs on p. 2:
In this work, we propose a novel approach to quantum compiling, exploiting deep reinforcement learning to approximate, with competitive tolerance, single-qubit unitary operators as circuits made by an arbitrary initial set of elementary quantum gates.
…
In this work, we ask the agent to approximate any single-qubit unitary matrix U , within a fixed tolerance ε.
As noted above, Moro broadly describes “compiling high-level quantum algorithms into lower-level circuits of quantum gates” (see Abstract). Moro does not expressly disclose: wherein the mapping comprises an allocation of logical qubits of the logical quantum circuit to physical qubits of the quantum hardware device; However, Wallman provides a more detailed description. See ¶ 0051, “In some aspects of operation, the compiler system 106 obtains quantum-logic source code (e.g., a quantum-logic gate sequence, a quantum-logic circuit, a quantum algorithm, etc.), modifies the quantum-logic source code, and provides the modified quantum-logic source code to the quantum device 110 for execution by the quantum information processor 114.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wallman’s allocation with Moro’s compiler qubit mapping in order to execute a quantum circuit as suggested by Wallman (see ¶ 0051).
Moro also discloses:
determining a routing, via a reinforcement learning model, of quantum gates of the logical quantum circuit to the physical qubits of the quantum hardware device, Moro, pp. 1-2, e.g.:
In the framework of quantum compiling, the environment consists of a quantum circuit that starts as the identity at the beginning of each episode. It is built incrementally at each time-step by the agent, choosing a gate from B according to the policy π encoded in the deep neural network, as shown in Figure 1. Therefore, the available actions that the agent can perform correspond to the gates in the base B.
wherein said determining the routing comprises: determining a plurality of actions that change a current state of the quantum circuit mapping being generated, … selecting an action from the plurality of actions; updating the current state of the quantum circuit mapping being generated to an updated state of the quantum circuit mapping being generated based, at least in part, on the selected action; Moro, bottom of p. 2, e.g.:
In the framework of quantum compiling, the environment consists of a quantum circuit that starts as the identity at the beginning of each episode. It is built incrementally at each time-step by the agent, choosing a gate from B according to the policy π encoded in the deep neural network, as shown in Figure 1. Therefore, the available actions that the agent can perform correspond to the gates in the base B.
Also see Fig. 1 on p. 3, depicting the iterative process of reinforcement learning which includes selection of an action associated with an observation of an updated environment.
Moro does not expressly disclose: … wherein respective ones of the actions cause respective SWAP gates to be scheduled such that one or more respective ones of the quantum gates of the logical quantum circuit are additionally scheduled; This is taught by Low. See ¶ 0004, “Via the network of swap gates, the computation of the numerous many-body terms may be parallelized within the quantum computer, resulting in a significantly decreased circuit depth of the computer.” Also ¶ 0005, “The qubit swap operations may be implemented by the network of quantum gates.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Low’s swap gates with Moro’s circuit in order to enable parallelization resulting in a significantly decreased circuit depth of the computer as suggested by Low.
performing a … [search], wherein the … [search] forecasts projected quantum gate scheduling paths corresponding to the selected action and to respective ones of the unselected plurality of actions; See Moro, at least Fig. 1 at the top of p. 3, depicting a reinforcement learning process.
Moro does not expressly disclose: Monte Carlo Tree Search (MCTS), wherein the MCTS forecasts projected quantum gate scheduling paths …; This is taught by Wen. See ¶ 0004, “MCTS.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Moro’s RL-based action scheduling with Wen’s MCTS in order to utilize an efficient and quick real time search to identify the optimal policy from the one or more possible policies as suggested by Wen (see ¶ 0004).
Moro also discloses:
determining loss values corresponding to respective ones of the projected quantum gate scheduling paths; and Moro, in the description of Fig. 1, e.g. “At each time-step n the agent receives the current observation On and based on that information it chooses the next gate to apply on the quantum circuit. Therefore, the environment returns the real-valued reward rn to the agent.”
repeating, for an additional plurality of actions, said determining the additional plurality of actions, said selecting an additional action from the plurality of additional actions, said updating the updated state such that respective ones of the quantum gates of the logical quantum circuit are routed, said performing the MCTS, and said determining updated loss values; See Moro, Fig. 1 on p. 3, depicting the iterative nature of a reinforcement learning architecture
determining a mapping recommendation based, at least in part, on the determined routing; and providing the mapping recommendation. See Moro 2nd paragraph on p. 4, “At the end of the learning, the agent discovered an approximating circuit made by 76 gates only, within the target tolerance.”
In regard to claim 10, Moro does not expressly disclose the limitations.
Wallman teaches:
10. The method of claim 8, wherein said selecting the action from the plurality of actions is based, at least in part, on a noise model corresponding to the quantum hardware device. See Wallman Figure 3C, depicting an initial allocation. Also see ¶ 0072, “Thus, the modified quantum-logic gate sequence 300C shown in FIG. 3C represents the initial quantum-logic gate sequence 300A shown in FIG. 3A transformed by application of the virtual random gates 308 shown in FIG. 3B.” Also ¶ 0067, “FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C are schematic diagrams showing an example of noise tailoring applied to a quantum-logic gate sequence.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wallman’s initial allocation with Moro’s mapping request in order to reduce the effect of noise in a quantum information processor as suggested by Wallman (see ¶ 0061).
In regard to claim 11 Moro does not expressly disclose:
11. The method of claim 8, wherein said selecting the action from the plurality of actions is based, at least in part, on a forecasting recommendation of the MCTS, wherein the MCTS additionally forecasts the projected quantum gate scheduling paths prior to said selecting the action from the plurality of actions. This is taught by Wen. See Wen, Fig. 4 and ¶ 0048, “FIG. 4 depicts the workflow for a MCTS. The MCTS includes iteratively building a search tree until a predefined computational budget, for example, a time, memory or iteration constraint is reached, at which point the search is halted and the best performing root action is returned.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wen’s MCTS with Moro’s RL-based action scheduling in order to utilize an efficient and quick real time search to identify the optimal policy from the one or more possible policies as suggested by Wen (see ¶ 0004).
In regard to claim 12, Moro and Wallman also teach:
12. The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining the allocation of the logical qubits of the logical quantum circuit to the physical qubits of the quantum hardware device, See Moro, Abstract, e.g. “compiling high-level quantum algorithms into lower-level circuits of quantum gates.” Also see Wallman, ¶ 0051, “In some aspects of operation, the compiler system 106 obtains quantum-logic source code (e.g., a quantum-logic gate sequence, a quantum-logic circuit, a quantum algorithm, etc.), modifies the quantum-logic source code, and provides the modified quantum-logic source code to the quantum device 110 for execution by the quantum information processor 114.”
wherein said determining the routing, via the reinforcement learning model, of the quantum gates is based, at least in part, on the allocation. This is taught by Wallman. See Wallman Figures 3A-3C, depicting gate routing based upon allocation of four qubits. Also see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0063, “Providing the modified quantum-logic gate sequence to be executed by the quantum information processor can include converting the modified quantum-logic gate sequence into machine code (e.g., a pulse program, pulse sequence, control sequence, etc.) that is executable by the quantum information processor.” Also see ¶ 0072, “Thus, the modified quantum-logic gate sequence 300C shown in FIG. 3C represents the initial quantum-logic gate sequence 300A shown in FIG. 3A transformed by application of the virtual random gates 308 shown in FIG. 3B.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wallman’s initial allocation with Moro’s mapping request in order to utilize code that can be executed by a quantum information processor and also reduce the effect of noise in a quantum information processor as suggested by Wallman (see ¶ 0048 and 0061).
In regard to claim 13, Moro also discloses:
13. The method of claim 8, further comprising:
determining the allocation of the logical qubits of the logical quantum circuit to the physical qubits of the quantum hardware device; and See Moro, p. 3, under “Training neural networks for approximating a single-qubit gate,” e.g. “decomposing a single-qubit gate U , into a circuit of unitary transformations that can be implemented directly on quantum hardware.“
determining, via the reinforcement learning model, a predicted number of … gates that are to be scheduled during said determining the routing, via the reinforcement learning model, of the quantum gates, wherein said predicted number of … gates is based, at least in part, on the allocation. Moro, top of p. 4, “At the end of the learning, the agent discovered an approximating circuit made by 76 gates only, within the target tolerance.”
Moro does not expressly disclose: SWAP gates. This is taught by Low. See Low, ¶ 0005, “The qubit swap operations may be implemented by the network of quantum gates.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Low’s network of gates with Moro’s circuit in order to enable parallelization resulting in a significantly decreased circuit depth of the computer as suggested by Low.
In regard to claim 14, Moro and Low also teach:
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising: re-allocating, responsive to said determining the predicted number of SWAP gates, at least one of the logical qubits to at least one of the physical qubits of the quantum hardware device such that an updated predicted number of SWAP gates that are to be scheduled during said determining the routing is smaller than the predicted number of SWAP gates, wherein said determining the routing, via the reinforcement learning model, of the quantum gates is based, at least in part, on said re-allocating. See Moro, Fig. 3 on p. 6, e.g. “a, The length distributions of the gates sequences discovered by the agents at the end of the learning. The HRC base generates shorter circuits as expected. b, Performance of the agent during training on the tasks.”
In regard to claim 15, Moro also discloses:
15. The method of claim 8, further comprising: updating one or more rewards of the reinforcement learning model based, at least in part, on one or more of the selected action and additional selected actions. Moro, p. 2 under “Deep reinforcement learning:” “Therefore, the environment evolves changing its state and returning a reward signal, that can be interpreted as a measure of the adequateness of the action the agent has performed. The only purpose of the agent is to learn a policy to maximize the reward over time.”
In regard to claim 16, Moro also discloses:
16. The method of claim 8, further comprising: generating compiled instructions based, at least in part, on the determined routing, wherein: the generated compiled instructions comprise an ordering of the quantum gates and the respective SWAP gates to be performed to execute the logical quantum circuit using the quantum hardware device; and Moro, pp. 1-2, e.g.:
In the framework of quantum compiling, the environment consists of a quantum circuit that starts as the identity at the beginning of each episode. It is built incrementally at each time-step by the agent, choosing a gate from B according to the policy π encoded in the deep neural network, as shown in Figure 1. Therefore, the available actions that the agent can perform correspond to the gates in the base B.
said determining the mapping recommendation is additionally based, at least in part, on the generated compiled instructions. See Moro 2nd paragraph on p. 4, “At the end of the learning, the agent discovered an approximating circuit made by 76 gates only, within the target tolerance.”
In regard to claim 17, Moro discloses:
17. A non-transitory, computer-readable, medium storing program instructions that, when executed on or across one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: See Moro p. 8 under “Software and Hardware,” which discusses implementation using Python, Stable Baseline, GNU parallel, Intel Xeon W-2195 and Nvidia GV100. This software and hardware combination inherently requires the use of a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution on a processor.
All further limitations of claim 17 have been addressed in the above rejection of claim 8.
In regard to claims 18-19, parent claim 17 is addressed above.
All further limitations of claims 18-19 have been addressed in the above rejections of claims 12 and 15, respectively.
In regard to claim 20, Moro also discloses:
20. The non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the program instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine that a first projected quantum gate scheduling path of the projected quantum gate scheduling paths, corresponding to the selected action, comprises a number of SWAP gates that is smaller than another number of SWAP gates, corresponding to another action of the plurality of actions; and See Moro, Fig. 3 on p. 6, “a, The length distributions of the gates sequences discovered by the agents at the end of the learning. The HRC base generates shorter circuits as expected. b, Performance of the agent during training on the tasks.”
determine rewards of the reinforcement learning model, wherein a larger reward is assigned to the number of SWAP gates that is smaller than the other number of SWAP gates. See Moro, p. 3, 1st paragraph, e.g. “Both reward functions are negative at each time-step, so that the agent will prefer shorter episodes.”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moro in view of Wallman, Low and Wen as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20210073674 by Zadorojniy et al. ("Zadorojniy").
In regard to claim 9, Moro also teaches:
9. The method of claim 8, wherein said selecting the action from the plurality of actions is based, at least in part, on an action selection recommendation provided via a policy network of the reinforcement learning model,… See Moro, Fig. 1 on p. 3, depicting a policy network π(a---n│On). Also Moro, p. 2, under “Deep reinforcement learning”:
According to a policy function that fully determines its behavior, the former interacts with the latter at discrete time-steps, performing an action based on an observation related to the current state of the environment. Therefore, the environment evolves changing its state and returning a reward signal, that can be interpreted as a measure of the adequateness of the action the agent has performed.
Moro does not expressly disclose: wherein the action selection recommendation comprises an indication of probabilities associated to respective ones of the determined plurality of actions. This is taught by Zadorojniy. See ¶ 0035
The policy is a map which provides a probability P, commonly between 0 and 1, that action u will be taken when the environment in which the model operates indicates a state s: …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Zadorojniy’s probabilities with Moro’s policy recommendation since probabilities are an inherent part of a policy as taught by Zadorojniy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 11373114 to Naveh et al. teaches compilation of quantum programs including allocation of physical qubits and gate routing. See at least col. 10, lines 38-42, “In some exemplary embodiments, the hardware compiler may obtain the logical program, a low-level IR thereof, or the like, and implement based thereon a physical program, by allocating physical qubits for respective logical qubits, allocating physical gates for the logical gates, or the like.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James D. Rutten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2121