Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 03/30/2023 and 02/23/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“pre-stored open circuit voltage”
“second battery”
“standing process”
“same battery system”
“(m+b)-th charging process”
“open-circuit voltage OCVm+b”
“condition of OCVn > OCVm+b”
“second voltage Um+b”
“Ucl is a limited charge voltage”
“battery system”
“N1 charging stages in sequence”
“N1-th charging stage”
“N2 charging stages in sequence”
“N2-th charging stage”
“M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence”
“i-th charging stage”
“(i+1)-th charging stage”
“charge current in a (i+1)-th charging stage”
“charge current in the i-th charging stage”
“M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence”
“j-th charging stage”
“(j+1)-th charging stage”
“charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage”
“charge current in the j-th charging stage”
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1 recites “for battery” and line 2 recites “a first battery”. These are interpreted to be the same feature. Thus, the language should be revised be consistent. It is suggested to do one of the following.
Either revise line 1 to “for a first battery” and line 2 to “[[a]] first battery”, or
revise line 1 to “for a battery” and line 2 to “the battery”.
Claim 9, line 2 recites “a battery” and line 4 recites “a first battery”. These are interpreted to be the same feature. Thus, the language should be revised be consistent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 5 recites “obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti” and line 9 recites “obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti”. Because the “m-th charging process” occurs after the “n-th charging process”, the language is unclear how the occur at the same “standing time of ti”.
Claim 2, lines 1-2 recites “the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery”. However, in claim 1, “OCVn” is an open-circuit voltage of the first battery that is measured at a time ti. Claim 2 is unclear how “OCVn” is a prestored value of a second battery and also a measured value of the first battery that is obtained after performing the n-th charging process.
Claim 9, line 7 recites “obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti” and line 11 recites “obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti”. Because the “m-th charging process” occurs after the “n-th charging process”, the language is unclear how the occur at the same “standing time of ti”.
Claim 10, lines 1-2 recites “the voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery”. However, in claim 9, “OCVn” is an open-circuit voltage of the first battery that is measured at a time ti. Claim 10 is unclear how “OCVn” is a prestored value of a second battery and also a measured value of the first battery that is obtained after performing the n-th charging process.
Claims 3-8 and 11-16 are further rejected for their dependency on other rejected claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6-12, 14, and 16-20 of the copending application # 18/192,228 (claims filed 03/29/2023).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
The following table compares the instant application and the copending application’s claims. The patentably indistinct claim language is identified with bold text.
Instant Application # 18/192,963
Copending Application # 18/192,228
Claim 1
A charging method for battery, comprising:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m>n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m,
wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 1
A charging method for battery, comprising:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
in an (m+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to a first voltage Um+1 in a second charging manner,
where Um+1 =Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 2
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 2
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage,
wherein the open-circuit voltage is an open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 3
The charging method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b,
wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 4
The charging method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to the first voltage Um+1 in the second charging manner,
where b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
in an (m+b+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to the first voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to a second voltage Um+b+1 in the second charging manner,
where Um+b+1 = Um+1 + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 4
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Uc1 + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 6
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 5
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N1-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 7
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging phases in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N1-th charging phase,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 6
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging phases in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging phase,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage Um+1.
Claim 7
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 9
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises M1 constant-current charging phases in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
each of the subsequent constant-current charging phase is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un,
and the M1 constant-current charging phases are each defined as an i-th charging phase,
with i = 1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current of an (i+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the i-th charging phase.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner further comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1,
and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m;
and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage,
with j=1, 2, ..., M2,
wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage.
Claim 10
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises M2 constant-current charging phases in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1,
each constant-current charging phase of the M2 constant-current charging phases is cut off by using the first voltage Um+1,
and the M2 constant-current charging phases are each defined as a j-th charging phase,
with j= 1, 2, ..., M2,
wherein a charge current of a (j+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the j-th charging phase.
Claim 9
An electronic apparatus, comprising:
a battery;
and a processor configured to the steps of:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m,
wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 11
An electronic apparatus, comprising:
a battery;
and a processor configured to execute the steps of:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
in an (m+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to a first voltage Um+1 in a second charging manner,
where Um+1 =Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 10
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 12
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage,
wherein the open-circuit voltage is an open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 11
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the steps of:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b,
wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 14
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the steps of:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to the first voltage Um+1 in the second charging manner,
where b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
in an (m+b+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to the first voltage Un in the first charging manner and then continuing to charge the first battery to a second voltage Um+b+1 in the second charging manner,
where Um+b+1 = Um+1 + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 12
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 16
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 13
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 17
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging phases in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging phase,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 14
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.
Claim 18
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging phases in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging phase,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage Um+1.
Claim 15
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 19
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first charging manner comprises M1 constant-current charging phases in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
each of the subsequent constant-current charging phase is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un,
and the M1 constant-current charging phases are each defined as an i-th charging phase,
with i = 1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current of an (i+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the i-th charging phase.
Claim 16
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the second charging manner further comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1,
and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m;
and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage,
with j=1, 2, ..., M2,
wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage.
Claim 20
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the second charging manner comprises M2 constant-current charging phases in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1,
each constant-current charging phase of the M2 constant-current charging phases is cut off by using the first voltage
U
m
+
1
,
and the M2 constant-current charging phases are each defined as a j-th charging phase,
with j= 1, 2, ..., M2,
wherein a charge current of a (j+1)-th charging phase is less than a charge current of the j-th charging phase.
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 15 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, and 6-14 of the copending application # 18/128,411 (claims filed 03/30/2023) in view of Xie et al. (CN 111384757 A).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
The following table compares the instant application and the copending application’s claims. The patentably indistinct claim language is identified with bold text.
Instant Application # 18/192,963
Copending Application # 18/128,411
Claim 1
A charging method for battery, comprising:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m>n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner
to a first voltage U′m,
wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 1
A charging method for battery, comprising:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un and a charge cut-off current In in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un and the charge cut-off current In in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m>n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under the condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner
until the charge cut-off current of the first battery is a first current Im,
wherein Im = (Un – k × OCVn − (1−k) × OCVm) / (Un − OCVm) × In, 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 2
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 2
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage, wherein the open-circuit voltage is an open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 3
The charging method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner
to a second voltage Um+b,
wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 4
The charging method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to a first voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein the first current Im serves as the charge cut-off current;
after the (m+b)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes are completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining a voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under the condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner
until the charge cut-off current of the first battery is a second current Im+b,
wherein Im+b = (Un – k × OCVn − (1−k) × OCVm+b) / (Un − OCVm+b) × In, and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 5
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N1-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 6
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N1-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off current In constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 6
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.
Claim 7
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged to the first current Im constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 7
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
wherein after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
a charging process in each of the constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un.
the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
Claim 9
wherein a charge current of the (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current of the i-th charging stage.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner further comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1,
and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m;
and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage,
with j=1, 2, ..., M2,
wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage.
Claim 10
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
wherein a charging process in each of the constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un,
the M constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage,
with j=1, 2, ..., M2,
(no equivalent claim language)
Claim 9
An electronic apparatus, comprising: a battery;
and a processor configured to the steps of:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner
to a first voltage U′m,
wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 11
An electronic apparatus, comprising: a battery;
and a processor, configured to execute a charging method for battery, the charging method comprises:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un and a charge cut-off current In in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing, and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un and the charge cut-off current In in the first charging manner,
wherein in is a positive integer, and m>n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under the condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner
until the charge cut-off current of the first battery is a first current Im,
wherein Im = (Un – k × OCVn − (1−k) × OCVm) / (Un − OCVm) × In, and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 10
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 12
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage, wherein the open-circuit voltage is an open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 11
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the steps of:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner
to a second voltage Um+b,
wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 13
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the charging method further comprises:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to a first voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein the first current Im serves as the charge cut-off current;
after the (m+b)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes are completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining a voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under the condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner
until the charge cut-off current of the first battery is a second current Im+b,
wherein Im+b = (Un – k × OCVn − (1−k) × OCVm+b) / (Un − OCVm+b) × In, and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 15
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 14
The electronic apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the first charging manner comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
wherein after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current,
a charging process in each of the constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un.
the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the copending application claims patentably indistinct language to “under a condition of OCVn > OCVm, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner”, the copending application does not claim “under a condition of OCVn > OCVm, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m, wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm), and 0 < k ≤ 1.”
Xie teaches (see detailed claim item mapping in the prior art rejection, included infra) under a condition of OCVn > OCVm, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m, wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm), and 0 < k ≤ 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging method claimed by the copending application to charge to an adjusted cut-off voltage when the battery is aged beyond a threshold, as taught by Xie, to improve charging efficiency of the aged battery (¶ [6, 8, 63-66]).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the dependent subject matter is claimed by the copending application’s dependent claims 2 and 12.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the copending application claims patentably indistinct language to “under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b”, the copending application does not claim “under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b, wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b), and 0 < k ≤ 1.”
Xie teaches (see detailed claim item mapping in the prior art rejection, included infra) under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b, wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b), and 0 < k ≤ 1.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging method claimed by the copending application to charge to an adjusted cut-off voltage when the battery is aged beyond a threshold, as taught by Xie, to improve charging efficiency of the aged battery (¶ [6, 8, 63-66]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the copending application does not claim “Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Uc1 + 500 mV, wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.”
The examiner interprets the limitation to mean that voltage includes a tolerance value, the examiner explains that a cut-off voltage is normally established by testing a battery to determine the constant current cut-off voltage for the battery and that adding a tolerance value is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the charging method claimed by the copending application to add a tolerance value to the charge cut-off voltage Un to account for differences between the batteries because it is well known in the art that batteries have manufacturing differences which cause them to have different cut-off voltages. Thus, this modification would further be advantageous by enabling the charging method to reliably perform for a higher percentage of the manufactured batteries.
Regarding claim 5, the dependent subject matter is claimed by the copending application’s dependent claim 6.
Regarding claim 6, the dependent subject matter is claimed by the copending application’s dependent claim 7.
Regarding claim 7, the dependent subject matter is claimed by the copending application’s dependent claims 8-9.
Regarding claim 15, though the copending application claims “the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage, with i=1, 2, ..., M1”, the copending application does not claim “a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.”
Chen teaches (see detailed claim item mapping in the prior art rejection, included infra) the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage, with i=1, 2, ..., M1, wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first charging manner claimed by the copending application for the constant-current portion to comprise M1 stages wherein the charge current decreases stage-to-stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Claims 8, 13-14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 11 of the copending application # 18/128,411 (claims filed 03/30/2023) in view of Xie et al. (CN 111384757 A) and Chen (US 2022/0271353 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the copending application does not claim the second charging manner comprises “M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence, wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1, and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m; and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage, with j=1, 2, ..., M2, wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage”.
Chen teaches (see detailed claim item mapping in the prior art rejection, included infra) the second charging manner comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence, wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1, and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m; and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage, with j=1, 2, ..., M2, wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second charging manner claimed by the copending application for the constant-current portion to comprise M2 stages wherein the charge current decreases stage-to-stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Regarding claim 13, the copending application does not claim the first charging manner comprises “N1 charging stages in sequence, wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging stage, the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.”
Chen teaches (see detailed claim item mapping in the prior art rejection, included infra) the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence, wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging stage, the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first charging manner claimed by the copending application to comprise N1 charging stages in sequence, ending with a constant-voltage charging stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Regarding claim 14, the copending application does not claim the second charging manner comprises “N2 charging stages in sequence, wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N2-th charging stage, the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.”
Chen teaches (see detailed claim item mapping in the prior art rejection, included infra) the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence, wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N2-th charging stage, the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second charging manner claimed by the copending application to comprise N2 charging stages in sequence, ending with a constant-voltage charging stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13, and 15-18 of the copending application # 18/192,069 (claims filed 03/29/2023).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
The following table compares the instant application and the copending application’s claims. The patentably indistinct claim language is identified with bold text.
Instant Application # 18/192,963
Copending Application # 18/192,069
Claim 1
A charging method for battery, comprising:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m,
wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 1
A charging method for battery, wherein the method comprises:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un in a charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
in an (m+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to a first charge cut-off voltage Um+1 in the charging manner,
wherein Um+1 = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 2
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage
of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti
in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 2
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage
of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti
in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 3
The charging method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b,
wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 4
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the method further comprises:
in an (m+b)-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the first charge cut-off voltage Um+1 in the charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
in an (m+b+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to a second charge cut-off voltage Um+b+1 in the charging manner,
wherein Um+b+1 = Um+1 + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 4
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Uc1 + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 6
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 5
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N1-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 7
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the charging manner comprises N charging stages in sequence,
wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in the N-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with a constant charge cut-off voltage.
Claim 6
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.
Claim 7
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the charging manner comprises N charging stages in sequence,
wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in the N-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with a constant charge cut-off voltage.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence, wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the charging manner further comprises M constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in the constant-current charging stages, after a voltage of the first battery reaches the charge cut-off voltage Un, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 9
The charging method according to claim 8,
wherein the M constant-current charging stages are each defined as a k-th charging stages,
with k=1, 2, . . . , M,
wherein a charge current of the (k+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current of the k-th charging stage.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence, wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 8
The charging method according to claim 1,
wherein the charging manner further comprises M constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in the constant-current charging stages, after a voltage of the first battery reaches the charge cut-off voltage Un, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 9
The charging method according to claim 8,
wherein the M constant-current charging stages are each defined as a k-th charging stages,
with k=1, 2, . . . , M,
wherein a charge current of the (k+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current of the k-th charging stage.
Claim 9
An electronic apparatus, comprising:
a battery;
and a processor configured to the steps of:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m,
wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 10
An electronic apparatus, comprising:
a battery;
and a processor, configured to execute a charging method for battery, wherein the method comprises:
in an n-th charging process,
charging a first battery to a charge cut-off voltage Un in a charging manner,
wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0;
after the n-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti;
in an m-th charging process,
charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the charging manner,
wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n;
after the m-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm,
in an (m+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes,
charging the first battery to a first charge cut-off voltage Um+1 in the charging manner,
wherein Um+1 = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 10
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 11
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the open-circuit voltage OCVn comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process,
wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system.
Claim 11
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the steps of:
in an (m+b)-th charging process, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b,
wherein Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 13
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the method further comprises:
in an (m+b)-th charging process, charging the first battery to the first charge cut-off voltage Um+1 in the charging manner,
wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1;
after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed,
leaving the first battery standing,
and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b of the first battery at the standing time of ti;
and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b,
in an (m+b+1)-th charging process and subsequent charging processes, charging the first battery to a second charge cut-off voltage Um+b+1 in the charging manner,
wherein Um+b+1 = Um+1 + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b),
and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Claim 15
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 12
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV,
wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.
Claim 13
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the first charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N1-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 16
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the charging manner comprises N charging stages in sequence,
wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in an N-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the constant charge cut-off voltage.
Claim 14
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the second charging manner comprises N2 charging stages in sequence,
wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1,
and in the N2-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.
Claim 16
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the charging manner comprises N charging stages in sequence,
wherein N is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in an N-th charging stage,
the first battery is charged constantly with the constant charge cut-off voltage.
Claim 15
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the first charging manner further comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1,
after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un;
and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage,
with i=1, 2, ..., M1,
wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.
Claim 17
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the charging manner further comprises M constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in the constant-current charging stages,
after a voltage of the first battery reaches the charge cut-off voltage Un, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 18
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the M constant-current charging stages are each defined as a k-th charging stages,
with k = 1, 2, ..., M,
wherein a charge current of the (k+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current of the k-th charging stage.
Claim 16
The electronic apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein the second charging manner further comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1,
and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m;
and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage,
with j=1, 2, ..., M2,
wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage.
Claim 17
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the charging manner further comprises M constant-current charging stages in sequence,
wherein M is a positive integer greater than 1,
and in the constant-current charging stages,
after a voltage of the first battery reaches the charge cut-off voltage Un, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un.
Claim 18
The electronic apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the M constant-current charging stages are each defined as a k-th charging stages,
with k = 1, 2, ..., M,
wherein a charge current of the (k+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current of the k-th charging stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (CN 111384757 A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Xie discloses a charging method (Fig. 3; title: “charging method”) for battery (¶ [4]: “electronic devices are equipped with batteries”), comprising the following.
Xie further discloses in an n-th charging process (Fig. 3, step 301; ¶ [51-54]), charging a first battery (Fig. 3 method applied to “the battery”) to its charge cut-off voltage Un (¶ [51]: “preset constant current charging cutoff voltage”) in a first charging manner (¶ [54]: “charge the battery … according to the preset constant current charging cutoff voltage”), wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0 (Fig. 3, step 301 is a charging step performed “when the aging degree of the battery is less than the aging degree threshold”, per ¶ [51]).
Xie further discloses (standing & measuring OCVn process performed during step 301, as described in ¶ [56-59]) after the n-th charging process is completed (¶ [54]: “After the charging is completed, …), leaving the first battery standing (¶ [56]: “resting state”; ¶ [59]: “static state”; ¶ [80-82]), and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery (¶ [54]: “… the electronic device can obtain the open circuit voltage of the battery … referred to as the first open circuit voltage”) at a standing time of ti (per ¶ [59], measuring process starts at the “target duration threshold”).
Xie further discloses in an m-th charging process (Fig. 3, step 302; ¶ [60]), charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un (“preset constant current charging cut-off voltage”) in the first charging manner (¶ [60]: “the electronic device performs constant current and constant current charging on the battery according the preset constant current charging cut-off voltage”), wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n (Fig. 3, step 302 occurs after step 301 because the battery is more aged in step 302).
Xie further discloses (standing & measuring OCVm process performed during step 302, as described ¶ [60-63]) after the m-th charging process is completed (¶ [62]: “After the charging is completed, …”), leaving the first battery standing (per process for measuring “open circuit voltage” described prior, the battery is left in the “resting/static state”), and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery (¶ [62]: “the electronic device can also obtain the open circuit voltage … referred to as the second open circuit voltage”) at the standing time of ti (per process for measuring “open circuit voltage” described prior, the measurement starts at the “target duration threshold”).
Xie further discloses under a condition of OCVn > OCVm (OCVn = “first open circuit voltage”; OCVm = “second open circuit voltage”, measured after battery is more aged; ¶ [65]: “for an aged battery, … its open circuit voltage is reduced compared to when it is not aged”; ¶ [34]), continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing (all charging processes performed after the “adjusted constant current charge cut-off voltage” is determined in step 303) in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m, (¶ [68]: “when the battery aging parameters are obtained through the technical processes of steps 301 to 303, the electronic device can adjust the preset constant current charging cutoff voltage”; ¶ [88]: “perform constant current and constant voltage charging on the battery according to the adjusted constant current charging cutoff voltage”).
Xie further discloses U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm), and 0 < k ≤ 1 (see Examiner Table 1, included infra).
Examiner Table 1
Mapping of Xie with respect to claimed formula: U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm), 0 < k ≤ 1
Claim term
Xie’s equivalent
U′m
“adjusted constant current charging cut-off voltage”
Un
“preset constant current charging cut-off voltage”
OCVn
“first open circuit voltage”
OCVm
“second open circuit voltage”
(OCVn − OCVm)
“battery aging parameter”
¶ [64]: “uses the difference between the first open-circuit voltage and the second open-circuit voltage as a battery aging parameter”
k, 0 < k ≤ 1
Xie uses a value of k = 1 (i.e., no scaling of the “battery aging parameter” is performed), per the following excerpt of ¶ [69]
U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm)
for k =1, simplifies to:
U′m = Un + (OCVn − OCVm)
¶ [69]: “adds the battery aging parameters to the preset constant current charging cut-off voltage and uses the result as the adjusted constant current charging cut-off voltage”
Regarding independent claim 9, Xie discloses an electronic apparatus (¶ [4]: “electronic devices such as smart phones”), comprising a battery (¶ [4]: “electronic devices are equipped with batteries”) and a processor (¶ [15]: “a computer program that, when executed by the processor, implements the charging method”), configured to the steps of the following.
Xie further discloses (see detailed claim item mapping for the charging method in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, included supra) in an n-th charging process, charging a first battery to its charge cut-off voltage Un in a first charging manner, wherein n is a positive integer greater than 0; after the n-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing, and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVn of the first battery at a standing time of ti; in an m-th charging process, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un in the first charging manner, wherein m is a positive integer, and m > n; after the m-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing, and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm of the first battery at the standing time of ti; and under a condition of OCVn > OCVm, continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in a second charging manner to a first voltage U′m, wherein U′m = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm), and 0 < k ≤ 1.
Regarding Claim 2 and 10, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 2), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 10).
Xie further discloses the open-circuit voltage OCVn further comprises a pre-stored open-circuit voltage (¶ [84]: “use the updated battery aging parameter to replace the battery aging parameter stored locally in the electronic device”; thus, the original “battery aging parameter” is pre-stored) of a second battery collected at the standing time of ti in the standing process that follows completion of the n-th charging process, wherein the first battery and the second battery are different batteries in a same battery system (This is interpreted to mean that the stored value of the cut-off voltage is from testing a different battery than the battery in the electronic device. The examiner explains that this is inherent as the manufacturer develops a threshold value from testing the type of battery and not by testing every single battery that is shipped and finding its cut-off voltage threshold in order to reduce costs because otherwise every single battery has to be tested to establish the cut-off voltage, and every single processor will have to be programmed with that cut-off voltage. Instead, an average cut-off voltage is established based on the testing of the type of battery and programmed to the plurality of electronic devices).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 3), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 11).
Xie further discloses in an (m+b)-th charging process, charging the first battery to the charge cut-off voltage Un (“preset constant current charging cutoff voltage”) in the first charging manner (because Un is less than Um+b, the battery is inherently charged to Un before Um+b), wherein b is a positive integer greater than 1.
Xie further discloses after the (m+b)-th charging process is completed, leaving the first battery standing (“static state”), and obtaining an open-circuit voltage OCVm+b (¶ [63]: “periodically execute … charging the battery … and obtaining a second open-circuit voltage”; ¶ [66]: “most recently obtained second open circuit voltage”) of the first battery () at the standing time of ti (¶ [59]: “target duration threshold”).
Xie further discloses under a condition of OCVn > OCVm+b (i.e., battery has aged, resulting in decreased OCV), continuing to charge the first battery that has been standing in the second charging manner to a second voltage Um+b (charging is periodically performed to the “adjusted constant current charging cut-off voltage” that is repeatedly updated for an aged battery based on the “most recently obtained second open circuit value”, per ¶ [63, 66]).
Xie further discloses Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b), and 0 < k ≤ 1 (see Examiner Table 2, included infra).
Examiner Table 2
Mapping of Xie with respect to claimed formula: Um+b = Un + k × (OCVn − OCVm+b), 0 < k ≤ 1
Claim term
Xie’s equivalent
Um+b
“adjusted constant current charging cut-off voltage” (for next execution of charging process; value is repeatedly updated per ¶ [66]: “use the updated battery aging parameter to replace the battery aging parameter stored locally”)
Un
“preset constant current charging cut-off voltage”
OCVn
“first open circuit voltage”
OCVm+b
¶ [63, 66]: “most recently obtained second open circuit voltage”
(OCVn − OCVm+b)
“updated battery aging parameter”
¶ [66]: “use the difference between the first open circuit voltage and the most recently obtained second open circuit voltage as the updated battery aging parameter”
k, 0 < k ≤ 1
Xie uses a value of k = 1 (i.e., no scaling of the “battery aging parameter” is performed), per ¶ [69]
Um+b = Un + k×(OCVn−OCVm+b)
for k =1, simplifies to:
Um+b = Un + (OCVn − OCVm+b)
¶ [63-69], value for “adjusted constant current charging cut-off voltage” is periodically updated using the same calculations with the most recently measured second OCV value
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 111384757 A).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 4), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 12).
Xie does not disclose “Ucl ≤ Un ≤ Ucl + 500 mV, wherein Ucl is a limited charge voltage of a battery system to which the first battery belongs.”
However, the examiner interprets the limitation to mean that voltage includes a tolerance value, the examiner explains that a cut-off voltage is normally established by testing a battery to determine the constant current cut-off voltage for the battery and that adding a tolerance value is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by Xing to add a tolerance value to the charge cut-off voltage Un (¶ [51]: “preset constant current charging cut-off voltage”) to account for differences between the batteries because it is well known in the art that batteries have manufacturing differences which cause them to have different cut-off voltages. Thus, this modification would further be advantageous by enabling the charging method to reliably perform for a higher percentage of the manufactured batteries.
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 111384757 A) in view of Chen (US 2022/0271353 A1).
The annotated Fig. 1 from Chen, included infra, is used to supplement the rejections herein. The annotated Fig. 1 simplifies “N1” and “N2” to be labelled as “N”, because Chen is not relied upon to teach the differences between the first and second charging manners. Similarly, the annotated Fig. 1 simplified “M1” and “M2” to be labelled as “M”. Further, “k” is labelled in lieu of “i” and “j”.
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 5), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 13).
Xie further discloses that at the end of the first charging manner (Fig. 3, step 301), the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un (¶ [54]: “after the battery voltage reaches the preset constant current charging cutoff voltage, the preset constant current charging cutoff voltage is kept unchanged to charge the battery”).
Xie does not disclose the first charging manner comprises “N1 charging stages in sequence, wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N1-th charging stage, the first battery is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un.”
Chen teaches a charging manner comprises N1 charging stages in sequence (annotated Fig. 1, included supra, illustrates “n” charging stages in sequence), wherein N1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 1 shows “n” is greater than 1).
Chen further teaches that in the N1-th charging stage (“Tn” in Fig. 1), the first battery (“battery 21”; Figs. 5-7) is charged constantly with the charge cut-off voltage Un (¶ [35]: “Tn is the constant voltage charging stage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first charging manner disclosed by Xie to comprise N1 charging stages in sequence, ending with a constant-voltage charging stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 6), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 14).
Xie discloses that at the end of the second charging manner (Fig. 3, step 302), the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m (¶ [63]: “charging the battery according to a preset constant current charging cutoff voltage”).
Xie does not disclose the second charging manner comprises “N2 charging stages in sequence, wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1, and in the N2-th charging stage, the first battery is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m.”
Chen teaches a charging manner that comprises N2 charging stages in sequence (annotated Fig. 1, included supra, illustrates “n” charging stages in sequence), wherein N2 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 1 shows “n” is greater than 1).
Chen further teaches that in the N2-th charging stage (“Tn” in Fig. 1), the first battery (“battery 21”; Figs. 5-7) is charged constantly with the first voltage U′m (¶ [35]: “Tn is the constant voltage charging stage”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second charging manner disclosed by Xie to comprise N2 charging stages in sequence, ending with a constant-voltage charging stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 7), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 15).
Xie discloses that in the first charging manner (Fig. 3, step 301 comprises charging to the “preset constant current charging cut-off voltage”), constant-current charging is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un (¶ [54]: “after the battery voltage reaches the preset constant current charging cutoff voltage, the preset constant current charging cutoff voltage is kept unchanged to charge the battery”).
Xie does not disclose the first charging manner comprises “M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence, wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1, after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un; and the M1 constant-current charging stages are each defined as an i-th charging stage, with i=1, 2, ..., M1, wherein a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage.”
Chen teaches a charging manner comprises M1 constant-current charging stages in sequence (“T1 … Tn-1” in annotated Fig. 1, included supra; ¶ [35]: “the constant current charging stage includes n-1 constant current sub-stages”), wherein M1 is a positive integer greater than 1 (Fig. 1 shows “n-1” is greater than 1).
Chen further teaches after the first battery is charged to the charge cut-off voltage Un with a constant current, each of the subsequent constant-current charging stages (T1 … Tn-1) is cut off by using the charge cut-off voltage Un (the value of the charging duration is measured to determine when it is shorter than a threshold, i.e. battery deterioration is present and adjusting the cut-off voltage when the duration is less than a threshold, i.e. the battery is deteriorated/aged).
Chen further teaches the M1 constant-current charging stages (T1 … Tn-1) are each defined as an i-th charging stage, with i=1, 2, ..., M1 (i=1 corresponds to “T1”; i=M corresponds to “Tn-1”; Fig. 1).
Chen further teaches a charge current in an (i+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the i-th charging stage (Fig. 1 shows the values of the constant currents “I1 … In-1” decrease as the charging stages progress from “T1” to “Tn-1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first charging manner disclosed by Xie for the constant-current portion to comprise M1 stages wherein the charge current decreases stage-to-stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Xie discloses the charging method according to claim 1 (i.e., for claim 8), as well as the electronic apparatus according to claim 9 (i.e., for claim 16).
Xie discloses that in the second charging manner (Fig. 3, step 302 comprises charging to the “adjusted constant current charging cut-off voltage”), constant-current charging is cut off by using the first voltage U′m (¶ [88]: “perform constant current and constant voltage charging on the battery according to the adjusted constant current charging cutoff voltage”).
Xie does not disclose the second charging manner comprises “M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence, wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1, and each of the M2 constant-current charging stages is cut off by using the first voltage U′m; and the M2 constant-current charging stages are each defined as a j-th charging stage, with j=1, 2, ..., M2, wherein a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage”.
Chen teaches a charging manner comprises M2 constant-current charging stages in sequence, (“T1 … Tn-1” in annotated Fig. 1, included supra; ¶ [35]: “the constant current charging stage includes n-1 constant current sub-stages”), wherein M2 is a positive integer greater than 1 (Fig. 1 shows “n-1” is greater than 1).
Chen further teaches each of the M2 constant-current charging stages (T1 … Tn-1) is cut off by using the first voltage U′m (the value of the charging duration is measured to determine when it is shorter than a threshold, i.e. battery deterioration is present and adjusting the cut-off voltage when the duration is less than a threshold, i.e. the battery is deteriorated/aged).
Chen further teaches the M2 constant-current charging stages (T1 … Tn-1) are each defined as a j-th charging stage, with j=1, 2, ..., M2 (j=1 corresponds to “T1”; j=M corresponds to “Tn-1”; Fig. 1).
Chen further teaches a charge current in a (j+1)-th charging stage is less than a charge current in the j-th charging stage (Fig. 1 shows the values of the constant currents “I1 … In-1” decrease as the charging stages progress from “T1” to “Tn-1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second charging manner disclosed by Xie for the constant-current portion to comprise M2 stages wherein the charge current decreases stage-to-stage, as taught by Chen, to reduce the overall charging time (Chen ¶ [52]) by keeping the electronic device in constant current charging for a longer period to account for battery deterioration (Chen ¶ [8-10, 37]).
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859