DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner Note
Amended claims received 05-09-2025 are replete with the abbreviation “MFD”. Which, in claim 1 is defined as a “macroscopic fundamental diagrams (MFDs)”. However, in the specification, for example [0003], a “MFD” is described as “generate a plurality of macroscopic fundamental diagrams (MFDs) for the plurality of partitions based on flow rates and link densities in the traffic data”. To the examiner’s best understanding, [0003] discloses a map or region divided into section and a diagram is created for each section. In-other-words, to the examiner’s best understanding, these are “micro”, not “macro”. To the examiner’s best understanding, “macro” would be the entire region, while the divided sections would be “micro”. To the examiner’s best understanding, if the subsections were combined into a single model or graph of the region, that would be “macro”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quirynen (US 20240331535 A1) in view of Halama (US 20190114909 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Quirynen discloses, a processor (Quirynen: [0027] The traffic control system comprises least one processor and a memory having instructions stored thereon) configured to: receive traffic data from a plurality of transports (Quirynen: [0101] the mapping and navigation system 304 may receive information either from the hierarchical traffic control system 302 or from each of the CAVs 306) that are operating in a predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0084] The one or more RSUs 122, 124 may be used for infrastructure-based real-time sensing of the state of the vehicles 126, 128, 130, 132, 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146 and other traffic participants in a local area around each of the RSUs 122, 124), partition a map of the predetermined geographic area into a plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [ABS] multiple intersection traffic controllers (ITCs) optimizing a cost function and minimizing tracking errors in traffic flow values of a microscopic traffic flow model with respect to relaxed traffic flow values) corresponding to the plurality of subnetworks (Quirynen: [0016] each road segment is represented as a node and each traffic direction is represented as an edge in the directed graph; [0054] compute a microscopic traffic flow motion plan for one or multiple traffic lights, and connected and automated vehicles (CAVs) in a local area around one or multiple interconnected traffic intersections within a transportation network; [0086]), generate a plurality of macroscopic fundamental diagrams (MFDs) (Quirynen: [0106] traffic flow model defines a high-level approximate representation of the traffic flow in the transportation network … the transportation network is modeled using traffic flow values, density values and mean speed values of traffic streams; [0150]; [0216]) for the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [ABS] multiple intersection traffic controllers (ITCs) optimizing a cost function and minimizing tracking errors in traffic flow values of a microscopic traffic flow model with respect to relaxed traffic flow values) and mitigate congestion within the predetermined geographic area based on the plurality of MFDs (Quirynen: [0105] directly or indirectly controls the traffic flow in a local area around one or multiple intersections; see at least diagrams and models [0036-0041], [0100], [0105], [ABS], [0011], [0016], [0027-0029], [0055-0058], [0072], [0106-0107] ...).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, identify a plurality of different, homogeneous link states in a plurality of links in the predetermined geographic area based on the traffic data, generate a plurality of subnetworks of links, wherein each subnetwork comprises links having only one of the plurality of different, homogeneous link states, based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, identify a plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [ABS] identifying congestion hotspots … The hotspots are identified by obtaining positional data relating to the movement of a plurality of devices with time along navigable elements represented by segments of an electronic map, and determining, using the positional data, delay data for at least one time period for each of a plurality of the segments; [0010] determining an aggregated delay value for each generated cluster) in a plurality of links (Halama: [ABS] identifying congestion hotspots within a navigable network within a geographic area. The hotspots are identified by obtaining positional data relating to the movement of a plurality of devices with time along navigable elements represented by segments of an electronic map, and determining, using the positional data, delay data for at least one time period for each of a plurality of the segments) in the predetermined geographic area (Halama: [ABS] identifying congestion hotspots within a navigable network within a geographic area. The hotspots are identified by obtaining positional data relating to the movement of a plurality of devices with time along navigable elements represented by segments of an electronic map, and determining, using the positional data, delay data for at least one time period for each of a plurality of the segments) based on the traffic data (Halama: [ABS] identifying congestion hotspots within a navigable network within a geographic area. The hotspots are identified by obtaining positional data relating to the movement of a plurality of devices with time along navigable elements represented by segments of an electronic map, and determining, using the positional data, delay data for at least one time period for each of a plurality of the segments), generate a plurality of subnetworks of links (Halama: [0044] A segment of an electronic map is a navigable link that connects two points or nodes), wherein each subnetwork comprises links having only one of the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0010] the aggregated delay value may be calculated using delay data from only a subset of the segments within the cluster; [0013] the congestion hotspots may be determined by identifying a subset of segments of an electronic map that form paths through the navigable network represented by the electronic having high delay; [0044]), based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0010] The clusters may then be sorted according to their respective aggregated delay value, e.g. from high to low aggregated delay value, and the clusters having the highest aggregated delay values may be identified as congestion hotspots; [0013]; [0044]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Halama also discloses, the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0007] generating a plurality of clusters from at least the plurality of segments having delay data, wherein each cluster comprises a plurality of segments, and wherein each segment in a cluster is connected to at least one other segment in the cluster; [FIG. 1(701)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Quirynen also discloses, identify critical links (Quirynen: [0094-0095] The coarse motion plan may include a sequence of entering and exit times … traffic in a north-south direction at the intersections 203 and 205 is more highly congested than traffic in an east-west direction at the intersections 207 and 209 … planned future timing and velocity trajectories for CAVs, such as the vehicle 219, that plan to cross the intersection 201 and plan to travel towards south-north direction of the intersection 203, which is highly congested; [0194-0195] The latter ensures time delay constraints for each road segment corresponding to an expected duration for each vehicle to travel through the road segment, given the physical length of the road segment, given the expected congestion of the road segment; see at least [0289-0291] for partitions based upon nodes and intersections, and high level target areas including intersections) within the predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0054] FIG. 12A shows a method for constructing and solving a constrained optimization problem to compute a microscopic traffic flow motion plan for one or multiple traffic lights, and connected and automated vehicles (CAVs) in a local area around one or multiple interconnected traffic intersections) based on entry and exit points identified from the traffic data (Quirynen: see [0184] for optimizing traffic flow based upon vehicle density and vehicles entering and exiting a road segment), wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions based on the critical links (Quirynen: [0176] At 1152, the CTC 404 receives map segment and lane information for the multiple interconnected traffic intersections in the transportation network).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimate a number of transports in each of the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0016] The state for the macroscopic traffic model may include the number of vehicles that are planning to drive straight, turn left or turn right in each of the road segments represented as nodes in the directed graph. The inputs for the macroscopic traffic model may include the number of vehicles that are transitioning from one road segment to a next, given the directed graph; [0110] predicts, in the macroscopic traffic model, a number of external vehicles entering the transportation network from each of in-flow directions at each time step) based on transport communications (Quirynen: [0162] At 1105, the CTC 404 receives additional inputs, for example, feedback signals on state and planned routing information from the CAV; [0163] At 1106, the CTC 404 receives additional inputs, for example, feedback signals on state and predicted routing information from HDV ... the feedback signals are obtained directly or indirectly from the sensing infrastructure module 406 (e.g., RSUs) or from connected vehicles; [0307] receive traffic information for one or multiple of the interconnected conflict zones and road segments in the transportation network. The traffic data 1532 can include information of vehicle states), wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0176] At 1152, the CTC 404 receives map segment and lane information for the multiple interconnected traffic intersections in the transportation network).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, plurality of partitions based on the number of transports estimated to be in each partition of the plurality of partitions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, plurality of partitions based on the number of transports estimated to be in each partition of the plurality of partitions (Halama: [0008] determining an aggregated delay value for each generated cluster, wherein the aggregated delay value for a cluster is obtained using delay data associated with segments in the cluster; and [0009] identifying one or more of the plurality of clusters as congestion hotspots based on the aggregated delay values; [0013] typically each possible path through the cluster is identified and ranked based on their usage, i.e. based on how often they are traversed; [0021] the subset of segments is identified by first ranking the segments of the electronic map based on the associated delay data), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimate a flow rate of transports at different sub-areas (Quirynen: [0028] minimizing tracking errors in traffic flow values of a microscopic traffic flow model with respect to relaxed traffic flow values from the CTC, subject to the integer constraints to produce values of control commands changing states of each of the CAVs associated with an intersection of the multiple intersections) within the predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0289] where each partition corresponds to a particular region of the discrete optimization variable search space; [0054] a local area around one or multiple interconnected traffic intersections within a transportation network), and wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0161] receives mapping information, for example, location data (e.g., GPS data) for road segments, lanes, traffic intersections and stopping zones in the transportation network; [0169] receives map segment and lane information for the multiple interconnected traffic intersections in the transportation network; [0290] the partition P.sub.1 1401 represents a discrete search region that can be split or branched into two smaller partitions or regions P.sub.2 1402 and P.sub.3 1403, i.e., a first and a second region that are nested in a common region. The first and the second region are disjoint, i.e., the intersection of these regions; [0309] the map configuration 1518 can include location data (e.g., GPS data) for conflict-free road segments, traffic intersections, stopping zones, conflict zones and lanes within each of the road segments of the transportation network; [FIG. 8B]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, plurality of partitions based on the flow rate estimated for each sub-area of the different sub-areas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, plurality of partitions based on the flow rate estimated for each sub-area of the different sub-areas (Halama: [0008] determining an aggregated delay value for each generated cluster, wherein the aggregated delay value for a cluster is obtained using delay data associated with segments in the cluster; and [0009] identifying one or more of the plurality of clusters as congestion hotspots based on the aggregated delay values; [0013] typically each possible path through the cluster is identified and ranked based on their usage, i.e. based on how often they are traversed; [0021] the subset of segments is identified by first ranking the segments of the electronic map based on the associated delay data), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Quirynen also discloses, when the processor generates the plurality of MFDs (Quirynen: [0027] microscopic traffic flow model with respect to relaxed traffic flow values from the CTC, subject to the integer constraints to produce values of control commands changing states of each of the CAVs associated with an intersection of the multiple intersections; [0072] The traffic model may include a microscopic traffic model or a macroscopic traffic mode), the processor is configured to: estimate an average speed (Quirynen: [0106] modeled using traffic flow values, density values and mean speed values of traffic streams) and an average density (Quirynen: [0106] modeled using traffic flow values, density values and mean speed values of traffic streams) within a certain partition of the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0106] macroscopic traffic flow model in combination with the convex relaxation of multiple mixed-integer traffic constraints allows the efficient computation of a high-level traffic flow plan for the entire transportation network of multiple interconnected intersections), and generate an MFD for the certain partition based on the average speed and the average density (Quirynen: [0106-0107]).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Quirynen discloses, receiving traffic data from a plurality of transports (Quirynen: [0101]; [0307]) that are operating in a predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0084]); partitioning a map of the predetermined geographic area into a plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [ABS]) corresponding to the plurality of subnetworks (Quirynen: [0016]; [0054]; [0086]); generating a plurality of macroscopic fundamental diagrams (MFDs) (Quirynen: [0106]; [0150]; [0216]) for the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [ABS]) and mitigating congestion within the predetermined geographic area based on the plurality of MFDs (Quirynen: [0105] directly or indirectly controls the traffic flow in a local area around one or multiple intersections; see at least diagrams and models [0036-0041], [0100], [0105], [ABS], [0011], [0016], [0027-0029], [0055-0058], [0072], [0106-0107]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, identify a plurality of different, homogeneous link states in a plurality of links in the predetermined geographic area based on the traffic data, generate a plurality of subnetworks of links, wherein each subnetwork comprises links having only one of the plurality of different, homogeneous link states, based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, identify a plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [ABS]) in a plurality of links (Halama: [ABS]) in the predetermined geographic area (Halama: [ABS]) based on the traffic data (Halama: [ABS]), generate a plurality of subnetworks of links (Halama: [0044]), wherein each subnetwork comprises links having only one of the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0010]; [0013]), based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0010]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Halama also discloses, the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0007]; [FIG. 1(701)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Quirynen also discloses, identifying critical links (Quirynen: [0094-0095]; [0159]; [0194-0195]; see at least [0289-0291] for partitions based upon nodes and intersections, and high level target areas including intersections (above)) within the predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0054]) based on entry and exit points identified from the traffic data (Quirynen: see [0184] for optimizing traffic flow based upon vehicle density and vehicles entering and exiting a road segment), wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions based on the critical links (Quirynen: [0176]).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimate a number of transports in each of the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0016]; [0110]) based on transport communications (Quirynen: [0162-0163]; [0307]), wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0176]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, plurality of partitions based on the number of transports estimated to be in each partition of the plurality of partitions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, plurality of partitions based on the number of transports estimated to be in each partition of the plurality of partitions (Halama: [0008-0009]; [0013]; [0021]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimating a flow rate of transports at different sub-areas (Quirynen: [0028]) within the predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0289]; [0054]), and wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0161]; [0290]; [0309]; [FIG. 8B]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, plurality of partitions based on the flow rate estimated for each sub-area of the different sub-areas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, plurality of partitions based on the flow rate estimated for each sub-area of the different sub-areas (Halama: [0008-0009]; [0013]; [0021]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimating an average speed (Quirynen: [0106]) and an average density (Quirynen: [0106]) within a certain partition of the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0106]), and generate an MFD for the certain partition based on the average speed and the average density (Quirynen: [0106-0107]).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Quirynen discloses, receiving traffic data from a plurality of transports (Quirynen: [0101]; [0307]) that are operating in a predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0084]); partitioning a map of the predetermined geographic area into a plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [ABS]) corresponding to the plurality of subnetworks (Quirynen: [0016]; [0054]; [0086]); generating a plurality of macroscopic fundamental diagrams (MFDs) (Quirynen: [0106]; [0150]; [0216]) for the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [ABS]) and mitigating congestion within the predetermined geographic area based on the plurality of MFDs (Quirynen: [0105] directly or indirectly controls the traffic flow in a local area around one or multiple intersections; see at least diagrams and models [0036-0041], [0100], [0105], [ABS], [0011], [0016], [0027-0029], [0055-0058], [0072], [0106-0107]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, identify a plurality of different, homogeneous link states in a plurality of links in the predetermined geographic area based on the traffic data, generate a plurality of subnetworks of links, wherein each subnetwork comprises links having only one of the plurality of different, homogeneous link states, based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, identify a plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [ABS]) in a plurality of links (Halama: [ABS]) in the predetermined geographic area (Halama: [ABS]) based on the traffic data (Halama: [ABS]), generate a plurality of subnetworks of links (Halama: [0044]), wherein each subnetwork comprises links having only one of the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0010]; [0013]), based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0010]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Halama also discloses, the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions based on the plurality of different, homogeneous link states (Halama: [0007]; [FIG. 1(701)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Quirynen also discloses, identifying critical links (Quirynen: [0094-0095]; [0159]; [0194-0195]; see at least [0289-0291] for partitions based upon nodes and intersections, and high level target areas including intersections (above)) within the predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0054]) based on entry and exit points identified from the traffic data (Quirynen: see [0184] for optimizing traffic flow based upon vehicle density and vehicles entering and exiting a road segment), wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions based on the critical links (Quirynen: [0176]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimate a number of transports in each of the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0016]; [0110]) based on transport communications (Quirynen: [0162-0163]; [0307]), wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0176]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, plurality of partitions based on the number of transports estimated to be in each partition of the plurality of partitions.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, plurality of partitions based on the number of transports estimated to be in each partition of the plurality of partitions (Halama: [0008-0009]; [0013]; [0021]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Quirynen also discloses, estimating a flow rate of transports at different sub-areas (Quirynen: [0028]) within the predetermined geographic area (Quirynen: [0289]; [0054]), and wherein the map is partitioned into the plurality of partitions (Quirynen: [0161]; [0290]; [0309]; [FIG. 8B]).
Quirynen does not explicitly disclose, plurality of partitions based on the flow rate estimated for each sub-area of the different sub-areas.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Halama discloses, plurality of partitions based on the flow rate estimated for each sub-area of the different sub-areas (Halama: [0008-0009]; [0013]; [0021]), for the benefit of proactively avoiding known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Quirynen to include recognizing hotspots taught by Halama. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to proactively avoid known congestion bottlenecks when planning a route along the road network, while road authorities can use the knowledge of where there are congestion bottlenecks to plan changes to the road network that might help alleviate the problem.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quirynen (US 20240331535 A1) in view of Halama (US 20190114909 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Yamane (US 20080319639 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Quirynen as modified does not explicitly disclose, detect an occurrence of an event in the predetermined geographic area based on additional traffic data, and in response, dynamically re-partition the map into a plurality of different partitions based on new link states identified within the additional traffic data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamane discloses, detect an occurrence of an event in the predetermined geographic area (Yamane: [ABS] detecting the incident in the road network based on the received live traffic information) based on additional traffic data (Yamane: [ABS] based on the received live traffic information), and in response, dynamically re-partition the map into a plurality of different partitions (Yamane: [0007] with information on traffic congestion, accidents, and traffic restrictions in addition to the link travel time, so that the car navigation system sets greater the value of a link travel time of a link involved in traffic congestion, accidents, and traffic restrictions, thereby to estimate a guide route to avoid this link (examiner: re-partitioning/re-configuring what is driveable (available) and what is not for a region on a map); [0044] the mesh ID is identification information regarding a region (divided like a mesh) from which the live traffic information was acquired ... The accident and restriction data includes information on traffic restrictions enforced in a region identified with its corresponding mesh ID, and each piece of traffic restriction information includes contents of the restriction, a cause, origin-point information, end-point information; see [0059-0063] for re-configuring map based upon lane/link restrictions; [0085] (examiner: dynamically dividing the map into restricted and un-restricted links); [0114-0116] reconfiguring a map, a route, and displaying) based on new link states identified within the additional traffic data (Yamane: [0019] detects the incident in the road network based on the received live traffic information, sets predictive environment parameters including parameters regarding traffic restriction in accordance with the detected incident; [0054] the extracted statistical link traffic data may be corrected as appropriate based on the live traffic information 21), for the benefit of avoiding increased travel times due to incident or accident.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Quirynen to include dynamically updating a map taught by Yamane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid increased travel times due to incident or accident.
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Quirynen as modified does not explicitly disclose, detecting an occurrence of an event in the predetermined geographic area based on additional traffic data, and in response, dynamically re-partition the map into a plurality of different partitions based on new link states identified within the additional traffic data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamane discloses, detecting an occurrence of an event in the predetermined geographic area (Yamane: [ABS]) based on additional traffic data (Yamane: [ABS]), and in response, dynamically re-partition the map into a plurality of different partitions (Yamane: [0007]; [0044]; see [0059-0063] for re-configuring map based upon lane/link restrictions; [0085]; [0114-0116]) based on new link states identified within the additional traffic data (Yamane: [0019]; [0054]), for the benefit of avoiding increased travel times due to incident or accident.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Quirynen to include dynamically updating a map taught by Yamane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid increased travel times due to incident or accident.
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Quirynen, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Quirynen as modified does not explicitly disclose, detecting an occurrence of an event in the predetermined geographic area based on additional traffic data, and in response, dynamically re-partition the map into a plurality of different partitions based on new link states identified within the additional traffic data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yamane discloses, detecting an occurrence of an event in the predetermined geographic area (Yamane: [ABS]) based on additional traffic data (Yamane: [ABS]), and in response, dynamically re-partition the map into a plurality of different partitions (Yamane: [0007]; [0044]; see [0059-0063] for re-configuring map based upon lane/link restrictions; [0085]; [0114-0116]) based on new link states identified within the additional traffic data (Yamane: [0019]; [0054]), for the benefit of avoiding increased travel times due to incident or accident.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Quirynen to include dynamically updating a map taught by Yamane. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid increased travel times due to incident or accident.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, beginning on page 9, filed 09-01-2025, with respect to §112(a) and (b) rejection of record, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §§112(a) and (b) rejection of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, beginning on page 12, filed 09-01-2025, in regards to the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. To the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended that Halama (US 20190114909 A1) “does not disclose or suggest identifying a plurality of different, homogeneous link states, nor generating subnetworks of links corresponding to each of those different link states”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, and is previous correspondences, Halama disclose, “[ABS] identifying congestion hotspots within a navigable network within a geographic area. The hotspots are identified by obtaining positional data relating to the movement of a plurality of devices with time along navigable elements represented by segments of an electronic map, and determining, using the positional data, delay data for at least one time period for each of a plurality of the segments”, “[0010] determining an aggregated delay value for each generated cluster”, and “[0059] a route that completely, or at least partially, avoids the congestion hotspots in a geographic area, and for which navigation instructions can be generated to guide the user along the generated route” (also see ¶0058 for color coding regions based upon congestion severity). Halama explicitly discloses identifying hotspots, determining severity at each cluster and color coding the clusters based upon severity. Because the prior art discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663