DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 14 are pending. Claims 15 – 20 are allowed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 1 “loading an unloading should be “loading and unloading”’ Claim 6 line 2, movably should be movable; claim 8, line 3, “plurality longitudinal support members” should be “plurality of longitudinal support members”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: hoist engagement members in at least claim 7. The figures identify the hoist engagement members as flanges, 20 as shown in Fig. 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a portion” in line 3. The limitation is vague in that is unclear if this is the same portion of claim 2 or if Applicant is introducing an additional portion. For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be examined as “a chamber portion” to differentiate between the portion of claim 2.
Claims 4 – 7 are further rejected s being dependents of rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0245728 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Anderson teaches a pipeline pig handling apparatus (10; Fig. 1) configured to provide loading and unloading of pipeline pigs (Abstract) wherein the pipeline pig handling apparatus (10) comprises: a frame (Fig. 1), said frame having a plurality of support members (cylinders, 60; Fig. 6), said frame being divided into a first portion (12; Fig. 1)) and a second portion (16; Fig. 1), said frame having a first end (14) and a second end (18); a drive unit (hydraulic actuator, 59), said drive unit (59) being disposed in said first portion (12) of said frame (Fig. 6), said drive unit (59) including a drive motor (Paragraph [0045]), said drive unit (59) further including a power supply (engine, 70; Paragraph [0050]) and an oil reservoir (Paragraph [0045]), said drive unit (59) configured to provide operation of a ram shaft (ramrod, 24); a plunger chamber (chamber body, 20), said plunger chamber (20) being disposed in the second portion (16) of said frame (Fig. 1), said plunger chamber (20) having an interior volume (Fig. 6), said plunger chamber (20) having a plunger (piston, 58; Paragraph [0044]) movably disposed within the interior volume Paragraph [0044], said plunger chamber (20) being operably coupled to said ram shaft (24); and wherein said plunger (58) is configured to propel a pipeline pig into a pipeline (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0245728 A1) in view of Disher (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0363249 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Anderson teaches a pipeline pig handling apparatus (10; Fig. 1) configured to provide loading pipeline pigs (Abstract); wherein the pipeline pig handling apparatus (101) comprises: a frame (Fig. 1), said frame having a plurality longitudinal support members (cylinders, 60; Fig. 6), said frame being divided into a first portion (12) and a second portion, (16) said frame having a first end (14) and a second end (18), said frame having a top and a bottom (Fig. 1); a drive motor (Paragraph [0050]), said drive motor being a combustible engine motor (engine, 70; Paragraph [0050]), said drive motor (50) being disposed in said first portion of said frame (Paragraph [0050]; Fig. 6); a ram shaft (24), said ram shaft (24) being hydraulically controlled by said drive motor (Paragraph [0045] – via the hydraulic actuator, 59); an oil reservoir (Paragraph [0045]), said oil reservoir (Paragraph [0045]) being disposed in said first portion (12) of said frame (Paragraph [0045]); a plunger chamber (20), said plunger chamber (20) being disposed in the second portion (16) of said frame (Fig. 1), said plunger chamber (20) having an interior volume (Fig. 1), said plunger chamber (20) having a plunger (piston, 58; Paragraph [0044]) movably disposed within the interior volume Paragraph [0044], said plunger chamber (20) being operably coupled to said ram shaft (24); and wherein said plunger (58) is configured to propel a pipeline pig into a pipeline (Paragraph [0010]).
Anderson does not explicitly teach said frame further having a plurality of vertical support members being operably coupled to said plurality of longitudinal support members, said frame further including a plurality of horizontal support members.
Disher, however, teaches a frame (Fig. 4) having a plurality longitudinal support members (18; Fig. 4); frame (Fig. 4) further having a plurality of vertical support members (20) being operably coupled to said plurality of longitudinal support members (18), said frame further including a plurality of horizontal support members (22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Anderson to further include a plurality of vertical support members being operably coupled to said plurality of longitudinal support members, said frame further including a plurality of horizontal support members, as taught by Anderson, to provide a frame that holds the pig in a proper orientation, against tipping, thus preventing damage to the pig.
Regarding Claim 9, Anderson, as modified, teaches said plunger (58) includes a first portion (portion connecting at 56; Fig. 7) and a second portion (portion connecting at 61; Fig. 7), said first portion and said second portion of said plunger being contiguously formed (Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Anderson teaches a pig handling apparatus, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious a concentric reducer, said concentric reducer being contiguously formed with said plunger chamber, said concentric reducer having a portion extending beyond the second end of said frame.
Claims 16 – 20 are further allowed as dependents of claim 15.
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Anderson teaches a pig handling apparatus, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious a concentric reducer, said concentric reducer being contiguously formed with said plunger chamber, said concentric reducer having a portion extending beyond the second end of said frame as require by claim 2 and a concentric reducer, said concentric reducer being contiguously formed with said plunger chamber, said concentric reducer having a first portion and a second portion, said second portion of said concentric reducer extending beyond the second end of said frame as required by claim 10.
Claims 3 – 7 and 11 – 14 are further objected as dependents of claims 2 and 10.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0137029 A1 to Peterson teaches an apparatus and related method are provided for loading a pig into a pipeline. The apparatus includes a tubular reducer, a rigid member for attachment to a cable and including a pig-engaging surface, and a guide member slidingly engaged by the rigid member to permit axial movement, while limiting radial movement, of the rigid member in relation to the reducer. In use, when the reducer is aligned concentrically with the pipeline end with the front end of the reducer bearing axially, either directly or indirectly, against the pipeline end, and the pig-engaging surface is disposed axially rearward of the reducer, increased tension in the cable pulls the rigid member axially forward relative to the pipeline, whereupon the attached pig-engaging surface pushes the pig through the reducer and into the pipeline interior.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723