DETAILED ACTION
Any rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn based upon Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are currently pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a composition for and method of in vitro treatment of COVID-19 with a combination of Fucoidan and Andrographolide in a ratio of 1:0.1-0.8, respectively, and a method of treating hepatitis with an ethanol extract of Laminaria japonica and Andrographis paniculata, does not reasonably provide enablement for a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata (sic); at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims (partially newly reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(A)). These include: nature of the invention, breadth of the claims, guidance of the specification, the existence of working examples, state of the art predictability of the art and the amount of experimentation necessary. All of the Wands factors have been considered with regard to the instant claims, with the most relevant factors discussed below.
Nature of the Invention: The claims are drawn to a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata; at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease.
The nature of the invention is complex in that the claims are drawn to a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata; at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease. The claims pertain to any type of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection and disease caused by any and all types of viral pathogens.
Breadth of the Claims: The claims are broad in that the claims recite a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata; at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease. The complex nature of the subject matter of this invention is greatly exacerbated by the breadth of the claims.
Guidance of the Specification and Existence of Working Examples: The specification describes administering a combination of Fucoidan and Andrographolide in a ratio of 1:0.1-0.8, respectively for in vitro treatment of COVID-19.
The specification envisions that a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata; at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease.
However, no working examples are provided with regard to a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata; at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease.
Predictability and State of the Art: The state of the art at the time the invention was made was unpredictable and underdeveloped. Mayo Clinic Staff (U*, “Genital herpes”. Internet Publication date: 2022-11-22. [Retrieved from the internet on: 2025-05-27]. Retrieved from <URL: https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/genital-herpes/diagnosis-treatment/drc-20356167>, 8 pages) teaches genital herpes is treated with Acyclovir (Zovirax), Famciclovir, or Valacyclovir (Valtrex). CDC: Influenza (Flu) (V*, “Treating Flu with Antiviral Drugs”. Internet Publication date: 2024-09-11. [Retrieved from the internet on: 202500526]. Retrieved from: <URL: https://www.cdc.gov/flu/treatment/index.html>, 3 pages) teaches that treatment of flu has to be started in the first 1-2 day of symptoms and that there are four FDA-approved antiviral drugs recommended by CDC to treat flu:
oseltamivir phosphate (available as a generic version or under the trade name Tamiflu®),
zanamivir (trade name Relenza®),
peramivir (trade name Rapivab®), and
baloxavir marboxil (trade name Xofluza®)
Thus, different viral infections require different treatments.
Amount of Experimentation Necessary: The quantity of experimentation necessary to carry out the claimed invention is high, as the skilled artisan could not rely on the prior art or instant specification to teach how a composition for or a method of prophylactic treatment and/or prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease caused by viral pathogens in an individual and method of making the composition making the composition comprising: an organic liquid extract derived from Laminaria japonica; an organic liquid extract derived from Andrographis paniculata; at least one of purified distilled water, ethanol, and glycerol; optionally at least one buffering agent; optionally at least one excipient; optionally at least one food additive; optionally at least one stabilizer; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one emollient; optionally at least one moisturizing agent; optionally at least one emulsifier; optionally at least one surfactant; optionally at least one antifoaming agent; optionally at least one solvent; optionally at least one coloring agent; optionally at least one flavoring agent; optionally at least one antimicrobial; optionally at least one preserving agent; optionally at least one vitamin; optionally at least one antioxidant; optionally at least one anti-inflammatory agent; optionally at least one keratolytic agent; optionally at least one chelating agent; optionally at least one anti-aging agent; optionally at least one antiseptic agent; optionally at least one plant-derived oil; optionally at least one gum base; optionally at least one humectant; optionally at least one sweetener; optionally at least one release agent; and optionally at least one thickening agent, wherein the medicinal composition is formulated into a dosage form for the prevention of viral binding, uptake, replication, infection, and disease can be administered in a therapeutically effective dose with an acceptable level of side-effects.
In view of the breadth of the claims and the lack of guidance provided by the specification as well as the unpredictability of the art, the skilled artisan would have required an undue amount of experimentation to make and/or use the claimed invention. Therefore, claims 1-19 are not considered to be fully enabled by the instant specification.
Claim 1-7 and 9-19 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claims 1-6, 9 and 11-16 are rendered uncertain by the phrase “organic liquid extract” because it is not clear if Applicant is claiming an organic solvent liquid extract or a liquid extract that is organic. The lack of clarity renders the claims indefinite since the resulting claims do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
The metes and bounds of claims 2, 4, 12 and 14 are rendered uncertain by the phrase “wherein the organic liquid extract derived from…is selected from a group consisting of 0.025%, 0.05%, 0.1%, 0.25%, 0.5%, 1.0%, 1.5%, 2.0%, 3.0%, 4.0%, 5.0%, 6.0%, 7.0%, 8.0%, 9.0%, or 10% of the organic liquid extract derived from…in terms of a mass by volume (M/V) percentage of solution” because it is not clear if Applicant is claiming that the composition contains one of these amounts of the extract or this is the amount of the organic liquid extract in total extract solution. The lack of clarity renders the claims indefinite since the resulting claims do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-17 and 19 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isao (JP2010030917 A, translation provided herein), in view of Seon (KR 20090116923A, translation provided herein), and OUYANG et al. (CN1931130A, translation provided herein) (partially newly applied as necessitated by amendment).
Isao teaches an extract of kombu (which is synonymous with Laminaria japonica) obtained by extraction with ethanol to prepare each crude extract (See e.g. Example 5 and Preparation Example 1)(which reads on organic liquid extract). Isao further teaches that there can be additives as in combination with the extract and that the additive include a disintegrant, a diluent, a lubricant, a colorant, a corrigent, a suspending agent, a surfactant, a dispersant, a binder, and a coating agent. Isao further teaches that a pharmaceutical dosage form, for example, a known dosage form such as oral, transdermal and injection can be used, and it is not particularly limited. Examples of the dosage form include capsules, tablets, powders, granules, fine granules, sustained release agents, liquids, ointments, eye drops, creams, patches and the like. Isao further teaches that hepatitis can be treated by administering it as a pharmaceutical to a human (patient) suffering from hepatitis. (See e.g. translation).
Isao does not teach that the extract contains fucoidan or has the instantly claimed biological activity of between 90% and 100% viral uptake inhibition per milliliter. However, fucoidan is intrinsic to the extract taught by Isao because the solvent extraction taught by Iso is one and the same as disclosed in the instantly claimed invention of Applicant. Thus, the extract intrinsically contains fucoidan and the biological activity of between 90% and 100% viral uptake inhibition per milliliter. Thus, the extract intrinsically contains fucoidan and the instantly claimed biological activity.
Seon teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising Andrographis paniculata extract containing andrographolide for treating hepatitis (See e.g. claim 2), wherein the Andrographis paniculata extract can be extracted with hexane, chloroform, butanol or two or more of these solvents (See e.g. claim 5)(which reads on organic liquid extract) and that the composition can be in the form of a powder, granule, tablet, capsule, suspension, emulsion, or syrup (See e.g. claim 6) (which reads on the limitations of newly amended claim 1).
Seon does not teach that the Andrographis paniculata extract has andrographolide or the instantly claimed biological activity of between 90% and 100% viral uptake inhibition per milliliter. However, andrographolide is intrinsic to the extract taught by Seon because the solvent extraction taught by Seon is one and the same as disclosed in the instantly claimed invention of Applicant. Thus, the extract intrinsically contains andrographolide and the instantly claimed biological activity.
Isao does not teach water.
OUYANG teaches andrographolide nanoemulsion oral liquid, comprising surfactant, oil, andrographolide and distilled water for viral hepatitis disease adjuvant therapy.
It would have been obvious to modify the composition used in the method taught by Isao by combining an organic liquid extract of Laminaria japonica with the organic liquid extract of Andrographis paniculata, as taught by Seon and to combine the ingredients with water to treat hepatitis because at the time the invention was made, it was known that the organic liquid extract of Laminaria japonica and Andrographis paniculata could be used to treat hepatitis and that water could be combined with the active ingredient of Andrographis paniculata to treat hepatitis as clearly taught by the above references.
It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. Based on the disclosure by these references that an organic liquid extract of Laminaria japonica with the organic liquid extract of Andrographis paniculata are useful for treating heptatitis, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that combining an ethanol extract of Laminaria japonica and Andrographis paniculata with water to treat hepatitis based upon the beneficial teachings of the above references. This reasonable expectation of success would motivate the artisan to use an ethanol extract of Laminaria japonica and Andrographis paniculata with water to treat hepatitis and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that combining an ethanol extract of Laminaria japonica and Andrographis paniculata with water to treat hepatitis would be even more effective in treating hepatitis based upon the beneficial teachings of the above references.
Moreover, it would have been merely a matter of judicious selection to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the referenced composition because it would have been well in the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art practicing the invention to pick and choose a concentration of extract to treat hepatitis, since the extracts were known to have this effect individually. Thus, the claimed invention is no more than the routine optimization of a result effect variable.
Based upon the beneficial teachings of the cited references, the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, and absent evidence to the contrary, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success to result in the claimed invention.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the inclusion of working examples. Example 7 on pgs 28 - 30 cites ten functional example embodiments of the present invention and these examples describe additional components as well as substitute ratios and preparations, for producing the example embodiments. Applicant further argues that the optional ingredients from the claims are not directed towards the viral therapy of the non-optional, active ingredients. Applicant further argues that the specific therapy at the time of filing may have been somewhat unpredictable, the elements Examiner has designated as not being enabled are known considerations in the industry. Applicant argues that regarding the "Undue Experimentation" factor, it should be noted that the examples provide values for the optional ingredients (with the presumption that the overall ratios of the active ingredients are maintained).
This is not found persuasive because the claims are still broad and still encompass prevention of any and all types of viral infections and pathogens. While there are optional ingredients, claim 1, for example, does not recite amounts of the required ingredient. The specification itself in the working examples are only drawn to SARS COVID 1 and do not provide any additional working examples demonstrating efficacy against all and any other type of viral infection. The art teaches only one other type of virus can be treated with the instantly claimed extract. Thus, the claims are not commensurate in scope with what is in the specification and the art. Regarding the state of the art, this is brought in to show unpredictability, as is clear from the rejection. Therefore, the rejection is maintained for the reasons of record and set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 112(b) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 10/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Isao teaches the extraction of phlorotannin from the kombu and away from the deliberate use of fucoidan. Applicant further argues that Isao specifically measures the concentration of phlorotannin to achieve its effects and does not consider fucoidan and it does not necessarily follow that an extraction specifically measuring for a mass of phlorotannin as its desired extracted compound would inherently achieve the stated concentrations and efficacy of a different incidentally extracted compound.
Applicant further argues that Seon teaches a higher baseline concentration of Andrographis extract than the present invention and only teaches a use case of a solution containing matter of 10% by weight where the present invention allows for multiple potential concentrations. Applicant further argues that Seon teaches a combination with another active ingredient: biphenyl dimethyl dicarboxylate and cheonsimyeon extract and teaches away from the conclusion that Andrographis paniculata is used on its own in a manner that can be combined with Isao. Applicant further argues that the teachings of these reference teach away from the claimed invention and do not render the invention obvious.
This is not found persuasive because Applicant’s claims do not require only one active ingredient. Secondly, the Isao teaches a brown crude extract obtained by extraction with alcohol can be the product (See e.g. page 4 of the translation, thus, reading on a liquid extract). As set forth in the previous Office Action, it is obvious to combine the instantly claimed extracts, since they are useful for the same purpose. Regarding the various concentrations, it is obvious to modify concentrations based upon body weight and gender. The rejection is maintained for the reasons of record and the reasons set forth herein.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY L CLARK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1628