DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 3/24/2023.
Claims 1-10 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipation by Alan, (USPATNO.11,148,549).
As for claim 1, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 a method of operating a charging station for an electric vehicle, the method comprising: automatically providing, by the charging station and the electric vehicle, a direct wireless communication link between the charging station and the electric vehicle when the electric vehicle drives into defined surroundings of the charging station; automatically sending, by the charging station, a status message to the electric vehicle using the direct wireless communication link; receiving, by the electric vehicle, the status message at the electric vehicle; displaying, by the electric vehicle, contents of the status message; and generating, by the electric vehicle, a charging request of the electric vehicle (col.6, line 42-col.7, line 14;col.7, lines 42-57;col.15, lines 43-58; col.22, lines 49-col.23, line 10)
As for claim 2, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 direct wireless communication link is a Bluetooth link and a range of the direct wireless communication link defines the defined surroundings of the charging station (col.7,lines 42-57)
As for claim 3, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 status message indicates an occupancy of the charging station and includes a waiting list (col.15, lines 7-58).
As for claim 4, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 status message indicates an arrival time of the electric vehicle, a waiting time of the electric vehicle, and a state of charge of another electric vehicle (col.15, lines 7-58)
As for claim 6, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 sending, by the electric vehicle, a reply message to the charging station; adding, by the charging station, the electric vehicle to the waiting list if the reply message indicates the charging request of the electric vehicle; and sending, by the charging station, a confirmation message to the electric vehicle if the reply message indicates the charging request of the electric vehicle.
As for claim 7, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2sending, by the charging station, a changed status message to another electric vehicle behind the electric vehicle in the waiting list when charging of the electric vehicle is finished (col.16, lines 20-34).
As for claim 8, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 providing, by the charging station, a separate waiting list for each of a plurality of charging ports of the charging station, wherein the status message indicates an identifier of one of the plurality of charging ports of the charging station (col.14, line 65-col.15, line 6)
As for claim 9, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 a charging station for an electric vehicle, the charging station comprising: at least one charging port; and a communication device coupled to the at least one charging port, wherein the communication device, in operation, automatically provides a direct wireless communication link between the charging station and the electric vehicle when the electric vehicle drives into defined surroundings of the charging station, automatically sends a status message to the electric vehicle using the direct wireless communication link, and receives a charging request of the electric vehicle, and wherein the at least one charging port, in operation, charges the electric vehicle in response to the communication device receiving the charging request (col.6, line 42-col.7, line 14;col.7, lines 42-57;col.15, lines 43-58; col.22, lines 49-col.23, line 10).
As for claim 10, Alan discloses and shows in Figs.1-2 an electric vehicle, comprising: a communication device; and an interface device coupled to the communication device, wherein the communication device, in operation,
automatically provides a direct wireless communication link between a charging
station and the electric vehicle when the electric vehicle drives into defined surroundings of the charging station, receives a status message from the charging station, and sends a charging request of the electric vehicle, and wherein the interface device, in operation, displays contents of the status message, and
generates the charging request of the electric vehicle (col.6, line 42-col.7, line 14;col.7, lines 42-57;col.15, lines 43-58; col.22, lines 49-col.23, line 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alan in view of Sun et al, (Sun), (USNO.2021/0213846)
As for claim 6, Alan discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose sending, by the electric vehicle, a cancellation message corresponding to the confirmation
Sun discloses sending, by the electric vehicle, a cancellation message corresponding to the confirmation (par.[0153])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Alan by using sending, by the electric vehicle, a cancellation message corresponding to the confirmation for advantages such as providing the ability to inform and guide the user (par.[0151]), as taught by Sun.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859