DETAILED ACTION
The present application has been made of the record and currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second fluid line” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The present disclosure relates to a system. The system can include”.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fechler (CN-114079097) in view of Shin et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2024/0170755).
In regards to claim 1, Fechler discloses:
A system (see figs. 1 and 4 which shows the complete system; see figs. 2-3 which shows the system partially assembled), comprising:
a first fitting (see annotated fig. 4 below) to couple with a portion of a first fluid line,
the first fluid line at least partially internal to a battery pack (see annotated fig. 4);
a second fitting (see annotated fig. 4) to connect to an external second fluid line (ex., structurally there is nothing preventing such connection),
the first fitting comprising a tab (see annotated fig. 4; see also fig. 3 which shows the tab holding the first fitting to the external surface of the battery) to couple the first fitting with a portion of the battery pack; and
the first fitting to couple with the second fitting to fluidly couple the first fluid line with the second fluid line (see annotated fig. 4),
but does not explicitly disclose:
the second fluid line at least partially external to the battery pack.
In regards to coupling to a second fluid line, Shin discloses a similar device (see fig. 5 hereinafter) attached to an external battery casing wall (200) to provide fluid flow for coolant which comprises:
a second fitting (300, fig. 5) comprising a ribbed fitting portion (320) to provide connection to either a coolant supply or coolant discharge system such as an external cooling tube or cooling motor (see paragraph 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to simply substitute the non-ribbed connection portion of Fechler with the ribbed connection portion of Shin such that the ribbed connection portion of Fechler in view of Shin is connected to a coolant tube because Fechler discloses a device which differs from the claim device by a simple substitution of connection portion of Shin, Shin discloses a similar device comprising the known ribbed connection portion to provide connection to either an external coolant tube or motor (0076), and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the one known element for the other because simply substituting one similar connection portion with another similar ribbed connection portion to allow connection to an external cooling tube or motor, as taught by Shin (see paragraph 0076), would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 2, Fechler further discloses:
The system of claim 1, comprising:
the second fitting configured to couple with the battery pack and the first fitting by a fastener (see annotated fig. 4 above hereinafter); and
a compression gasket (see annotated fig. 4) disposed around the fastener between the second fitting and the first fitting,
the compression gasket configured to seal the first fitting with the second fitting (see annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 3, Fechler further discloses:
The system of claim 1, comprising:
the tab configured to adjustably couple with an external wall of the battery pack (see fig. 3, where the tab can be adjusted while being coupled to the external wall of the battery pack).
In regards to claim 4, Fechler further discloses:
The system of claim 1, comprising:
the second fitting having a compression gasket (see annotated fig. 4) to seal the tab from an external environment (see annotated fig. 4, where the compression gasket is surrounding the tab).
In regards to claims 6, Fechler in view of Shin further discloses:
The system of claim 1, comprising:
a plurality of ribs (see fig. 5 of Shin) disposed on the second fitting; and
the plurality of ribs to prevent flexion of the second fitting (structurally, there is nothing that would prevent the ribs from meeting this functional limitation).
In regards to claim 7, Fechler further discloses:
The system of claim 1, comprising:
the tab includes a first step (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a second step (see annotated fig. 3); and
the second step extends beyond the first step (see annotated fig. 3, where the second step extends beyond the first step via the legs).
In regards to claim 8, Fechler discloses:
A battery pack (see annotated fig. 4 above hereinafter), comprising:
a system (see figs. 1 and 4 which shows the complete system; see figs. 2-3 which shows the system partially assembled), the system including:
a first fitting (see annotated fig. 4) to couple with a portion of a first fluid line (see annotated fig. 4),
the first fluid line at least partially internal to the battery pack (see annotated fig. 4);
a second fitting (see annotated fig. 4) to couple with a portion of a second fluid line (see annotated fig. 4),
the first fitting having a tab (see annotated fig. 4) to couple the first fitting with a portion of the battery pack; and
the first fitting to couple with the second fitting to fluidly couple the first fluid line with the second fluid line (see annotated fig. 4),
but does not explicitly disclose:
the second fluid line at least partially external to the battery pack.
In regards to coupling to a second fluid line, Shin discloses a similar device (see fig. 5 hereinafter) attached to an external battery casing wall (200) to provide fluid flow for coolant which comprises:
a second fitting (300, fig. 5) comprising a ribbed fitting portion (320) to provide connection to either a coolant supply or coolant discharge system such as an external cooling tube or cooling motor (see paragraph 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to simply substitute the non-ribbed connection portion of Fechler with the ribbed connection portion of Shin such that the ribbed connection portion of Fechler in view of Shin is connected to a coolant tube because Fechler discloses a device which differs from the claim device by a simple substitution of connection portion of Shin, Shin discloses a similar device comprising the known ribbed connection portion to provide connection to either an external coolant tube or motor (0076), and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the one known element for the other because simply substituting one similar connection portion with another similar ribbed connection portion to allow connection to an external cooling tube or motor, as taught by Shin (see paragraph 0076), would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 9, Fechler further discloses:
The battery pack of claim 8, comprising:
the second fitting configured to couple with the battery pack and the first fitting by a fastener (see annotated fig. 4); and
a compression gasket (see annotated fig. 4) disposed around the fastener between the second fitting and the first fitting,
the compression gasket configured to seal the first fitting with the second fitting (see annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 10, Fechler further discloses:
The battery pack of claim 8, comprising:
the tab configured to adjustably couple with an external wall of the battery pack (see annotated fig. 3 above).
In regards to claim 11, Fechler further discloses:
The battery pack of claim 8, comprising:
the second fitting having a compression gasket (see annotated fig. 4) to seal the tab from an external environment (see annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 13, Fechler in view of Shin further discloses:
The battery pack of claim 8, comprising:
a plurality of ribs (see fig. 5 of Shin) disposed on the second fitting; and
the plurality of ribs to prevent flexion of the second fitting (structurally, there is nothing that would prevent the ribs from meeting this functional limitation).
In regards to claim 14, Fechler further discloses:
The battery pack of claim 8, comprising:
the tab includes a first step and a second step (see annotated fig. 3); and
the second step extends beyond the first step (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 15, Fechler discloses:
A method of servicing a system (see annotated fig. 4 above hereinafter), comprising:
providing a first fitting (see annotated fig. 4) configured to couple with a portion of a first fluid line (see annotated fig. 4),
the first fluid line at least partially internal to a battery pack (see annotated fig. 4);
adjusting a tab of the first fitting to couple the first fitting with a portion of the battery pack (see annotated fig. 3 above);
inserting a portion of a second fitting into a portion of the first fitting (see annotated fig. 4); and
but does not explicitly disclose:
coupling the second fitting with a portion of a second fluid line,
the second fluid line at least partially external to the battery pack.
In regards to coupling to a second fluid line, Shin discloses a similar device (see fig. 5 hereinafter) attached to an external battery casing wall (200) to provide fluid flow for coolant which comprises:
a second fitting (300, fig. 5) comprising a ribbed fitting portion (320) to provide connection to either a coolant supply or coolant discharge system such as an external cooling tube or cooling motor (see paragraph 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to simply substitute the non-ribbed connection portion of Fechler with the ribbed connection portion of Shin such that the ribbed connection portion of Fechler in view of Shin is connected to a coolant tube because Fechler discloses a device which differs from the claim device by a simple substitution of connection portion of Shin, Shin discloses a similar device comprising the known ribbed connection portion to provide connection to either an external coolant tube or motor (0076), and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the one known element for the other because simply substituting one similar connection portion with another similar ribbed connection portion to allow connection to an external cooling tube or motor, as taught by Shin (see paragraph 0076), would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 16, Fechler further discloses:
The method of claim 15, comprising:
the second fitting configured to couple with the battery pack and the first fitting by a fastener (see annotated fig. 4); and
a compression gasket (see annotated fig. 4) disposed around the fastener between the second fitting and the first fitting,
the compression gasket configured to seal the first fitting with the second fitting (see annotated fig. 4).
In regards to claim 17, Fechler further discloses:
The method of claim 15, comprising:
the tab configured to adjustably couple with an external wall of the battery pack (see annotated fig. 3).
In regards to claim 18, Fechler further discloses:
The method of claim 15, comprising:
the second fitting having a compression gasket (see annotated fig. 4) to seal the tab from an external environment.
In regards to claim 20, Fechler in view of Shin further discloses:
The method of claim 15, comprising:
removing the second fitting from the first fitting to disconnect the second fluid line from the first fluid line; and
wherein the first fitting remains coupled with the first fluid line (it is inherent that the first fitting would be coupled to the battery pack and first fluid line as shown by Fechler).
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fechler in view of Shin as applied to claims 1, 8, 15 above and in further view of Huang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,781,679).
In regards to claims 5, 12, and 19, Fechler in view of Shin discloses:
The system of claim 1, the battery pack of claim 8, and the method of claim of claim 15,
wherein an external wall of the portion of the second fitting is directly engaged with an internal wall with a portion of the first fitting (see annotated fig. 4),
but does not disclose:
a first radial seal coupled with the second fitting and a second radial seal coupled with the second fitting; and
the first radial seal and the second radial seal configured to seal an external wall of the second fitting with an internal wall of the first fitting.
In regards to the first and second radial seal, Huang discloses a similar battery pack device (see fig. 3 hereinafter) attached to a battery case wall (B1) comprising:
a first radial seal (3) coupled with a second fitting (1)and a second radial seal (ex., seal adjacent to seal 3) coupled with the second fitting; and
the first radial seal and the second radial seal configured to seal an external wall of the second fitting with an internal wall of a first fitting (22),
wherein providing multiple sealing components in annular grooves in the external wall of the second fitting prevents risk of liquid leakage between the external wall of the second fitting and the internal wall of the first fitting thus the sealing affect between both wall components can be improved (6:5-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the first and second portion of Fechler with the internal wall of Huang and the external wall comprising seals of Huang such that the second fitting comprises an integral axially protruding external wall comprising annular grooves with seals that directly engage with an integral internal wall of the first fitting to provide the benefits of preventing risk of liquid leakage between the external wall of the second fitting and the internal wall of the first fitting thus the sealing affect between both wall components can be improved, as taught by Huang (6:5-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rochholz et al. (DE-102020116446) discloses the second best reference comprising axially extending tabs (38, fig. 3) that grip onto a battery casing wall to allow preassembly.
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679