The amendment filed 7/29/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 9, 11-16 and 18 are pending.
Claims 2-8, 10, 17 and 19-22 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 9, 11-16 and 18 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220086761 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210314866 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Maleki and Lee.
In regard to Claim 1, Maleki teaches A sidelink transmission method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal (wireless device, Para. 77, FIGS. 3, 4. A PDCCH indicates an initial sidelink (SL) user data transmission, Para. 40. The non-limiting terms wireless device (WD) or a user equipment (UE) are used interchangeably. The WD may also be a device to device (D2D) WD, machine type WD or WD capable of machine to machine communication (M2M), Para. 90, FIGS. 3, 4), sidelink indication information (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Transmitting in sidelink may pertain to (direct) transmission from one terminal to another. Sidelink (e.g., sidelink transmission and reception) may be considered communication directions. It may be considered that backhaul and/or relay communication and/or network communication is implemented as a form of sidelink, Para. 94).
Maleki teaches entering, by the terminal, a wake-up state or a sleep state according to the sidelink indication information (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3), wherein in the wake-up state, the terminal performs sidelink data reception (The period during which the wireless device is awake and monitoring PDCCH is called On-Duration. Waking up occasionally during On-Durations, Para. 36. Sidelink (e.g., sidelink transmission and reception) may be considered communication directions. It may be considered that backhaul and/or relay communication and/or network communication is implemented as a form of sidelink, Para. 94), and in the sleep state, the terminal does not perform sidelink data reception (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Sidelink (e.g., sidelink transmission and reception) may be considered communication directions. It may be considered that backhaul and/or relay communication and/or network communication is implemented as a form of sidelink, Para. 94).
Maleki teaches wherein entering, by the terminal, the wake-up state or the sleep state according to the sidelink indication information (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3) comprises: determining, by the terminal, a time moment to enter the wake-up state or the sleep state (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., the number of slots after which the wireless device 22 can go to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14) based on a time moment when the sidelink indication information is received (The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Signals are transmitted or received by a radio node over a time resource. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92).
Maleki teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, first indication information according to pre-configuration information or network configuration information (As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., for how long to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14), and determining the number of slots according to the first indication information (The term resource used may correspond to any type of physical resource or radio resource expressed in terms of length of time and/or frequency. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., for how long to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14).
Maleki teaches wherein determining, by the terminal, the time moment to enter the wake-up state or the sleep state (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., the number of slots after which the wireless device 22 can go to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14) based on the time moment when the sidelink indication information is received (The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Signals are transmitted or received by a radio node over a time resource. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92), comprises: determining, by the terminal, a slot for entering the sleep state (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The term resource used may correspond to any type of physical resource or radio resource expressed in terms of length of time and/or frequency. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., the number of slots after which the wireless device 22 can go to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14) according to a slot where the sidelink indication information is located (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Signals are transmitted or received by a radio node over a time resource. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92) and the number of slots (The term resource used may correspond to any type of physical resource or radio resource expressed in terms of length of time and/or frequency. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., for how long to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14).
Although Maleki teaches the sidelink indication information, Maleki fails to teach wherein the information is carried by a sequence, and Maleki fails to teach wherein the method further comprises: when the sequence is a first sequence, determining, by the terminal, a wake-up duration and entering the wake-up state for the wake-up duration; when the sequence is a second sequence, determining, by the terminal, a sleep duration and entering the sleep state for the sleep duration; wherein the first sequence corresponds to a first cyclic shift value, and the second sequence corresponds to a second cyclic shift value; wherein the first cyclic shift value has a first correspondence relationship with the wake-up state and has a third correspondence relationship with the wake-up duration, and the second cyclic shift value has a second correspondence relationship with the sleep state and has a fourth correspondence relationship with the sleep duration.
Lee teaches wherein the information is carried by a sequence (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS or GOS, Para. 111).
Lee teaches wherein the method further comprises: when the sequence is a first sequence (Whether the ESS is WUS or GOS may be determined based on a cyclic shift value. For example, a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS, Para. 111), determining, by the terminal, a wake-up duration and entering the wake-up state for the wake-up duration (At 304, a WTRU may receive a WUS, at which point the WTRU may monitor PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., ON duration 301) for one or more DRX cycles, Para. 93, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches when the sequence is a second sequence (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate GOS, Para. 111, FIG. 3), determining, by the terminal, a sleep duration and entering the sleep state for the sleep duration (At 305, a WTRU may receive a GOS, at which point the WTRU may skip monitoring PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., on duration 303) for one or more DRX cycles and may stay in sleep mode (e.g., deep sleep), Para. 93, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches wherein the first sequence corresponds to a first cyclic shift value (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS, Para. 111), and the second sequence corresponds to a second cyclic shift value (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate GOS, Para. 111, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches wherein the first cyclic shift value has a first correspondence relationship with the wake-up state (one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS, Para. 111) and has a third correspondence relationship with the wake-up duration (a WUS, at which point the WTRU may monitor PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., ON duration 301) for one or more DRX cycles, Para. 93, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches the second cyclic shift value has a second correspondence relationship with the sleep state (one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate GOS, Para. 111, FIG. 3) and has a fourth correspondence relationship with the sleep duration (a GOS, at which point the WTRU may skip monitoring PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., on duration 303) for one or more DRX cycles and may stay in sleep mode (e.g., deep sleep), Para. 93, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Maleki since Lee provides a technique for utilizing sequences with cyclic shift values to determine wake-up signals and go-to-sleep signals, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki to efficiently convey wake and sleep states and durations through cyclic shift values of sequences.
In regard to Claim 18, Maleki teaches A terminal (wireless device, Para. 77, FIGS. 3, 4. A PDCCH indicates an initial sidelink (SL) user data transmission, Para. 40. The non-limiting terms wireless device (WD) or a user equipment (UE) are used interchangeably. The WD may also be a device to device (D2D) WD, machine type WD or WD capable of machine to machine communication (M2M), Para. 90, FIGS. 3, 4), comprising: a processor (processor 86, Para. 116, FIG. 5); and a memory storing instructions (software 90, which is stored in, for example, memory 88, Para. 115, FIG. 5) executable by the processor; wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor (the software 90 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 86, causes the processor 86 to perform the processes, Para. 116, FIG. 5), the terminal is caused to: receive sidelink indication information (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Transmitting in sidelink may pertain to (direct) transmission from one terminal to another. Sidelink (e.g., sidelink transmission and reception) may be considered communication directions. It may be considered that backhaul and/or relay communication and/or network communication is implemented as a form of sidelink, Para. 94).
Maleki teaches enter a wake-up state or a sleep state according to the sidelink indication information (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3), wherein in the wake-up state, the terminal performs sidelink data reception (The period during which the wireless device is awake and monitoring PDCCH is called On-Duration. Waking up occasionally during On-Durations, Para. 36. Sidelink (e.g., sidelink transmission and reception) may be considered communication directions. It may be considered that backhaul and/or relay communication and/or network communication is implemented as a form of sidelink, Para. 94), and in the sleep state, the terminal does not perform sidelink data reception (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Sidelink (e.g., sidelink transmission and reception) may be considered communication directions. It may be considered that backhaul and/or relay communication and/or network communication is implemented as a form of sidelink, Para. 94).
Maleki teaches wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the terminal is caused to: determine a time moment to enter the wake-up state or the sleep state (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., the number of slots after which the wireless device 22 can go to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14) based on a time moment when the sidelink indication information is received (The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Signals are transmitted or received by a radio node over a time resource. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92).
Maleki teaches wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the terminal is further caused to: obtain first indication information according to pre-configuration information or network configuration information (As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., for how long to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14), and determining the number of slots according to the first indication information (The term resource used may correspond to any type of physical resource or radio resource expressed in terms of length of time and/or frequency. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., for how long to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14).
Maleki teaches wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the terminal is caused to: determine a slot for entering the sleep state (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows an interval of time to sleep after a GTS-DCI, Para. 78, FIG. 3. The term resource used may correspond to any type of physical resource or radio resource expressed in terms of length of time and/or frequency. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., the number of slots after which the wireless device 22 can go to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14) according to a slot where the sidelink indication information is located (a GTS-DCI mechanism is provided to put the wireless device into sleep mode, Para. 77, FIG. 3. The time diagram in FIG. 3 shows GTS-DCI PDCCH occurrences, Para. 78, FIG. 3. Signals are transmitted or received by a radio node over a time resource. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92) and the number of slots (The term resource used may correspond to any type of physical resource or radio resource expressed in terms of length of time and/or frequency. Examples of time resources are: time slot, Para. 92. As shown in FIG. 14, the GTS-DCI includes optional more bits indicating some relevant commands, or a set of commands, e.g., for how long to sleep, Para. 143, FIGS. 3, 14).
Although Maleki teaches the sidelink indication information, Maleki fails to teach wherein the information is carried by a sequence, and Maleki fails to teach wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the terminal is further caused to: when the sequence is a first sequence, determine a wake-up duration and entering the wake-up state for the wake-up duration; when the sequence is a second sequence, determine a sleep duration and entering the sleep state for the sleep duration; wherein the first sequence corresponds to a first cyclic shift value, and the second sequence corresponds to a second cyclic shift value; wherein the first cyclic shift value has a first correspondence relationship with the wake-up state and has a third correspondence relationship with the wake-up duration, and the second cyclic shift value has a second correspondence relationship with the sleep state and has a fourth correspondence relationship with the sleep duration.
Lee teaches wherein the information is carried by a sequence (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS or GOS, Para. 111).
Lee teaches wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor (processor 118 may access information from the non-removable memory 130 and/or the removable memory 132, Para. 42, FIG. 1B), the terminal is further caused to: when the sequence is a first sequence (Whether the ESS is WUS or GOS may be determined based on a cyclic shift value. For example, a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS, Para. 111), determine a wake-up duration and entering the wake-up state for the wake-up duration (At 304, a WTRU may receive a WUS, at which point the WTRU may monitor PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., ON duration 301) for one or more DRX cycles, Para. 93, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches when the sequence is a second sequence (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate GOS, Para. 111, FIG. 3), determine a sleep duration and entering the sleep state for the sleep duration (At 305, a WTRU may receive a GOS, at which point the WTRU may skip monitoring PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., on duration 303) for one or more DRX cycles and may stay in sleep mode (e.g., deep sleep), Para. 93, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches wherein the first sequence corresponds to a first cyclic shift value (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS, Para. 111), and the second sequence corresponds to a second cyclic shift value (a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate GOS, Para. 111, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches wherein the first cyclic shift value has a first correspondence relationship with the wake-up state (one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS, Para. 111) and has a third correspondence relationship with the wake-up duration (a WUS, at which point the WTRU may monitor PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., ON duration 301) for one or more DRX cycles, Para. 93, FIG. 3).
Lee teaches the second cyclic shift value has a second correspondence relationship with the sleep state (one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate GOS, Para. 111, FIG. 3) and has a fourth correspondence relationship with the sleep duration (a GOS, at which point the WTRU may skip monitoring PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., on duration 303) for one or more DRX cycles and may stay in sleep mode (e.g., deep sleep), Para. 93, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Maleki since Lee provides a technique for utilizing sequences with cyclic shift values to determine wake-up signals and go-to-sleep signals, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki to efficiently convey wake and sleep states and durations through cyclic shift values of sequences.
Claim(s) 9 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki in view of Lee, and further in view of Yasukawa et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170245319 A1), hereafter referred to as Yasukawa.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the wake-up state and the sleep state.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the first correspondence relationship is pre-configured, network-configured, or terminal-configured, and the second correspondence relationship is pre-configured, network-configured, or terminal- configured; wherein the method further comprises: in response to the first correspondence relationship being pre-configured or network- configured, obtaining, by the terminal, resource pool configuration information, and determining the first correspondence relationship according to the resource pool configuration information; and in response to the second correspondence relationship being pre-configured or network- configured, obtaining, by the terminal, the resource pool configuration information, and determining the second correspondence relationship according to the resource pool configuration information; wherein the method further comprises: in response to the first correspondence relationship being terminal-configured, obtaining, by the terminal, Sidelink Control Information (SCI), PC5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) or MAC Protocol Data Unit (PDU), and determining the first correspondence relationship according to the SCI, the PC5- RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the MAC PDU; and in response to the second correspondence relationship being terminal-configured, obtaining, by the terminal, the SCI, the PC5-RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the MAC PDU, and determining the second correspondence relationship according to the SCI, the PC5-RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the MAC PDU.
Yasukawa teaches wherein the first correspondence relationship is pre-configured, network-configured, or terminal-configured, and the second correspondence relationship is pre-configured, network-configured, or terminal- configured; wherein the method further comprises: in response to the first correspondence relationship being pre-configured or network- configured, obtaining, by the terminal, resource pool configuration information, and determining the first correspondence relationship according to the resource pool configuration information; and in response to the second correspondence relationship being pre-configured or network- configured, obtaining, by the terminal, the resource pool configuration information, and determining the second correspondence relationship according to the resource pool configuration information; wherein the method further comprises: in response to the first correspondence relationship being terminal-configured, obtaining, by the terminal, Sidelink Control Information (SCI), PC5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC) signaling, Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) or MAC Protocol Data Unit (PDU), and determining the first correspondence relationship according to the SCI, the PC5- RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the MAC PDU; and in response to the second correspondence relationship being terminal-configured, obtaining, by the terminal, the SCI, the PC5-RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the MAC PDU, and determining the second correspondence relationship according to the SCI, the PC5-RRC signaling, the MAC CE or the MAC PDU (“discontinuous reception operations” refer to monitoring SA resources (all or a part of resource pools) at a predetermined time interval, Para. 50. In the case where an SA resource pool arrives periodically, it is assumed that a discontinuous reception period is, for example, a constant multiple of a period of the SA resource pool, Para. 54. The wake-up signal may include, in addition to the identifier, an identifier of a resource pool to be monitored, Para. 84. The setting of the wake-up signaling can be applied to each resource pool, Para. 90. The ID may be mapped into the scrambling DMRS base sequence/cyclic shift/OCC, Para. 95. In the case where the wake-up signaling is performed by unicast or groupcast, the reception side UE may transmit a response to the wake-up signaling to the transmission side UE by using a discovery procedure or a communication procedure. The response time window includes, for example, the same resource pool period, the next resource pool period, Para. 97).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Yasukawa provides a technique for managing resource pools in relation to discontinuous reception states, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit efficient management of multiple resources through the utilization of different states of discontinuous reception.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the method.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach the sequence is determined according to at least one of the following: a source identity (ID), a destination ID, or a group ID.
Yasukawa teaches the sequence is determined according to at least one of the following: a source identity (ID), a destination ID, or a group ID (In the wake-up signal, an identifier is included for indicating the user apparatus UE to be transitioned to a continuous reception state. The identifier may be, for example, an SA ID (physical layer ID included in the SA), an upper layer (e.g., MAC, PDCP, IP) destination ID, an upper layer transmission source ID, an upper layer group ID, Para. 83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Yasukawa provides a technique for managing resource pools in relation to discontinuous reception states, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit efficient management of multiple resources through the utilization of different states of discontinuous reception.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the method.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach a transmission resource for the sequence is determined according to at least one of the following: a source ID, a destination ID, or a group ID.
Yasukawa teaches a transmission resource for the sequence is determined according to at least one of the following: a source ID, a destination ID, or a group ID (In the wake-up signal, an identifier is included for indicating the user apparatus UE to be transitioned to a continuous reception state. The identifier may be, for example, an SA ID (physical layer ID included in the SA), an upper layer (e.g., MAC, PDCP, IP) destination ID, an upper layer transmission source ID, an upper layer group ID, Para. 83).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Yasukawa provides a technique for managing resource pools in relation to discontinuous reception states, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit efficient management of multiple resources through the utilization of different states of discontinuous reception.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki in view of Lee, and further in view of Chae (Pub. No.: US 20200053647 A1), hereafter referred to as Chae.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the method.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach the sequence corresponding to the sidelink indication information occupies two symbols in a time domain, and is located in the second last and third last sidelink symbols in a slot.
Chae teaches the sequence corresponding to the sidelink indication information occupies two symbols in a time domain, and is located in the second last and third last sidelink symbols in a slot (A type-2 radio frame includes two half frames, each having 5 subframes, a downlink pilot time slot (DwPTS), a guard period (GP), and an uplink pilot time slot (UpPTS). Each subframe is divided into two slots. The UpPTS is used for channel estimation and acquisition of uplink transmission synchronization to a UE at an eNB. The GP is a period between an uplink and a downlink, Para. 50, FIG. 1(b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chae with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Chae provides a technique for organizing information within a frame, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit sequence information to be efficiently organized within transmitted data structures.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the method.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach a symbol preceding the first symbol for carrying the sequence corresponding to the sidelink indication information is a Guard Period (GP) symbol, and/or a symbol following the last symbol for carrying the sequence corresponding to the sidelink indication information is a GP symbol.
Chae teaches a symbol preceding the first symbol for carrying the sequence corresponding to the sidelink indication information is a Guard Period (GP) symbol, and/or a symbol following the last symbol for carrying the sequence corresponding to the sidelink indication information is a GP symbol (A type-2 radio frame includes two half frames, each having 5 subframes, a downlink pilot time slot (DwPTS), a guard period (GP), and an uplink pilot time slot (UpPTS). Each subframe is divided into two slots. The UpPTS is used for channel estimation and acquisition of uplink transmission synchronization to a UE at an eNB. The GP is a period between an uplink and a downlink, Para. 50, FIG. 1(b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chae with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Chae provides a technique for organizing information within a frame, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit sequence information to be efficiently organized within transmitted data structures.
Claim(s) 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki in view of Lee, and further in view of Miao et al (Pub. No.: US 20230337140 A1), hereafter referred to as Miao.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the method.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach a transmission resource for a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) and a transmission resource for the sequence are configured in a resource pool, a slot used for transmitting the PSFCH is simultaneously used for transmitting the sequence, or the slot used for transmitting the sequence is simultaneously used for transmitting the PSFCH.
Miao teaches a transmission resource for a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) and a transmission resource for the sequence are configured in a resource pool, a slot used for transmitting the PSFCH is simultaneously used for transmitting the sequence, or the slot used for transmitting the sequence is simultaneously used for transmitting the PSFCH (a HARQ-RTT-TimerSL may be configured or preconfigured for each sidelink HARQ process from the higher layer from a network device or a head UE. The value of the HARQ-RTT-TimerSL may be in number of sidelink slots, and the HARQ-RTT-TimerSL can be started from the associated PSFCH slot, Para. 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Miao with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Miao provides a technique for transmitting sidelink data in a PSFCH slot, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit sequence information to be transmitted in resources of a PSFCH slot.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Maleki in view of Lee teaches the method.
Maleki in view of Lee fails to teach obtaining configuration information, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a transmission resource set for the sequence; and determining a transmission resource for the sequence according to the configuration information; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following parameters: second indication information used to indicate whether it is supported to indicate the terminal to enter the wake-up state or sleep state via the sidelink indication information; third indication information used to indicate whether detection of the sidelink indication information is needed in the sleep state; time-domain resource indication information used to indicate a time-domain resource for the sequence carrying the sidelink indication information; frequency-domain resource indication information used to indicate a frequency-domain resource for the sequence carrying the sidelink indication information; code-domain resource indication information used to indicate a code-domain resource for the sequence carrying the sidelink indication information; wake-up duration indication information; or sleep duration indication information.
Miao teaches obtaining configuration information, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a transmission resource set for the sequence; and determining a transmission resource for the sequence according to the configuration information; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following parameters: second indication information used to indicate whether it is supported to indicate the terminal to enter the wake-up state or sleep state via the sidelink indication information; third indication information used to indicate whether detection of the sidelink indication information is needed in the sleep state; time-domain resource indication information used to indicate a time-domain resource for the sequence carrying the sidelink indication information; frequency-domain resource indication information used to indicate a frequency-domain resource for the sequence carrying the sidelink indication information; code-domain resource indication information used to indicate a code-domain resource for the sequence carrying the sidelink indication information; wake-up duration indication information; or sleep duration indication information (“sidelink resource” may refer to any resource for performing a communication, for example, a sidelink communication between terminal devices, such as a resource in time domain (for example, a time slot), a resource in frequency domain (for example, a sub-channel), a resource in space domain, a resource in code domain, Para. 41. The group sidelink DRX configuration can indicate a set of parameters for a terminal device in a group of terminal devices in sidelink groupcast communications to perform sidelink DRX operations in the group. For example, the group sidelink DRX configuration may indicate a third duration (a wake-up duration) and a fourth duration (a sleep duration), Para. 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Miao with the teachings of Maleki in view of Lee since Miao provides a technique for transmitting sidelink data in a PSFCH slot, which can be introduced into the system of Maleki in view of Lee to permit sequence information to be transmitted in resources of a PSFCH slot.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that These passages do not disclose that a cyclic shift value corresponds to an ON or OFF duration. This argument is not persuasive. Lee teaches in Para. 111: “In an approach, a sequence with one or more cyclic shift values may be used for an ESS. Whether the ESS is WUS or GOS may be determined based on a cyclic shift value. For example, a same sequence may be used with one or more cyclic shift (CS) values or indexes and a (e.g., each) CS index may indicate WUS or GOS.” (emphasis added). Lee teaches in Para. 93 and FIG. 3: “At 304, a WTRU may receive a WUS, at which point the WTRU may monitor PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., ON duration 301) for one or more DRX cycles. At 305, a WTRU may receive a GOS, at which point the WTRU may skip monitoring PDCCH in ON durations (i.e., on duration 303) for one or more DRX cycles and may stay in sleep mode (e.g., deep sleep)” (emphasis added). A cyclic shift value of Lee that indicates WUS for ON durations of DRX cycles, is substantively the same as a first cyclic shift value has a first correspondence relationship with the wake-up state of Claim 1. A cyclic shift value of Lee that indicates GOS for sleep mode of DRX cycles, is substantively the same as a second cyclic shift value has a second correspondence relationship with the sleep state of Claim 1.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that The fact that an ESS may precede or operate with a DRX configuration does not establish that the ESS's cyclic shift value identifies the ON or OFF duration specified by that DRX configuration. This argument is not persuasive. Cyclic shift values of Lee indicate WUS or GOS that are related to ON durations and sleep mode of DRX cycles, and as a result, cyclic shift values of Lee do provide types of correspondences to ON durations and sleep mode of DRX cycles.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Lee instead discloses two separate mechanisms. First, paragraph [0111] states that whether an ESS is a WUS or GOS may be determined based on its cyclic shift value. Thus, Lee's cyclic shift value may indicate whether the ESS represents a wake-up signal or a go-to-sleep signal. Second, paragraphs [0245] and [0246] describe separate DRX configurations that establish the applicable ON and OFF durations. This argument is not persuasive. Lee does not teach that cyclic shift values, WUS or GOS, and ON durations and sleep mode of DRX cycles are completely unrelated to each other. Cyclic shift values of Lee indicate WUS or GOS, and the WUS or GOS in turn indicate ON durations or sleep mode of DRX cycles. As a result, cyclic shift values of Lee, through WUS or GOS, have types of correspondences to ON durations and sleep mode of DRX cycles. If there are features in the Specification of the Application that clarify a single mechanism that excludes WUS or GOS in correspondences, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Accordingly, Lee can use a cyclic shift value to distinguish a WUS from a GOS, but it relies on a separate DRX configuration to establish the corresponding ON and OFF durations. This argument is not persuasive. Cyclic shift values of Lee have correspondences with ON durations or sleep mode of DRX cycles through the indications of WUS or GOS. Claim 1 does not contain limitations that clearly exclude involvement of WUS or GOS in correspondences between cyclic shift values and ON durations or sleep mode of DRX cycles. If there are features in the Specification of the Application that exclude WUS or GOS in correspondences between cyclic shift values and ON durations or sleep mode of DRX cycles, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Pages 9-10 of the Remarks present the argument that Lee does not disclose that the cyclic shift value itself has a correspondence relationship with the duration. The terminal must instead obtain or apply the separate DRX configuration to determine the applicable duration. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 does not contain limitations requiring that any correspondence of cyclic shift values excludes WUS or GOS or any DRX configuration. If there are features in the Specification of the Application that exclude WUS or GOS or any DRX configuration in a correspondence of a cyclic shift value, such features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (Patent No.: US 12213142 B2) teaches when the sequence is a first sequence, determining, by the terminal, a wake-up duration and entering the wake-up state for the wake-up duration; when the sequence is a second sequence, determining, by the terminal, a sleep duration and entering the sleep state for the sleep duration; wherein the first sequence corresponds to a first cyclic shift value, and the second sequence corresponds to a second cyclic shift value; wherein the first cyclic shift value has a first correspondence relationship with the wake-up state and has a third correspondence relationship with the wake-up duration, and the second cyclic shift value has a second correspondence relationship with the sleep state and has a fourth correspondence relationship with the sleep duration (a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) scenario, wherein each DRX period comprises a DRX On Duration and a DRX OFF Duration, the method comprising: detecting, by the terminal, an energy-saving signal received from a network-side device in the DRX On Duration, claim 1, FIGS. 3, 4. The energy-saving signal further comprises at least one of: an input parameter of a first sequence, and a cyclic shift value of a second sequence, claim 2, FIGS. 3, 4).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
9-28-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477