DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed 5/29/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the arguments pertaining to Claim 1 on pages 8-11,
Applicant argues that Van Der Wiel et al. (Van) (US 2022/0165935) does not disclose the claim feature of measuring a magnetic field parallel to the surface of the substrate, but the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Van expressly discloses that the Bx and By fields are measured and are parallel to the substrate (paragraph [0066]).
Applicant then argues that in Van, the central horizontal Hall element Hc is under and fully covered by an IMFC, rather than having “at least part of the magnetic sensor … between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along ana axis parallel with the surface,” but the Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the Hall element Hc is under “an IMFC,” it is not under the two distinct IMFCs that the Examiner is interpreting the first and second magnetic flux concentrator to be. There are several different and distinct IMFCs in Figure 6, and the Hall element Hc is completely between the first magnetic flux concentrator (first IMFC) and the second magnetic flux concentrator (second IMFC) as clearly seen in the figure below:
The IMFC 1027 element noted by applicant is merely another IMFC element, and is not interpreted or considered to be the first and second magnetic concentrators of the claim. The Examiner respectfully notes that applicant is not addressing the rejection as presented. As such, the prior art discloses the argued claimed feature.
Applicant then argues that nowhere in the prior art is it disclosed that the four elongated IMFC elements are configured to concentrate the magnetic flux between two IMFC elements, and that the prior art does not disclose that any of the Hall elements are configured to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the very Figure 4b from Van cited by applicant expressly shows magnetic flux Bx entering from the left and the exiting on the right of the figure, thus passing through the leftmost IMFC (first magnetic concentrator) and then through the rightmost IMFC (second magnetic concentrator) before exiting the system. These two IMFC thus expressly are seen to concentrate magnetic flux between each other.
Second, while the concentrators are positioned to concentrate magnetic flux, they are not themselves configured to concentrate magnetic flux between each other. There is nothing about any configuration of any magnetic concentrator itself that causes it to concentrate magnetic flux in the claimed manner. Instead, it is the positioning of the concentrators that collectively causes them to control the direction of the magnetic flux in the system, in the same way that placing any two magnetic concentrators next to each other would cause. The prior art places magnetic concentrators in a similar manner as applicant with the express intent of concentrating magnetic flux in a similar manner, as the intent of the prior art magnetic concentrators are to measure and amplify all three magnetic field components Bx, By, and Bz (paragraph [0183]). The concentrators in Figure 6 will function in a similar manner as that seen in Figure 4(b), and therefore must function to concentrate magnetic flux in the Bx direction as expressly seen in the figure.
Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully notes that the entire purpose of the invention of Van is to amplifying (concentrate) all three of the desired magnetic field directions of the magnetic field, and to measure all three. All sensed magnetic fields are concentrated prior to sensing, a feature even viewing in Figure 4(b) noted by applicant, where the H3 expressly is seen to have concentrated magnetic flux passing through the sensor H3.
The same explanation pertains to Bidaux et al. (Bidaux) (US 2022/0137161), and the Examiner therefore respectfully disagrees.
Applicant further argues that Whig et al. (Whig) (US 2011/0244599) that because flux guides 133 and 137 are respectively above and below a sense element, they are not both over a semiconductor die that includes the sensor element 123. However, the Examiner respectfully notes that this argument presumes that semiconductor die is limited to the material of the magnetic sensor. However, the semiconductor die is expressly claimed to include not just a magnetic sensor, but also a substrate (see line 3 of Claim 1). The substrate can be said to include the magnetic sensor, but also other layers such as 202. Layer 202 is expressly below the above flux guides, as it is the bottommost layer of the entire semiconductor die (see Figure 9 and paragraph [0033] for example). As such, both flux guides noted by applicant are “over” the die because they are over at least one layer of the die.
Applicant then argues that a sensor element such as 123 is below and covered by an upper flux guide rather than having at least part of the magnetic sensor between first and second magnetic flux concentrates along an axis parallel to the surface. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Figure 1 expressly shows the feature argued by applicant. The sensor flux concentrators 137 and 133 are clearly spaced apart along an axis which is parallel to the surface, and the sensor 123 is located between these two concentrators along that axis. Furthermore because part of the sensor is covered by both concentrators, the prior art discloses the claim feature.
Lastly, applicant argues that Whig does not disclose that the two flux guides above and below the sensor concentrate magnetic flux between the flux guides, and that the sensor is configured to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between these two flux guides. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner respectfully notes that the entire purpose of the two flux guides noted by applicant is to concentrate magnetic flux between them and guide it (concentrate it) through the sensor in a specific direction to allow for detection by the sensor. This is the entire reason the flux guides are present.
As seen above, Figure 14 of Whig expressly shows how the two flux guides work in conjunction with the magnetic sensor. These two flux guides guide magnetic flux from one flux guide to the one next in a direction parallel to the sensor and surface of the substrate as seen above. The magnetic sensor, being a magnetic sensor and in the path of this magnetic flux/field, is therefore detecting this magnetic field, and thus is configured to receive the concentrated magnetic field between the two flux guides.
The Examiner therefore respectfully disagrees with applicant, as the prior art reasonably discloses the claim features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 22, 23, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Der Wiel et al. (Van) (US 2022/0165935).
As to Claim 1,
Van discloses A sensor device comprising: a semiconductor die including: a semiconductor substrate (see above figure) including a magnetic sensor (any one of or combination of Hc,H1-H4) in a semiconductor material (Paragraphs [0130],[0210] / note that point of these paragraphs is to demonstrate that the sensing elements are all Hall sensor elements in the substrate material), (Figures 6,10a-10d); the magnetic sensor configurable to sense a magnetic field in the semiconductor substrate, the magnetic field being parallel with a surface of the semiconductor substrate (Paragraphs [0004],[0112] / note the sensors are designed to sense magnetic fields in the Bx and By directions, and these directions are both parallel to the top surface of the substrate), and an interconnect structure (metal layer(s) 1023) opposing the surface of semiconductor substrate (Figure 10a), (Paragraph [0210]),(see above figure and note that layer 1023 is located on all of the substrate layer, including the side surfaces); a first magnetic flux concentrator (612a) over and on the semiconductor die (Paragraph [0215]), (Figures 6,10d); and a second magnetic flux concentrator (612c) over and on the semiconductor die (Paragraph [0215]), (Figures 6,10d), the first and second magnetic flux concentrators configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 4(b) / note that while this concentrator is directed towards a different embodiment, the function in the way the concentrator operates is the same as the embodiment of Figure 6 as it pertains to how the magnetic field is concentrated and direction this field travels), in which at least part of the magnetic sensor is between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along an axis parallel with the surface to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and the second magnetic field concentrators (Figures 4(b),6 / note the sensors positioned between either the flux concentrators in the X or Y direction), (Paragraph [0183] / note that the point of this invention is for the sensors to receive the concentrated magnetic fields), packaging the semiconductor die and the first and second magnetic flux concentrators to form an integrated circuit (Paragraphs [0018],[0222] / note by packaging the semiconductor die, all elements are reasonably packaged as claimed).
As to Claim 2,
Van discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are spaced from a respective nearest active sensor element of the magnetic sensor along the axis, and the magnetic sensor is non-overlapping with the magnetic flux concentrator along the axis (Figures 4(b),6 / note the sensor is not in the same plane as the concentrator).
As to Claim 5,
Van discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each has a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um (Paragraph [0186]).
As to Claim 6,
Van discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are of a distance in a range from 5 um to 100 um from the surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figures 6,10d), (Paragraph [0186] / note that if the magnetic flux concentrator is in range of 20-25 micrometers, for example, then the metal layer (1023) in Figure 10d but also be approximate that, and the distance between the flux concentrators and the top of the substrate (1000a) must be at least about 20-25 micrometers from the top surface. This is because the figure is not silent as to the thickness of the concentrator shown, and the relative thicknesses shown therefore are based upon the expressly disclosed thickness of the concentrators).
As to Claim 7,
Van discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator include a material selected from the group consisting of cobalt, nickel, or iron (Paragraph [0028]).
As to Claim 8,
Van discloses a third magnetic flux concentrator (612d) over the semiconductor die (Figures 6,10d); and a fourth magnetic flux concentrator (612b) over the semiconductor die (Figures 6,10d), wherein: the magnetic sensor is a first magnetic sensor (H1 or Hc); the magnetic field is a first magnetic field, the semiconductor substrate includes a second magnetic sensor (H2) in the semiconductor material (Figure 6); the second magnetic sensor is between the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator along a second axis and is configurable to sense a second magnetic field parallel with the surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 6); and the first axis is angled from the second axis (Paragraphs [0130],[0210]] / note that point of these paragraphs is to demonstrate that the sensing elements are all on a semiconductor substrate with the Hall sensor elements in the substrate material), (Figures 6,10a-10d / note the first axis can be the X axis and the second axis can be the Y axis).
As to Claim 22,
Van discloses A sensor device comprising: a semiconductor die including: a semiconductor substrate (see above figure) including a magnetic sensor (any one of or combination of Hc,H1-H4, such as H1) in a semiconductor material (Paragraphs [0130],[0210] / note that point of these paragraphs is to demonstrate that the sensing elements are all on a semiconductor substrate with the Hall sensor elements in the substrate material), (Figures 6,10a-10d); and an interconnect structure (metal layer(s) 1023) over the semiconductor substrate (Figure 10a), (Paragraph [0210]),(see above figure); and a layer of magnetic material (612a,612c) over the semiconductor die (Figure 6,10d), (Paragraph [0210]), the layer of the magnetic material including a first region, a second region, and a space separating between the first and second regions, the first and second regions configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second regions (Figures 4(b),6 / note that what is shown in Figure 4(b) is the same effect that would occur in Figure 6, and that the intent of the concentrators is to concentrate magnetic fields along three different axis, including between the above first and second concentrators), the magnetic sensor being entirely within a footprint of the space and configured to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second regions (Figures 4(b),6), (see above figure / note as seen above, a space exists between 612a and 612c, and sensor Hc is completely within that space, but also note that the above dotted circle can be interpreted to be any size, such as one where sensors H1 and H3 are both entirely located within and any region can begin at an inner portion of the magnetic material and is not required to begin and end at any particular physical end of the material, because the claim does not define what the first and second regions must be, note further that while Figure 10d shows magnetic material directly above the sensor, that magnetic material is material 611 directly above sensor Hc and does not show the material for the other sensors, and note the sensors are intended to receive and sense the concentrated magnetic fields from the concentrators).
As to Claim 23,
Van discloses the magnetic sensor includes at least one of: an in-plane Hall sensor, a vertical Hall sensor, or a sensor configurable to sense a magnetic field parallel with a surface of the semiconductor die opposing the interconnect structure (see above figure and note that as explained above, the sensors are configured to sense fields parallel to the surface of the die, which will oppose the interconnect structure).
As to Claim 24,
Van discloses the first and second regions are configurable to be magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 6), (Paragraph [0210]).
As to Claim 27,
Van discloses the layer of the magnetic material includes a third region and a fourth region separated by the space (see above figure), the magnetic sensor is a first magnetic sensor (Figure 6), the first magnetic sensor is between the first and second regions along a first direction (Figure 6 / note the direction is a left/right direction when the sensor is H1), the semiconductor substrate includes a second magnetic sensor (H4) (Figure 6), the second magnetic sensor is between the third and fourth regions along a second direction (see above figure); and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (see above figure / note the second direction is in the up/down direction).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 22, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bidaux et al. (Bidaux) (US 2022/0137161).
As to Claim 1,
Bidaux discloses A sensor device comprising: a semiconductor die including: a semiconductor substrate including a magnetic sensor (any one of or combination of Hc,H1-H4) in a semiconductor material (Paragraphs [0117],[0168],[0171]] / note that point of these paragraphs is to demonstrate that the sensing elements are all magnetic sensor elements in the substrate material), (Figures 8a,9b)), the magnetic sensor configurable to sense a magnetic field in the semiconductor substrate, the magnetic field being parallel with a surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9b), (Paragraphs [0003],[0168] / note the sensors are designed to sense in the Bx and By directions, thus causing them to detect in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate), and an interconnect structure opposing the surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9b), (Paragraph [0171] / note the metal layer used for the bond wires), (see above figure / note the interconnect layer is on the side surface and includes the metal connections for the bond wire); a first magnetic flux concentrator (812a) over and on the semiconductor die (Paragraphs [0168],[0171]), (Figures 8a,9b); and a second magnetic flux concentrator (812c) over and on the semiconductor die (Paragraphs [0168],[0171), (Figures 8a,9b), the first and second magnetic flux concentrators configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 4(b) / note that while this concentrator is directed towards a different embodiment, the function in the way the concentrator operates is the same as the embodiment of Figure 6 as it pertains to how the magnetic field is concentrated and direction this field travels), in which at least part of the magnetic sensor is between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along an axis parallel with the surface to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 8a), (Paragraphs [0003],[0168] / note the purpose of the concentrators is to concentrate magnetic flux for the sensors, which detect this concentrated magnetic flux),(Claim 1), packaging the semiconductor die and the first and second magnetic flux concentrators to form an integrated circuit (Paragraphs [0009],[0025] / note by packaging the semiconductor die, all elements are reasonably packaged as claimed).
As to Claim 3,
Bidaux discloses the interconnect structure includes an interconnect metal layer and a bond pad (Figures 9b,12 / note there must be a bond pad on the metal layer to allow the wires to bond/attach to the metal layer), (Paragraphs [0171],[0177]); the semiconductor die includes a protective dielectric layer (any of the insulation layers) over the interconnect metal layer (Paragraph [0177]), (Figure 12); and the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the protective dielectric layer (Figures 8a,12), (Paragraphs [0115],[0117]) .
As to Claim 4,
Bidaux discloses the semiconductor die further includes a polymer layer (1224) over the protective dielectric layer (Figures 8a,12), (Paragraphs [0115],[0117]); and the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the polymer layer (Figure 8a).
As to Claim 22,
Bidaux discloses A sensor device comprising: a semiconductor die including: a semiconductor substrate (see above figure) including a magnetic sensor (any one of or combination of Hc,H1-H4) in a semiconductor material (Paragraphs [0117],[0168],[0171]] / note that point of these paragraphs is to demonstrate that the sensing elements are all on a semiconductor substrate with the Hall sensor elements in the substrate material), (Figures 8a,9b)), and an interconnect structure over the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9b), (Paragraph [0171] / note the metal layer used for the bond wires), (see above figure / note the interconnect layer is on the side surface and includes the metal connections for the bond wire); and a layer of magnetic material (812a,812c) over the semiconductor die (Figures 8a,9b), (Paragraph [0168]), the layer of the magnetic material including a first region, a second region, and a space separating between the first and second regions, the first and second regions configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second regions (Figures 7b,8a,9b / note that what is seen in Figure 7b is indicative of the magnetic field path for the Bx field which is therefore concentrated between the first and second regions), the magnetic sensor being entirely within a footprint of the space and configured to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second regions (Figure 8a), (see above figure / note as seen above, a space exists between 812a and 812c, and sensor Hc is completely within that space, but also note that the above dotted circle can be interpreted to be any size, such as one where sensors H1 and H3 are both entirely located within, because the claim does not define what the first and second regions must be and any region can begin at an inner portion of the magnetic material and is not required to begin and end at any particular physical end of the material, note further that while Figure 9b shows magnetic material directly above the sensor, , that magnetic material is material 811 directly above sensor Hc and does not show the material for the other sensors, and note that the point of the concentrators is to provide concentrated magnetic fields for the sensors to detect).
As to Claim 25,
Bidaux discloses the interconnect structure includes an interconnect metal layer and a bond pad (Figures 9b,12 / note there must be a bond pad on the metal layer to allow the wires to bond/attach to the metal layer), (Paragraphs [0171],[0177]); the semiconductor die includes a protective dielectric layer (any of the insulation layers) over the interconnect metal layer (Paragraph [0177]), (Figure 12); and the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the protective dielectric layer (Figures 8a,12), (Paragraphs [0115],[0117]) .
As to Claim 26,
Bidaux discloses the semiconductor die further includes a polymer layer (1224) over the protective dielectric layer (Figures 8a,12), (Paragraphs [0115],[0117]); and the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the polymer layer (Figure 8a).
Claims 1, 15, 16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Whig et al. (Whig) (US 2011/0244599).
As to Claim 1,
Whig discloses A sensor device comprising: a semiconductor die including: a semiconductor substrate including a magnetic sensor (any one 122,123,124,125) in a semiconductor material (Paragraphs [0005],[0016],[0021] / note the entire device is a chip and thus the layer with the sensors is a die), (Abstract / note a magnetoresistive sensor is an in-plane sensor) (Figures 1,6 ), the magnetic sensor configurable to sense a magnetic field in the semiconductor substrate, the magnetic field being parallel with a surface of the semiconductor substrate (Abstract / note magnetoresistive sensors sense in-plane and thus parallel to a top surface of the substrate); and an interconnect structure (layer 283 with vias 292) opposing the surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9), (Paragraph [0041]); a first magnetic flux concentrator (any one of 136, 137, 138, 139 corresponding to the selected sensor) over the semiconductor die (Figures 1, 3, and 6), (Paragraphs [0021],[0033] / note element 214/216 are the same as the above noted flux concentrators); and a second magnetic flux concentrator (any of 132, 133, 134, and 135 corresponding to the selected sensor) over the semiconductor die (Figures 1,6,9), the first and second magnetic flux concentrators configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 4(b) / note that while this concentrator is directed towards a different embodiment, the function in the way the concentrator operates is the same as the embodiment of Figure 6 as it pertains to how the magnetic field is concentrated and direction this field travels), in which at least part of the magnetic sensor is between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along an axis parallel with the surface to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figures 1, 3, and 6), (Paragraphs [0021],[0033] / note element 214/216 are the same as the above noted flux concentrators, and note that the purpose of the concentrators is to concentrate magnetic flux to be detected by the sensors).
As to Claim 15,
Whig discloses A method comprising: forming a first magnetic flux concentrator (any one of 136, 137, 138, 139 corresponding to the selected sensor) over a semiconductor die including a semiconductor substrate (202) (Figure 6 / note the sensor, such as 123, is over semiconductor substate layer 202), (Paragraph [0037]); the semiconductor substrate including an in-plane magnetic sensor (any one 122,123,124,125) (Paragraphs [0005],[0021]), (Abstract / note a magnetoresistive sensor is an in-plane sensor) (Figures 1,6 ); forming a second magnetic flux concentrator (any of 132, 133, 134, and 135 corresponding to the selected sensor) on the semiconductor die (Figures 1, 3, 6, 14), (Paragraphs [0021],[0033] / note element 214/216 are the same as the above noted flux concentrators), the first and second magnetic flux concentrators configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 14), so that at least part of the in-plane magnetic sensor is between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figures 1,14); and packaging the semiconductor die and the first and second magnetic flux concentrators to form an integrated circuit (Paragraphs [0004],[0005] / note the point of the invention is to provide an improved fabrication process for packaging the sensor, and thus the device is reasonably packaged).
As to Claim 16,
Whig discloses forming an interconnect structure (292) over the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9), (Paragraph [0041]) , the interconnect structure including a metal layer that includes an external connector bond pad (Paragraphs [0041]), (Claim 5); and forming a protective dielectric layer (284) over the interconnect structure (Paragraph [0041]), wherein the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the protective dielectric layer (Figure 9 / note that this phrase is relative and rotating Figure 9 180 degrees causes the concentrators to be over the protective dielectric layer).
As to Claim 22,
Whig discloses A sensor device comprising: a semiconductor die including :a semiconductor substrate including a magnetic sensor (any one 122,123,124,125) in a semiconductor material ) (Paragraphs [0005],[0016],[0021] / note the entire device is a chip and thus the layer with the sensors is a die), (Abstract / note a magnetoresistive sensor is an in-plane sensor) (Figures 1,6 ); and an interconnect structure (layer 283 with vias 292) over the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9), (Paragraph [0041]); and a layer of magnetic material (any two of 136, 137, 138, 139 corresponding to the selected sensor, such as 132 and 136) over the semiconductor die (Figures 1, 3, and 6), (Paragraphs [0021],[0033] / note element 214/216 are the same as the above noted flux concentrators, the layer of the magnetic material including a first region (area of 132), a second region (area of 132), and a space separating between the first and second regions (note the space in between these regions where the sensor 126 is located), the first and second regions configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second regions (Figure 14), the magnetic sensor being entirely within a footprint of the space and configured to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux regions (Figures 1,14 / note that applicant does not define the first and second regions, and thus these regions can be defined such that any particular sensor is entirely located within a space between these regions, and any region can begin at an inner portion of the magnetic material and is not required to begin and end at any particular physical end of the material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whig et al. (Whig) (US 2011/0244599) in view of Van Der Wiel et al. (Van) (US 2022/0165935).
As to Claim 9,
Whig discloses An integrated circuit comprising: a semiconductor die including a semiconductor substrate (242) (Figure 5), (Paragraph [0037]), the semiconductor substrate including an in-plane sensor (any one 122,123,124,125) (Paragraphs [0005],[0016],[0021] / note the entire device is a chip and thus a die), (Abstract / note a magnetoresistive sensor is an in-plane sensor) (Figures 1,6 ); a first magnetic flux concentrator (any one of 136, 137, 138, 139 corresponding to the selected sensor) over the semiconductor die (Figures 1, 3, and 6), (Paragraphs [0021],[0033] / note element 214/216 are the same as the above noted flux concentrators), a second magnetic flux concentrator (any of 132, 133, 134, and 135 corresponding to the selected sensor) over the semiconductor die (Figures 1, 3, and 6), (Paragraphs [0021],[0033] / note element 214/216 are the same as the above noted flux concentrators), the first and second magnetic flux concentrators configured to concentrate magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figure 14), in which at least part of the in-plane magnetic sensor is between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator to receive the concentrated magnetic flux between the first and second magnetic flux concentrators (Figures 1,14).
Whig does not disclose a molding compound that encapsulates the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator.
Van discloses a molding compound that encapsulates the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator (Paragraph [0222] / note an over-molding of the die would reasonable encapsulate all components of the die, including the above features).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include a molding compound that encapsulates the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator given the above disclosure and teaching of Van in order to advantageously protect the sensor device from the external environment and to reduce the chance that the device can be damaged.
As to Claim 10,
Whig discloses an interconnect structure (vias 292 in layer 283) over the semiconductor substrate (Figure 9), (Paragraph [0041]); the interconnect structure including an interconnect metal layer (conductive material in 292), (Paragraph [0041]); and a protective dielectric layer (284) over the interconnect metal layer (Paragraph [0041]), (Figure 9), wherein the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the protective dielectric layer (Figure 9 / note that this phrase is relative and rotating Figure 9 180 degrees causes the concentrators to be over the protective dielectric layer).
As to Claim 11,
Whig does not disclose discloses the semiconductor die includes a polymer layer over the protective dielectric layer, and wherein the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are on the polymer layer, and the molding compound covers the polymer layer.
Van discloses the semiconductor die includes a polymer layer (1024) over the protective dielectric layer (Paragraph [0210]), (Figure 10a); and wherein the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are on the polymer layer (Figures 6,10d), and the molding compound covers the polymer layer (Paragraph [0222] / note an over-molding of the die would reasonable encapsulate all components of the die, including the above features such as the polymer layer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include the semiconductor die includes a polymer layer over the protective dielectric layer, and wherein the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are on the polymer layer, and the molding compound covers the polymer layer as taught by Van in order to advantageously help to reduce mechanical stress between layers, and thus increase the lifetime usability of the device (Paragraph [0050]).
As to Claim 12,
Whig does not disclose a third magnetic flux concentrator over the semiconductor die; and a fourth magnetic flux concentrator over the semiconductor die, wherein: the in-plane magnetic sensor is a first in-plane magnetic sensor; the first in-plane magnetic sensor is between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along a first lateral direction; the semiconductor substrate includes a second in-plane magnetic sensor in the semiconductor material; the second in-plane magnetic sensor is between the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator along a second direction; and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction; and the molding compound encapsulates the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator.
Van discloses a third magnetic flux concentrator (612d) over the semiconductor die (Figures 6,10d); and a fourth magnetic flux concentrator (612b) over the semiconductor die (Figures 6,10d), wherein: the magnetic sensor is a first magnetic sensor (H1 or Hc); the first magnetic sensor is laterally between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along a first lateral direction (Figure 6); the semiconductor substrate includes a second magnetic sensor (H2) in the semiconductor material (Figure 6); the second magnetic sensor is laterally between the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator along a second direction (Figure 6); and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Paragraphs [0130],[0210]] / note that point of these paragraphs is to demonstrate that the sensing elements are all on a semiconductor substrate with the magnetic sensor elements in the substrate material), (Figures 6,10a-10d); and the molding compound encapsulates the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator (Paragraph [0222] / note an over-molding of the die would reasonable encapsulate all components of the die, including the above features).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include and to duplicate the sensor device already disclosed in Whig to therefore include a third magnetic flux concentrator over the semiconductor die; and a fourth magnetic flux concentrator over the semiconductor die, wherein: the in-plane magnetic sensor is a first in-plane magnetic sensor; the first in-plane magnetic sensor is laterally between the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator along a first lateral direction; the semiconductor substrate includes a second in-plane magnetic sensor in the semiconductor material; the second in-plane magnetic sensor is laterally between the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator along a second direction; and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction; and the molding compound encapsulates the third magnetic flux concentrator and the fourth magnetic flux concentrator given the above disclosure and teaching of Van in order to advantageously be able to measure additional components of the magnetic field and thus provide information about the field in both an X and Y direction, and further to provide redundant sensing in case one or more of the sensors fail to function properly, thereby increasing the continued useability of the device.
As to Claim 13,
Whig does not disclose the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each have a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um.
Van discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each have a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um (Paragraph [0186]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include and optimize the flux concentrator dimensions to therefore include the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each have a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um as taught by Van in order to advantageously be able to concentrate a greater amount of the magnetic flux at the sensor elements and thereby increase the sensitivity of the device (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to Claim 14,
Whig discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each are laterally offset from a respective nearest active sensor element of the in-plane sensor (Figure 1).
As to Claim 17,
Whig does not disclose forming a polymer layer over the protective dielectric layer, in which the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the polymer layer.
Van discloses forming a polymer layer (1024) over the protective dielectric layer (Paragraph [0210]), (Figure 10a), in which the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the polymer layer (Figures 6,10d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include forming a polymer layer over the protective dielectric layer, in which the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are over the polymer layer as taught by Van in order to advantageously help to reduce mechanical stress between layers, and thus increase the lifetime usability of the device (Paragraph [0050]).
As to Claim 18,
Whig does not disclose forming the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are formed by a respective electroplating process.
Van discloses forming the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are formed by a respective electroplating process (Paragraph [0185]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include forming the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator are formed by a respective electroplating process as taught by Van in order to advantageously increase the strength of the device and the lifespan of the device.
As to Claim 19,
Whig does not disclose the packaging of the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator to form the integrated circuit includes encapsulating the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator with a molding compound.
Van discloses the packaging of the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator to form the integrated circuit includes encapsulating the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator with a molding compound (Paragraphs [0018],[0222] / note by packaging the semiconductor die, all elements are reasonably packaged as claimed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include the packaging of the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator to form the integrated circuit includes encapsulating the semiconductor die, the first magnetic flux concentrator, and the second magnetic flux concentrator with a molding compound as taught by Van in order to advantageously protect the sensor device from the external environment and to reduce the chance that the device can be damaged.
As to Claim 20,
Whig does not disclose the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each have a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um.
Van discloses the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each have a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um (Paragraph [0186]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include and optimize the flux concentrator dimensions to therefore include the first magnetic flux concentrator and the second magnetic flux concentrator each have a thickness in a direction normal to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate, the thickness being equal to or greater than 10 um as taught by Van in order to advantageously be able to concentrate a greater amount of the magnetic flux at the sensor elements and thereby increase the sensitivity of the device (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whig et al. (Whig) (US 2011/0244599) in view of Van Dau et al. (Van Dau) (US 6,191,581).
As to Claims 21 and 28,
Whig discloses that the magnetic sensors are magnetoresistive sensors (Abstract).
Whig does not disclose the magnetic sensor is an in-plane Hall sensor or a vertical Hall sensor.
Van Dau discloses the magnetic sensor is an in-plane Hall sensor or a vertical Hall sensor (Column 1, Lines 51-56).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Whig to include replacing the magnetoresistive sensor with an in-plane hall sensor to therefore include the magnetic sensor is an in-plane Hall sensor or a vertical Hall sensor as taught Van Dau in order to advantageously utilize a sensor that has great simplification in the associated technology and, on the other hand, a reduction by approximately four orders of magnitude in the thermal drift, the main noise component at low frequencies (around 1 Hz) over magnetoresistive sensors (Column 1, Lines 51-56).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID M. SCHINDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/DAVID M SCHINDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858