DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 15 recite the limitation “the M first tabs are stacked to form the first connecting potion, and part of the M first tabs at the second connecting portion are connected to a side of the first connecting portion facing the electrode assembly.” The language is imprecise and unclear as to the where the second connecting portion is connected to the first connecting portion. It is unclear if the “side of the first connecting portion facing the electrode assembly” is the vertical surface edge of “3012” in Figure 3, the horizontal (bottom) surface of “3012,” or possibly both (the “second connecting portion” is denoted as “302” in this Figure). The language as a whole is unclear as to relationship between the first and second connecting portions. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuuki (US 20220209344).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the reference teaches an electrochemical apparatus comprising a housing, an electrode assembly, a first tab group (61, 62), and a first adapting piece (40, 300) electrically connected to the first tab group and extending out from the housing (Fig. 4). The electrode assembly is a winding structure and comprising a first electrode plate (22), and the first tab group comprises two (“M”) first tabs (61, 62). In the thickness direction, the electrode assembly comprises four (“N”) layers (a “layer” being defined as a current collector plus active layer(s) pursuant to [0045] of the publication of the instant application). The M tabs are each connected to the first plate. The first tab group comprises a first connecting portion (shown near J2) connected to the first adapting piece) and a second connecting portion connected to the electrode plate, wherein the M tabs are stacked to form the first connecting portion, and wherein part of the M tabs (leftmost tab) at the second connecting portion is connected a side of the first connecting portion facing the electrode assembly. (Note: this language is subject to a 112(b) rejection as noted above and Yuuki meets the limitation as currently drafted). Regarding claim 14, the housing is a packaging bag. Regarding claim 15, the electrochemical apparatus is used in an electronic apparatus ([0191]).
Further regarding claims 1 and 15, Yuuki teaches that the electrode assembly is wound, and accordingly the electrode assembly would inherently have a winding center plane. The schematic drawing in Figure 4 shows the leftmost tab as being slightly to the left of an imaginary electrode assembly winding center plane and the rightmost tab being right of the winding center plane. However, as the drawing is not indicated as being to scale and is not relied upon for precise dimensions/placement of the winding center plane, it is deemed that reference does not expressly teach that the M first tabs are disposed on two sides of the winding center plane as recited in claims 1 and 15.
However, the invention as a whole would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing because a skilled artisan, as one of two possible options, could construct the battery to have the tab on the left side of the center winding axis (versus having both tabs on the right side). As shown in the Figure, the leftmost tab appears to be in electrical contact in the thickness direction with the electrode layer which is on the left side of the winding in Figure 4. Furthermore, exact layer thicknesses and placement would be subject to routine variation and optimization. It would be well within the skill of the art to position the tab on the left side of the winding axis as well as the tab on the right side, the latter of which is clearly shown in the Figure. Accordingly, claims 1 and 15 would be rendered obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 and 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Yuuki is the closest prior art to dependent claims 2, 3, 13 and 16. However, the reference does not teach or fairly suggest that in the thickness direction, layers of the electrode plate connected to the M first tabs and layers of the first electrode plate not connected to the M first tabs are alternately arranged (claim 2), that the first connecting portion comprises a U-shaped structure comprising first, second and third sub-portions (claims 3 and 16), and the first tab and the first current collector of the first electrode plate are integrally formed (claim 13). The tabs are in electrical contact with current collectors but are not integrally formed therewith (Fig. 4 of Yuuki).
Further references that are cumulative of Yuuki include Xiao et al, 2023/0140763 (M=N in this reference), Hitaka et al (US 20100124694, does not teach connecting portion structure), and Zhang et al (US 20200212408, does not teach tabs on opposite sides of winding axis).
Conclusion
/Jonathan Crepeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725
February 13, 2026