Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 15, it appears to include a grammatical error in the phrase “a power supply disposed on the PCB an electrically coupled to the laser diode”. It appears the word “an” was intended to read as “and”. Amending claim 15 in this manner would address the claim objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PG PUB 20240079851 (hereinafter Malea).
Regarding Claim 1, Malea teaches a method for power supplying a laser diode comprising:
generating a power supply current injected directly into the laser diode ([0028] describes laser diode driver 160 supplying current directly to a laser diode);
generating a power supply voltage biasing terminals of the laser diode (the electrical current supplied by laser diode driver 160 inherently has a voltage that biases terminals of the laser diode);
measuring a temperature in a vicinity of the laser diode (temperature sensor 140, [0027] describes how 140 is proximate laser diodes marked R, G, B and configured to monitor at least one of the laser diodes); and
controlling the power supply current at an adjusted intensity according to the measured temperature or controlling the power supply voltage at an adjusted level according to the measured temperature ([0027] controller 110 receives temperature measurements from temperature sensor 140 & FIG. 5, [0053] describe how current supply to the laser diode is adjusted based on measured temperature).
Regarding Claim 2, Malea teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the intensity of the power supply current is adjusted to generate an optical signal at a target power by the laser diode at the measured temperature (FIG. 4 illustrates how current varies based on an amount of power output desired & [0053] describes how actual current applied varies with a measured temperature).
Regarding Claim 4, Malea teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining the adjusted intensity of the power supply current by reading a temperature-intensity pair correspondence table, wherein the intensity pair correspondence table comprises entries based on a relationship between optical power and temperature for the laser diode ([0036] describes creation of the lookup tables used in operation of the laser and that it includes a table that details what current to use for a given temperature to achieve a desired intensity).
Regarding Claim 6, Malea teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein measuring the temperature in the vicinity of the laser diode comprises providing thermal conduction between the laser diode and a temperature measurement point via a thermal bridge between the laser diode and the temperature measurement point ([0053] describes how the temperature sensor is proximate the laser diode and that they can be on the same die… the die would form a thermally conductive bridge between the laser diode and temperature sensor that would include a temperature measurement point on a portion of the laser diode contacting the die).
Regarding Claim 8, Malea teaches a device comprising:
a laser diode (FIG. 1, see laser diodes marked R, G, B) ;
a temperature sensor located in a vicinity of the laser diode (temperature sensor 140); and
a power supply circuit (laser diode driver 160) for supplying power to the laser diode, the power supply circuit configured to:
generate a power supply current configured to be injected directly into the laser diode ([0028] describes laser diode driver 160 supplying current directly to a laser diode), and
generate a power supply voltage configured to bias terminals of the laser diode (the electrical current supplied by laser diode driver 160 inherently has a voltage that biases terminals of the laser diode),
wherein the power supply circuit is configured to: generate the power supply current at an adjusted intensity according to a temperature measured by the temperature sensor, or generate the power supply voltage at an adjusted level according to the temperature measured by the temperature sensor ([0027] controller 110 receives temperature measurements from temperature sensor 140 & FIG. 5, [0053] describe how current supply to the laser diode is adjusted based on measured temperature).
Regarding Claim 9, Malea teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the power supply circuit is configured to generate the intensity of the power supply current adjusted for a generation of an optical signal at a target power by the laser diode at the temperature measured by the temperature sensor (FIG. 4 illustrates how current varies based on an amount of power output desired & [0053] describes how actual current applied varies with a measured temperature).
Regarding Claim 11, Malea teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein: the power supply circuit includes a temperature-intensity pair correspondence table, wherein the intensity pair correspondence table comprises entries based on a relationship between optical power and temperature for the laser diode; and the power supply circuit is configured to obtain the adjusted intensity of the power supply current by reading the temperature-intensity pair correspondence table ([0036] describes creation of the lookup tables used in operation of the laser and that it includes a table that details what current to use for a given temperature to achieve a desired intensity).
Regarding Claim 13, Malea teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the temperature sensor includes a thermal bridge configured to thermally conduct heat in contact with the laser diode towards a measurement point of the temperature sensor near the laser diode ([0053] describes how the temperature sensor is proximate the laser diode and that they can be on the same die… the die would form a thermally conductive bridge between the laser diode and temperature sensor that would include a temperature measurement point on a portion of the laser diode contacting the die).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malea in view of US PG PUB 20070258494 (hereinafter Davies).
Regarding Claim 3, Malea teaches the method according to claim 1, however Malea fails to specifically teach “wherein the level of the power supply voltage is adjusted for a threshold voltage of the laser diode at the measured temperature” ([0032]-[0033] describes how the laser requires a threshold amount of electrical energy (e.g., 0.5 milliwatt) based on the measured temperature to turn on however, Malea is silent as to voltage variation presumably since variation in current is more commonly used to adjust laser output power).
However, Davies teaches wherein the level of the power supply voltage is adjusted for a threshold voltage of the laser diode at the measured temperature ([0052] describes how voltage control can be used instead of current control to effect changes to operation of a laser diode).
Malea and Davies both describe the use of open loop control using temperature sensors and stored look-up table values in order to regulate operation of lasers depending on an operating temperature of a laser diode. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to improve the laser configuration taught by Malea, which is silent as to making any changes to the voltage of the current applied to the laser, by adding the ability for the controller to vary the current and voltage as described in [0052] of Davies.
Regarding Claim 5, Malea claim teaches the method according to claim 1, and the combination of Malea and Davies as applied to claim 3 teaches wherein the adjusted level of the power supply voltage is obtained by reading a temperature-voltage pair correspondence table, wherein the temperature-voltage pair correspondence table comprises entries based on a relationship between threshold voltage and temperature for the laser diode ([0032]-[0033] of Malea describes how the laser requires a threshold amount of electrical energy (e.g., 0.5 milliwatt) based on the measured temperature to turn on and FIG. 3 shows a threshold current level TH for operation of the laser. [0036] of Malea goes on to describe creation of the lookup tables used in operation of the laser and that it includes a table that details what current to use for a given temperature to achieve a desired intensity). However, Malea is silent as to voltage variation. Davies, which at [0052] states voltage variation can be used in lieu of current variation, would be used to modify the teachings of Malea to utilize a lookup table with temperature dependent threshold voltage levels instead of a threshold current level).
Regarding Claim 10, Malea teaches the device according to claim 8. The combination of Malea and Davies as applied to claim 3 teaches wherein the power supply circuit is configured to generate the level of the power supply voltage adjusted for a threshold voltage of the laser diode at the measured temperature ([0032]-[0033] of Malea describes how the laser requires a threshold amount of electrical energy (e.g., 0.5 milliwatt) based on the measured temperature to turn on and FIG. 3 shows a threshold current level TH for operation of the laser. However, Malea is silent as to voltage variation.
Davies, which at [0052] states voltage variation can be used in lieu of current variation, would be used to modify the teachings of Malea to utilize a lookup table with temperature dependent threshold voltage levels instead of a threshold current level).
Regarding Claim 12, Malea teaches the device according claim 8. The combination of Malea and Davies as applied to claim 3 teach wherein: the power supply circuit includes a temperature-voltage pair correspondence table, wherein the temperature-voltage pair correspondence table comprises entries based on a relationship between threshold voltage and temperature for the laser diode; and the power supply circuit is configured to obtain the adjusted level of the power supply voltage by reading the temperature-voltage pair correspondence table ([0032]-[0033] of Malea describes how the laser requires a threshold amount of electrical energy (e.g., 0.5 milliwatt) based on the measured temperature to turn on and FIG. 3 shows a threshold current level TH for operation of the laser. [0036] of Malea goes on to describe creation of the lookup tables used in operation of the laser and that it includes a table that details what current to use for a given temperature to achieve a desired intensity). However, Malea is silent as to voltage variation. Davies, which at [0052] states voltage variation can be used in lieu of current variation for a laser diode, would be used to modify the teachings of Malea to utilize a lookup table with temperature dependent threshold voltage levels instead of a threshold current level).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 9,983,297 (hereinafter Hall) in view of Malea.
Regarding Claim 7, Hall teaches a time-of-flight distance measurement method, comprising:
emitting an optical signal by the laser diode during an integration phase (Col 6 lines 38-41 describes emission of beams of light by light emitting elements 114);
providing power to the laser diode (FIG. 7 shows a current signal 136 being provided to a light emitting device 137)
receiving a reflection of the optical signal emitted by the laser diode (Col 6 lines 41-45 describes reflected light being received at light detecting elements 113) and
measuring a time shift between emitting the optical signal and receiving the reflection (Col 13 lines 47-53 describes measuring a time shift between the emitted optical signal being sent and the reflection being received to determine a distance). As indicated above, Hall fails to teach providing power to the laser diode according to the method of claim 1.
However, Malea teaches providing power to the laser diode according to the method of claim 1 as described above
Malea and Hall are both directed to systems relying on lasers for operation. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the system of Hall to incorporate the specific temperature monitoring and laser output adjustment methods described in Malea given the suggestions of Hall for temperature dependent changes to the emitter (Hall at Col 12 lines 56 – 65 suggests changing an output of the emitter based on temperature measurements made by a temperature sensor in close proximity to a laser diode). Making these changes would allow the system of Hall to output more consistent ranging laser pulses.
Regarding Claim 14, Hall teaches a time-of-flight distance sensor, comprising:
an emitter (light emitting elements 114)
an optical receiver (light detecting elements 113), wherein the time-of-flight distance sensor is configured to, during an integration phase:
emit an optical signal using the laser diode (Col 6 lines 38-41 describes emission of beams of light by light emitting elements 114),
receive a reflection of the optical signal emitted by the laser diode (Col 6 lines 41-45 describes reflected light being received at light detecting elements 113), and
measure a time shift in the received reflection with respect to the emitted optical signal (Col 13 lines 47-53 describes measuring a time shift between the emitted optical signal being sent and the reflection being received to determine a distance). As indicated above, Hall fails to teach where the emitter comprises the device according to claim 8.
However, Malea teaches the emitter comprises the device according to claim 8 as described above.
Malea and Hall are both directed to systems relying on lasers for operation. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to modify the system of Hall to incorporate the specific temperature monitoring and laser output adjustment methods described in Malea given the suggestions of Hall for temperature dependent changes to the emitter (Hall at Col 12 lines 56 – 65 suggests changing an output of the emitter based on temperature measurements made by a temperature sensor in close proximity to a laser diode). These changes would allow the system of Hall to output more consistent ranging laser pulses.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG PUB 20220291359 (hereinafter Tziony) in view of US PG PUB 20190221998 (hereinafter Nishita) and further in view of Malea.
Regarding Claim 15, Tziony teaches a time-of-flight distance sensor (LIDAR System 201), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) ([0041] describes a semiconductor substrate);
a laser diode disposed on the PCB ([0041] describes an array of VCSELs on the semiconductor substrate, a VCSEL is a type of laser diode);
a temperature sensor ([0045] describes a temperature sensor 205 placed close to the laser diodes but is silent as to whether 205 shares a common substrate with the laser diodes)
a power supply disposed on the PCB (FIG. 2E shows high and low side drivers 262 / 265 of the power supply sharing a PCB within the array of laser diodes) an electrically coupled to the laser diode and the temperature sensor ([0045] describes how temperature sensor 205 readings are output to transmit electronics 204, which includes high and low side drivers 304/308 as shown in FIG. 3, which are electrically coupled to the laser diodes), the power supply configured to adjust a power level provided from the power supply to the laser diode based on temperature measurement provided by the temperature sensor ([0045] describes how the power level will be changed based on over or under temperature readings from the temperature sensor),
Tziony, as indicated by strikethroughs above, fails to specifically teach the temperature sensor being disposed on the PCB and thermally coupled to the laser diode through the PCB via a thermal bridge and also fails to teach the adjusted power level configured to cause the laser diode to provide an optical signal at a target power.
However, Nishita teaches a temperature sensor being disposed on the PCB shared by a power supply and a laser diode ([0032] of Nishita describes wavelength tunable laser module 100, which includes multiple laser diodes 211, a laser temperature monitoring element 216 proximate the laser diodes 211 and current control circuit 312 (power source), assembled on a circuit substrate) and that the temperature sensor is thermally coupled to the laser diode through the PCB via a thermal bridge ([0035] describes how Peltier element 215 acts as a thermally conductive bridge between laser temperature monitoring element 216 and laser diodes 211).
Tziony and Nishita both disclose laser emitting systems relying on temperature sensors to adjust output of the lasers. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to improve Tziony by positioning the temperature sensor of Tziony, whose position is not specified in Tziony, onto the common substrate shared by the Tziony’s laser diodes and power supply as this would allowed for the close placement of the temperature sensor 205 specified in [0045] Tziony. The person having ordinary skill in the art would also be motivated to incorporate a thermal bridging element between temperature sensor 205 and the laser diodes as taught by the Peltier configuration disclosed by Nishita to improve the thermal coupling and provide more accurate monitoring. The combination of Tziony and Nishita still fails to teach the adjusted power level configured to cause the laser diode to provide an optical signal at a target power.
However, Malea teaches adjusting a power level provided by the power supply based on temperature measurement for the laser diode to provide an optical signal at a target power ([0027] controller 110 receives temperature measurements from temperature sensor 140 & [0053] describe how current supply to the laser diode is adjusted based on measured temperature and the graph in FIG. 4 shows how target power is achieved by applying a temperature adjusted current).
Malea and the combination of Tziony and Nishita both describe systems in which laser output characteristics are monitored. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have improved the system taught by the combination of Tziony and Nishita with the laser current adjustment systems taught by Malea to achieve a target power/intensity regardless of a current operating temperature of the system in order to achieve consistent intensity levels as suggested in in [0018] of Malea.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea teaches the time-of-flight distance sensor of claim 15, wherein the power supply comprises: an adjustable current source having an output connected to a first terminal of the laser diode; and a voltage output connected to a second terminal of the laser diode ([0052] of Tziony describes high-side drivers 262/262’ of the power supply connected to anode contacts and low side drivers 263/263’ of the power supply connected to cathode contacts of the laser diodes).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea teaches the time-of-flight distance sensor of claim 16, wherein the power supply is configured to adjust the power level of the power supply by adjusting a voltage of the voltage output based on the temperature measurement and the target power (FIG. 4 illustrates how current varies based on an amount of power output desired & [0053] describes how actual current applied varies with a measured temperature).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea teaches the time-of-flight distance sensor of claim 16, wherein the power supply is configured to adjust the power level of the power supply by adjusting a current provided by the adjustable current source based on the temperature measurement and the target power (FIG. 4 illustrates how current varies based on an amount of power output desired & [0053] describes how actual current applied varies with a measured temperature).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea teaches the time-of-flight distance sensor of claim 15, further comprising:
an optical receiver (detector array 210 as shown in FIG. 2A of Tziony) disposed on the PCB (Tziony shows detector array 210 as part of the LIDAR system 210 but is silent as to whether it shares a same circuit board with other components. Placing the optical receiver on the same PCB as the other components from the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea is merely a rearrangement of parts amounting to an obvious design choice and the instant specification is silent as to any advantages achieved by incorporating the optical receiver on the same PCB as the other components); and
a time-measurement circuit configured to measure a time delay between a transmission of a light pulse from the laser diode to a reception of a reflection of the light pulse by the optical receiver (time-of-flight computation electronics 208).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tziony in view of Nishita and Malea as applied to claim 19 and further in view of US PG PUB 20200284907 (hereinafter Gupta).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea teaches the time-of-flight distance sensor of claim 19, wherein the optical receiver comprises an array (detector array 210 of Tziony) but fails to teach the array being formed from single-photon avalanche diodes (SPAD).
However, Gupta in [0003] describes how “single-photon detectors can play a role in realizing effective long-range LiDAR for automotive applications (e.g., as sensors for autonomous vehicles) in which a power budget is limited and/or in which a signal strength of the light source is limited due to safety concerns”.
Gupta and the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea both describe LIDAR systems with optical receivers. A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to improve the system described in the combination of Tziony, Nishita and Malea by forming the array of detectors from single-photon avalanche diodes since they are more sensitive and would allow the system to operate at lower power and/or help it make detections at longer ranges, see [0003] of Gupta as quoted above.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN DAVID WIGGER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645