DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments as filed 04/09/2026 and overcome the 102 rejection as previously set forth in non-final office action mailed 01/09/2026, but do not overcome the 103 rejection, as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka.’ in view of (US-20110027636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’
Regarding Claim 1,
Hatanaka teaches a battery (Hatanaka, “A non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of the present invention”, see Abstract), comprising a positive electrode active material layer, a negative electrode active material layer and a separator disposed between the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (Hatanaka, “above has a wound-type electrode group comprising belt-shaped positive and negative electrodes each composed of a material mixture layer and a core member, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode.”, see [0003]); wherein in a first direction, the positive electrode active material layer comprises a first portion and a second portion connected to the first portion, the second portion comprises a first end, the first portion comprises a first surface, the first surface is connected to the second portion through a first connection, the first end is away from the first connection and is an end of the positive electrode active material layer, and a thickness of the second portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction decreases from the first connection to the first end in the first direction (see annotated figure below);
the negative electrode active material layer comprises a third portion and a second end located on one side of the third portion in the first direction, and the third portion comprises a second surface having at least a part arranged opposite to the first surface; the battery further comprises a first layer, and the first layer binds the first end, the second portion and the first surface; and covers the first end, the second portion and a part of the first surface (see annotated figure below);
and the first layer is configured to impede ion conduction (Hatanaka, “It is preferable that the porous film comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a film including an insulating filler and a binder, and a film including a heat-resistant resin.”, see [0020]).
Hatanaka does not teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first surface comprises a third zone, a step zone, and a fourth zone sequentially connected in the first direction; and in the first direction, the third zone is located on one side of the step zone away from the first end; a thickness of the fourth zone in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than a thickness of the third zone in the second direction; and a part of the first layer that is bound to the first surface covers the fourth zone, wherein a thickness of the first layer in the second direction is greater than a height of the step zone in the second direction, wherein a part of the first layer located in the fourth zone comprises a fifth surface, the fifth surface is opposite from the fourth zone, and the fifth surface comprises a part having a distance to the third zone in the second direction greater than a distance to the second surface in the second direction.
Lee teaches wherein the first surface comprises a third zone, a step zone, and a fourth zone sequentially connected in the first direction; and in the first direction, the third zone is located on one side of the step zone away from the first end; a thickness of the fourth zone in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than a thickness of the third zone in the second direction; and a part of the first layer that is bound to the first surface covers the fourth zone. (see annotated figure below)
Lee teaches wherein a thickness of the first layer in the second direction is greater than a height of the step zone in the second direction (see annotated figure below)(The examiner notes the height of the step zone H3 is the small height of the bond between the tape and the electrode [instant application see [0097]], which in less than the tape covering area analogous to the first layer)(The examiner notes that the bonding thickness is not explicitly taught by Lee, but is an inherent feature of adhesive tape ).
Lee teaches wherein a part of the first layer located in the fourth zone comprises a fifth surface, the fifth surface is opposite from the fourth zone, (see annotated figure below) and the fifth surface comprises a part having a distance to the third zone in the second direction greater than a distance to the second surface in the second direction (The examiner notes that the combination of Hatanaka and Lee would have the layers tightly packed as the cell is rolled tightly, bringing the space between the fifth surface and second surface smaller than the fifth zone to the third zone).
Lee teaches wherein the first layer is a single-sided adhesive paper or a double-sided adhesive paper (Lee, “The insulator tapes may be one or more selected from the group consisting of polyimide tapes, acetate tapes, glass-cloth tapes, polyester tapes, polyphenylenesulfide (PPS) tapes and polypropylene tapes. Preferably, the insulator tapes are polyethylene terephthalate tapes.”, see [0065])(The examiner notes that tape is analogous to adhesive paper).
Lee teaches that this attachment of the coating enhances the safety of the battery (Lee, “Further, according to the present invention, an insulator tape is attached to the boundary of a cathode active-material coating layer at a position where an anode active-material coating layer faces a non-coating part not containing the cathode active-material coating layer, achieving enhanced electrical insulation capability and safety of the battery.”, see [0020]).
Hatanaka and Lee are analogous as they are both of the same field of rolled battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the end of the coating layer as taught in Hatanaka to have the insulating tape structure as taught in Lee in order to improve the insulation and safety of the cell.
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode active material layer further comprises a fourth portion connected to the third portion in the first direction, the fourth portion is connected to the second surface through a second connection, and an end of the fourth portion away from the second connection is the second end; and a thickness of the fourth portion in the second direction decreases from the second connection to the second end in the first direction (Hatanaka, see annotated figure below);
and in the first direction, the second connection is located between the first connection and the first end.
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 3, wherein, the second portion comprises a third surface; the fourth portion comprises a fourth surface; the third surface and the first surface are connected through the first connection; the fourth surface and the second surface are connected through the second connection; the third surface and the fourth surface are at least partially arranged opposite to each other; and the first layer is bound to and covers the third surface (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 3, wherein an orthographic projection of the first end in the second direction falls within an orthographic projection of the fourth portion in the first direction (see figure above).
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 4, wherein the first surface and the second surface at least partially overlap in the second direction, the third surface and the fourth surface at least partially overlap in the second direction, and the second surface and the third surface at least partially overlap in the second direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 4, wherein a distance from the first surface to the second surface in the second direction is a first distance, and a distance from the third surface to the fourth surface in the second direction is a second distance, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 7, wherein the first distance is less than the second distance (see annotated figure above) .
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 7, wherein a distance from the third surface to the second surface in the second direction is a third distance, and the third distance is greater than the first distance (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Hatanaka teaches The battery according to claim 9, wherein the third distance is less than the second distance (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Hatanaka teaches an electronic device, comprising an battery (Hatanaka, “In recent years, with the rapidly growing of portable and cordless electronic devices, there has been advancement in putting, as a power source for driving these devices, non-aqueous electrolyte secondary batteries having a high voltage and a high energy density into practical use”, see [0002]), wherein the battery (Hatanaka, “A non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of the present invention”, see Abstract) comprises a positive electrode active material layer, a negative electrode active material layer and a separator disposed between the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (Hatanaka, “above has a wound-type electrode group comprising belt-shaped positive and negative electrodes each composed of a material mixture layer and a core member, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode.”, see [0003]); wherein, in a first direction, the positive electrode active material layer comprises a first portion and a second portion connected to the first portion, the second portion comprises a first end, the first portion comprises a first surface, the first surface is connected to the second portion through a first connection, the first end is away from the first connection and is an end of the positive electrode active material layer, and a thickness of the second portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction decreases from the first connection to the first end in the first direction (see annotated figure below);
the negative electrode active material layer comprises a third portion and a second end located on one side of the third portion in the first direction, and the third portion comprises a second surface having at least a part arranged opposite to the first surface; the battery further comprises a first layer, and the first layer binds the first end, the second portion and the first surface, and covers the first end, the second portion and a part of the first surface (see annotated figure below);
and the first layer is configured to impede ion conduction (Hatanaka, “It is preferable that the porous film comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a film including an insulating filler and a binder, and a film including a heat-resistant resin.”, see [0020]).
Hatanaka does not teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first surface comprises a third zone, a step zone, and a fourth zone sequentially connected in the first direction; and in the first direction, the third zone is located on one side of the step zone away from the first end; a thickness of the fourth zone in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than a thickness of the third zone in the second direction; and a part of the first layer that is bound to the first surface covers the fourth zone.
Lee teaches wherein the first surface comprises a third zone, a step zone, and a fourth zone sequentially connected in the first direction; and in the first direction, the third zone is located on one side of the step zone away from the first end; a thickness of the fourth zone in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than a thickness of the third zone in the second direction; and a part of the first layer that is bound to the first surface covers the fourth zone. (see annotated figure below)
Lee teaches the battery according to claim 15, wherein a thickness of the first layer in the second direction is greater than a height of the step zone in the second direction (see annotated figure below)(The examiner notes the height of the step zone H3 is the small height of the bond between the tape and the electrode (instant application see [0097]), which in less than the tape covering area analogous to the first layer)(The examiner notes that the bonding thickness is not explicitly taught by Lee, but is an inherent feature of adhesive tape ).
Lee teaches the battery according to claim 16, wherein a part of the first layer located in the fourth zone comprises a fifth surface, the fifth surface is opposite from the fourth zone, (see annotated figure below) and the fifth surface comprises a part having a distance to the third zone in the second direction greater than a distance to the second surface in the second direction (The examiner notes that the combination of Hatanaka and Lee would have the layers tightly packed as the cell is rolled tightly, bringing the space between the fifth surface and second surface smaller than the fifth zone to the third zone)..
Lee teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first layer is a single-sided adhesive paper or a double-sided adhesive paper (Lee, “The insulator tapes may be one or more selected from the group consisting of polyimide tapes, acetate tapes, glass-cloth tapes, polyester tapes, polyphenylenesulfide (PPS) tapes and polypropylene tapes. Preferably, the insulator tapes are polyethylene terephthalate tapes.”, see [0065])(The examiner notes that tape is analogous to adhesive paper).
Lee teaches that this attachment of the coating enhances the safety of the battery (Lee, “Further, according to the present invention, an insulator tape is attached to the boundary of a cathode active-material coating layer at a position where an anode active-material coating layer faces a non-coating part not containing the cathode active-material coating layer, achieving enhanced electrical insulation capability and safety of the battery.”, see [0020]).
Hatanaka and Lee are analogous as they are both of the same field of rolled battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the end of the coating layer as taught in Hatanaka to have the insulating tape structure as taught in Lee in order to improve the insulation and safety of the cell.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka’ in view of (US-20110027636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20180006322-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Nishinaka’
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Hatanaka does not teach, wherein viewed from the second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first end has a first zone with a first distance from the first zone to the second end in the first direction and a second zone with a second distance from the second zone to the second end in the first direction, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Nishinaka teaches wherein viewed from the second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first end has a first zone with a first distance from the first zone to the second end in the first direction and a second zone with a second distance from the second zone to the second end in the first direction, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance (see annotated figure below).
Nishinka teaches that irregular shape and the zoning allows for a reduction in the concentration of the load on certain sections of the battery (Nishinka, “For example, a shape in a plan view direction is set to a non-linear irregular shape such as a wave shape, a sawtooth shape, or an angular irregular shape, whereby the concentration of a load on the boundary section 23 is suppressed.”, see [0070]).
Modified Hatanaka and Nishinaka are both of the same field of electrode coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Modified Hatanaka to have the zoning as taught in Nishinaka in order to reduce the load on the boundary section of the cell.
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Hatanaka does not teach wherein viewed from the second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first end has a plurality of protrusions (see annotated figure above).
Nishinka teaches that irregular shape and the zoning allows for a reduction in the concentration of the load on certain sections of the battery (Nishinka, “For example, a shape in a plan view direction is set to a non-linear irregular shape such as a wave shape, a sawtooth shape, or an angular irregular shape, whereby the concentration of a load on the boundary section 23 is suppressed.”, see [0070]).
Modified Hatanaka and Nishinaka are both of the same field of electrode coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Modified Hatanaka to have the zoning as taught in Nishinaka in order to reduce the load on the boundary section of the cell.
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Hatanaka does not teach the battery according to claim 6, wherein in the first direction, the first layer comprises a third end and a fourth end arranged away from each other; and in the first direction, the third end is located on one side of the first connection away from the first end, and the fourth end is located on one side of the first connection away from the third end; and viewed from the second direction, a distance from the first end to the third end in the first direction is a fourth distance, a distance from the first end to the fourth end in the first direction is a fifth distance, and the fourth distance is different from the fifth distance.
Nishinka teaches the battery according to claim 6, wherein in the first direction, the first layer comprises a third end and a fourth end arranged away from each other; and in the first direction, the third end is located on one side of the first connection away from the first end (The examiner notes that the third and fourth end are interpreted as both ends of the current collector layer) , and the fourth end is located on one side of the first connection away from the third end; and viewed from the second direction, a distance from the first end to the third end in the first direction is a fourth distance, a distance from the first end to the fourth end in the first direction is a fifth distance, and the fourth distance is different from the fifth distance (see annotated figure below).
Nishinka teaches that irregular shape and the zoning allows for a reduction in the concentration of the load on certain sections of the battery (Nishinka, “For example, a shape in a plan view direction is set to a non-linear irregular shape such as a wave shape, a sawtooth shape, or an angular irregular shape, whereby the concentration of a load on the boundary section 23 is suppressed.”, see [0070]).
Modified Hatanaka and Nishinka are both of the same field of electrode coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Modified Hatanaka to have the zoning as taught in Nishinka in order to reduce the load on the boundary section of the cell.
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Hatanaka teaches The battery according to claim 13, wherein the fourth distance is less than the fifth distance (see annotated figure above).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka’ (US-20110027636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’, in view of (US-20200067081-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hirai.’
Regarding Claim 2,
Modified Hatanaka does not teach, wherein a length of a part of the first layer bound to the first surface in the first direction is less than or equal to 5 mm.
Hirai teaches wherein a length of a part of the first layer bound to the first surface in the first direction is less than or equal to 5mm (Hirai, “As an example, the length of high-permeability portion 4 a along the longitudinal direction of electrode 1 is at least 3 mm.”, see [0034]).
Hirari teaches that this length prevents the outer shape of the battery from being too large (Hirari, “no greater than 10 mm to ensure insulation and prevent the outer shape of the battery from being too large.”, see [0034]).
Modified Hatanaka and Hirai are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the first layer as taught in Modified Hatanaka to the length as taught in Hirai in order prevent the battery from being too large.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pg. 11,
“Applicant submits introducing such a non-linear structural discontinuity to Hatanaka’s tapered edge would create significant stress concentrations. A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would be discouraged from applying a rigid adhesive paper over such a step, as it would likely lead to mechanical delamination—the exact opposite of the ‘mechanical safety’ Hatanaka seeks to achieve.”
This is convincing. The reference (US-20110027636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’ has been added to the record and teaches a configuration where the adhesive is thicker than the step height. The examiner notes that the tape a taught in ‘Lee’ is involved in a system with high mechanical strength (Lee, “The separator, interposed between the cathode and the anode, is an insulating thin-film having a high ion transmissivity and mechanical strength.”, see [0075]). Therefore, the examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be discouraged from the combination due to both the system having high mechanical strength and the effectiveness of the insulating tape.
On pg. 11, the applicant argues:
“Independent claims 1 and 19 require a specific spatial relationship: the thickness of the first layer (H4) must be greater than the height of the step zone (H3). As demonstrated in the re-labeled Hatanaka figure above, this creates a protruding ‘fifth surface’ that extends beyond the plane of the electrode. Both Hatanaka (Claim 3) and Hirai ([0053]) explicitly teach minimizing thickness to keep the battery thin and the edges flush. Neither reference suggests, nor provides motivation for, a configuration where the adhesive layer is thicker than the step height so that it protrudes. To arrive at the claimed "Fifth Surface," a PHOSITA would have to ignore the core thickness- minimization teachings of both primary and secondary references. ”
This is convincing. The reference (US-20110027636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’ has been added to the record and teaches a configuration where the adhesive is thicker than the step height. The top of the step height is the fifth surface and the examiner notes that when the cell is wound the fifth surface would have little gap between the step and its fifth surface and the second surface.
On pg. 11, the applicant argues:
“Hirai teaches that its "transition portion" (the step) is a critical functional region for managing ion flux and electrolyte infiltration. Hirai's logic dictates that this area must remain electrochemically active. A PHOSITA would be affirmatively discouraged from placing an ion- impeding barrier (the claimed adhesive paper) into this specific zone. By filling Hirai's step with a barrier-especially one that protrudes beyond the step (H4 > H3)-the PHOSITA would negate the very benefit of ion movement for which Hirai's geometry was designed.”
This is convincing. The reference (US-20110027636-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’ has been added to the record and teaches a configuration where the adhesive is thicker than the step height. Therefore, the argument inability of the combination of Hatanaka and Hirai is moot. However, Hirai does teach a thickness which provides a motivation to minimize the thickness of the tape, as taught in the combination of Hatanaka and Hirai, as applied to claim 2.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752