DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka.’
Regarding Claim 1,
Hatanaka teaches a battery (Hatanaka, “A non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of the present invention”, see Abstract), comprising a positive electrode active material layer, a negative electrode active material layer and a separator disposed between the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (Hatanaka, “above has a wound-type electrode group comprising belt-shaped positive and negative electrodes each composed of a material mixture layer and a core member, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode.”, see [0003]); wherein in a first direction, the positive electrode active material layer comprises a first portion and a second portion connected to the first portion, the second portion comprises a first end, the first portion comprises a first surface, the first surface is connected to the second portion through a first connection, the first end is away from the first connection and is an end of the positive electrode active material layer, and a thickness of the second portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction decreases from the first connection to the first end in the first direction (see annotated figure below);
the negative electrode active material layer comprises a third portion and a second end located on one side of the third portion in the first direction, and the third portion comprises a second surface having at least a part arranged opposite to the first surface; the battery further comprises a first layer, and the first layer binds the first end, the second portion and the first surface; and covers the first end, the second portion and a part of the first surface (see annotated figure below);
and the first layer is configured to impede ion conduction (Hatanaka, “It is preferable that the porous film comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a film including an insulating filler and a binder, and a film including a heat-resistant resin.”, see [0020]).
Regarding Claim 3,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode active material layer further comprises a fourth portion connected to the third portion in the first direction, the fourth portion is connected to the second surface through a second connection, and an end of the fourth portion away from the second connection is the second end; and a thickness of the fourth portion in the second direction decreases from the second connection to the second end in the first direction (Hatanaka, see annotated figure below);
and in the first direction, the second connection is located between the first connection and the first end.
Regarding Claim 4,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 3, wherein, the second portion comprises a third surface; the fourth portion comprises a fourth surface; the third surface and the first surface are connected through the first connection; the fourth surface and the second surface are connected through the second connection; the third surface and the fourth surface are at least partially arranged opposite to each other; and the first layer is bound to and covers the third surface (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 5,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 3, wherein an orthographic projection of the first end in the second direction falls within an orthographic projection of the fourth portion in the first direction (see figure above).
Regarding Claim 6,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 4, wherein the first surface and the second surface at least partially overlap in the second direction, the third surface and the fourth surface at least partially overlap in the second direction, and the second surface and the third surface at least partially overlap in the second direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 7,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 4, wherein a distance from the first surface to the second surface in the second direction is a first distance, and a distance from the third surface to the fourth surface in the second direction is a second distance, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 8,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 7, wherein the first distance is less than the second distance (see annotated figure above) .
Regarding Claim 9,
Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 7, wherein a distance from the third surface to the second surface in the second direction is a third distance, and the third distance is greater than the first distance (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 10,
Hatanaka teaches The battery according to claim 9, wherein the third distance is less than the second distance (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 19,
Hatanaka teaches an electronic device, comprising an battery (Hatanaka, “In recent years, with the rapidly growing of portable and cordless electronic devices, there has been advancement in putting, as a power source for driving these devices, non-aqueous electrolyte secondary batteries having a high voltage and a high energy density into practical use”, see [0002]), wherein the battery (Hatanaka, “A non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of the present invention”, see Abstract) comprises a positive electrode active material layer, a negative electrode active material layer and a separator disposed between the positive electrode active material layer and the negative electrode active material layer (Hatanaka, “above has a wound-type electrode group comprising belt-shaped positive and negative electrodes each composed of a material mixture layer and a core member, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode.”, see [0003]); wherein, in a first direction, the positive electrode active material layer comprises a first portion and a second portion connected to the first portion, the second portion comprises a first end, the first portion comprises a first surface, the first surface is connected to the second portion through a first connection, the first end is away from the first connection and is an end of the positive electrode active material layer, and a thickness of the second portion in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction decreases from the first connection to the first end in the first direction (see annotated figure below);
the negative electrode active material layer comprises a third portion and a second end located on one side of the third portion in the first direction, and the third portion comprises a second surface having at least a part arranged opposite to the first surface; the battery further comprises a first layer, and the first layer binds the first end, the second portion and the first surface, and covers the first end, the second portion and a part of the first surface (see annotated figure below);
and the first layer is configured to impede ion conduction (Hatanaka, “It is preferable that the porous film comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a film including an insulating filler and a binder, and a film including a heat-resistant resin.”, see [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka’ in view of (US-20180006322-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Nishinaka’
Regarding Claim 11,
Hatanaka does not teach, wherein viewed from the second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first end has a first zone with a first distance from the first zone to the second end in the first direction and a second zone with a second distance from the second zone to the second end in the first direction, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance.
Nishinaka teaches wherein viewed from the second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first end has a first zone with a first distance from the first zone to the second end in the first direction and a second zone with a second distance from the second zone to the second end in the first direction, wherein the first distance is different from the second distance (see annotated figure below).
Nishinka teaches that irregular shape and the zoning allows for a reduction in the concentration of the load on certain sections of the battery (Nishinka, “For example, a shape in a plan view direction is set to a non-linear irregular shape such as a wave shape, a sawtooth shape, or an angular irregular shape, whereby the concentration of a load on the boundary section 23 is suppressed.”, see [0070]).
Hatanaka and Nishinaka are both of the same field of electrode coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Hatanaka to have the zoning as taught in Nishinaka in order to reduce the load on the boundary section of the cell.
Regarding Claim 12,
Hatanaka does not teach wherein viewed from the second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first end has a plurality of protrusions (see annotated figure above).
Nishinka teaches that irregular shape and the zoning allows for a reduction in the concentration of the load on certain sections of the battery (Nishinka, “For example, a shape in a plan view direction is set to a non-linear irregular shape such as a wave shape, a sawtooth shape, or an angular irregular shape, whereby the concentration of a load on the boundary section 23 is suppressed.”, see [0070]).
Hatanaka and Nishinaka are both of the same field of electrode coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Hatanaka to have the zoning as taught in Nishinaka in order to reduce the load on the boundary section of the cell.
Regarding Claim 13,
Hatanaka does not teach the battery according to claim 6, wherein in the first direction, the first layer comprises a third end and a fourth end arranged away from each other; and in the first direction, the third end is located on one side of the first connection away from the first end, and the fourth end is located on one side of the first connection away from the third end; and viewed from the second direction, a distance from the first end to the third end in the first direction is a fourth distance, a distance from the first end to the fourth end in the first direction is a fifth distance, and the fourth distance is different from the fifth distance.
Nishinka teaches the battery according to claim 6, wherein in the first direction, the first layer comprises a third end and a fourth end arranged away from each other; and in the first direction, the third end is located on one side of the first connection away from the first end (The examiner notes that the third and fourth end are interpreted as both ends of the current collector layer) , and the fourth end is located on one side of the first connection away from the third end; and viewed from the second direction, a distance from the first end to the third end in the first direction is a fourth distance, a distance from the first end to the fourth end in the first direction is a fifth distance, and the fourth distance is different from the fifth distance (see annotated figure below).
Nishinka teaches that irregular shape and the zoning allows for a reduction in the concentration of the load on certain sections of the battery (Nishinka, “For example, a shape in a plan view direction is set to a non-linear irregular shape such as a wave shape, a sawtooth shape, or an angular irregular shape, whereby the concentration of a load on the boundary section 23 is suppressed.”, see [0070]).
Hatanaka and Nishinka are both of the same field of electrode coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Hatanaka to have the zoning as taught in Nishinka in order to reduce the load on the boundary section of the cell.
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Hatanaka teaches The battery according to claim 13, wherein the fourth distance is less than the fifth distance (see annotated figure above).
Claims 2 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka’ in view of (US-20200067081-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hirai.’
Regarding Claim 2,
Hatanaka does not teach, wherein a length of a part of the first layer bound to the first surface in the first direction is less than or equal to 5 mm.
Hirai teaches wherein a length of a part of the first layer bound to the first surface in the first direction is less than or equal to 5mm (Hirai, “As an example, the length of high-permeability portion 4 a along the longitudinal direction of electrode 1 is at least 3 mm.”, see [0034]).
Hirari teaches that this length prevents the outer shape of the battery from being too large (Hirari, “no greater than 10 mm to ensure insulation and prevent the outer shape of the battery from being too large.”, see [0034]).
Hatanaka and Hirai are analogous as they are both of the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the first layer as taught in Hatanaka to the length as taught in Hirai in order prevent the battery from being too large.
Regarding Claim 15,
Hatanaka does not teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first surface comprises a third zone, a step zone, and a fourth zone sequentially connected in the first direction; and in the first direction, the third zone is located on one side of the step zone away from the first end; a thickness of the fourth zone in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than a thickness of the third zone in the second direction; and a part of the first layer that is bound to the first surface covers the fourth zone.
Hirai teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first surface comprises a third zone (Hirai, permeability portion, 4a, Fig. 1A), a step zone (Hirai, transition portion, 4c, Fig. 1A), and a fourth zone (Hirai, permeability portion, 4b, Fig. 1A) sequentially connected in the first direction; and in the first direction, the third zone is located on one side of the step zone away from the first end; a thickness of the fourth zone in the second direction perpendicular to the first direction is less than a thickness of the third zone in the second direction; and a part of the first layer that is bound to the first surface covers the fourth zone (see annotated figure below).
Hirai teaches that this step system for the protective layer allows for contribution to capacity and allow for ion transfer with the electrolyte (Hirai, “The portion of the inclined-plane shaped portion 3 b having a large amount of active material is thick and makes a large contribution to capacity. The portion of transition portion 4 c having relatively high ion permeability is thin. As a result, ions can be transferred between the portion of the inclined-plane shaped portion 3 b and the electrolyte.”, see [0038]).
Hatanaka and Hirai are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery materials
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protective layer as taught in Hatanaka with the step zone as taught in Hirai in order to maximize capacity of the active material while allowing ion transfer between the inclined portions and the electrolyte.
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 15, wherein a thickness of the first layer in the second direction is greater than a height of the step zone in the second direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Hatanaka teaches the battery according to claim 16, wherein a part of the first layer located in the fourth zone comprises a fifth surface, the fifth surface is opposite from the fourth zone, (see annotated figure below).
Modified Hatanaka does not teach and the fifth surface comprises a part having a distance to the third zone in the second direction greater than a distance to the second surface in the second direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of the first as the thickness as it is a results effective variable (Hirai, “The above explanation presupposes that the ion permeability of resin layer 4 depends on the layer thickness.”, see [0044]) (see MPEP 2155.05 (II) (A)).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20100221607-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Hatanaka’ in view of (US-20190288342-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kawai’
Regarding Claim 18,
Hatanaka does not teach the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first layer is a single-sided adhesive paper or a double-sided adhesive paper.
Kawai teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first layer is a single-sided adhesive paper or a double-sided adhesive paper (Kawai, “them in the positive and negative electrode laminate body are preferably adhered from the viewpoint of further improving the handleability of the electrode… applying an adhesive binder on the electrode material layer, and/or thermocompression bonding”, see [0083]).
Kawai teaches that the adhesion improves the handleability of the electrode (Kawai, “them in the positive and negative electrode laminate body are preferably adhered from the viewpoint of further improving the handleability of the electrode.”, see [0083]).
Hatanaka and Kawai are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery materials and coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first layer to be adhesive in order to improve the handleability of the electrode.
Regarding Claim 20,
Hatanaka does not teach wherein the first layer is a single-sided adhesive paper or a double-sided adhesive paper.
Kawai teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the first layer is a single-sided adhesive paper or a double-sided adhesive paper (Kawai, “them in the positive and negative electrode laminate body are preferably adhered from the viewpoint of further improving the handleability of the electrode... applying an adhesive binder on the electrode material layer, and/or thermocompression bonding”, see [0083]).
Kawai teaches that the adhesion improves the handleability of the electrode (Kawai, “them in the positive and negative electrode laminate body are preferably adhered from the viewpoint of further improving the handleability of the electrode.”, see [0083]).
Hatanaka and Kawai are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery materials and coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first layer to be adhesive in order to improve the handleability of the electrode.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752