DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1, 16 and the addition of claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner notes new art is cited to account for the new limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 16 and 21 (and all claims dependent therefrom, 2-7, 17-21) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 16 have been amended to state the pump fibers and the signal fiber is/are not active fibers. The originally filed specification does not clearly disclose these fibers are “not active fibers”. The specification additionally does not describe these fibers as not being doped, or to be passive, or another equivalent description to “not active”. It is therefore not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim 21 states “at least six pump fibers” to be present. “At least” is an open-ended phrase putting no upper limit on the number of pump fibers. The original specification was found to teach upwards of 14 pump fibers (see [0032]) but was not found to teach using any number of pumping fibers. It is therefore not clear the Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gapontsev et al. (US 9716365) in view of Ferin et al. (US 2019/0058300) and Hwang et al. (US 11515682).
With respect to claim 1, Gapontsev teaches a pump-signal combiner (fig.1/2/4), comprising: an enclosure (fig.1 #26); and a fiber bundle (fig.4 with pump fiber above/below signal) disposed within the glass enclosure, wherein the fiber bundle comprises: a plurality of pump fibers (fig.4 #52/56, col.5 lines 33-35) that are not active fibers (col.5 lines 33-35); and a signal fiber (fig.1 #24, fig.4 #54), surrounded by the plurality of pump fibers (as seen in fig.4), that comprises: an input section having an input core diameter (fig.2 #36 on left); an output section having an output core diameter (fig.2 #36 on right); and an intermediate section (fig.2 #38), provided between the input section and the output section, wherein the intermediate section comprises: a first tapered section (fig.2 left taper), adjacent to the input section, in which a core diameter of the intermediate section increases from the input core diameter to a maximum value (max throughout #38); and a second tapered section (fig.2 right taper), adjacent to the output section, in which the core diameter of the intermediate section decreases from the maximum value to the output core diameter (as seen in fig.2). Gapontsev further teaches a larger system (fig.9) using the combiners with active fibers and additionally teaches the use of a passive pump combiner (fig.9 #127, all pump delivery fibers understood to be passive) for combining pumping light from multiple sources to the active fiber. Gapontsev does not teach this passive pump combiner #127 to have an arrangement/architecture like that of figures 2 and 4 to thereby provide the passive pump fibers and passive signal fiber (note that “pump” and “signal” have not been defined in the claims and are read as labels). Ferin teaches a related laser device (fig.1) which includes a passive fiber (fig.1 #20; abstract, [0016]) and that the passive fiber is of a similar double bottleneck shape (fig.2) to that of Gapontsev. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the passive fiber combiner #127 of figure 9 of Gapontsev to make use of the same combining arrangement as shown in figures 2/4 of Gapontsev but done with only passive fibers in order to efficiently couple light from the pumps to the laser by making use of a configuration already disclosed by Gapontsev and further demonstrated by Ferin to be usable with passive fiber and to raise a threshold for nonlinear effects within the combiner/fiber to prevent those effects from occurring at high pump powers (Ferin, [0019]).
Gapontsev does not specify the enclosure is glass. Hwang teaches a related fiber combiner (fig.1 #150) which makes use of a glass enclosure (fig.1 #154, col.8 lines 35-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the enclosure of Gapontsev to make use of glass material as demonstrated by Hwang in order to protect and bind the individual fibers as well as to withstand heating (Hwang, col.8 lines 35-38).
With respect to claim 4, Gapontsev teaches the intermediate section of the signal fiber further comprises: an intermediate section, provided between the first tapered section and the second tapered section, having a uniform core diameter equal to the maximum value (fig.2 #38 uniform between tapers).
With respect to claim 16, Gapontsev teaches an optical system (fig.1/2/4/5), comprising: an input subsystem comprising: one or more first sources (fig.5 seed) configured to generate signal light; and a plurality of second laser sources configured to generate pump light (fig.5 #25x4); an output fiber (fig.5 fiber to right of #63); and a pump-signal combiner (fig.1/2/4/5 overlap of right side pump fibers with gain fiber #63), arranged between the input subsystem and the output fiber (at least partially between), wherein the pump-signal combiner comprises: a plurality of pump fibers (fig.4), that are not active fibers (col.5 lines 33-35), configured to receive the pump light and to transmit the pump light into the output fiber (fig.2/4 based on pump light being introduced to clad of signal fiber arranged immediately adjacent the output fiber); and one or more signal fibers (fig.2 #24), surrounded by the plurality of pump fibers (fig.4, col.5 lines 33-35), wherein the one or more signal fibers each comprise: an input section (fig.2 #36), coupled to the one or more first laser sources (from left), having an input core diameter (as seen in fig.2); an output section (fig.2 #36 on right), coupled to the output fiber (as seen in fig.1/5), having an output diameter (inherent); a first tapered section (fig.2 right side taper), adjacent to the input section, in which a core diameter increases from the input core diameter to a maximum value (max at #38); and a second tapered section (fig.2 right side taper), adjacent to the output section, in which a core diameter decreases from the maximum value to the output diameter (as seen in fig.2). Gapontsev further teaches a larger system (fig.9) using the combiners with active fibers and additionally teaches the use of a passive pump combiner (fig.9 #127, all pump delivery fibers understood to be passive) for combining pumping light from multiple sources to the active fiber. Gapontsev does not teach this passive pump combiner #127 to be used in the configuration of figure 5 or to have an arrangement/architecture like that of figures 2 and 4 to thereby provide the passive pump fibers and passive signal fiber (note that “pump” and “signal” have not been defined in the claims and are read as labels). Ferin teaches a related laser device (fig.1) which includes a passive fiber (fig.1 #20; abstract, [0016]) and that the passive fiber is of a similar double bottleneck shape (fig.2) to that of Gapontsev. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to utilize a combiner like #127 in the configuration of figure 5 in order to couple more pumping sources into the active material to increase the output power as well as to adapt the passive fiber combiner #127 of figure 9 of Gapontsev (now being used in fig.5) to make use of the same combining arrangement as shown in figures 2/4 of Gapontsev but done with only passive fibers in order to efficiently couple light from the pumps to the laser by making use of a configuration already disclosed by Gapontsev and further demonstrated by Ferin to be usable with passive fiber and to raise a threshold for nonlinear effects within the combiner/fiber to prevent those effects from occurring at high pump powers (Ferin, [0019]).
Gapontsev does not teach the seed to be one or more first laser sources configured to generate signal light, or the output fiber to be an output fiber comprising one or more cores configured to carry the signal light and a cladding, surrounding the core, configured to carry the pump light. Hwang teaches a related laser fiber system with combiners including the seed to be a laser (col.3 lines 25-26) and the use of fibers having a core/clad (fig.3a) and pump light to propagate in the cladding (fig.2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to make use of a laser for the seed of Gapontsev as demonstrated by Hwang in order to use a coherent source with beam characteristics suitable for fiber transmission with associated optics. Further, it would have been obvious to adapt the device of Gapontsev to make use of a core/clad fiber for the output fiber , as well as to couple pump light to the clad, as demonstrated by Hwang in order to guide the signal light in a conventional manner via core/clad index contrast and to further make use of the pump light for down stream components (note Gapontsev fig.6).
With respect to claim 17, Gapontsev further teaches the pump-signal combiner is arranged between the input subsystem and the output fiber in a forward pumping configuration (fig.5 note the two pump sources #25 on #63 pump in opposite directions, such that one is forward pumping and one is backward pumping).
With respect to claim 18, Gapontsev further teaches the pump-signal combiner is arranged between the input subsystem and the output fiber in a cascaded pumping configuration (fig.5 note the two pump sources #25 on #63 follow one after the other in a cascade fashion).
With respect to claim 19, Gapontsev teaches the pump-signal combiner is arranged between the input subsystem and the output fiber in a backward pumping configuration (fig.5 note the two pump sources #25 on #63 pump in opposite directions, such that one is forward pumping and one is backward pumping).
With respect to claim 20, Gapontsev teaches the one or more signal fibers each further comprise an intermediate section, provided between the first tapered section and the second tapered section, having a uniform core diameter equal to the maximum value (fig.2 #38 uniform between tapers).
With respect to claim 21, Gapontsev, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including using an array of pumping sources (fig.5/9) but does not teach at least 6 pump fibers to make use of 6 pump sources. The Examiner takes Official Notice that adding more pump sources would allow for generating higher pumping output power. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the modified system of Gapontsev to make use of at least 6 pump fibers with at least 6 pumping sources in order to increase the amount of pumping power input to the laser to insure stimulating a maximum gain in the laser and thereby increase output power.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gapontsev, Ferin and Hwang in view of Starodoumov (US 2004/0196537) and Farrow et al. (US 10971884).
With respect to claim 2, Gapontsev, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, and appears to teach, but not explicitly state the input core diameter is equal to the output core diameter (fig.2 #36 on either side), and does not teach the input section of the signal fiber and the output section of the signal fiber have different numerical apertures. Starodoumov teaches fiber combiners with similar tapers (fig.10e) and that the input/output fiber diameter sizing is a result effective variable that directly influences coupling losses. Further, Farrow teaches fiber combining of changing size (fig.1/2) and that the difference in numerical aperture (NA) difference between the fibers is a result effective variable influencing both coupling loss (col.5 lines 13-38) and beam parameter product (col.5 line 59 – col.6 line 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Gapontsev such that the input core diameter is equal to the output core diameter, and the input section of the signal fiber and the output section of the signal fiber have different numerical apertures in order to adjust the diameters and NA to select a desired coupling loss and beam parameter product as Starodoumov and Farrow have taught each is a result effective variable producing known results when changed (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
With respect to claim 3, Gapontsev, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the input section of the signal fiber and the output section of the signal fiber have equal numerical apertures, and the input core diameter is different from the output core diameter. Starodoumov teaches fiber combiners with similar tapers (fig.10e) and that the input/output fiber diameter sizing is a result effective variable that directly influences coupling losses. Further, Farrow teaches fiber combining of changing size (fig.1/2) and that the difference in numerical aperture (NA) difference between the fibers is a result effective variable influencing both coupling loss (col.5 lines 13-38) and beam parameter product (col.5 line 59 – col.6 line 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Gapontsev such that the input section of the signal fiber and the output section of the signal fiber have equal numerical apertures, and the input core diameter is different from the output core diameter in order to adjust the diameters and NA to select a desired coupling loss and beam parameter product as Starodoumov and Farrow have taught each is a result effective variable producing known results when changed (see MPEP 2144.05 II A/B).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gapontsev, Ferin and Hwang in view of Gapontsev et al. (US 9882341, hereafter ‘341).
With respect to claim 5, Gapontsev, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including an output fiber (fig.1 #16) but does not teach the output core diameter of the output section of the signal fiber equals a core diameter of an output fiber connected to the output section of the signal fiber. ‘341 teaches a similar fiber connector (fig.5) and further that output section core equals a core diameter of an output fiber (col.3 lines 19-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the output section core diameter to equal the output fiber core diameter as demonstrated by ‘341 in order to make use of a core/clad fiber to guide the light by conventional index contrast and to reduce any coupling light loss (see Starodoumov above).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gapontsev, Ferin and Hwang in view of Kumkar et al. (US 8787716).
With respect to claim 6, Gapontsev, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the glass enclosure comprises a first tapered section that at least partially overlaps with the first tapered section of the signal fiber and a second tapered section that at least partially overlaps with the second tapered section of the signal fiber. Kumkar teaches a related fiber connector which includes a surrounding enclosure (fig.1 #3) which tapers as an internal fiber tapers (fig.1 PF tapers between C-D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the system of Gapontsev to taper the enclosure as the fiber tapers (once in each taper section) as demonstrated by Kumkar in order to tightly bind the enclosure to the internal fibers.
With respect to claim 7, Gapontsev, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, including the enclosure to be a capillary type tube (see #26 surrounding as indicated above/below) but does not teach the glass enclosure comprises a capillary tube with a cladding light stripper on the capillary tube. Kumkar further teaches using a cladding light stripper on the tube (fig.46 S, on as in “nearby”). It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the system of Gapontsev to make use of a light stripper on the tube as demonstrated by Kumkar in order to remove unwanted light (Kumkar, col.15 lines 42-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see the included pto892 form for a list of related fiber connectors with similar tapered shapes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828